Best Debt Companys

166 Companies 2,767 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief

Optima Tax Relief works with those who owe $10k or more in taxes. They are highly accredited and have a money back guarantee.

Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.1

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(855) 636-8946

Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$2,000-5,000

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
9/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
109

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 9, 2016

Optima Tax Relief Overview

Optima Tax Relief offers several avenues for tax relief in the following areas: Tax Consultation, Tax Resolution, Tax Preparation and Compliance, Tax Settlement and Negotiation. With a highly qualified team, they offer a number of services which they call their “core competencies” and have received glowing customer feedback. Read our expert review below or scroll down to read real Optima Tax Relief reviews.

The Good

The tax professional at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by the burden of IRS demands and tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their tax debt issues. Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average). Other benefits of the Optima Tax Relief service include:

Positive Optima Tax Relief Reviews:

On our website Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most rating them a 9 or 10. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was the smartest decision they ever made.

Core Competencies:

Though they offer many tax services, they list their “core competencies” as Tax Negotiation & Settlement, IRS Audit Defense, Tax Levies & Liens, Wage Garnishment, Back Taxes, End Penalties & Interest. They also help people reduce IRS tax debt. This covers a broad range of possible tax needs and all of their agents and attorneys are showcased on the website (optimataxrelief.com), giving a personal connection to potential customers. The only negotiation service we were unable to find with Optima Tax Relief was asset seizure.

Money Back Guarantee:

They offer a 15-day money back guarantee for all of their tax services. Though this is not the longest refund window out there; major industry leaders offer a money back guarantee as long as 180 days.

Stellar Reputation:

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations including the National Association of Tax Professionals. They are an Approved Continuing Education Provider and they have an “A” rating with the Business Consumer Alliance.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four step tax relief process
  • Refund policy
  • Ranked the #1 Financial Services Company by Inc. Magazine

Visit Site

The Bad

It is well understood that the tax code is extremely complicated. What many people do not know is that there are experts available to help when the IRS comes knocking on their door. While Optima Tax Relief has created a proven system, there are limitations prospective clients should be aware of:

Unpublished Costs:

Like almost all tax relief companies, Optima does not publish pricing online because they offer so many different services with different pricing structures.  But how much does Optima Tax Relief cost to use? If you are 5 years behind on payment and owe $35,000 in back taxes, Optima Tax charges anywhere from $2,000 to $5,000 to resolve.

Debt Requirement:

According to an Optima Tax Relief representative, there is no minimum debt required to work with the company.

Limited Industry Experience:

We should note that this is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed. They began their business in 2010. While some people may not care about the age of a company, others may want to work with a company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary:

The handful of negative reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is pretty much impossible on the website. The company would do well to be more up front about this information, however they provide quotes on a case by case basis.

The Bottom Line

Optima Tax Relief comes highly recommended for anyone with at least $10,000 in IRS debt who doesn’t mind working with a young company. Optima has an impressive reputation in the industry and provides assistance with nearly every tax problem. Former customers are mostly pleased with the services they’ve received. Be aware that fees can accumulate, and be sure to ask the agent or lawyer for an exact list of fees. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.

Visit Site

Optima Tax Relief Pricing

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $995 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,995.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

  • The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $995 to $9,995, depending on a variety of factors, such as:
  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time we’ll let you know our estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000-5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In their FAQ section they state each case is different, and to their credit, honestly state, “we may not be able to save you anything at all”. However, no standard rate or percentage is mentioned on the website. Consumers will need to call and relay their circumstances in order to get an accurate quote for services.

Services

Optima is a full service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Services they offer include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release

Specialties

Optima Tax Relief works with a variety of tax debt / IRS problems. The company can help people who owe thousands of dollars to the IRS know what their options are. Tax experts at Optima can reduce tax debt and even stop wage garnishments from starting. Whatever your situation, Optima will find the right solution for you.

Minimum Debt

Optima Tax Relief says they do not have a minimum debt requirement.

