Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 4,021 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Optima_Tax_Relief

Optima Tax Relief

Optima Tax Relief offers a money-back guarantee

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.4

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(866) 625-5389

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
128

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

The Good

  • Services
  • Positive customer reviews
  • Core competencies
  • Money back guarantee
  • Stellar reputation

Services

The tax professionals at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by the burden of IRS demands and IRS tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their IRS debt issues. Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards a resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average). Optima Tax Relief with tax preparation and filing tax returns.

Positive Customer Reviews

On our website, Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most customers awarding the company with a 9 or 10 rating. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was one of the smartest decisions they’ve ever made.

Core Competencies

Though the company offers many tax services, it lists its “core competencies” as tax negotiation and settlement, IRS audit defense, tax levies and liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest. Optima Tax Relief also helps people reduce IRS tax debt. Not only does this cover a broad range of possible tax needs, but all of the company’s agents and attorneys are showcased on its website, giving a personal connection to potential customers.

Money-Back Guarantee

Optima Tax Relief offers a 15-day money-back guarantee for all of its tax services. This means that if customers are not satisfied within the first 15 days, they can receive a refund.

Stellar Reputation

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations, including the NATP and the NAEA.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four-step tax relief process
  • Refund policy

Get started with Optima Tax Relief

The Bad

  • Limited industry experience
  • Negative review summary

Limited Industry Experience

It’s important to note that Optima Tax Relief is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed; it began doing business in 2010. While some people may not care about the age of a company, others may prefer to work with a more established company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary

The handful of negative reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is next to impossible on the company’s website. The company could do well to be more upfront about this information on its corporate site.

The Bottom Line

Optima Tax Relief is highly recommended for consumers because of its services, core competencies, money back guarantee, and positive reputation and customer feedback. However, potential customers should be aware that the company has only been in business for a few years and they may encounter fees that they did not previously know about. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.

More Information

Pricing

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $999 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,999.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $999 to $9,999, depending on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time [the company] will let you know [its] estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000 and $5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In the company’s FAQ section, it states that each case is different, and to its credit, it honestly states, “[it] may not be able to save you anything at all.”

Services

Optima Tax Relief is a full-service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Offered services include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release
  • Asset seizures

Specialties

Optima Tax Relief works with a variety of tax debt/IRS issues. The company can help people who owe thousands of dollars to the IRS to know what their options are. Tax experts at Optima can reduce tax debt and even stop wage garnishments from starting. Whatever your situation, Optima will find the right solution for you.

Minimum Debt

Optima Tax Relief states that its minimum debt requirement is $10,000. This means you must have at least $10,000 in tax debt to hire Optima Tax Relief.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Optima Tax Relief below.

