Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,264 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief

Optima Tax Relief offers a money-back guarantee

Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.0

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(855) 636-8946

Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
130

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 12, 2017

Optima Tax Relief offers several avenues for tax relief in the following areas: tax consultation, tax resolution, tax preparation and compliance, and tax settlement and negotiation. With a highly qualified team, the company offers a number of services which it calls its “core competencies” and has received glowing customer feedback. Read our expert review below or scroll down to read real Optima Tax Relief reviews from consumers.

The Good

  • Services
  • Positive customer reviews
  • Core competencies
  • Money back guarantee
  • Stellar reputation

Services

The tax professionals at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by the burden of IRS demands and tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their tax debt issues. Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average).

Positive Customer Reviews

On our website, Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most customers awarding the company with a 9 or 10 rating. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was one of the smartest decisions they’ve ever made.

Core Competencies

Though the company offers many tax services, it lists its “core competencies” as tax negotiation and settlement, IRS audit defense, tax levies and liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest. Optima Tax Relief also helps people reduce IRS tax debt. Not only does this cover a broad range of possible tax needs, but all of the company’s agents and attorneys are showcased on its website, giving a personal connection to potential customers.

Money Back Guarantee

Optima Tax Relief offers a 15-day money back guarantee for all of its tax services. This means that if customers are not satisfied within the first 15 days, they can receive a refund.

Stellar Reputation

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations, including the NATP and the NAEA.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four-step tax relief process
  • Refund policy

Get started with Optima Tax Relief

The Bad

  • Limited industry experience
  • Negative review summary

Limited Industry Experience

It’s important to note that Optima Tax Relief is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed; it began doing business in 2010. While some people may not care about the age of a company, others may prefer to work with a more established company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary

The handful of negative reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is next to impossible on the company’s website. The company could do well to be more up front about this information on its corporate site.

The Bottom Line

Optima Tax Relief is highly recommended for consumers because of its services, core competencies, money back guarantee, and positive reputation and customer feedback. However, potential customers should be aware that the company has only been in business for a few years and they may encounter fees that they did not previously know about. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.

More Information

Pricing

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $999 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,999.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $999 to $9,999, depending on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time [the company] will let you know [its] estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000 and $5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In the company’s FAQ section, it states that each case is different, and to its credit, it honestly states, “[it] may not be able to save you anything at all.”

Services

Optima Tax Relief is a full-service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Offered services include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release
  • Asset seizures

Specialties

Optima Tax Relief works with a variety of tax debt/IRS issues. The company can help people who owe thousands of dollars to the IRS to know what their options are. Tax experts at Optima can reduce tax debt and even stop wage garnishments from starting. Whatever your situation, Optima will find the right solution for you.

Minimum Debt

Optima Tax Relief states that it does not have a minimum debt requirement.

About

The company was formed in 2010 by Harry Langengberg and Jesse Stockwell, two former students of the Wharton Business School. Today, the company operates out of California and is made up of over 300 ex-IRS employees, tax attorneys, CPAs, and enrolled agents. The diverse qualifications of its staff make Optima Tax Relief one of the most notable companies in the debt relief industry.

Availability

Optima is licensed to work in all 50 U.S. states by the IRS.

Contact Information

Website: optimataxrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 3100 S. Harbor Blvd., Suite 250, Santa Ana, CA, 92704

CPA on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has CPAs on staff.

Tax Attorney on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has tax attorneys on staff.

Professional Associations

The company is a member of the NATP and the NAEA.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has enrolled agents on staff.

Free Consultation

The first consultation is free of charge over the phone. Taxpayers must pay the first retainer in order to begin the discover phase on the account.

Refund Policy

There is a 15-day money back satisfaction guarantee on any fees assessed for the professional investigation process. There is no guarantee once the second phase of service, or resolution phase, has begun.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Optima Tax Relief below.