About Optima Tax Relief

The company was formed in 2010 by Harry Langengberg and Jesse Stockwell – two former students of the Wharton Business School. Today, the company operates out of California and is made up of over 300 ex-IRS employees, tax attorneys, CPAs, and enrolled agents. The diverse qualifications of their staff make them one of the most notable companies in the debt relief industry.

Optima has an A+ Rating with the BBB and is ranked the #1 Financial Services Company by Inc. Magazine

States They Work In

Optima is licensed to work in all 50 states by the IRS.

Contact Information

Website: optimataxrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 3100 S. Harbor Blvd., Suite 250, Santa Ana, CA, 92704
Hours: Monday-Friday 7am to 6pm PST.

Ratings Breakdown:

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

For tax settlement, there is no minimum debt.

Time In Business

The business was started in 2011 in California. They have been in business for 4 years.

BBB Rating

The Optima Tax Relief BBB page shows the company at an A+ rating.

Types of Services Available

Both Federal and state tax problems are addressed by this firm. Optima’s four main areas of expertise include Tax Consultation, Tax Resolution,  Tax Preparation and Compliance, and Tax Settlement and Negotiation. They will also help you with tax audits, unpaid taxes (overdue tax returns), removing tax liens, preventing bank levies and /or seizure of assets and ending wage garnishments. They offer representation before IRS auditors and revenue officers, and help in enrolling in the IRS Fresh Start Initiative.

The Fresh Start Initiative was first announced in February 2011 and includes four components: Waived Penalties, Offer in Compromise (OIC), New Installment Guidelines and Notice of Federal Tax Liens. There are good definitions on specific services. For example, when applying for OIC, in order to qualify “you must have an inability to repay the debt within the time the IRS has to collect on the debt.” The OIC is a complicated resolution and Optima honestly states, “The reality is that very few taxpayers qualify for an Offer in Compromise (about 25% to 33% of applicants).”

Clients can expect any of the tax relief solutions to take between two to six months to resolve, depending on the complexity of the entity’s respective tax issues.

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They have multiple members of the American Bar Association on Staff as well as the NATP, AICPA and NAEA.

They were also rated as one of the Best Places to Work by the Orange County Business Journal in 2012.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

The first consultation is free of charge over the phone. Taxpayers must pay the first retainer in order to begin the discover phase on the account.

Refund Policy

There is a 15-Day Money Back Satisfaction Guarantee on any fees assessed for the professional investigation process. There is no guarantee once the second phase of service, or resolution phase, has begun.

Up-Front Fees

A consultation is free, but to start the Investigation phase, an up front retainer is charged, dependent upon the amount of taxes owed. Charges for the Resolution phase are made only after Optima makes a tax resolution plan with the IRS on the client’s behalf.

Contact Information

E-Mail:

[email protected] There are also links to their FaceBook and Twitter accounts on their site.

Address:

3100 S Harbor Blvd #250
Santa Ana, CA 92704

Business Hours:

7:30 am to 5:30 pm Monday through Saturday. Some shorter Sunday shifts have been added during tax season.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Optima Tax Relief below.

1-(855) 636-8946

109 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

6
1
3
4
13
82
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    December 7th, 2016 Chino Hills, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima was very helpful in clearing up a substantial debt I had with the IRS. It was a very reasonable amount compared to what original debt was. I would recommend their services if you have a issue to settle with the IRS.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    December 1st, 2016 Mastic Beach, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff at Optima Tax Relief were amazing. Each team member assigned to my case displayed the highest level of professionalism which put my mind at ease during the process. They always took to the time to contact with additional updated information concerning my case.
    Dealing with the IRS can be very stressful but team at Optima Tax Relief really allow me to have a peace of mind. And they did a superb job! I never expected the outcome to be this good. The smartest move I made concerning my tax problems was turning it over to Optima Tax Relief.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    November 28th, 2016 Valencia, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had an such an awesome experience with Optima Tax Relief that I would like to share with everyone. I had a 22,000.00 IRS debt and was looking at a wage garnishment as well as a hold on my bank accounts. I called Optima and the minute someone answered the phone they made me feel that everything was going to be OK. They sent me the paperwork i needed and we began our process together to reduce my 22,000.00 debt to the IRS to 100.00. There never was any stress and the whole process took less than one year. I am now debt free to the IRS. Great Company and Very professional staff. Great experience.

