Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,141 Real Customer Reviews

#1
tax-defense-network-130

Tax Defense Network

Tax Defense Network has been helping people with tax relief for 20 years; works with almost every tax problem in every state.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(888) 631-6353

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
177

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 8, 2017

Company Awards / Certifications

  • #1 Staff Pick BestDebtCompanys.com 2014
  • Dun and Bradstreet Credibility Verified

Recommendations: To prepare for your free phone consultation, Tax Defense Network recommends having this information readily available:

  • Total estimated amount of Tax Debt
  • Last contact with the IRS (mail or phone)
  • Any missing returns that may need to be prepared
  • If you own a business, details regarding the type of business, taxation entity (Sole Prop, S Corp, Partnership, etc.)

Tax Defense Network comes highly recommended, with a full range of services from enrolled agents, tax attorneys, and CPAs. They’ve been in business since 1997, and over that time, they have developed a stellar reputation for serving customers’ needs.

The Good

  • Impressive array of services
  • A stable history
  • High availability
  • Displays pricing online
  • Positive reviews

Impressive Array of Services

Tax Defense Network offers an impressive array of service options. Basic services include help with tax liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and IRS appeals. They also offer rare services such as innocent spouse relief, bank levy, and tax audit help, which some of their competitors do not. Their team of dedicated Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys, and CPAs have acquired an impressive reputation, judging by numerous customer comments. Plus, there is no minimum tax debt size which they will service, so they are available to people of all income brackets.

A Stable History

In business since 1997, they have developed their impressive reputation primarily through customer response.

High Availability

Tax Defense Network is available in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

Tax Defense Network Reviews - 96 percent Satisfaction Rate

Displays Pricing Online

As of 2017, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. This transparency in an industry that doesn’t reveal prices until you call in and relay all of your information, is very impressive. According to the company’s website, average fees range from $2,500 to $3,000.

Positive Reviews

The hundreds of comments about Tax Defense Network on our website are overwhelmingly positive, with most people rating it a 9 or 10. Most people say that the company does a great job at resolving tax debt, that they are reliable, accurate, and worth the money.

Get started with Tax Defense Network

The Bad

  • Refund window
  • Negative review summary

Refund Window

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. In fact, some companies offer refund windows that range anywhere from 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money back guarantee.

Negative Review Summary

One complaint that appears a few times is that the company can be hard to get a hold of when dealing with problems or complications. Some customers had trouble speaking directly to an agent or attorney. Also, some point out that they are not cheap.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had more industry accreditations and a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with them, especially those who prefer a great reputation, reliability, and quality.

Tax Defense Network Pricing

Generally, pricing is between $2,500 and $3,000 for tax resolution services. Prices varies some, depending on your specific situation.

Only $500 is required to get started on your case. The rest can be taken care of with a payment plan.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes. This is paid over time, set up in payments that work for the client. That way, clients can see work being performed as they pay. TDN doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Wage Garnishment
  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies

The company also solves the following tax problems:

  • Unfiled / Back Taxes
  • Penalties and Interest Charges
  • Payroll Issues

TDN offers the following debt solutions:

  • IRS Fresh Start Initiative
  • IRS Tax Amnesty Program
  • IRS Tax Settlement
  • IRS Tax Debt Forgiveness
  • IRS Debt Cancellation
  • IRS Appeals
  • Help with Audits
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreements
  • Innocent Spouse Relief

Minimum Debt

The company has no minimum or maximum tax debt they can work with.

About Tax Defense Network

Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt through multiple avenues of tax relief ranging from Offer in Compromise (OIC) to tax liens and asset seizures. Through their Fire & Ice philosophy they bring clients realistic expectations regarding their tax situation by laying out the dynamics surrounding their dilemma on the table; but also aim to provide transparency by providing an ideal client experience. Today, Tax Defense Network has a 96 percent client satisfaction rating.

The company offers client education on a variety of tax-related topics and supports a number of local and national charity causes, such as the American Heart Walk and the Wounded Warrior Project.

