Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,158 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Tax-Defense-Network

Tax Defense Network

Works with individuals & small businesses. Call them for a free consultation to see if they can help solve your tax problems.

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(888) 563-4157

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

243

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: June 19, 2019

In the last 20 years, Tax Defense Network (TDN) has provided tax relief services on over $17 billion of tax debt. The company is available nationwide to help with federal taxes, state taxes, and tax preparation. Overall, customers report a positive experience with the company, specifically their customer service. See why they’re one of the highest customer-rated tax debt companies in the reviews below and read on to find out if they can help with your specific tax issue.

Pros

Payment Options & Average Pricing for Tax Defense Network

As of 2019, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. According to the company’s website, their average fee is $3,000, although the fees will vary by the complexity of the case. Tax Defense Network offers financing options starting at $99/month for those who cannot pay the company’s fee upfront. On their website, the company also makes a point that there is nothing you can do to make your tax debt disappear. However, Tax Defense Network has relationships with the IRS and state tax departments, and they have several options to lower the overall amount you owe.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes.  Tax Defense Network doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

When you sign up with Tax Defense Network, they will ask for $500 upfront to get started on your case (this, of course, does not include their free consultation). There is no minimum debt the company requires individuals to have before signing up for their tax relief services.

Available Nationwide

Tax Defense Network provides tax relief in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

Positive Reviews of Tax Defense Network

As of 2019, Tax Defense Network has an average consumer score of 8.5 out of 10 on BestDebtCompanys.com. These overwhelmingly positive reviews can be summed up from the following characteristics:

  • Professional Customer Service. A large number of customers say that the agents, CPA, and tax lawyers they work with at TDN are professional. Several specific agents are mentioned by name in the reviews below if you want to ask for someone by name. Professional customer services mean these reps know how to help individuals in their unique tax debt circumstances, and they have a wide knowledge of the industry to pass on. The company may be able to give you suggestions you didn’t even think of, as stated by one reviewer. On top of being professional, several reviewers mention that they felt very cared for in their interactions with TDN.
  • Fast / Speedy Results. Several Tax Defense Network customers noted that some of the tax problems they’d been dealing with for years were handled a lot faster than anticipated.
  • Saved Money. Many customers said TDN resolved their tax debt and they were able to avoid additional penalties and interest. Owed back taxes is the most common problem reviewers report that the company helped with. Read more Tax Defense Network Reviews

Review of Tax Defense Network from May 2019

Review of Tax Defense Network | May 2019

Additional Tax Services Offered

If you liked working with TDN on your tax debt concerns, they can also help with your current and future tax returns. Tax Defense Network is one of the few tax debt companies that will also work with customers on tax preparation – to avoid IRS penalties by filing taxes on time and correctly the first time. The company offers these services for individuals and small businesses (plus payroll tax and tax forms).

Get started with Tax Defense Network

Cons

Refund Window

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. In fact, some companies offer refund windows that range anywhere from 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money back guarantee.

Negative Review Summary for Tax Defense Network

While most of the reviews are positive, about 30% of the Tax Defense Network reviews in 2019 have been negative. Many of those customers are upset that Tax Defense Network was unable to lower the penalties and interest they owed to the IRS. A significant number of people also believed they would have just been able to resolve their tax debt on their own.

Customer service was another issue some people had. Reviewers state that it was sometimes difficult to get anyone on the phone and that messages to the company went unreturned. Keep in mind that other Tax Defense Network reviews report the company as being responsive and professional. BestDebtCompanys.com publishes all reviews from the company’s customers and does not allow any company on our site to pay to remove negative reviews.

Our Recommendation

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax relief services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had more industry accreditations and a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with Tax Defense Network. Find out if they can help with your tax debt in a free consultation: 1-(877) 283-5397.

Summary of Services Provided

Tax Relief Services Provided by Tax Defense Network

The professionals at Tax Defense Network assess each individual’s situation to determine the best approach to stopping IRS penalties and making payments for either the part of or the total amount owed. Services TDN provides includes:

  • IRS Appeals
  • IRS Fresh Start Initiative
  • IRS Payment Plans and an installment agreement
  • IRS Tax Relief (federal tax returns)
  • State Tax Relief
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Tax Debt Forgiveness
  • Tax Debt Negotiation
  • Tax Debt Settlement

 

Tax Penalty Help

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Back Taxes
  • Tax Penalties
  • Unfiles Taxes
  • Delinquent Taxes
  • Wage Garnishments
  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies

Are you going through a tax audit? Tax Defense Network can help with…

  • Representation and explanation throughout the tax audit process
  • Tax audit penalties

Professional Help

  • Tax Attorneys
  • Tax CPAs
  • Certified enrolled agents (NAEA) and tax professionals (NATP)

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Tax Defense Network below.