1-(855) 636-8946

130 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

7
1
2
3
5
15
97
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    March 30th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The fine people at Optima Tax Relief helped alleviate my fear of the IRS and threatening letters I had been receiving. Each one was more threatening than the previous one, and I realized that I needed help. I recalled hearing Optima Tax Relief advertised on TV and radio by Sean Hannity, Mark Levin, and the late Alan Thicke, so I called them.

    From the beginning consultation with Gabriel, I knew that I had made the right choice in contacting this fine organization of tax professionals. I moved from the initial consultation to working closely with Nereida and Brandon, who never tired of my questions and concerns. Taina has graciously followed up since we reached a resolution and has kept in touch.

    It is important to know that dealing with the IRS takes time and patience. Optima took time to work out a resolution to the satisfaction of all parties. They encouraged me at every step in the process, assuring me that even though the process is time-consuming, we would reach a satisfactory arrangement. Remember, never deal with the IRS alone; it is vital to be represented by ultimate professionals who have your best interest at heart.

    Optima Tax Relief states that one of their core values starts with “Providing excellence for every client, every time. No exceptions. No excuses.” Optima definitely exhibited this core value, along with others. I suggest that anyone needing professional help with tax resolutions contact this fine organization. You’ll be glad you did! I know I am, I and shall be forever grateful. I consider them friends for life.

    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    March 28th, 2017 Carmel, IN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief helped me through a matter with the IRS in a way that took away the worry of getting a notice from the IRS I had never received anything of the sort before. They handled my matter professionally, with great communication and auccessfully resolving the case as promptly as I would have hoped for. I would recommend using Optima Rax Relief for any Tax matters you might be unfortunate enough to be involved in.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    March 23rd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Omg-outstanding results ty so much optima tax, what a large crushing burden just reduce to next to nothing, again it truly is tax relief
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    March 22nd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would recommend Optima Tax to everyone who has a tax issue because they are the best at getting the best results.If they need me for anything I would be there to back them up time 100% because that’s what kind of service that they provided for me results and professionalism.They kept me updated on everything and called me every now and then to check and see if I was all right so if there is a company to recommend Optima Tax is the one.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    March 10th, 2017 Framingham, MA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    just bad service, this people charge the a lot money and never help me out, really really bad people i did not recommended to anyone to trust optima tax relief, after charge me $3400 they push me to cancel the service and then denied to refund my money at all, what bad idea to trust at optima tax relief, what a nightmare was my experience, I fell bad wasting time and money
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    February 24th, 2017 Pomona, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Completely professional and efficient service!
    Optima Tax Relief did an amazing job taking care of my Tax crisis. I had been going back and forth with the IRS for years and right from the start the professionals at Optima Tax Relief assessed my situation and put me completely at ease. They explained the entire process in detail so I could easily understand what all stages would look like. Everyone that handled my case was always accessible for any questions I had via phone or email. They also designated a point person to have a periodic “touch base” with me so I would be kept in the loop at all stages. They were extremely efficient and transparent explaining possible outcomes. Because we started the process late in the year………..it took a bit longer then expected(the government offices shut we down during the holidays). The final outcome was OPTIMA TAX RELIEF saved me tens of THOUSANDS of dollars and continued back and forth with the IRS. I was completely lost and overwhelmed but OPTIMA TAX RELIEF stepped in and took control of the entire situation. Excellent experience from beginning to end I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    February 16th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It was a blessing experience for me I had no idea it would work for me but it did and I thank God for Optima Tax they really care about helping you Thanks so much Mary Daniels
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    February 9th, 2017 Lafayette, LA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    The fee was expensive for me to cover but it was worth it. I finally got a tax refund this year. The end result was a positive one. The only drawback is the customer service. Their customer service can be frustrating. My case initially got lost in the pipeline. I had to finally speak to supervisors to get my case moving. My case was transferred to different representatives repeatedly. The representatives were nice and helpful but it would be better if you didn’t have to go through so many.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2017 Brooklyn, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I spoke to other companies before Optima, but I choose Optima. There customer support team is by far the best. The only company that keeps in touch with you on a regular basis, even if you don’t call them.
    You feel like the your whole team is one place.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    These people are customer service all stars! They keep you on track and get you organized to accomplish any workable problem that comes up. Very personal.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    January 23rd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am extremely satisfied with Optima Tax Relief. They are very professional and knowledgeable. They negotiated by debt down to what I could afford.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    January 23rd, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief (OTR) successfully negotiated an Offer in Compromise which was approximately 10% of my tax debt. My OTR connections in my case showed care and compassion while representing me and my interests. Thank you OTR!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    2
    January 19th, 2017
    6 people found this review helpful!
    It has been nearly two years since a family member first signed up with Optima. The net results at this point in time are:
    – No relief or viable solution offered
    – Ongoing requests to update information (continually provided)
    – IRS has levied a tax lien on her house
    – Her credit rating has been destroyed (she maxed out her credit cards to pay up front fees to Optima
    – IRS tax burden has INCREASED due to ongoing late fees and interest while nothing gets resolved

