Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,644 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Tax-Defense-Network

Tax Defense Network Reviews

Tax Defense Network has been helping people with tax relief for 20 years; works with almost every tax problem in every state.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8

Get Free Quote

Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
215

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.4 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    Jeremiah A Taylor, Jr
    June 6th, 2017 
    The word that comes to mind when I think of Tax Defense Network is 'professional'. They obtained all the necessary data from me up front, never made any outlandish promises but assured me that they could help. I appreciated their timely communication with me through the entire process, I never had to wonder what was going on or had to call them back to check the status, they always got back to me first. I was already under an installment plan with the IRS with a HUGE monthly payment, but the Tax Defense team reduced my payments by 70%. In addition, after the case was closed I've had a couple of occasions where I needed more assistance from them and they were always prompt, courteous, and again, very professional. Ms. Deborah Ackler was my main point of contact and I like to publicly state that her service and genuine concern was exemplary.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    nathaniel
    July 10th, 2015 
    I was hoping for a settlement, but I know the IRS isn't in the business of forgiving debt. I messed up a 2012 tax return by claiming both my kids when my ex was to claim one and I the other. I owed a little over $6000 and owed some from 2013 too. Total around $13,000. I'm in a payment plan and I'm fine with that as long as the IRS will leave me along. I would recommend Tax Defense Network to anyone who is tired of dealing with the IRS on their own. The gov is no joke and I'm glad I called TDN.Read More

Recommendations: To prepare for your free phone consultation, Tax Defense Network recommends having this information readily available:

  • Total estimated amount of Tax Debt
  • Last contact with the IRS (mail or phone)
  • Any missing returns that may need to be prepared
  • If you own a business, details regarding the type of business, taxation entity (Sole Prop, S Corp, Partnership, etc.)

Tax Defense Network comes highly recommended, with a full range of services from enrolled agents, tax attorneys, and CPAs. They’ve been in business since 1997, and over that time, they have developed a stellar reputation for serving customers’ needs.

The Good

  • Impressive array of services
  • A stable history
  • High availability
  • Displays pricing online
  • Positive reviews

Impressive Array of Services

Tax Defense Network offers an impressive array of service options. Basic services include help with tax liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and IRS appeals. They also offer rare services such as innocent spouse relief, bank levy, and tax audit help, which some of their competitors do not. Their team of dedicated Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys, and CPAs have acquired an impressive reputation, judging by numerous customer comments. Plus, there is no minimum tax debt size which they will service, so they are available to people of all income brackets.

A Stable History

In business since 1997, they have developed their impressive reputation primarily through customer response.

High Availability

Tax Defense Network is available in all 50 states. According to a representative, they also have no minimum tax debt amount. This makes Tax Defense Network available to virtually everyone.

Tax Defense Network Reviews - 96 percent Satisfaction Rate

Displays Pricing Online

As of 2017, Tax Defense is one of the few tax relief companies we have reviewed that displays average prices on their website. This transparency in an industry that doesn’t reveal prices until you call in and relay all of your information, is very impressive. According to the company’s website, average fees range from $2,500 to $3,000.

Positive Reviews

The hundreds of comments about Tax Defense Network on our website are overwhelmingly positive, with most people rating it a 9 or 10. Most people say that the company does a great job at resolving tax debt, that they are reliable, accurate, and worth the money.

Get started with Tax Defense Network

The Bad

  • Refund window
  • Negative review summary

Refund Window

Tax Defense Fund offers a money-back guarantee, but it’s only available for three days. This is a much shorter refund window than many of their competitors. In fact, some companies offer refund windows that range anywhere from 15 to 180 days. At the same time, keep in mind that many tax relief companies do not even have a money back guarantee.

Negative Review Summary

One complaint that appears a few times is that the company can be hard to get a hold of when dealing with problems or complications. Some customers had trouble speaking directly to an agent or attorney. Also, some point out that they are not cheap.

The Bottom Line

Ultimately, Tax Defense Network is a stable company with a stellar reputation offering a wide range of tax services and negotiation help. Not only that, but these services are available to anyone who finds themselves in tax debt (because they have no minimum debt requirement and service all 50 states). While we do wish they had more industry accreditations and a better refund policy, customer comments are still overwhelmingly glowing. We recommend working with them, especially those who prefer a great reputation, reliability, and quality.

Tax Defense Network Pricing

Generally, pricing is between $2,500 and $3,000 for tax resolution services. Prices varies some, depending on your specific situation.

Only $500 is required to get started on your case. The rest can be taken care of with a payment plan.

