Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,746 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Tax Defense Network Logo

Tax Defense Network

Tax Defense Network has been helping people with tax relief for 20 years; works with almost every tax problem in every state.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(888) 631-6353

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
313

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: May 1, 2017

Company Awards / Certifications

  • #1 Staff Pick BestDebtCompanys.com 2014
  • Dun and Bradstreet Credibility Verified

Recommendations: To prepare for your free phone consultation, Tax Defense Network recommends having this information readily available:

  • Total estimated amount of Tax Debt
  • Last contact with the IRS (mail or phone)
  • Any missing returns that may need to be prepared
  • If you own a business, details regarding the type of business, taxation entity (Sole Prop, S Corp, Partnership, etc.)

Tax Defense Network comes highly recommended, with a full range of services from enrolled agents, tax attorneys, and CPAs. They’ve been in business since 1997, and over that time, they have developed a stellar reputation for serving customers’ needs.

The Good

  • Impressive array of services
  • A stable history
  • High availability
  • Displays pricing online
  • Positive reviews

Impressive Array of Services

Tax Defense Network offers an impressive array of service options. Basic services include help with tax liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and IRS appeals. They also offer rare services such as innocent spouse relief, bank levy, and tax audit help, which some of their competitors do not. Their team of dedicated Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys, and CPAs have acquired an impressive reputation, judging by numerous customer comments. Plus, there is no minimum tax debt size which they will service, so they are available to people of all income brackets.

A Stable History

In business since 1997, they have developed their impressive reputation primarily through customer response.

High Availability

Tax Defense Network is available in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

Tax Defense Network Reviews - 96 percent Satisfaction Rate

Displays Pricing Online

As of 2017, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. This transparency in an industry that doesn’t reveal prices until you call in and relay all of your information, is very impressive. According to the company’s website, average fees range from $2,500 to $3,000.

Positive Reviews

The hundreds of comments about Tax Defense Network on our website are overwhelmingly positive, with most people rating it a 9 or 10. Most people say that the company does a great job at resolving tax debt, that they are reliable, accurate, and worth the money.

Get started with Tax Defense Network

The Bad

  • Refund window
  • Negative review summary

Refund Window

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. In fact, some companies offer refund windows that range anywhere from 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money back guarantee.

Negative Review Summary

One complaint that appears a few times is that the company can be hard to get a hold of when dealing with problems or complications. Some customers had trouble speaking directly to an agent or attorney. Also, some point out that they are not cheap.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had more industry accreditations and a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with them, especially those who prefer a great reputation, reliability, and quality.

Tax Defense Network Pricing

Generally, pricing is between $2,500 and $3,000 for tax resolution services. Prices varies some, depending on your specific situation.

Only $500 is required to get started on your case. The rest can be taken care of with a payment plan.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes. This is paid over time, set up in payments that work for the client. That way, clients can see work being performed as they pay. TDN doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Wage Garnishment
  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies

The company also solves the following tax problems:

  • Unfiled / Back Taxes
  • Penalties and Interest Charges
  • Payroll Issues

TDN offers the following debt solutions:

  • IRS Fresh Start Initiative
  • IRS Tax Amnesty Program
  • IRS Tax Settlement
  • IRS Tax Debt Forgiveness
  • IRS Debt Cancellation
  • IRS Appeals
  • Help with Audits
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreements
  • Innocent Spouse Relief

Minimum Debt

The company has no minimum or maximum tax debt they can work with.

About Tax Defense Network

Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt through multiple avenues of tax relief ranging from Offer in Compromise (OIC) to tax liens and asset seizures. Through their Fire & Ice philosophy they bring clients realistic expectations regarding their tax situation by laying out the dynamics surrounding their dilemma on the table; but also aim to provide transparency by providing an ideal client experience. Today, Tax Defense Network has a 96 percent client satisfaction rating.

The company offers client education on a variety of tax-related topics and supports a number of local and national charity causes, such as the American Heart Walk and the Wounded Warrior Project.

States They Work In

TDN is available to help customers in all 50 states

Contact Information

Website: taxdefensenetwork.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 9000 Southside Blvd. Building 100, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Hours: 9am to 6pm EST; if you want to call outside of their hours, you can leave a message with your question and they will call you back as soon as they can.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

Due to the variety of services the company offers—many of which don’t focus on debt amount—there is not a specified minimum for tax relief. However, there are certain services and solutions that are cost-effective only above a certain amount. Those details can be determined in consultation with a tax analyst.