    I contacted the leadership of Optima on her behalf to request a review and help. None of the four officers has ever responded; instead, her case worker has returned the communications, but offered nothing new.
    If she had know six months into the process that her case was weak, she may have been able to settle with the IRS at that time with family support. Instead she has a higher debt, an IRS lien, destroyed credit rating. All the above is in stark contrast to how Optima promotes their capabilities.

    Read More
  14. User Score
    9
    January 17th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief performed better than I expected in solving my tax problem with the IRS. I was surprised at what their persistence with the IRS could accomplish. If you have a tax problem, I would highly recommend Optima Tax Relief. They helped reduce the pressure by contacting me from time to time to let me know of the process. All I had to do was follow their instructions and they did the rest.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    January 11th, 2017 Topeka, KS
    12 people found this review helpful!
    SMH. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY! GO TO IRS.GOV TO READ MORE ABOUT YOUR RIGHTS AS A TAXPAYER OR MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH YOUR LOCAL IRS OFFICE TO DISCUSS YOUR ISSUE. THAT IS WHAT I WISH WE HAD DONE. PAID OPTIMA $1K. ONLY TO BE HARRASSED TO SIGN DOCUMENTS AUTHORIZING OTR TO DIRECT DEBIT MY HUSBAND’S BANK ACCOUNT. THE CONTRACT(YES CONTRACT) USE LANGUAGE SUCH AS: BOUND, WILL ATTEMPT , AND NO GUARANTEE. AGAIN, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    January 3rd, 2017 Quinlan, TX
    3 people found this review helpful!
    After receiving letters from the I.R.S., I contacted Optima. They reviewed my case and we decided they could help me. The tax prep department worked hard at making sure I received all deductions possible. At the end I actually received a refund. Optima was a great partner in this endeavor and was responsible for the extremely satisfactory outcome. I have recommended them and will continue to do so.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    December 29th, 2016 Clarksville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thorough, professional and effective. Optima helped me with a serious problem. The result was very satisfactory.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 27th, 2016
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief was a God send to me. They helped me save over thousands of dollars by paying a small amount to the IRS.

    I would recommend Optima Tax to anyone who is having problems with the IRS. Thanks again Optima Tax.

    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 17th, 2016 Louisville, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The customer service is excellent. They called me every week until my issue was resolved, They save me thousands of dollars, Thanks Optima Tax Relief.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    December 16th, 2016
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief helped me in a major way. The process took some time but I was informed of what to expect, including any fees, documentation that would be required and the approximate duration of my case before I even signed on for the service. Each step of the process was outlined and I was assigned a rep for each step who walked me through the process with ease. Of course, with any tax related issue where money is owed, there is always anxiety but I must say that towards the end of the process, my rep at the time was a SUPER helpful man named Brandon who answered any questions I had and basically held my hand until completion of the process. Optima saved me almost 75% of what the IRS was asking me to pay.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
130
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
267