Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,264 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Tax Defense Network Reviews

Tax Defense Network

Tax Defense Network has been helping people with tax relief for 20 years; works with almost every tax problem in every state.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.0

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(888) 631-6353

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
267

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 12, 2017

Company Awards / Certifications

  • #1 Staff Pick BestDebtCompanys.com 2014
  • Dun and Bradstreet Credibility Verified

Recommendations: To prepare for your free phone consultation, Tax Defense Network recommends having this information readily available:

  • Total estimated amount of Tax Debt
  • Last contact with the IRS (mail or phone)
  • Any missing returns that may need to be prepared
  • If you own a business, details regarding the type of business, taxation entity (Sole Prop, S Corp, Partnership, etc.)

Tax Defense Network comes highly recommended, with a full range of services from enrolled agents, tax attorneys, and CPAs. They’ve been in business since 1997, and over that time, they have developed a stellar reputation for serving customers’ needs.

The Good

  • Impressive array of services
  • A stable history
  • High availability
  • Displays pricing online
  • Positive reviews

Impressive Array of Services

Tax Defense Network offers an impressive array of service options. Basic services include help with tax liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and IRS appeals. They also offer rare services such as innocent spouse relief, bank levy, and tax audit help, which some of their competitors do not. Their team of dedicated Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys, and CPAs have acquired an impressive reputation, judging by numerous customer comments. Plus, there is no minimum tax debt size which they will service, so they are available to people of all income brackets.

A Stable History

In business since 1997, they have developed their impressive reputation primarily through customer response.

High Availability

Tax Defense Network is available in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

Tax Defense Network Reviews - 96 percent Satisfaction Rate

Displays Pricing Online

As of 2017, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. This transparency in an industry that doesn’t reveal prices until you call in and relay all of your information, is very impressive. According to the company’s website, average fees range from $2,500 to $3,000.

Positive Reviews

The hundreds of comments about Tax Defense Network on our website are overwhelmingly positive, with most people rating it a 9 or 10. Most people say that the company does a great job at resolving tax debt, that they are reliable, accurate, and worth the money.

Get started with Tax Defense Network

The Bad

  • Refund window
  • Negative review summary

Refund Window

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. In fact, some companies offer refund windows that range anywhere from 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money back guarantee.

Negative Review Summary

One complaint that appears a few times is that the company can be hard to get a hold of when dealing with problems or complications. Some customers had trouble speaking directly to an agent or attorney. Also, some point out that they are not cheap.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had more industry accreditations and a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with them, especially those who prefer a great reputation, reliability, and quality.

Tax Defense Network Pricing

Generally, pricing is between $2,500 and $3,000 for tax resolution services. Prices varies some, depending on your specific situation.

Only $500 is required to get started on your case. The rest can be taken care of with a payment plan.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes. This is paid over time, set up in payments that work for the client. That way, clients can see work being performed as they pay. TDN doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Wage Garnishment
  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies

The company also solves the following tax problems:

  • Unfiled / Back Taxes
  • Penalties and Interest Charges
  • Payroll Issues

TDN offers the following debt solutions:

  • IRS Fresh Start Initiative
  • IRS Tax Amnesty Program
  • IRS Tax Settlement
  • IRS Tax Debt Forgiveness
  • IRS Debt Cancellation
  • IRS Appeals
  • Help with Audits
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreements
  • Innocent Spouse Relief

Minimum Debt

The company has no minimum or maximum tax debt they can work with.

About Tax Defense Network

Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt through multiple avenues of tax relief ranging from Offer in Compromise (OIC) to tax liens and asset seizures. Through their Fire & Ice philosophy they bring clients realistic expectations regarding their tax situation by laying out the dynamics surrounding their dilemma on the table; but also aim to provide transparency by providing an ideal client experience. Today, Tax Defense Network has a 96 percent client satisfaction rating.

The company offers client education on a variety of tax-related topics and supports a number of local and national charity causes, such as the American Heart Walk and the Wounded Warrior Project.

States They Work In

TDN is available to help customers in all 50 states

Contact Information

Website: taxdefensenetwork.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 9000 Southside Blvd. Building 100, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Hours: 9am to 6pm EST; if you want to call outside of their hours, you can leave a message with your question and they will call you back as soon as they can.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

Due to the variety of services the company offers—many of which don’t focus on debt amount—there is not a specified minimum for tax relief. However, there are certain services and solutions that are cost-effective only above a certain amount. Those details can be determined in consultation with a tax analyst.

Time In Business

They have been in business for 20 years. Tax Defense Network began in 1997 as New Star Credit Services, which provided accounting services to small businesses. Over time, the company changed its focus to tax resolution and IRS representation, and changed its name in 2007 to better reflect those services. Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt.

