Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,224 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Consolidated Credit Reviews

Consolidated Credit

Consolidated Credit offers transparent pricing and company information. Available in all states and great for credit card debt.

Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4

Call For Free Consultation:  1-(888) 538-4192

Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

430

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: July 11, 2019

For over 25 years, Consolidated Credit has helped more than 6.5 million people with debt relief and consolidated over $7.8 billion of debt. They are a non-profit credit counseling company that offers debt consolidation and credit counseling with certified credit counselors. With debt consolidation, people can make one monthly payment (instead of paying each creditor) each month at a potentially lower interest rate than what they are currently paying. Debt management services provided by Consolidated Credit are available nationwide.

The average Consolidated Credit customer experiences the following:

  • Positive to no impact on credit score
  • Reduced monthly payments by 30-50%
  • Reduced credit card interest rate to 0-11%
  • $40/month fee to Consolidated Credit
  • No debt consolidation loan

 

Pros

Positive Consolidated Credit Reviews

Want to know if Consolidated Credit is good? The best way to tell is by reading reviews from real customers. The most common word used to describe Consolidated Credit is “helpful”. When you sign up for debt consolidation, you want to work with a company that is understanding, friendly, and takes time to answer your questions about the process of becoming debt free. The reviews of Consolidated Credit say these exact things and rate them 9.4 out of 10. Not only are the Consolidated Credit reps understanding and helpful, but they are also certified credit counselors. The company has ISO and AICCCA certificates.

Many reviewers are also happy with the time it takes to pay off their debts and how effective their finance management program was.

Debt Consolidation With Low-Interest Rates

Before you sign up for debt consolidation with Consolidated Credit, you’ll want to make sure that debt consolidation is the right path for you. The company offers a free 30-60 minutes consultation to access each individual’s situation. With your permission, they will do a soft pull on your credit score (meaning it will not affect your credit score).

Debt consolidation is when all your (unsecured) debts are combined into one monthly payment, usually at a lower interest rate. If you choose to work with Consolidated Credit, they will reach out to each of your creditors to see if a lower interest rate can be negotiated. The company claims that they can negotiate credit card interest rates to 0-11%. (Debt settlement plans negotiate overall amounts owed). So while you will need to pay back the money you owe, you can do so with less interest building up, and only make one payment a month (Consolidated Credit will disperse the money to each of your creditors).

Consolidated Credit has relationships with over 1,500 major banks and retailers, meaning they know how to talk to them and lower interest rates. Some of the companies the work with include: Bank of America, American Express, Chase, Citi, Discover, Capital One, Wells Fargo, USAA, Synchrony Financial, and Nordstrom.

Extensive Debt Management Resources

Consolidated Credit has an organized online dashboard available for account holders. Customers are given a login and track the progress of their debt management program 24/7.

During your free consultation with Consolidated Credit, they will determine if debt consolidation is right for you. If it’s not, they may suggest another debt relief path that they can help with:

  • Debt management
  • Credit counseling
  • Credit card debt advice
  • Personal financial

The company also has an entire specialized section of services for financial problems associated with housing. The housing services they offer consumers include foreclosure prevention counseling, mortgage payment assistance, reverse mortgage counseling, and homebuyer education and counseling.

In addition, Consolidated Credit offers online seminars about housing, and the company’s Housing Counseling Team meets with people near Fort Lauderdale, Florida, to provide advice on buying a home. Their website also features a housing and mortgage glossary to help new homeowners or potential homebuyers become acquainted with financial definitions.

Mobile-Friendly Site

Consolidated Credit’s website is mobile friendly and easy to navigate for all account holders. The mobile site clearly displays their contact information, the option for getting a free debt consultation, and a free financial tips section. The mobile site does not include all the same details and features as the desktop computer site, but it has enough options that consumers can easily use their basic services on their phone.

The company even offers a budgeting app for mobile phones with a variety of offered tools.

Learn more about Consolidated Credit

Cons

Upfront Fees

Compared to other debt consolidation companies, Consolidated Credit has a slightly higher up-front origination fee – up to $49. Keep in mind that this is a one-time fee, and is either on par with or slightly higher than the upfront fees other debt relief companies charge.

On top of making payments to your credit card, Consolidated Credit charges an average monthly fee of $40 (up to $79 depending on where you live). This fee allows them to help you and others pay off debt.

No Guarantees

Unlike debt settlement, you will have to pay back all your credit card debt and other unsecured debt (although it will most likely be at a much lower interest rate). If you fall behind on the monthly payment plan you have set up with Consolidated Credit, you will have to drop out of the program and either re-consolidated your debt, or try debt settlement.