1-(866) 625-5389

128 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

15
3
1
8
13
88
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    April 13th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My fee with them is quoted at $495, retainer & $15k for resolution. My IRS tax is due on 4/15/2019, they filed for an extension. OUCH, this hurts! I believe my tax obligation is close to $150k, due to a scam and victim of identity theft I experienced last year.
    I certainly had to seek HELP, for this, but the fee, I feel is very high!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    March 28th, 2019 San Bernadino, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    quick efficient service, kept me informed along the way
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Vista, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Because they delivered a service exactly as advertised.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    8
    February 7th, 2019 Gloversville, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would have given it a five but to be honest I still owe my money in reality. I hear optima wipes clean people’s credit but mine for some reason unknown to me I still owe. The federal government will hold my returns for many years til it’s paid off. I wish it was cleared as they say it is but for me I still owe it.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Brooklyn, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima tax relief help me get rid of a large debt that I owed the IRS they walked me through it step by step they always kept me informed via phone and email. I’m so grateful for their support and assistance with my relief thank you so so much
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Bronx, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very satisfied with the outcome of my tax issues and they kept me informed every step od the way
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    February 5th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    ‪Optima exhibits unscrupulous behavior and business fraud. predatory tactics, dupe ppl into a client agreement with over inflated pricing that is not itemize unlike 99% of the business. Contact me for proof- incl a hush agreement offered that violates the 1st amendment rights. ‬
    Read More
  8. User Score
    2
    January 16th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I Used Optima in the past to file and help me with 10 years of unpaid taxes. They were unable to get me an of in compromise but were able to get me to and noncollectable status. Basically just stopping any collection but not setting up payment schedule and not stopping any continued fees. I did not qualify because of my spouses income at the time. This cost a little over $6000 dollars. Now 2 years later I am divorced and call them to try again with and offer and compromise. They charged me just over $450 to do the investigation phase and after they failed to call on several phone appointments that they had made with me and switching my representative who didn’t know much about my case.. I was told that to continue with the next phase it would be over $13000. When I asked why it was so high a cost the representative said he could not tell me why. They did not have to file any taxes for me as they did for me previously. I had already done that for the last 2 years. All they had to do was the negotiation. After asking several times why the price had more than doubled for not even a 1/4 of the work previously done I was told they would call me back. Several days went by and no call. I finally called and left a message. The rep called me back and told me the price did not change and he could not tell me any details of what i would be paying for and that maybe we should just part ways. So basically I paid them over $400 for no reason but to waste my time. I called them a second time as they had done an okay but not great job the first time but thought they would be familiar with my case. They had sent me tons of advertisements asking if i needed help over the last couple years. All of which did not come true. Do not waist your time after doing my research they have gone down hill and are not worth the money.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    January 7th, 2019
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Started with them in 2015, paid over $6000, I sent them all information requested. Figured they were working on my case. They passed my case on to so many different people several months later they want all my information sent in again, that’s all they did over and over again for the last 3 years. Now it’s 2019, I get my first certified letter from them, they have cancelled my case. Told they would have to start a NEW investigation and it will cost $999, with a $500 credit and I have to pay this before they do anything on my case. Also I will have to pay the thousands of dollars again, for what though??? To be strung along again??? They didn’t finish my case when I paid in 2015 and now I have to pay all over again to have them do nothing again. SCAM!!! They dropped the ball and then they tell me it’s MY fault!!! BEWARE!! Will update when they supposedly go thru my case to see what has been done and what has not been done and hopefully let me know.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    0
    January 4th, 2019 Marietta, GA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    So i waited almost a year for them to tell me i still owe 12,641.96 which my original balance is the same. Like they did nothing but took my fee’s they charge and constantly ask for more documentation then when i call and speak with the agent its a whatever type of attitude well depending which option you select paying 200 a month or have lien for the rest of my life it could go down but how you don’t know this and my case has been going on almost a year. this was a waste of money and time will definitely not refer or recommend this to anyone
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Trenton, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Highly professional, know the job, do their best to come with high end results
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Exeter, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    great company very very knowledgeable. very very great company
    Read More
  13. User Score
    8
    October 10th, 2018 Cornwall Borough, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were excellent and very awesome very helpful but did not know before being locked into account that to get rid of all tax debt or most you need to lein your property a bit disappointing there listening to commercials!
    Read More
  14. User Score
    8
    September 18th, 2018 Wahneta, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The process was great! I took off one star for length of time for things to be completed on Optimas side. Everyone was very nice though!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Tenino, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Top notch communication and services. Eliminated almost all of my debt with a settlement of $50!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Tualatin, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    OTR helped me with the IRS when I really needed help. Easy to work with and to talk and explain my problem to.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    August 15th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Have you found yourself in deep trouble with the IRS? Maybe the 2007 crash crippled you. Or medical debts. Even a divorce. All of those apply to me. So when I called Optima Tax Relief, I was so thankful for their promise to help at a reasonable initial cost. My second call with them was a little more alarming. I was told I owed more than $32k, and I would have to pay $5k to get help. I agreed. What else could I do? Except, when I received my tax filings, the amount I owed came out to around $12k. So hold on just a moment. I was being asked to pay almost half of what I owed to get a result that was still unknown. When I tried to cancel the service (after posting numerous negative reviews about their tactics: the exaggerated debt, the fear of what the IRS could do to me and the rude service I encountered whenever I questioned any of their help), I was offered a refund. But the refund came with a whole new price tag. I Had to do something about my negative reviews. Well that’s awkward. I could sell all of you out who are in my same boat to get my money back. Thanks, but no thanks. DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY. Trust me. They will eff with you into thinking they are the only option by exaggerating your debt and putting the fear of the wrath of the IRS in your head. There are better options.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    2
    August 15th, 2018 Alexandria, VA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    optima tax relief are not honest at all. They were trying to get 16,000 dollars from me for a 1,000.00 debt. They Stole 500.00. from me and try to justified it. My income tax was written wrong because two 00. HR block solved the problem in 1 hour. Don’t believe nothing they say them lying people
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    May 16th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I hire this company to help me with the irs and I paid them $ 6.500 to this company and did nothing in exchange for this money they are nothing but a ripoff company people should beware of what this company does they tell you what you want to hear so you give them money all they do is calling you for more money but no work or help you so BEWARE CITIZENS
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    March 8th, 2018
    7 people found this review helpful!
    What Optima didn’t advise us of was the Government couldn’t care less about ANY of your credit card debt. They neglected to advise us of that before taking $3000.00 from us (charged on a credit card btw) that none of our credit card debt (tons) could count in our income.
    So basically we charged 3k on our card, to be told we could pay 150.00/month (after paying a 225.00 “set up fee”) for 1 year then we would pay $300.00/month starting year 2. Are you kidding? If we could afford that we would’ve saved the 3k and made payment arrangements with the IRS ourselves.They didn’t get anything taken off the balance due!
    We instead got a home equity loan and paid the IRS directly. Now to see if we can get our 3k back from Optima since they did NADDA NOTHING ZIP for us but steal 3k.
    Lesson learned
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
128
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
238