Types of Services Available

TDN offers relief for a variety of tax-related issues, including:

  • Unfiled taxes
  • Tax liens
  • Bank levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Payroll tax issues
  • Penalties and interest
  • Tax audits
  • Asset seizure

They are experienced in implementing the following tax relief solutions:

  • Installment Agreement
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • IRS Appeals

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They have members of the American Bar Association, National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP), National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with most other companies in the industry, if you’re looking for the very best information specific to your case, you will need to hire them.

Refund Policy

After enrolling with an initial payment, the client has three days to obtain a full refund. This window takes away some of the pressure that comes with making a commitment and allows for clients to change their minds if they decide to back out. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services.

Up-Front Fees

While TDN asks for $500 of the flat fee down so they can begin working, this may be paid according to the client’s ability and preference. For example, it can be split up into two payments of $250 or five payments of $100 over time.

Customer Support Quality

The company has support staff available on the phone and through online chat (which always shows a photo of the support agent you are talking to). We have found the staff members to be honest, helpful, and friendly. Spanish-speaking clients can talk to customer support in their native language.

Tax Defense Network has an additional customer service department for current and past clients, which they call “Gold Star Client Care.” They encourage any dissatisfied clients to contact this department ([email protected]) and they will “make it right.” To gauge their overall client satisfaction, the company performed an internal review in October of 2012 and found that, in the previous 36 months, 94% of clients were satisfied with the service they received.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Tax Defense Network below.

1-(888) 631-6353

267 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

7
5
3
29
79
144
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    April 13th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    TDN was very helpful and friendly! Always available to answer my question .call back was always in timely fashion! Their tax prep associate (Danielle) was very professional and customer service oriented!!!! Thanks again TDN
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    April 12th, 2017 Bellevue, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with Danielle B and she provided excellent service and demonstrated great expertise and I will definately be using her for any of my future tax needs. David Lipston
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    April 7th, 2017 Denver, CO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The Tax Defense Network people were very professional in the contacts I had with them. In particular, Dave Turcotte kept me well informed and explained what services were being provided, what to expect from the IRS, and the best resolution to be attained.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    April 6th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Network was terrific to work with. Our advisor, Aaron, was very calm to speak with and assured me I could contact him at any time, via email or phone. He worked with my schedule when we needed to talk on the phone. We owed a large amount of mony. It was a long process but he stuck with it through and through. I felt confident in his ability to resolve our financial problems with the best possible outcome. He was thorough in responding to my questions and getting me the information we needed to complete the process. I am happy with the final outcome.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    April 5th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have all faith in ‘THE WHOLE TEAM’ at Tax Defense Network….from the first day i called and asked for their assistance…they have been on their toes and followed through 150% ..with their expertise and knowledge. I don’t know what i would have done without them..Thank you n God Bless
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    March 30th, 2017 Dallas, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great experience, stayed in contact. I would recommend!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    9
    March 27th, 2017 Westminster, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This is good news and please extend my many thanks to your team for the hard work they have provided.
    My investment seeking your company’s help on this was truly worth every “penny” as they say.

    Instead of paying over $10,000 to IRS for the ObamaCare, Tax Defense Network team reviewed and fought for my 2015 tax return down to $95.00.

    Job well done!

    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    March 21st, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I want to thank the Tax Defense Network for being able to reduce the amount of taxes I owed. I found myself in a quandary due to bad information I received when I had to go on full time disability. As a result I found myself owing an overwhelming amount to the IRS. I contacted Tax Defense Network and they began the process of negotiating on my behalf with the IRS. They were able to reduce the total amount owed and set up a livable payment plan to get me back to a level playing field again. I owe my unending thanks to everyone at Tax Defense Network for all of their hard work in the endeavor. I would recommend Tax Defense Network to anyone finding themselves in a position where the IRS is attempting to threaten your livelihood in all the ways that only the IRS is able to do. Please take the time to contact Tax Defense Network. I promise you that you will not be disappointed.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    March 20th, 2017 Browning, MT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    tax defense was awesome: they solved my problem with IRS. The tax defense services are excellent and operated in a timely manner. Thank You
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    March 17th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They provided excellent service and kept me posted on the progress of my case and resolved my tax issue in less than 2 months.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    March 6th, 2017 Salt Lake City, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    TDN has clearly established the relationships within the i.r.s. to see a tax resolution through. In my case, taxes needed to be filed for two years of non payment because I had no ability to pay. Certainly every situation is different. I had hoped for a smaller balance of the penalties and interest to be negotiated, but this may have been an unfair expectation on my part. What TND did provide was a buffer between myself and the i.r.s. so I could concentrate on getting myself back in the game with my profession—not an easy thing to do when you’re 61! Had I tried to maneuver my way through the jungle myself, I could have jeopardized effort, in fact I know I would have. So, what I can say and what I’m grateful for, is that the dollar to services rendered ratio was more than fair. My issue is resolved, with no worry of liens or other actions. I have to keep up my end of the deal, but I have peace of mind now and its hard to put a price tag on that, especially with 62 approaching….fast!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    March 1st, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Tax defense negotiated with IRS regarding our last 3 years of taxes we owed and were able to drop our original agreement with them from $750.00/month down to $75.00/ month. My experience with the customer service and the people I worked with was very pleasant and professional. I recommend them to anyone that is having problems with IRS.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    February 28th, 2017
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I owed a very large amount in back taxes related to my business and personal income. I had lost all hope of getting this resolved. I just waited for the IRS to knock on my door and arrest me. I could not take the constant fear that kept me awake at night. The IRS then began to levy all of my income. I could not pay employees or the rent for the home I lived in with my 3 children.
    I decided to pick up the phone and call Tax Defense Network. My case was assigned to
    Mr. Aaron B, he would be the man that saved my life.
    Mr. B walked me through the steps of what TDN would do for me and what I needed to do on my end. He stressed the importance that I must stay current on my taxes and I did.