Unfortunately, Consolidated Credit does not offer a money-back guarantee for its consolidation options. However, the company does not charge a cancellation fee if you decide to stop using its services.

Our Recommendation

Consolidated Credit is transparent about who runs the company, their prices, and exactly what you can expect when you sign up for their debt consolidation program. Finding a debt management program that is up-front about the above information and more is rare in the debt consolidation industry.

One of Consolidated Credit’s certified debt counselors will be able to give you exact pricing for your unique situation without any fees. We recommend working with Consolidated Credit for any credit card debt you find yourself in. Consolidated Credit can assist you in consolidating your debt and creating an effective debt management plan to ultimately eliminate debt.

Talk to a certified credit counselor from Consolidated Credit

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Consolidated Credit below.

1-(888) 538-4192
Or you can visit their site by clicking here.

430 Consolidated Credit Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

8
3
2
2
8
5
3
13
38
348
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    July 5th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    No they are not legitimate, I was charged $49.99 after they said they could help me, was told after the nonrefundable charge they could not help. Plus the cards have yet to receive the payments they were supposed to send… another $180 down the drain. Do not trust them.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    6
    June 28th, 2019 Augusta, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Higher rating than most on debt consolidation. Still awaiting feedback from Jason at Freedom who was assigned to me by Eddie.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    8
    June 28th, 2019 Gilbert, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    they seemed to have the financial support I was looking for.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    June 17th, 2019 Kilmichael, MS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    At first I was skeptical but Consolidated Credit was incredibly helpful in putting me on the road to be debt free
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    June 12th, 2019 Roswell, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They lived up to their excellent online reputation. My Counselor was wonderful and handled all the details professionally and got my interest rate reduced to just 6%, which I was skeptical of until I saw the banks’ statements. Great company!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    January 29th, 2019 Los Angeles, CA
    10 people found this review helpful!
    They will never stop calling you. Never give them your information.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    November 8th, 2018 Brooklyn, NY
    8 people found this review helpful!
    Nickoel was incredibly helpful and a pleasure to speak with. I felt like I was spinning my wheels barely making the minimum payment every month. I just joined the program and I will be starting this month. I was incredibly nervous and worried but she made me feel comfortable and answered any questions I had.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    5
    October 23rd, 2018
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Must have a minimum of $5000 debt and they don’t say that till you call.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2018 LaFayette, GA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Hey were very polite and helpful of getting you where you needed to pay
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2018 Bakersfield, CA
    9 people found this review helpful!
    The professional team at Consolidated Credit is very knowledgeable and understanding of those contacting them for debt consolidation. I never felt judged, only supported. The staff works with you to determine the best route to take to help you clear your debt in the most expedient way possible. Everyting is explained very thoroughly and together you decide on a plan.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    April 24th, 2018 Los Angeles, CA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Thy help to less ur debt and for one the plan and hve a less debt free live
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    April 24th, 2018 Lancaster, CA
    10 people found this review helpful!
    So far so good, I’m a customer for less than a month, and they have delivered on all their promises.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    April 4th, 2018
    11 people found this review helpful!
    Very deceitful practice.They told me that I would be on the program for two years and are now telling me it is 4 years.I fell trapped and don’t know what to do.They are such good liers that they believe themselves
    Read More
  14. User Score
    0
    January 17th, 2018 Partlow, VA
    28 people found this review helpful!
    if you appreciate your credit score DO NOT sign up with consolidated credit they will totally ruin your credit, they will tell you this “at the begining of the program you will take a hit on your credit report” but they dont tell you that all of your accounts will be delinquent 30-60 days reported on your credit report dropping your score over 100 points
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    October 17th, 2017
    23 people found this review helpful!
    I spoke to a CSR named Anthony that was anything and everything except helpful! When you’re in a financial bind and looking for help and answers, the LAST thing you need is someone judging and talking down to you. He not only was rude and condescending but he spoke to me like he was reprimanding a child. I’d file bankruptcy before I’d use this company based on this one csr!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    October 17th, 2017 Nyack, NY
    7 people found this review helpful!
    I had questions concerning a letter from customer care team of capital one. They stated they
    could forgive or cancel my principal balance of 600.00 or more.
    Wow I thought this was great. so I called Consolidated Credit.
    Apparently the bank should have sent this letter back in 2015.
    I would have never known unless I called. Great job to customer service.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    October 17th, 2017
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you for helping me and I amvery pleased with all the services that your company has done for me!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    October 5th, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Very professional. Great understanding
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    October 3rd, 2017
    2 people found this review helpful!
    She was very professional and informative
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    September 28th, 2017 Mcminnville, TN
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Very polite and helpful!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

430
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

430