States They Work In

TDN is available to help customers in all 50 states

Contact Information

Website: taxdefensenetwork.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 9000 Southside Blvd. Building 100, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Hours: 9am to 6pm EST; if you want to call outside of their hours, you can leave a message with your question and they will call you back as soon as they can.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

Due to the variety of services the company offers—many of which don’t focus on debt amount—there is not a specified minimum for tax relief. However, there are certain services and solutions that are cost-effective only above a certain amount. Those details can be determined in consultation with a tax analyst.

Time In Business

They have been in business for 20 years. Tax Defense Network began in 1997 as New Star Credit Services, which provided accounting services to small businesses. Over time, the company changed its focus to tax resolution and IRS representation, and changed its name in 2007 to better reflect those services. Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt.

Types of Services Available

TDN offers relief for a variety of tax-related issues, including:

  • Unfiled taxes
  • Tax liens
  • Bank levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Payroll tax issues
  • Penalties and interest
  • Tax audits
  • Asset seizure

They are experienced in implementing the following tax relief solutions:

  • Installment Agreement
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • IRS Appeals

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They have members of the American Bar Association, National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP), National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with most other companies in the industry, if you’re looking for the very best information specific to your case, you will need to hire them.

Refund Policy

After enrolling with an initial payment, the client has three days to obtain a full refund. This window takes away some of the pressure that comes with making a commitment and allows for clients to change their minds if they decide to back out. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services.

Up-Front Fees

While TDN asks for $500 of the flat fee down so they can begin working, this may be paid according to the client’s ability and preference. For example, it can be split up into two payments of $250 or five payments of $100 over time.

Customer Support Quality

The company has support staff available on the phone and through online chat (which always shows a photo of the support agent you are talking to). We have found the staff members to be honest, helpful, and friendly. Spanish-speaking clients can talk to customer support in their native language.

Tax Defense Network has an additional customer service department for current and past clients, which they call “Gold Star Client Care.” They encourage any dissatisfied clients to contact this department ([email protected]) and they will “make it right.” To gauge their overall client satisfaction, the company performed an internal review in October of 2012 and found that, in the previous 36 months, 94% of clients were satisfied with the service they received.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Tax Defense Network below.

