Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 4,021 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Tax-Defense-Network

Tax Defense Network

Tax Defense Network has been helping people with tax relief for 20 years; works with almost every tax problem in every state.

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(888) 563-4157

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
238

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Company Awards / Certifications

  • #1 Staff Pick BestDebtCompanys.com 2014
  • Dun and Bradstreet Credibility Verified

Recommendations: To prepare for your free phone consultation, Tax Defense Network recommends having this information readily available:

  • Total estimated amount of Tax Debt
  • Last contact with the IRS (mail or phone)
  • Any missing returns that may need to be prepared
  • If you own a business, details regarding the type of business, taxation entity (Sole Prop, S Corp, Partnership, etc.)

Tax Defense Network comes highly recommended, with a full range of services from enrolled agents, tax attorneys, and CPAs. They’ve been in business since 1997, and over that time, they have developed a stellar reputation for serving customers’ needs.

The Good

  • Impressive array of services
  • A stable history
  • High availability
  • Displays pricing online
  • Positive reviews

Impressive Array of Services

Tax Defense Network offers an impressive array of service options. Basic services include help with tax liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and IRS appeals. They also offer rare services such as innocent spouse relief, bank levy, and tax audit help, which some of their competitors do not. Their team of dedicated Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys, and CPAs have acquired an impressive reputation, judging by numerous customer comments. Plus, there is no minimum tax debt size which they will service, so they are available to people of all income brackets.

A Stable History

In business since 1997, they have developed their impressive reputation primarily through customer response.

High Availability

Tax Defense Network is available in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

Tax Defense Network Reviews - 96 percent Satisfaction Rate

Displays Pricing Online

As of 2017, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. This transparency in an industry that doesn’t reveal prices until you call in and relay all of your information, is very impressive. According to the company’s website, average fees range from $2,500 to $3,000.

Positive Reviews

The hundreds of comments about Tax Defense Network on our website are overwhelmingly positive, with most people rating it a 9 or 10. Most people say that the company does a great job at resolving tax debt, that they are reliable, accurate, and worth the money.

Get started with Tax Defense Network

The Bad

  • Refund window
  • Negative review summary

Refund Window

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. In fact, some companies offer refund windows that range anywhere from 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money back guarantee.

Negative Review Summary

One complaint that appears a few times is that the company can be hard to get a hold of when dealing with problems or complications. Some customers had trouble speaking directly to an agent or attorney. Also, some point out that they are not cheap.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had more industry accreditations and a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with them, especially those who prefer a great reputation, reliability, and quality.

Tax Defense Network Pricing

Generally, pricing is between $2,500 and $3,000 for tax resolution services. Prices varies some, depending on your specific situation.

Only $500 is required to get started on your case. The rest can be taken care of with a payment plan.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes. This is paid over time, set up in payments that work for the client. That way, clients can see work being performed as they pay. TDN doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Wage Garnishment
  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies

The company also solves the following tax problems:

  • Unfiled / Back Taxes
  • Penalties and Interest Charges
  • Payroll Issues

TDN offers the following debt solutions:

  • IRS Fresh Start Initiative
  • IRS Tax Amnesty Program
  • IRS Tax Settlement
  • IRS Tax Debt Forgiveness
  • IRS Debt Cancellation
  • IRS Appeals
  • Help with Audits
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreements
  • Innocent Spouse Relief

Minimum Debt

The company has no minimum or maximum tax debt they can work with.

About Tax Defense Network

Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt through multiple avenues of tax relief ranging from Offer in Compromise (OIC) to tax liens and asset seizures. Through their Fire & Ice philosophy they bring clients realistic expectations regarding their tax situation by laying out the dynamics surrounding their dilemma on the table; but also aim to provide transparency by providing an ideal client experience. Today, Tax Defense Network has a 96 percent client satisfaction rating.

The company offers client education on a variety of tax-related topics and supports a number of local and national charity causes, such as the American Heart Walk and the Wounded Warrior Project.

