Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,884 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief

Optima Tax Relief offers a money-back guarantee

Our Score
8.5
User Score
9.1

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(855) 636-8946

Our Score
8.5
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
76

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 12, 2017

Optima Tax Relief offers several avenues for tax relief in the following areas: tax consultation, tax resolution, tax preparation and compliance, and tax settlement and negotiation. With a highly qualified team, the company offers a number of services which it calls its “core competencies” and has received glowing customer feedback. Read our expert review below or scroll down to read real Optima Tax Relief reviews from consumers.

The Good

  • Services
  • Positive customer reviews
  • Core competencies
  • Money back guarantee
  • Stellar reputation

Services

The tax professionals at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by the burden of IRS demands and tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their tax debt issues. Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average).

Positive Customer Reviews

On our website, Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most customers awarding the company with a 9 or 10 rating. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was one of the smartest decisions they’ve ever made.

Core Competencies

Though the company offers many tax services, it lists its “core competencies” as tax negotiation and settlement, IRS audit defense, tax levies and liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest. Optima Tax Relief also helps people reduce IRS tax debt. Not only does this cover a broad range of possible tax needs, but all of the company’s agents and attorneys are showcased on its website, giving a personal connection to potential customers.

Money Back Guarantee

Optima Tax Relief offers a 15-day money back guarantee for all of its tax services. This means that if customers are not satisfied within the first 15 days, they can receive a refund.

Stellar Reputation

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations, including the NATP and the NAEA.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four-step tax relief process
  • Refund policy

Get started with Optima Tax Relief

The Bad

  • Limited industry experience
  • Negative review summary

Limited Industry Experience

It’s important to note that Optima Tax Relief is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed; it began doing business in 2010. While some people may not care about the age of a company, others may prefer to work with a more established company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary

The handful of negative reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is next to impossible on the company’s website. The company could do well to be more up front about this information on its corporate site.

The Bottom Line

Optima Tax Relief is highly recommended for consumers because of its services, core competencies, money back guarantee, and positive reputation and customer feedback. However, potential customers should be aware that the company has only been in business for a few years and they may encounter fees that they did not previously know about. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.

More Information

Pricing

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $999 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,999.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $999 to $9,999, depending on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time [the company] will let you know [its] estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000 and $5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In the company’s FAQ section, it states that each case is different, and to its credit, it honestly states, “[it] may not be able to save you anything at all.”

Services

Optima Tax Relief is a full-service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Offered services include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release
  • Asset seizures

Specialties

Optima Tax Relief works with a variety of tax debt/IRS issues. The company can help people who owe thousands of dollars to the IRS to know what their options are. Tax experts at Optima can reduce tax debt and even stop wage garnishments from starting. Whatever your situation, Optima will find the right solution for you.

Minimum Debt

Optima Tax Relief states that it does not have a minimum debt requirement.

About

The company was formed in 2010 by Harry Langengberg and Jesse Stockwell, two former students of the Wharton Business School. Today, the company operates out of California and is made up of over 300 ex-IRS employees, tax attorneys, CPAs, and enrolled agents. The diverse qualifications of its staff make Optima Tax Relief one of the most notable companies in the debt relief industry.

Availability

Optima is licensed to work in all 50 U.S. states by the IRS.

Contact Information

Website: optimataxrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 3100 S. Harbor Blvd., Suite 250, Santa Ana, CA, 92704

CPA on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has CPAs on staff.

Tax Attorney on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has tax attorneys on staff.

Professional Associations

The company is a member of the NATP and the NAEA.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has enrolled agents on staff.

Free Consultation

The first consultation is free of charge over the phone. Taxpayers must pay the first retainer in order to begin the discover phase on the account.

Refund Policy

There is a 15-day money back satisfaction guarantee on any fees assessed for the professional investigation process. There is no guarantee once the second phase of service, or resolution phase, has begun.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Optima Tax Relief below.

