Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,329 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Reviews for Optima Tax Relief | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief

Optima Tax Relief offers tax resolution and tax settlement with the IRS. They have a moneyback guarantee.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.6

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(866) 625-5389

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$999+

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

143

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: September 18, 2019

Optima Tax Relief is one of the highest top-rated tax relief companies in the industry. Optima Tax Relief provides a variety of tax-related services to taxpayers, including tax negotiation and tax settlement services, IRS audit defense, tax levies and tax liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest services.

Pros

Tax Relief Services

The tax professionals at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by financial hardship and the burden of IRS demands and IRS tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their IRS debt issues.

Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards a resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average). Optima Tax Relief with tax preparation and filing tax returns.

Positive Optima Tax Relief Reviews

On our website, Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most customers awarding the company with a 9 or 10 rating. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was one of the smartest decisions they’ve ever made. Below is a review from an Optima Tax Relief customer left on our site in 2019:

Review of Optima Tax Relief on Best Debt Companys

Core Competencies

Though the company offers many tax services, it lists its “core competencies” as tax negotiation and settlement, IRS audit defense, tax levies and liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest. Optima Tax Relief also helps people reduce IRS tax debt. Not only does this cover a broad range of possible tax needs, but all of the company’s agents and attorneys are showcased on its website, giving a personal connection to potential customers.

Moneyback Guarantee

Optima Tax Relief offers a 15-day moneyback guarantee for all of its tax services. This means that if customers are not satisfied within the first 15 days, they can receive a refund.

Stellar Reputation

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations, including the NATP, the NAEA, and the Better Business Bureau (BBB). It is well-known for helping people defeat difficult tax problems.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four-step tax relief process
  • Refund policy
  • Tax Professionals

Get started with Optima Tax Relief

Cons

Limited Industry Experience

It’s important to note that Optima Tax Relief is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed; it began doing business in 2010. While some taxpayers may not care about the age of a tax relief company, others may prefer to work with a more established company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary

The handful of negative Optima Tax Relief reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is next to impossible on the company’s website. The company could do well to be more upfront about this information on its corporate site.

Our Recommendation

Optima Tax Relief is highly recommended for consumers because of its core tax competencies, moneyback guarantee, and positive reputation and customer feedback. The company offers a free consultation and helps offers advanced tax relief services. However, potential customers should be aware that the company has only been in business for a few years and they may encounter fees that they did not previously know about. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.


Optima Tax Relief FAQ

How much does it cost to use Optima Tax Relief?

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $999 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,999.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $999 to $9,999, depending on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time [the company] will let you know [its] estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000 and $5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In the company’s FAQ section, it states that each case is different, and to its credit, it honestly states, “[it] may not be able to save you anything at all.”

What services does Optima Tax Relief offer?

Optima Tax Relief is a full-service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Offered services include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release
  • Asset seizures

How does Optima Tax Relief work?

When individuals owe money to IRS that they cannot pay back, they often hire a tax relief company to work on their behalf and negotiate how much they actually pay back. Sometimes, Optima Tax Relief will be able to work with the IRS and negotiate your tax debt down to a lower amount. The company can also put a potential stop to liens and garnishments set up by the IRS. To figure out if you qualify for a tax settlement with the IRS, contact Optima Tax Relief for a free consultation at 1-(866) 625-5389.

How much debt do I need to enroll?

Optima Tax Relief states that its minimum debt requirement is $10,000. This means you must have at least $10,000 in tax debt to hire Optima Tax Relief.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Optima Tax Relief below.

1-(866) 625-5389

143 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

14
3
1
10
13
102
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    September 11th, 2019 Theodore, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very professional and provided great service.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    September 11th, 2019 New Franklin, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima helped me resolve an issue I had been dealing with for over 4 years in a matter of 2 months. They have helped to restore my peace of mind!I’m thankful to their team!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    8
    August 20th, 2019 Gary, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very through although some of the callers don’t listen when I tell them somethings.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    August 20th, 2019 West Palm Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    because I am very satisfied with their performance and they are the best.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    August 20th, 2019 San Leandro, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    A few years of unpaid taxes, late fees, and penalties landed me in a sticky situation with the IRS ‚Äì to the tune of over $16K. I was overwhelmed and didn’t know what to do. I knew that I could not deal with the IRS on my own. Then, a relative told me to contact Optima Tax Relief and I did. From the very first conversation, I felt the weight lifting off my shoulders. I was aware of what would be happening in every step of the process. The representatives that contacted me made me feel at ease and I left everything in their hands. There were times when I wouldn’t hear anything for weeks, but I knew that this was only because things were in motion. Therefore, I didn’t worry. When documents were needed, Optima let me know in plenty enough time so that I could gather everything that I needed. They value time-sensitivity. In the end, Optima Tax Relief helped me to settle with the IRS for $50.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    August 5th, 2019 Dardenne Prarie, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Place you at ease and keep you informed on every step of the process and explain what steps are being taken to resolve your tax issue.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    August 5th, 2019 Ridgeville, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief has been very responsive and has worked tirelessly with the IRS on my behalf. I have been very impressed with the quality of their work!!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    August 5th, 2019 Oceanside, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima tax relief are honest in trying to help you resolve your tax issue! They keep you informed every step of the way through the process.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    August 5th, 2019 Snapfinger, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Integrity and trustworthy above and beyond
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    August 1st, 2019 Manning, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    optima was very helpful; their staff and assistants helped me through each stage of the process and were knowledgeable!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Patterson, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They kept on top my situation and resolved my problem.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Los Angeles, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The team at Optima tax relief has been very honest and sufficient in their work. They are extremely helpful.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 25th, 2019 Mocksville, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great company explained and led me through everything all the way satisfied with every aspect of it
    Read More
  14. User Score
    8
    May 17th, 2019 Detroit, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The do exactly what they promise. I had $32,000+ IRS debt and settled for $4,000. They stopped wage levy immediately.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2019 Huntington Beach, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Professional, courteous and very helpful employees who helped me with my tremendous tax debt. We had a successful completion and I will always be very grateful to Optima for their help.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    April 22nd, 2019 Mariposa, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Quick response and willing to help by providing different solutions
    Read More
  17. User Score
    8
    April 13th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    My fee with them is quoted at $495, retainer & $15k for resolution. My IRS tax is due on 4/15/2019, they filed for an extension. OUCH, this hurts! I believe my tax obligation is close to $150k, due to a scam and victim of identity theft I experienced last year.
    I certainly had to seek HELP, for this, but the fee, I feel is very high!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    March 28th, 2019 San Bernadino, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    quick efficient service, kept me informed along the way
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Vista, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Because they delivered a service exactly as advertised.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    8
    February 7th, 2019 Gloversville, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I would have given it a five but to be honest I still owe my money in reality. I hear optima wipes clean people’s credit but mine for some reason unknown to me I still owe. The federal government will hold my returns for many years til it’s paid off. I wish it was cleared as they say it is but for me I still owe it.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$999+

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

143
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

245