Time In Business

They have been in business for 20 years. Tax Defense Network began in 1997 as New Star Credit Services, which provided accounting services to small businesses. Over time, the company changed its focus to tax resolution and IRS representation, and changed its name in 2007 to better reflect those services. Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt.

Types of Services Available

TDN offers relief for a variety of tax-related issues, including:

  • Unfiled taxes
  • Tax liens
  • Bank levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Payroll tax issues
  • Penalties and interest
  • Tax audits
  • Asset seizure

They are experienced in implementing the following tax relief solutions:

  • Installment Agreement
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • IRS Appeals

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They have members of the American Bar Association, National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP), National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with most other companies in the industry, if you’re looking for the very best information specific to your case, you will need to hire them.

Refund Policy

After enrolling with an initial payment, the client has three days to obtain a full refund. This window takes away some of the pressure that comes with making a commitment and allows for clients to change their minds if they decide to back out. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services.

Up-Front Fees

While TDN asks for $500 of the flat fee down so they can begin working, this may be paid according to the client’s ability and preference. For example, it can be split up into two payments of $250 or five payments of $100 over time.

Customer Support Quality

The company has support staff available on the phone and through online chat (which always shows a photo of the support agent you are talking to). We have found the staff members to be honest, helpful, and friendly. Spanish-speaking clients can talk to customer support in their native language.

Tax Defense Network has an additional customer service department for current and past clients, which they call “Gold Star Client Care.” They encourage any dissatisfied clients to contact this department ([email protected]) and they will “make it right.” To gauge their overall client satisfaction, the company performed an internal review in October of 2012 and found that, in the previous 36 months, 94% of clients were satisfied with the service they received.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Tax Defense Network below.

