Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,590 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Reviews for Tax Defense Network | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

Tax Defense Network

Works with individuals & small businesses with owe more than $5,000 to the IRS. Rated 8.5/10 by their customers.

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4

Visit Site

Call For Consultation   1-(888) 563-4157

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

248

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: September 27, 2019

In the last 20 years, Tax Defense Network (TDN) has provided tax relief services on over $17 billion of tax debt.

The goal of tax relief is to have your debt reduced and increase the time you have to pay back your debts. Tax Relief companies like TDN are available to individuals and small businesses that aren’t sure how to resolve or even approach their tax debt. These companies know how to work with and negotiate with the IRS on your behalf: what programs you qualify for, how to apply for them, and the process of filling out complicated paperwork.

Tax Defense Network is available nationwide to help with federal taxes, state taxes, and tax preparation. Overall, customers report a positive experience with the company, specifically in regards to customer service.

Pros

Tax Relief Services Provided

The professionals at Tax Defense Network assess each the situation of each taxpayer to determine the best approach to stopping IRS penalties and making payments for either the part of or the total amount owed. Services TDN provides includes:

IRS Appeals. If you are conflicted with a decision made by the IRS, TDN will file an appeal on your behalf. Filing an appeal does not require the help of a tax professional, but the IRS is very particular and tax relief companies know how to thoroughly and correctly submit an IRS appeal. There are no guarantees that the IRS will accept your appeal, but Tax Defense Network’s licensed tax professionals will work to perfect your appeals letter.

IRS Fresh Start Initiative. The IRS Fresh Start Initiative is one of the most popular options when it comes to tax relief. Launched in 2011, this program is available to individuals and small businesses looking for a “fresh start” with their tax debt: the taxpayer can pay back taxes while avoiding tax liens. There are two main ways to utilize this program: an installment agreement or offer in compromise:

  • IRS Payment Plans and Installment Agreement. If TDN works out a payment plan with the IRS, you pay your debt back over a certain period of time. Qualifying for this program depends on how much you owe, your income, and your previous tax problems.
  • Offer in Compromise. An OIC is a form of debt relief. Those who qualify can settle with the IRS for less than what they owe. This program is for those who owe very high amounts and is difficult to qualify for.

Innocent Spouse Relief. Couples who jointly file their taxes are both on the hook for those taxes, even after divorce. TDN will assess your individual situation to determine if you qualify as an innocent spouse. If they believe you do, they will submit a form to the IRS. If not, their tax professionals will work with you to find another option for tax relief.

Other tax relief assistance that Tax Defense Network provides include IRS Tax Relief (federal tax returns), State Tax Relief, Tax Debt Forgiveness, and Tax Debt Negotiation.

Help with Tax Penalties

Tax Defense Network helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

Back Taxes. TDN commonly works with those who have unpaid taxes from the previous year. If you can’t pay back the taxes you owe, penalties and interest will incur. If you have years of back taxes owed, you may have a complicated relationship with the IRS and they can file a tax lien for what you owe. TDN works with unfiled taxes, delinquent taxes, and tax audit penalties as well.

Wage Garnishments, The IRS can garnish wages through your employer for up to 10 years after just a 30-day notice.

Tax Liens, If you do owe back taxes or are delinquent, liens can be imposed at a federal or state level. This means the government has a claim to your property and can seize it if you do not pay back taxes.

Licensed tax professionals at TDN can work to investigate these situations to find alternatives to paying back owed taxes. TDN also works with tax levies and bank levies.

Pricing & Finance Options

As of 2019, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. According to the company’s website, their average fee is $3,000, although the fees will vary by the complexity of the case. Tax Defense Network offers financing options starting at $99/month for those who cannot pay the company’s fee upfront. On their website, the company also makes a point that there is nothing you can do to make your tax debt disappear. However, Tax Defense Network has relationships with the IRS and state tax departments, and they have several options to lower the overall amount you owe.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes.  Tax Defense Network doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

When you sign up with Tax Defense Network, they will ask for $500 upfront to get started on your case (this, of course, does not include their free consultation). There is no minimum debt the company requires individuals to have before signing up for their tax relief services.