States They Work In

TDN is available to help customers in all 50 states

Contact Information

Website: taxdefensenetwork.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 9000 Southside Blvd. Building 100, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Hours: 9am to 6pm EST; if you want to call outside of their hours, you can leave a message with your question and they will call you back as soon as they can.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

Due to the variety of services the company offers—many of which don’t focus on debt amount—there is not a specified minimum for tax relief. However, there are certain services and solutions that are cost-effective only above a certain amount. Those details can be determined in consultation with a tax analyst.

Time In Business

They have been in business for 20 years. Tax Defense Network began in 1997 as New Star Credit Services, which provided accounting services to small businesses. Over time, the company changed its focus to tax resolution and IRS representation, and changed its name in 2007 to better reflect those services. Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt.

Types of Services Available

TDN offers relief for a variety of tax-related issues, including:

  • Unfiled taxes
  • Tax liens
  • Bank levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Payroll tax issues
  • Penalties and interest
  • Tax audits
  • Asset seizure

They are experienced in implementing the following tax relief solutions:

  • Installment Agreement
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • IRS Appeals

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They have members of the American Bar Association, National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP), National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with most other companies in the industry, if you’re looking for the very best information specific to your case, you will need to hire them.

Refund Policy

After enrolling with an initial payment, the client has three days to obtain a full refund. This window takes away some of the pressure that comes with making a commitment and allows for clients to change their minds if they decide to back out. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services.

Up-Front Fees

While TDN asks for $500 of the flat fee down so they can begin working, this may be paid according to the client’s ability and preference. For example, it can be split up into two payments of $250 or five payments of $100 over time.

Customer Support Quality

The company has support staff available on the phone and through online chat (which always shows a photo of the support agent you are talking to). We have found the staff members to be honest, helpful, and friendly. Spanish-speaking clients can talk to customer support in their native language.

Tax Defense Network has an additional customer service department for current and past clients, which they call “Gold Star Client Care.” They encourage any dissatisfied clients to contact this department ([email protected]) and they will “make it right.” To gauge their overall client satisfaction, the company performed an internal review in October of 2012 and found that, in the previous 36 months, 94% of clients were satisfied with the service they received.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Tax Defense Network below.

1-(888) 563-4157

238 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

7
3
10
6
7
4
34
57
110
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    March 19th, 2019 Glendora, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Came thru for me and got me to a non collectible status. Dee Dee M my advisor gave me realistic expectations and came got it done!!!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    2
    March 16th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When we first contacted Tax Defense Network, they expressed confidence that they could reduce our tax debt (which was about $12K) and get the penalties waived.

    But over the next several months, they gave no evidence of ever even trying to obtain a reduction in our tax debt. In the end, we paid the full amount of tax owed, plus the penalties, in addition to the $900 we paid the Tax Defense Network.

    And we spent FAR more time in tax preparation than we would have spent doing it ourselves. They repeatedly made major errors in the preparation of the return. If we hadn’t verified their work, we would have owed thousands more than we did. And they took FAR longer to complete the work than they should have taken. We didn’t pay $900 in order to double our own preparation time, but that’s what happened. In the end, we should have done the work ourselves and saved ourselves all that time and money!