The company’s pricing depends not only on the amount of tax debt owed and the number of years of back taxes, but also the specific preparatory work required and the actions that will need to be taken with the IRS depending on the situation. With a thorough consultation with the potential client, TDN can determine the total cost their services will require—a flat price that never changes. This is paid over time, set up in payments that work for the client. That way, clients can see work being performed as they pay. TDN doesn’t charge retainers or other hour-by-hour or hidden fees.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Wage Garnishment
  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies

The company also solves the following tax problems:

  • Unfiled / Back Taxes
  • Penalties and Interest Charges
  • Payroll Issues

TDN offers the following debt solutions:

  • IRS Fresh Start Initiative
  • IRS Tax Amnesty Program
  • IRS Tax Settlement
  • IRS Tax Debt Forgiveness
  • IRS Debt Cancellation
  • IRS Appeals
  • Help with Audits
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreements
  • Innocent Spouse Relief

Minimum Debt

The company has no minimum or maximum tax debt they can work with.

About Tax Defense Network

Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt through multiple avenues of tax relief ranging from Offer in Compromise (OIC) to tax liens and asset seizures. Through their Fire & Ice philosophy they bring clients realistic expectations regarding their tax situation by laying out the dynamics surrounding their dilemma on the table; but also aim to provide transparency by providing an ideal client experience. Today, Tax Defense Network has a 96 percent client satisfaction rating.

The company offers client education on a variety of tax-related topics and supports a number of local and national charity causes, such as the American Heart Walk and the Wounded Warrior Project.

States They Work In

TDN is available to help customers in all 50 states

Contact Information

Website: taxdefensenetwork.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 9000 Southside Blvd. Building 100, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Hours: 9am to 6pm EST; if you want to call outside of their hours, you can leave a message with your question and they will call you back as soon as they can.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

Due to the variety of services the company offers—many of which don’t focus on debt amount—there is not a specified minimum for tax relief. However, there are certain services and solutions that are cost-effective only above a certain amount. Those details can be determined in consultation with a tax analyst.

Time In Business

They have been in business for 20 years. Tax Defense Network began in 1997 as New Star Credit Services, which provided accounting services to small businesses. Over time, the company changed its focus to tax resolution and IRS representation, and changed its name in 2007 to better reflect those services. Since 1997, the company has seen and helped resolve $3.3 billion of tax debt.

Types of Services Available

TDN offers relief for a variety of tax-related issues, including:

  • Unfiled taxes
  • Tax liens
  • Bank levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Payroll tax issues
  • Penalties and interest
  • Tax audits
  • Asset seizure

They are experienced in implementing the following tax relief solutions:

  • Installment Agreement
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible
  • IRS Appeals

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They have members of the American Bar Association, National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP), National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with most other companies in the industry, if you’re looking for the very best information specific to your case, you will need to hire them.

Refund Policy

After enrolling with an initial payment, the client has three days to obtain a full refund. This window takes away some of the pressure that comes with making a commitment and allows for clients to change their minds if they decide to back out. After that, the refund amount is gradually decreased based on the work that has been performed. Tax Defense Network will work to resolve any discrepancies that clients have with their services.

Up-Front Fees

While TDN asks for $500 of the flat fee down so they can begin working, this may be paid according to the client’s ability and preference. For example, it can be split up into two payments of $250 or five payments of $100 over time.

Customer Support Quality

The company has support staff available on the phone and through online chat (which always shows a photo of the support agent you are talking to). We have found the staff members to be honest, helpful, and friendly. Spanish-speaking clients can talk to customer support in their native language.

Tax Defense Network has an additional customer service department for current and past clients, which they call “Gold Star Client Care.” They encourage any dissatisfied clients to contact this department ([email protected]) and they will “make it right.” To gauge their overall client satisfaction, the company performed an internal review in October of 2012 and found that, in the previous 36 months, 94% of clients were satisfied with the service they received.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