The Tax Defense Network Team

Tax Defense Network provides tax relief in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

TDN employs tax attorneys, tax CPAs, certified enrolled agents (NAEA), tax return preparers, and other tax experts (NATP). They have over 130 employees who are well versed in tax law, real estate, and working with the IRS in general. A large company like TDN will have experience with almost all aspects of tax relief and there should always be someone available to help with your specific tax returns or debt problems.

Customer Reviews

As of 2019, Tax Defense Network has an average consumer score of 8.5 out of 10 on BestDebtCompanys.com. These overwhelmingly positive reviews can be summed up from the following characteristics:

  • Professional Customer Service. A large number of customers say that the agents, CPA, and tax lawyers they work with at TDN are professional. Several specific agents are mentioned by name in the reviews below if you want to ask for someone by name. Professional customer services mean these reps know how to help individuals in their unique tax debt circumstances, and they have a wide knowledge of the industry to pass on. The company may be able to give you suggestions you didn’t even think of, as stated by one reviewer. On top of being professional, several reviewers mention that they felt very cared for in their interactions with TDN.
  • Fast / Speedy Results. Several Tax Defense Network customers noted that some of the tax problems they’d been dealing with for years were handled a lot faster than anticipated.
  • Saved Money. Many customers said TDN resolved their tax debt and they were able to avoid additional penalties and interest. Owed back taxes is the most common problem reviewers report that the company helped with. Read more Tax Defense Network Reviews.
Visit Site

Cons

Refund Policy

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. Other tax relief companies may offer a refund after 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money-back guarantee.

Customer Complaints

While most of the reviews are positive, about 30% of the Tax Defense Network reviews in 2019 have been negative. Many of those customers are upset that Tax Defense Network was unable to lower the penalties and interest they owed to the IRS. A significant number of people also believed they would have just been able to resolve their tax debt on their own.

Customer service was another issue some people had. Reviewers state that it was sometimes difficult to get anyone on the phone and that messages to the company went unreturned. Keep in mind that other Tax Defense Network reviews report the company as being responsive and professional. BestDebtCompanys.com publishes all reviews from the company’s customers and does not allow any company on our site to pay to remove negative reviews.

Our Recommendation

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax relief services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with Tax Defense Network. Find out if they can help with your tax debt in a free consultation with a tax professional: 1-(877) 283-5397.

 

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Tax Defense Network below.

1-(888) 563-4157

248 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

8
3
10
6
7
4
41
58
111
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    October 9th, 2019 Snohomish, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was a little confused about the process, I was under the impression that I was talking to someone local, only to find out they were across country. We like talking face to face.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    October 1st, 2019 Albuquerque, NM
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Peace of mind and very knowlegable.Did not have to deal with the IRS.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    9
    September 25th, 2019 Midland, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Discussed the issues with the advisor and during the course of the conversation he informed me that the lien placed on me by the IRS was to protect them and to keep the agreement I had in place with them and all would work out as long as I kept current. He was of great assistance and I must say it is not every day a company will say we do not require their help.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    September 3rd, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense network did absolutely nothing to help me . Keep switching reps always had a story . Oh yes we have been in touch with the irs and we hope to resolve your shortly . Call again a new rep . They took my money and did nothing . I’m still paying the irs . I think they had to be the worst tax network going .
    Read More
  5. User Score
    8
    August 13th, 2019 Wailuku, HI,
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very informative and thorough. Friendly but direct.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    8
    May 31st, 2019 Waterloo, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They helped me with my school loans because I didn’t know what I was doing.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2019 Austin, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax defense network is the best, the person I worked with is the best person you could get to do your taxes.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Tacoma, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Overall they did help my tax situation. They were able to get me through several years of taxes and save me money on penalties and things like that. Sometimes it was tough to get a hold of customer service but once I did get a hold of somebody, things were handled really well. I am happy I signed up with them.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Glyndon, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very knowledgeable and I feel very good about signing up.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Broken Arrow, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DidnÕt have any choice choosing them, when you get hit with it all of the sudden you donÕt have much choice for arbitration. It would have been nice to have some kind of print out of what they would be charging me and that it wasnÕt going to make that much difference in penalties but I feel like I made a good decision. I would probably recommend them to a friend.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2019 Long Beach, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a really bad experience with a person in customer support but beside that everyone else was great. I should have thought about signing up earlier because they really provided what they said they would.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    March 19th, 2019 Glendora, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Came thru for me and got me to a non collectible status. Dee Dee M my advisor gave me realistic expectations and came got it done!!!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    2
    March 16th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When we first contacted Tax Defense Network, they expressed confidence that they could reduce our tax debt (which was about $12K) and get the penalties waived.