1-(888) 631-6353

177 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

3
3
3
22
55
91
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2017 Hilo, HI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very Positive experience from start to finish. Communication response time excellent and every question was answered very promptly.
    Deborah A. was my Tax Analyst, she is AWESOME AND MY SUPER HERO!!!!
    They are kind of pricey which is the only reason for scoring them a 9.
    If your looking for a company with a solid reputation to help solve your tax issues, look no further, this is the one.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    October 20th, 2017 Durango, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very professional
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 18th, 2017 San Francisco, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with Amber from TDN. This is not my first experience working with TDN. I’ve come to rely on TDN to help keep the wolf from my door. This time I used them to file my taxes, they did a great job. Amber was very responsive to all my questions, and she kept me informed as we worked to get my taxes finished. I believe Amber reflects in the highest sense the professionalism and support that I’ve come to enjoy when working with TDN. My thanks to the whole team!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    October 11th, 2017 Nevada, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I received tax refunds & thought that I would not. Tax Defense Network worked a miracle,
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    October 2nd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Ive been with Tax defence over 3 years. Service has always been good.Today i had the pleasure talking to Amber. I was kind of anxious because of my taxes were do soon.Her cheerful and pleasant conversation calmed me.She took care of the problem quick and efficient without delay. The only thing slow was the cumputer.She is a great example for customer service.Pleasant,understanding and very knowledgeable. Great Job Thanks. Tim west
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 2nd, 2017 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They helped me through my tax problems very quickly!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    September 15th, 2017 New York, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent service in the completion of my 2016 taxes. Amber S treated me with respect and handled my tax efficiently.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    9
    September 13th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I just want to take the time to say thanks the Katherine V. for her fast and courteous service she gave to me she was patient and very understanding. Kudos Katherine great job thanks a million. Melissa Conway
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    September 6th, 2017 Riverside, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They are the best ,i would recommend them to anyone who is having problem with IRS. They wirk with you deligently,they do what they promise to do for you.They are very good in following up with you ,they update you of the process. The fee that they charge you is so very much worth than dealing IRS yourself.Give it to them they are the EXPERT. Iwe are a happy Client,thank you very much TAX deffense, More power to you guys especially David T.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    August 27th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We have not experienced anyone better than Amanda dissotell in her field of business. She the master of her profession She is knowledgeable and and a pleasure to work with.
    Amber sarmiento is a gem to handle complex business tax operations We highly recconmend T.D.N. for businee and personal tax returns.We are looking forward to doing business with you next tax period
    Thank you both
    Leeland corp.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    August 18th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I just received the BEST NEWS I’ve had regarding, my years long Federal Tax issue. Due to the diligence of Dave Turcotte and the Staff at Tax Defense Network. And Thanks to them, I can now sleep nights and can finally say Good-Bye to a Very Stressful, Major Worry. They Saved me from paying Hundreds of Thousands of Dollars to the I.R.S. If you are experiencing a tax issue, I Highly Recommend Tax Defense Network.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    9
    August 17th, 2017 Wimberley, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The service rendered by amber and sue made this much easier to deal with. I would recommend that anyone who has need of this type of service give them a call.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    August 15th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am very pleased with the help I received for Tax Defense!! Especially very happy with mr Dave T he helped me out very much . Everything was explained in terms I could understand. Thank you very much Mr T
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    August 3rd, 2017 Baltimore, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Only good things to say, the people that’s work at The Tax Defense Network are professional and easy to speak to. Katherine helped me through my situation and am very grateful for y’all services.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    August 2nd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company was great and I would recommend them because of their excellent customer service and attention to detail.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    July 19th, 2017 Boonton, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I wasn’t sure about the tax group but I had no other options. It was the best thing I did they got me an offer of compromise that even mg accountant was shocked they got me. It was the best money ever spent. They always returned my phone calls and answered all my questions and relieved me of any doubts I may have had. Thank you tax group !!!!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    June 21st, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Tax Defense was very good, from day one I was explained the process and I worked with Dave who was assigned to my case as the Tax Analyst. My correspondence was excellent with David and he put me at ease with my Tax issue which was overbearing for me. I would highly recommend Tax Defense for your Tax related issue.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    June 14th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company is so awesome to work with. I would certainly recommend to anyone seeking tax debt relief and my personal consultant Ruth Reyes who took the time and explain step by step what was happening in my case.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    June 7th, 2017 Brooklyn, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    ” To the representatives of the Tax Defense Network…Thank you so very much for all of your help in working with me on my tax issues. My situation was complicated and serious. You were affordable, excellent payment arrangements…. Organized & thorough & professional, as well as kind which made all of the difference in our interactions with you. I put my trust in your company, in the end it’s people like Lauren Burns who represent you that shines. It was a pleasure to work with Lauren Burns and Ms. Burns was responsive to all questions, dependable and reliable in accomplishing the task at hand. I was most impressed with her turnaround, knowledge, respect and promptness made this serious matter less stressful and bearable. Your company most definitely came through for me in a big way. Thank you for your persistence as well as treating me as a person rather than just another account. You stand above and beyond the rest!”
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    June 6th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The word that comes to mind when I think of Tax Defense Network is ‘professional’. They obtained all the necessary data from me up front, never made any outlandish promises but assured me that they could help. I appreciated their timely communication with me through the entire process, I never had to wonder what was going on or had to call them back to check the status, they always got back to me first. I was already under an installment plan with the IRS with a HUGE monthly payment, but the Tax Defense team reduced my payments by 70%. In addition, after the case was closed I’ve had a couple of occasions where I needed more assistance from them and they were always prompt, courteous, and again, very professional. Ms. Deborah Ackler was my main point of contact and I like to publicly state that her service and genuine concern was exemplary.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
177
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
177