1-(888) 631-6353

313 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

8
5
1
3
30
85
181
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    June 21st, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Tax Defense was very good, from day one I was explained the process and I worked with Dave who was assigned to my case as the Tax Analyst. My correspondence was excellent with David and he put me at ease with my Tax issue which was overbearing for me. I would highly recommend Tax Defense for your Tax related issue.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    June 21st, 2017 Saginaw, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have probably been one of the more “trying” clients of Tax Defense Network, due to my work schedule and personal problems, that delayed me in getting proper and complete information
    sent in. They remained patient and understanding to my situation and have now completed everything to reach a satisfactory resolution.
    Amber S reached out to me, to help get the finalization of the things needed from me and has been FANTASTIC! She, as well as everyone that I have dealt with in the company have been efficient, courteous and professional in everything they have done…
    Read More
  3. User Score
    9
    June 20th, 2017 Blythe, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The Tax Defense Network did a great job in resolving our Tax debt. Our IRS taxes were reduced from $140,000 to less than $8,500. Our State Tax were reduced from $32,000 to less than $900. The Defense Network are very reliable and worth the money we spent. Dave T was instrumental in helping to resolve our Tax issues. Thank you.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    June 19th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Let me start by saying I have owed taxes since 2007! This was mass and IRS. Went to couple others like optima who did nothing but take my money. NOTHING!! But just when I thought all was lost and there was no hope I found this company ( Well they found me ) they were honestly so much better then I could of hoped for. You need not look any farther then this company. My case worker was DeeDee and was awesome, But the whole team was and that’s a fact. They handled everything that came up with fast response. There was many things mind you. There customer service was A+++++++. This company is your answer.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    June 18th, 2017 Nashville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    my experience was greatly appreciated the service was impeccable thank you micheal R
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    June 16th, 2017 Ashland City, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The Tax Defense Network went way above and beyond the normal service that one would expect from that type of company. Special thanks to Briana Keaton for getting our wages ungarnished, working with the IRS on a repayment plan that we can live with and for always being there when we needed her. I would recommend this company to anyone that is in trouble with the IRS. They are courteous and professionals of the highest caliber. Thank you TDN. Thank you so much
    Read More
  7. User Score
    9
    June 15th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    David T was instrumental in helping my wide get her IRS issue resolved. Would recommend him to anyone.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    June 14th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company is so awesome to work with. I would certainly recommend to anyone seeking tax debt relief and my personal consultant Ruth Reyes who took the time and explain step by step what was happening in my case.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    June 13th, 2017 Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Aaron B provided me with the best service and was able to negotiate over $150,000.00 with the IRS and with the Stae Franchise Board as well. He was always informative and very detailed on how the proceedures worked and the outcome was exactly if not better at the end.
    I will aleays recommend Aaron B for anyone that needs help with their tax debts.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    June 11th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We were amazed at the speed, efficiency and professionalism with which Tax Defense Network helped us resolve our staggering IRS debt. From Senior Consultant Cary T, who initially interviewed us and assessed our situation, to tax analyst Jacqueline L, who assisted us with document preparation and submitted our case to the IRS, the TDN team made the process as painless as it could possibly be…and delivered an altogether satisfactory outcome.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    June 10th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Good service. it’s just sometimes they’re hard to get hold of. The main CPA should have an assistant that clients can talk to in case the main CPA is not available.
    Otherwise it’s good once you actually talk to them
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2017 Monroe, CT
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They managed to get what I wanted after a lot of going back and forth. It took time, but ultimately it was worth it. I am glad I went with this company in the end.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    3
    June 8th, 2017 Dayton, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was not impressed with this company. Numerous times I would email and waited days for a response, only to have to email again asking if they had received my email.
    I was told that I could go directly to IRS page and make my own arrangements for payment, which I did. It was quite the process. I would not refer this company to anyone.
    I do not feel they did the job that was required and they did not live up to the contract.
    Way to expensive!
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    June 7th, 2017 Brooklyn, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    ” To the representatives of the Tax Defense Network…Thank you so very much for all of your help in working with me on my tax issues. My situation was complicated and serious. You were affordable, excellent payment arrangements…. Organized & thorough & professional, as well as kind which made all of the difference in our interactions with you. I put my trust in your company, in the end it’s people like Lauren Burns who represent you that shines. It was a pleasure to work with Lauren Burns and Ms. Burns was responsive to all questions, dependable and reliable in accomplishing the task at hand. I was most impressed with her turnaround, knowledge, respect and promptness made this serious matter less stressful and bearable. Your company most definitely came through for me in a big way. Thank you for your persistence as well as treating me as a person rather than just another account. You stand above and beyond the rest!”
    Read More
  15. User Score
    8
    June 7th, 2017 Norcross, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense is a great company! Saving Grace and Mercy… I am thankful for their support, expertise and customer service
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    June 6th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The word that comes to mind when I think of Tax Defense Network is ‘professional’. They obtained all the necessary data from me up front, never made any outlandish promises but assured me that they could help. I appreciated their timely communication with me through the entire process, I never had to wonder what was going on or had to call them back to check the status, they always got back to me first. I was already under an installment plan with the IRS with a HUGE monthly payment, but the Tax Defense team reduced my payments by 70%. In addition, after the case was closed I’ve had a couple of occasions where I needed more assistance from them and they were always prompt, courteous, and again, very professional. Ms. Deborah Ackler was my main point of contact and I like to publicly state that her service and genuine concern was exemplary.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    June 6th, 2017 Woodland Hills, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Network was awesome. They helped me with our tax situation quickly, as promised. I will be recommending you to anyone who needs help. Thank you so much.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    June 3rd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company was very professional with helping me with my tax problem.The company took away my burden and worry. I would recommend this company and there employees.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    June 1st, 2017 West Chester, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Working Tax Defense Network was a life saver especially dealing with past IRS collections on my closed business. Aaron B was my assigned Senior Tax Analyst and the level of professionalism and experience was outstanding. I am more than satisfied with the outcome and final results Aaron delivered to me on behalf of his team at TDN.
    Thank you,
    Doug C.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    June 1st, 2017 Little Rock, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I give Tax Defense a 5 star rating. They are willing to work with you and the IRS at a rapid pace that is very satisfying.
    I was only with them for a short period of time, but, very satisfied with the outcome. I would strongly recommend Tax Defense Network for your tax needs.
    They provide good and friendly customer service, almost as if you actually know the person. And that is a good feeling.

    Brianna K. and your team (AWESOME). Thank you so much for your help.

    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
313
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
313