    Thank you Optima Tax Relief

    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    November 23rd, 2016 Madison, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was initially skeptical, and dodged Optima Tax Relief. I asked questions over and over, and was leery about giving them my credit card information over the phone. After, Optima Tax Relief asked me to come visit their office and meet with them, I then felt at ease.
    I signed up with Optima Tax Relief over the phoneand I did not regret it. They informed clearly of the possible outcome for a delinquent $10,000 amount I owed to IRS.
    In about 5-6 months time, Optima Tax Relief, through Power Of Attorney gathered all required tax papers from me, communicated with the IRS on my behalf, brought all my tax paperwork up to date, and at the end, they constructed a Settlement with the IRS for $50.00 because of my hardship.
    I highly recommend Optima Tax Relief to anyone who is in the same position that I found myself in…….YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.
    A.Silva
    Corona, CA
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    November 21st, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief staff was very professional and helpful in resolving our recent IRS tax issues. They answered all questions in a timely manner. I would highly recommend you to give them a call if you owe money to the IRS.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    9
    November 17th, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a major IRS problem due to employers reporting. I needed help and decided to try Optima . Fortunately, Optima delivered on all their promises . Not only did they solve my problem they identified numerous other concerns and fixed them.My resolution team was professional and thorough.They removed all of my trepidation and concern.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    November 10th, 2016 Houston, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY! LOOK AT ALL THE REVIEWS FROM ALL OVER THE NET. THEY ALL SAY THE SAME THING. MY FAULT FOR NOT LOOKING AT THE REVIEWS FIRST. EVERYONE IS RIGHT, PAY 995 FOR FIRST PHASE TO GET INFO YOU ALREADY HAVE, THEN SECOND PHASE IS BASICALLY A FEE CHARGED BASED ON HOW MUCH YOUR INCOME IS YOU TOLD THEM BEFORE STARTING THE FIRST PHASE. DO NOT TELL THEM HOW MUCH YOU MAKE!!!!! THAT’S THE DECIDING FACTOR OF HOW MUCH SECOND PHASE WILL COST YOU. THEY DO NOTHING TO HELP YOU AND COULD CARE LESS OF YOUR TAX PROBLEMS. GET SCREWED BY THE IRS AND GET SCREWED BY THE TAX RELIEF COMPANIES THAT ARE PAYING THE IRS WITH TAX MONEY THEY GET FROM US. IT’S A WIN WIN FOR IRS AND OPTIMA TAX RELIEF.
    Total rip off. Did nothing but get an amount owed from the IRS for $995. 15 Day Money back Guarantee is pointless because they take 2-4 weeks to get an answer that truly only takes 30 min. By that time they give you for the so called investigation, your past the 15 day Money back. Absolutely no negotiations, reduced amount, payment terms, options, etc were made in the first phase. If you pay 995 dollars for something you expect to get a little more than, “well you owe 16K”.
    Also notice they send you the recorded line that has the wording just right to not be able to sue them. Never did I get the recorded phone conversation with the Salesman?
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff kept me informed and answered my calls when I contacted them. Don’t expect them to be able to correct your problems over night. I would have waited another year for the results I got. I have a $0 balance with the IRS now and can’t wait to file in 2017 and see my tax return sent to me instead of my outrageous balance that I’ve had for 12 years. Thank you Ashley at Optima. She submitted the offer to the IRS for me and a few months later called me to close my case!!! It was well worth the initial investment and they never asked for anything more from me after that investment.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    October 16th, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would like to thank optima for all the hard work they done for me and my family. I don’t know where we would be without there services.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    September 15th, 2016 Piscataway, NJ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Sharon and goes above and beyond for you , I love they tell you the truth and not give a sales pitch on how great they are , I found her Real and step my goal and expectation as I needed. not a sales pitch.

    and once your done and you still have an issue she is there and will get back to you on time.