    He worked diligently on my case with Daniel J. Petri, Esq. over the next 2 years.
    When I would become frustrated at how long the IRS took to review my case, Aaron always calmed me down and kept me positive.
    I got a call last week with incredible news. Aaron advised me that the IRS had made a final decision on my case that freed me from the large amount of back taxes. I had entered this thinking how happy I would be if the back taxes were reduced 50%. I never dreamed that TDN and Aaron would negotiate with the IRS to remove 100% of my back taxes.
    I know can move forward with my business and life without fear of the IRS.

    None of this would have been possible without the help of Aaron B and everyone who worked on my case. I will continue to use TDN for my tax preparations and highly recommend them to anyone that is in fear of the IRS.

    Thank You Aaron and Tax Defense Network!!

    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    February 27th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Network performed the services of tax preparing and negotiating with the IRS to an acceptable outcome. All the representatives were polite and knowledgeable. I would recommend this company to anyone who needs tax assistance and an IRS negotiated settlement. They have a great team.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    February 27th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I worked primarily with DeeDee M to get a sizeable tax debt resolved with the IRS. This was accomplished successfully with the help of a great team of people. DeeDee was always very responsive to my needs and responded quickly to emails and phone calls. I would recommend this company if tax help is required. I am extremely grateful to The Tax Defense Network team an especially DeeDee for their efforts on my behalf.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    February 21st, 2017 Porterville, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Words can never express how grateful I am for the whole team at Tax Defense Network for the amazing job they did in resolving my tax problem. A special thanks to Robin M who was assigned to my case. My case was long and complicated with years of unfilled taxes. I was terrified of facing thousands of dollars in debt, the fear would grip me causing me to go into deep depression. Robin was always there, calming me down and reassuring me that things were going to work out. She would tell me…you just relax and enjoy the holidays and let me deal with this. When she called and told me that she was able to get the very best outcome of a non-payment for me, I had an emotional release that was overwhelming. The releif of pressure and stress was incredible. Thank you just doesn’t seem to be enough.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    1
    February 5th, 2017 Richland, WA
    15 people found this review helpful!
    I owed back taxes – After doing some reviews of companies, I went with Tax Defense Network. After discussing my issue with them, they said they could help. Signed a contract and gave them all my information and started a payment process to TDN.
    Bottom line, I got the same repayment program through them that I could have gotten through the IRS. So, after several months of negotiating between the IRS and TDN (after which time I had finished paying off my bill with TDN, which was substantial), I still owed the IRS all the money from the original bill.
    Now it would seem that TDN could have told me right up front that they could not help me and saved me at least some of that payment.
    So, if you are looking for help with any tax relief company, make sure get some assurance upfront (hopefully in writing) that their payment is based on the success of the case.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    February 2nd, 2017 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would highly recommend Tax Defense Network to anyone looking for tax help. Aaron has been so amazing through this whole process! He was always happy to hear from us and answer all our questions. He was a pleasure to work with, as were the other team members we had the opportunity to work with.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    January 30th, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Debra A. RULES!!
    My husband and I were very impressed with her turn around of services. She treated us very professional but in the same sense she made us feel at ease in what we thought a terrible time.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    January 30th, 2017 Scranton, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Ms. Deborah A was assigned to my case, very thorough with her review of my case, knowledgeable and kept me aware of all the proceedings. Entire experience was stress free and not dealing with IRS for me was terrific. Pleasure to speak with her during my case. Thank you. Total professional.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
267
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
267