    Read More
  3. User Score
    2
    February 25th, 2019 San Jose, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I mis-reported stock sales in 2016 and was contacted by the IRS to pay back $16k in taxes + nearly $3k in penalties and interest. I contacted the Tax Defense Network and they said while they couldn’t guarantee I could get the interest and penalties waived, that they had never seen a situation in which that hadn’t happened with a case like mine. So I paid their $2,500 fee thinking at the very least I won’t have to deal directly with the IRS and that the service would pay for itself by getting the penalties and interest waived. I was ecstatic when they audited my taxes and found that the IRS was wrong, that I didn’t owe $16k but only $10k…great…then I wait and wait and wait…10 months before I get the go-ahead to pay the taxes but they were only able to waive $90 of the nearly $2k penalties and interest. Worse yet, I was told by the Money Resolver contact that they never get those fees waived…now I’m really mad because I was sold a line that I based on my decision on. In retrospect, I should have just taken it to my tax accountant who would have found the IRS discrepancy for a fraction of the cost. The other problem was that I had the money to pay the IRS 8 months before it was resolved but was told to wait to pay so that they could negotiate with the IRS…Mistake because then I ended up paying more penalties and interest during that time! From what I can tell, it’s not that hard to contact the IRS and work this stuff out without this service. They also were slow to keep me up to date with the status and passed me off to different departments along the way. Get a good tax accountant and then work with the IRS and your tax accountant directly.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    February 15th, 2019 Lake Zurich, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Denise Y literally changed my life when I was introduced to Community Tax. She was very positive and professional about educating me on how to clear up the mess I was. In with the IRS. She really motivated me to look forward and to see myself free from this nightmare! Ms. Y was also fast at responding to any of my requests and very thorough when explaining the results of my requests! Great work Ms. Y, you definitely made my life a whole lot easier!!!!!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    8
    February 7th, 2019 Corona de Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff and attorneys were good to work with, but the final resolution was not as favorable as I had hoped.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    4
    January 27th, 2019 Athens, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I basically I paid Tax Defense network for nothing. All they did was charge me 2,600 dollars to send me to one of their CPAs and that cost me an additional 1,000 dollars. And the CPA messed around with IRS’s offer and it cost me an additional 860 dollars.
    So my advise-RUN do not use this company-Get your own CPA it is far cheaper.
    I have filled a complaint but I have had zero response, no customer relations from these folks.

    John A. Jones
    San Angelo, TX

    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    January 23rd, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This company is completely unprofessional. They provided little help if any. They even don’t understand that they are required as an LLC to provide a W9 to the customer. They refused. They acted as if they didn’t even know what one is. Total Scam in hiring this company! Don’t do it!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    January 22nd, 2019 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I wasn’t getting the paperwork that I needed on time. The people in customer service have a direct and clean answer. They can work with you with doing payments and that’s always good. Everybody has been lovely and they’ve been really good.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Aurora, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Their there for the client to help them settle their tax problems with professional and educated employees. They help me with a past issue with great results. I would recommend Tax Defense Network to anyone to solve their IRS problems.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    2
    December 19th, 2018 Union City, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I spent years with TAX DEFENSE Network, Paid twice $ 6,500( $13,000) and nothing happened to my tax relief.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    6
    December 19th, 2018 Peckham, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Communication with client isn’t very good. To many people handling one case or it gets passed off not sure.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Marvin, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The service I received was stellar. Even when I was was unable to make a payment they were willing to work with me.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    6
    December 12th, 2018 Lomita, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Taking to long for resolution. To long. Delayed over thirty days.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    2
    December 12th, 2018 Fisherville, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    To start with the fe for tax defense was $3500, that money had to be financed as we didn’t have that . In a month and a half my pay was still being garnished and nothing was being done to help with the situation.So very hard to get anyone on the phone when we had questions or to just check on the status of our account.Finally with the help of a friend we were able to find a CPA in our area that took our information and on our behalf talked to the IRS and got garnishment stopped in just a matter of hours.So not only was tax defense really of no use to us we still have a $3500 debt to repay.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Manteca, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service is top notch. Representatives are friendly and very helpful. When I call I know who ever answers will help me.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    4
    December 12th, 2018 Belle Isle, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    No follow up from your Tax Workers . I have been billed over $10K and no positive outcome.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Leesburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were excellent,resolved all my issues.no problems
    Read More
  18. User Score
    4
    December 12th, 2018 Greensboro, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Extreme lack of communication , also very expensive
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Gilbert, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Reliable, attentive, prompt, pro-active, honest.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    2
    December 12th, 2018 Onamia, MN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Paid them a lot of money for doing absolutely nothing.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
238
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
238