1-(855) 636-8946

76 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

4
1
1
2
10
58
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    These people are customer service all stars! They keep you on track and get you organized to accomplish any workable problem that comes up. Very personal.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    January 23rd, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief (OTR) successfully negotiated an Offer in Compromise which was approximately 10% of my tax debt. My OTR connections in my case showed care and compassion while representing me and my interests. Thank you OTR!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 Morrisville, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief (OTR): I was overwhelmed and didn’t know where to start when dealing with the IRS. Optima Tax Relief helped me sort through all of the paperwork and obtained an offer in compromise that saved me thousands of dollars. I would definitely recommend Optima Tax Relief to anyone struggling with federal tax debt.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    OTR is an establishment staffed with people that you can trust to deliver the product and services you expect to receive from them. Their people are very competent to handle cases you ask them to handle for you. They are relentless in obtaining desired results. I would definitely recommend OTR.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 Levittown, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was upside down on my taxes I finally made the decision to call Optima what a relief they walked me thru the procedure step by step and by the end they found a reasonable compromise and saved me thousands of dollars well worth what I spent with them I recommend Optima to anyone who finds themselfs in this position there is a way out …
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2016 Atlanta, GA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was way behind on filing my taxes. The IRS was putting leins on every thing. They were going to garnish what little wages I have. Optima Tax was recommended to me. What a God sent they were. They tell you everything up front..they even helped me with payments to pay for their services. Optima will call or email to let you know what’s going on every week or so. You’re never left in the dark. I will continue to tell everyone who needs a voice with the IRS…Optima is the one to call
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2016 Ocala, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The agents at Optima Tax Relief are the greatest. They are knowledgeable, get back to you quickly with answers to your questions and explain in detail everything that they will be doing for you with the IRS. If you have tax problems, these are the people to call. I would recommend them to anyone dealing with the IRS.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    April 14th, 2016 Modesto, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was on the verge of having my property seized and my bank accounts froze by the IRS when I heard about optima tax relief. The people there actually cared about my problem and they helped me set up an extremely reasonable and manageable payment plan with the IRS which helped me avoid any further action be taken. The people were amazing and I would recommend optima tax relief for anyone that is being audited by the IRS. these guys no what they are doing and they care.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    April 12th, 2016 Seattle, WA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    OTR was great to work with. I had several past years of taxes that needed to be worked out with the IRS and they were able to handle things for me in a timely manner with great professionalism and communication with me. I appreciated the results that they were able to achieve, and felt very confident in what they were doing for me start to finish!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    March 15th, 2016 Bakersfield, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Where do I begin. . . it started when I was sitting in LA traffic coming back from work, heading back to Bakersfield. Alan Thicke was on the radio for Optima, making his pitch about how you should stop worrying and have them take care of things for you. For six months I listened to him on the radio, all the while worrying about mounting IRS debt that was haunting me from years past. It was a huge amount, and I didn’t believe that I could be that lucky guy that would get one of those great compromise settlements. Well, nothing short of a miracle occurred. Optima got me a compromise settlement that my family & friends can’t believe. It took roughly 15 months. Naturally I would worry, but I would pick up the phone or email them about my concerns, and they would get right back and assure me it was going to be OK. For me it was hard to believe but it did happen. I highly recommend Optima Tax. Thanks also to Allen Thicke for convincing me that they are real people helping us.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    March 15th, 2016 Camden, TN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had a large tax bill with a large monthly payment fixing to start but thanks to Optima they worked with the IRS and got my monthly payment reduced to a payment I could afford I would recommend Optima for your tax needs
    Read More
  12. User Score
    8
    February 26th, 2016 Plymouth, MN
    5 people found this review helpful!
    After researching many tax advocacy services and fielding many letters from accountants and attorneys apprised of my tax matters (via public records), I made the intelligent decision to retain Optima Tax as my advisor and advocate when negotiating a settlement for tax obligations, penalties and ever accumulating interest due the IRS. Though I could have attempted to navigate any settlement options on my own, I felt comfortable with the professionalism, knowledge, expediency and empathy that Optima Tax expressed on my behalf during the process. I’m please to state that, including fees and levies, we were able to save tens of thousands of dollars over what was owed to the IRS and my ability to move forward financially in a positive vein is due to the quality efforts of Optima Tax and their competent staff. I would recommend Optima Tax Relief to those who wish to have their matters with the IRS handled in a professional and positive manner.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    February 19th, 2016 Simi Valley, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    About a year after my ex-husband passed away I started recieving spousal Social Security benefits. Shortly after recieving my benefits the I.R.S. sent me a demand for payment. I signed up with Optima Tax Relief and they handled everything and keeping me well informed. They explained what was going to happen before it happened. Everyone that I worked with were very professional and understanding. It took about a year to get everything wrapped up. I highly recommend Optima Tax Service. They got me through a very difficult and frightening process with as little pain as possible.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    February 17th, 2016 Hugo, MN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    We used the services of Optima Tax Relief when we were provided with a 1099 C for over $45,000. We had not idea that when we worked with our mortgage company that what they agreed to take off our mortgage we would have to report as income. Before Optima Tax Relief we were owing over $14,000. After Optima Tax Relief we owed a little over $4,000. The people we worked with there were awesome and very understanding and very quick to get back to us. I would recommend their services to anyone. They were great to work with. We had no “surprises”.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    February 11th, 2016 Indianapolis, IN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I owned a business and had to close it. I was unable to pay the 941 payroll taxes. Optima Tax helped me by contacting the IRS. The statue of lmitations expired and my $100,000 liability was reduced to zero!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    January 27th, 2016 Palm Desert, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Optima Tax Relief was professional and polite, they contacted IRS on my behalf and resolved the situation with great results, I will recommend their services to my family and friends, my phone calls were returned in a timely manner and my questions were answered fully. William D Clements
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2016 Smyrna, GA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    The letter from the IRS was one of the scariest things I’ve had to encounter. I had heard that no news is good news when it comes to them. But luckily, I had been hearing the ads on the radio about OTR and knew who to call when I received my dreaded letter. I was upset and shaken but the first person all the way to the last, made me feel comforted and walked me through the process to the point where I paid less than 1% of what I owed to the IRS. Of course, there are fees associated with the service but that was a small price to pay for relief I experienced throughout the process. I am so thankful to the knowledgeable professionals with Optima Tax Relief!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    January 13th, 2016 Phoenix, AZ
    5 people found this review helpful!
    After years of trying to deal with the IRS to resolve my tax issues and getting nowhere I reached out to Optima Tax Relief. From the very start they put me at ease. We gathered the necessary paperwork and in a short period of time they were able to assist me to reduce my tax debt from over 24,000 to a startling $110.00 ( yes you read correctly) $110.00. What a blessing they turned out to be and I would highly recommend them to everyone.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    January 10th, 2016 Ontario, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    My name is Jesse and I was in trouble with the IRS. I hand not filed in years and owe over 55,000 from 2000 to 2002. I had heard the ads for Optima Tax Relief over the radio and thought I would give them a call what could it hurt. Was a little skeptical at first but knew I needed to fix my problem so I decided to give them a chance. I am very happy with my decision they were able to get me a settlement for under 2,500. Now I have a new start and looking to bye a home in the next couple years.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    December 28th, 2015 Ashland, KY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you Optima Tax Relief, it was a long 2 years but we’ll worth the out come. The best 6000.00 we ever spent. Thanks again
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.5
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
76
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
166