    LOve them !!!

    Edward Rivera

    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    August 18th, 2016 Oak Ridge, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Working with Optima Tax Relief was a great experience from the very first call until my issue was resolved. I have had annoying tax debt that I could not get paid and was accumulating penalties which made the debt grow. After talking with Optima Tax Relief my debt was cleared and a settlement was made which I know wouldn’t have been possible without Optima Tax. Relief. .I recommend everyone that is dealing with a IRS issue to contact them to help, they set your expectations as far as how long it would take and it takes away the stresses you have because it is being taken care of.. I give them 100% satisfaction.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    9
    August 9th, 2016 Bethany, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had back taxes and I live in Oklahoma City and the people here seemed unwilling or unknowing how to help. Everyone I dealt with was professional and proficient… I have only good things to say!!! I am glad to say I am very pleased and would recommend them to anyone with tax issues.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 28th, 2016 Medford, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief helped me a lot. They eliminated my tax debt for a fraction of what I owed. They were responsive and professional. Very reasonable. They stopped the IRS from garnishing my wages when attempted. I have had a large weight lifted off my shoulders and now also have peace of mind. I would recommend their services to my friends and family, or anyone struggling with tax liability.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    7
    June 7th, 2016 Saint Cloud, MN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I called Optima when I was surprised by a letter from the IRS, my ex-husband had just passed away a week prior and I had no knowledge of him emptying his 401K while we were still married. Optima took control and told me not to worry. They kept in contact with me and after a year were able to help me settle a debt I didn’t know was there until it was too big for me. This mother of 3 babies is extremely grateful!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 Morrisville, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief (OTR): I was overwhelmed and didn’t know where to start when dealing with the IRS. Optima Tax Relief helped me sort through all of the paperwork and obtained an offer in compromise that saved me thousands of dollars. I would definitely recommend Optima Tax Relief to anyone struggling with federal tax debt.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 Washington, DC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    After receiving a letter from the IRS saying that I owe an substantial amount of money to them, and I didn’t know how I was going to repay them. I was riding home and I heard an announcement on the radio regarding a company that could help me out with my debt. It was called Optima Tax Relief and I called them and the team that I worked with was so helpful and very nice. They put my mind at ease letting me know that they had it all under control. I am proud to say that I ended up paying them a very small amount to the IRS and I am so much happier. Optima Tax Relief is so AWESOME and I would recommend me to anyone who has troubles with the IRS.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    OTR is an establishment staffed with people that you can trust to deliver the product and services you expect to receive from them. Their people are very competent to handle cases you ask them to handle for you. They are relentless in obtaining desired results. I would definitely recommend OTR.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 Levittown, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was upside down on my taxes I finally made the decision to call Optima what a relief they walked me thru the procedure step by step and by the end they found a reasonable compromise and saved me thousands of dollars well worth what I spent with them I recommend Optima to anyone who finds themselfs in this position there is a way out …
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2016 Atlanta, GA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was way behind on filing my taxes. The IRS was putting leins on every thing. They were going to garnish what little wages I have. Optima Tax was recommended to me. What a God sent they were. They tell you everything up front..they even helped me with payments to pay for their services. Optima will call or email to let you know what’s going on every week or so. You’re never left in the dark. I will continue to tell everyone who needs a voice with the IRS…Optima is the one to call
    Read More
  20. User Score
    8
    May 12th, 2016
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had a mess on my hands, 14 years worth. Optima straightened it all out for and got me a manageable payment plan.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$2,000-5,000

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
9/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
109
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
257