    But over the next several months, they gave no evidence of ever even trying to obtain a reduction in our tax debt. In the end, we paid the full amount of tax owed, plus the penalties, in addition to the $900 we paid the Tax Defense Network.

    And we spent FAR more time in tax preparation than we would have spent doing it ourselves. They repeatedly made major errors in the preparation of the return. If we hadn’t verified their work, we would have owed thousands more than we did. And they took FAR longer to complete the work than they should have taken. We didn’t pay $900 in order to double our own preparation time, but that’s what happened. In the end, we should have done the work ourselves and saved ourselves all that time and money!

    Read More
  14. User Score
    2
    February 25th, 2019 San Jose, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I mis-reported stock sales in 2016 and was contacted by the IRS to pay back $16k in taxes + nearly $3k in penalties and interest. I contacted the Tax Defense Network and they said while they couldn’t guarantee I could get the interest and penalties waived, that they had never seen a situation in which that hadn’t happened with a case like mine. So I paid their $2,500 fee thinking at the very least I won’t have to deal directly with the IRS and that the service would pay for itself by getting the penalties and interest waived. I was ecstatic when they audited my taxes and found that the IRS was wrong, that I didn’t owe $16k but only $10k…great…then I wait and wait and wait…10 months before I get the go-ahead to pay the taxes but they were only able to waive $90 of the nearly $2k penalties and interest. Worse yet, I was told by the Money Resolver contact that they never get those fees waived…now I’m really mad because I was sold a line that I based on my decision on. In retrospect, I should have just taken it to my tax accountant who would have found the IRS discrepancy for a fraction of the cost. The other problem was that I had the money to pay the IRS 8 months before it was resolved but was told to wait to pay so that they could negotiate with the IRS…Mistake because then I ended up paying more penalties and interest during that time! From what I can tell, it’s not that hard to contact the IRS and work this stuff out without this service. They also were slow to keep me up to date with the status and passed me off to different departments along the way. Get a good tax accountant and then work with the IRS and your tax accountant directly.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    8
    February 7th, 2019 Corona de Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff and attorneys were good to work with, but the final resolution was not as favorable as I had hoped.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    4
    January 27th, 2019 Athens, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I basically I paid Tax Defense network for nothing. All they did was charge me 2,600 dollars to send me to one of their CPAs and that cost me an additional 1,000 dollars. And the CPA messed around with IRS’s offer and it cost me an additional 860 dollars.
    So my advise-RUN do not use this company-Get your own CPA it is far cheaper.
    I have filled a complaint but I have had zero response, no customer relations from these folks.

    John A. Jones
    San Angelo, TX

    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    January 23rd, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This company is completely unprofessional. They provided little help if any. They even don’t understand that they are required as an LLC to provide a W9 to the customer. They refused. They acted as if they didn’t even know what one is. Total Scam in hiring this company! Don’t do it!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    8
    January 22nd, 2019 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I wasn’t getting the paperwork that I needed on time. The people in customer service have a direct and clean answer. They can work with you with doing payments and that’s always good. Everybody has been lovely and they’ve been really good.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Aurora, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Their there for the client to help them settle their tax problems with professional and educated employees. They help me with a past issue with great results. I would recommend Tax Defense Network to anyone to solve their IRS problems.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    2
    December 19th, 2018 Union City, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I spent years with TAX DEFENSE Network, Paid twice $ 6,500( $13,000) and nothing happened to my tax relief.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

248
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

248