1-(888) 563-4157

243 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

7
3
10
6
7
4
39
57
110
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    May 31st, 2019 Waterloo, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They helped me with my school loans because I didn’t know what I was doing.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2019 Austin, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax defense network is the best, the person I worked with is the best person you could get to do your taxes.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Tacoma, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Overall they did help my tax situation. They were able to get me through several years of taxes and save me money on penalties and things like that. Sometimes it was tough to get a hold of customer service but once I did get a hold of somebody, things were handled really well. I am happy I signed up with them.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Glyndon, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very knowledgeable and I feel very good about signing up.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Broken Arrow, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DidnÕt have any choice choosing them, when you get hit with it all of the sudden you donÕt have much choice for arbitration. It would have been nice to have some kind of print out of what they would be charging me and that it wasnÕt going to make that much difference in penalties but I feel like I made a good decision. I would probably recommend them to a friend.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Long Beach, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a really bad experience with a person in customer support but beside that everyone else was great. I should have thought about signing up earlier because they really provided what they said they would.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    March 19th, 2019 Glendora, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Came thru for me and got me to a non collectible status. Dee Dee M my advisor gave me realistic expectations and came got it done!!!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    2
    March 16th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When we first contacted Tax Defense Network, they expressed confidence that they could reduce our tax debt (which was about $12K) and get the penalties waived.

    But over the next several months, they gave no evidence of ever even trying to obtain a reduction in our tax debt. In the end, we paid the full amount of tax owed, plus the penalties, in addition to the $900 we paid the Tax Defense Network.

    And we spent FAR more time in tax preparation than we would have spent doing it ourselves. They repeatedly made major errors in the preparation of the return. If we hadn’t verified their work, we would have owed thousands more than we did. And they took FAR longer to complete the work than they should have taken. We didn’t pay $900 in order to double our own preparation time, but that’s what happened. In the end, we should have done the work ourselves and saved ourselves all that time and money!

    Read More
  9. User Score
    2
    February 25th, 2019 San Jose, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I mis-reported stock sales in 2016 and was contacted by the IRS to pay back $16k in taxes + nearly $3k in penalties and interest. I contacted the Tax Defense Network and they said while they couldn’t guarantee I could get the interest and penalties waived, that they had never seen a situation in which that hadn’t happened with a case like mine. So I paid their $2,500 fee thinking at the very least I won’t have to deal directly with the IRS and that the service would pay for itself by getting the penalties and interest waived. I was ecstatic when they audited my taxes and found that the IRS was wrong, that I didn’t owe $16k but only $10k…great…then I wait and wait and wait…10 months before I get the go-ahead to pay the taxes but they were only able to waive $90 of the nearly $2k penalties and interest. Worse yet, I was told by the Money Resolver contact that they never get those fees waived…now I’m really mad because I was sold a line that I based on my decision on. In retrospect, I should have just taken it to my tax accountant who would have found the IRS discrepancy for a fraction of the cost. The other problem was that I had the money to pay the IRS 8 months before it was resolved but was told to wait to pay so that they could negotiate with the IRS…Mistake because then I ended up paying more penalties and interest during that time! From what I can tell, it’s not that hard to contact the IRS and work this stuff out without this service. They also were slow to keep me up to date with the status and passed me off to different departments along the way. Get a good tax accountant and then work with the IRS and your tax accountant directly.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    8
    February 7th, 2019 Corona de Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff and attorneys were good to work with, but the final resolution was not as favorable as I had hoped.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    4
    January 27th, 2019 Athens, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I basically I paid Tax Defense network for nothing. All they did was charge me 2,600 dollars to send me to one of their CPAs and that cost me an additional 1,000 dollars. And the CPA messed around with IRS’s offer and it cost me an additional 860 dollars.
    So my advise-RUN do not use this company-Get your own CPA it is far cheaper.
    I have filled a complaint but I have had zero response, no customer relations from these folks.

    John A. Jones
    San Angelo, TX

    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    January 23rd, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This company is completely unprofessional. They provided little help if any. They even don’t understand that they are required as an LLC to provide a W9 to the customer. They refused. They acted as if they didn’t even know what one is. Total Scam in hiring this company! Don’t do it!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    8
    January 22nd, 2019 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I wasn’t getting the paperwork that I needed on time. The people in customer service have a direct and clean answer. They can work with you with doing payments and that’s always good. Everybody has been lovely and they’ve been really good.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Aurora, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Their there for the client to help them settle their tax problems with professional and educated employees. They help me with a past issue with great results. I would recommend Tax Defense Network to anyone to solve their IRS problems.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    2
    December 19th, 2018 Union City, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I spent years with TAX DEFENSE Network, Paid twice $ 6,500( $13,000) and nothing happened to my tax relief.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    6
    December 19th, 2018 Peckham, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Communication with client isn’t very good. To many people handling one case or it gets passed off not sure.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Marvin, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The service I received was stellar. Even when I was was unable to make a payment they were willing to work with me.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    6
    December 12th, 2018 Lomita, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Taking to long for resolution. To long. Delayed over thirty days.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    2
    December 12th, 2018 Fisherville, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    To start with the fe for tax defense was $3500, that money had to be financed as we didn’t have that . In a month and a half my pay was still being garnished and nothing was being done to help with the situation.So very hard to get anyone on the phone when we had questions or to just check on the status of our account.Finally with the help of a friend we were able to find a CPA in our area that took our information and on our behalf talked to the IRS and got garnishment stopped in just a matter of hours.So not only was tax defense really of no use to us we still have a $3500 debt to repay.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Manteca, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service is top notch. Representatives are friendly and very helpful. When I call I know who ever answers will help me.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

243
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

243