215 Tax Defense Network Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

5
3
5
3
4
4
31
57
103
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    November 14th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I paid for tax defense network/moneysolver services to settle my IRS debt. Most of the time they ignored my emails and does not even return phone calls. Some of there associates are rude. The client services department head sent me an email to call him personally on his direct line to address my complaints but eh is worse-he never return phone calls.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    2
    September 10th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Up until I got a letter telling me that they cancelled my account, I thought this company was incredible. This process went on for almost 2 years. I never had issues communicating with the agent working my account. When they asked for details I got them what they asked for. It dragged on and on. They never got a resolution from the IRS. I never got a resolution with state I am in. What I did get was a letter telling me that my account was closed. I have no idea where I am at with the IRS or with my State. I paid them a lot of money. We talked often about what kind of resolution would work out for me. They just couldn’t close the deal in my case and I have not idea where I stand on anything. No recap. No reasons why or resolution options.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    August 21st, 2018 Washington, DC
    1 people found this review helpful!
    What a scam. They took me hard for $3500 and provided nothing. I hired these people to help my fiancée. They had her sign a power of attorney and immediately began collecting their monthly payments totaling $3500 from my bank account. Then months went by and they had to have her sign another power of attorney. I told them they had a duty of service to provide some service for the money they collected——and said I would accept $2500 if they would just say they could not help us and go on. No reply. Basically they only do what you could do yourself by contacting the IRS yourself. They must post their own glowing reviews, or maybe they just chose us not to help. BEWARE, they promise you everything and I as far as I can tell they deliver nothing. But they are very efficient at taking your money.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    8
    August 1st, 2018 Miami, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Quick & easy . Obviously knowledgeable !
    Read More
  5. User Score
    4
    August 1st, 2018 San Antonio, TX
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I could have done it my self. They just took my money and didn’t do anything.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    August 1st, 2018 Staten Island, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    they are dedicated and nothing but excellent helped me every step of the way
    Read More
  7. User Score
    8
    July 2nd, 2018 Snohomish, WA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My fee is $1450 for their services. They could only find $80+ to write off, so I still owe close to $8300 to the IRS. So now I have close to $9700 to pay off. This all happened due to my husband divorcing me after 25 years, I am a renal transplant patient with high medical and meds expenses and paying for school out of pocket. My two forms of income are Disability and Spousal Support. I had expected more to be written off I guess and especially since now I am making payments to Tax Defense until October plus adding the IRS Set Up Fee and monthly payments to the IRS started this month. I have never been in this situation with the IRS. I realize they saved my car, IRA, didnt have to deal with IRS, however, $1450 seems like a lot of money for the amount that really got written off. I’m more in debt now than when I first contacted Tax Defense. Everybody was awesome to work with and treated me well. Just did not receive the results that I thought I would for the fee $1450. Because now I have to come up with the money for tax season 2018 so I am not leined in 2019 and voided of my current agreement with them. Thank you for your time.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2018 Fort Myers, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They took care of my tax problem quickly and efficiently.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    6
    July 2nd, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I didn’t get anything taken off my debt, no penalties or anything. I thought my agent Ruth did a good job at helping me.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    8
    July 2nd, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very professional and also confident that they could get the results that they said they could, and they got them. I knew I was in good hand
    Read More
  11. User Score
    4
    June 8th, 2018 Torrington, WY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had an emergency with the IRS and needed their help. They came to my rescue and initially they worked rapidly to try and ease the pain of the process. They havenÕt completed their end of their bargain yet. I mean, I feel kind of good about going with them but IÕm still waiting for them to be done.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018 Eureka, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I went to them because I needed help with my tax debt. When I signed up the guy gave me a whole bunch of wrong information. He was terrible and lied to me. Nothing really went the way he said it was going to go. As a matter of fact, it all went in the opposite direction. However, Nick, or whoever helped me, was right on the spot with the information and they were really good about getting back to me. They helped me with my frustration and took care of the problem. Now IÕm totally thrilled with it because of that. They were expensive but it was totally worth it.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018 Miramar Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    After I researched other companies they seemed to be the best organization. Going with them was one of the best decisions I ever made. I always get a response from them and theyÕre always willing to help you out and give you advice. They really seem to care and are willing to help their clients.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    6
    June 8th, 2018 Iowa City, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I saw it on TV and decided to sign up. The people were friendly but the whole process took too long. It seemed to work well but on the other hand it was pretty pricey.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018 Giddings, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I let myself get behind and ended up in a bind. They were always there for me and told me what I needed to know. They never hid information from me, everything was out and they were ready to answer anything. They were just very friendly. They took care of everything and did a very good job for me.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018 Austin, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They had great marketing, thatÕs why I went with it. They are very thorough and knowledgeable. Their response time is good too. I donÕt know much about taxes so I left everything in their hands. IÕm sure they represented me to the best of their abilities. I guess their pricing was fair and everything turned out ok. IÕm happy after that.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    8
    June 8th, 2018 Harvey, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had delays paying my taxes for 5 years so I went to Tax Defense Network for help. There was a little problem in the last couple of weeks with a payment but Susan got those things resolved for me just the other day. I think going with them was a pretty wise decision.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    8
    June 8th, 2018 Gainesville, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I went to them to resolve an issue with the IRS. ItÕs very difficult to reach them by telephone. I do feel good about my decision to go with them.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018 Sandy, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everybody has been very responsive and helped me out. They checked on the issues that were presented to us and got me good results. The actions they took were very progressive. They did a good job, it worked out very well for me.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    8
    June 8th, 2018 Torrance, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I went to them because they said they could fix my problem. I was expecting more. Basically what they did was get the IRS off my back for 2 years or so, which is good because I owe them a lot of money. They were able to get that based on my income too, so it was good. I just figured they would do something different. Still, they did what they said they were going to do and everything went well. After I signed up though everybody and their mother started calling me in regards to tax help, but I got all that done already.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with your free quote!

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Tax Defense Network at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
215

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.4 /10
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
215

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.4 /10