Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,141 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief

Optima Tax Relief offers a money-back guarantee

Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.2

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(855) 636-8946

Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
95

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 12, 2017

Optima Tax Relief offers several avenues for tax relief in the following areas: tax consultation, tax resolution, tax preparation and compliance, and tax settlement and negotiation. With a highly qualified team, the company offers a number of services which it calls its “core competencies” and has received glowing customer feedback. Read our expert review below or scroll down to read real Optima Tax Relief reviews from consumers.

The Good

  • Services
  • Positive customer reviews
  • Core competencies
  • Money back guarantee
  • Stellar reputation

Services

The tax professionals at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by the burden of IRS demands and tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their tax debt issues. Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average).

Positive Customer Reviews

On our website, Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most customers awarding the company with a 9 or 10 rating. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was one of the smartest decisions they’ve ever made.

Core Competencies

Though the company offers many tax services, it lists its “core competencies” as tax negotiation and settlement, IRS audit defense, tax levies and liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest. Optima Tax Relief also helps people reduce IRS tax debt. Not only does this cover a broad range of possible tax needs, but all of the company’s agents and attorneys are showcased on its website, giving a personal connection to potential customers.

Money Back Guarantee

Optima Tax Relief offers a 15-day money back guarantee for all of its tax services. This means that if customers are not satisfied within the first 15 days, they can receive a refund.

Stellar Reputation

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations, including the NATP and the NAEA.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four-step tax relief process
  • Refund policy

Get started with Optima Tax Relief

The Bad

  • Limited industry experience
  • Negative review summary

Limited Industry Experience

It’s important to note that Optima Tax Relief is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed; it began doing business in 2010. While some people may not care about the age of a company, others may prefer to work with a more established company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary

The handful of negative reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is next to impossible on the company’s website. The company could do well to be more up front about this information on its corporate site.

The Bottom Line

Optima Tax Relief is highly recommended for consumers because of its services, core competencies, money back guarantee, and positive reputation and customer feedback. However, potential customers should be aware that the company has only been in business for a few years and they may encounter fees that they did not previously know about. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.

More Information

Pricing

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $999 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,999.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $999 to $9,999, depending on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time [the company] will let you know [its] estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000 and $5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In the company’s FAQ section, it states that each case is different, and to its credit, it honestly states, “[it] may not be able to save you anything at all.”

Services

Optima Tax Relief is a full-service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Offered services include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release
  • Asset seizures

Specialties

Optima Tax Relief works with a variety of tax debt/IRS issues. The company can help people who owe thousands of dollars to the IRS to know what their options are. Tax experts at Optima can reduce tax debt and even stop wage garnishments from starting. Whatever your situation, Optima will find the right solution for you.

Minimum Debt

Optima Tax Relief states that it does not have a minimum debt requirement.

About

The company was formed in 2010 by Harry Langengberg and Jesse Stockwell, two former students of the Wharton Business School. Today, the company operates out of California and is made up of over 300 ex-IRS employees, tax attorneys, CPAs, and enrolled agents. The diverse qualifications of its staff make Optima Tax Relief one of the most notable companies in the debt relief industry.

Availability

Optima is licensed to work in all 50 U.S. states by the IRS.

Contact Information

Website: optimataxrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 3100 S. Harbor Blvd., Suite 250, Santa Ana, CA, 92704

CPA on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has CPAs on staff.

Tax Attorney on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has tax attorneys on staff.

Professional Associations

The company is a member of the NATP and the NAEA.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Optima Tax Relief has enrolled agents on staff.

Free Consultation

The first consultation is free of charge over the phone. Taxpayers must pay the first retainer in order to begin the discover phase on the account.

Refund Policy

There is a 15-day money back satisfaction guarantee on any fees assessed for the professional investigation process. There is no guarantee once the second phase of service, or resolution phase, has begun.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Optima Tax Relief below.

1-(855) 636-8946

95 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

5
1
1
3
11
74
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    November 15th, 2017 Holly Springs, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief provided relief!
    Optima Tax Relief was an impeccable company! My experience was nothing short of amazing and it is because of the help I received from Optima Tax Relief that I was able to become a homeowner.

    Often times mistakes are made with the IRS and it is not until a person owes the IRS a large amount of money that they realize the problem with what was done.

    Owing the IRS is not only stressful because it is a debt but it is the risk of property seizures and things similar to that which escalates the stress level.

    I am no longer plagued by the issues I had with the IRS and that is because of Optima Tax Relief. Once I put my issues in the hands of Optima Tax Relief it was as if a burden had been lifted. They worked on my issues with the IRS and in turn I became a home owner and for that I could not be more grateful. I recommend Optima Tax Relief without hesitation to anyone with tax issues or IRS issues.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    Read More
  2. User Score
    9
    November 15th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was very nieve about tax laws and the options available to me. Optima explained everything from the very beginning. I was a little surprised at the time it took for a resolution but that might have been more on the IRS end. I highly recommend their service.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    November 8th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax was a life saver and provided exceptional services in helping me settle my tax issues with the IRS. I would highly recommend them to anyone dealing with a IRS problem.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    November 5th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I just completed a 5 year relationship with Optima Tax Relief that settled my claim with the IRS. During the process Optima kept me totally informed as to the steps and showed professionalism while still remaining friendly and easy to work with. I would recommend Optima Tax to anyone with tax problems. they are wonderful!!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    November 3rd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima tax saved our lives! We were 10,000 in debt they got it down to 200.00. They are very courteous and professional through the whole process. I highly recommend optima tax.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    November 1st, 2017 Montgomery, AL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I would NOT recommend this company. They charged me $500 and told me that they would stop garnishment from IRS, which was a lie. On top of that, they wanted me to pay again. Don’t fall for it. I paid them to take money from me that I did not have. I don’t have it like that. So thanks for nothing.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 31st, 2017 Ontario, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was in debt for approximately $35,000 to the IRS. I heard an advertisement over the radio about Optima Tax Relief and so I decided to call the 800 number. I spoke to Dean, a senior consultant, and he assured me they could help. Their experts immediately got to work, placed me under protection from the IRS. Optima Tax Relief got me an Offer in Compromise of $250 payable in $50 payments to the IRS. Everyone on their team of experts was so very nice and understanding. I truly appreciate all of their continued hard work. I recommend giving Optima Tax Relief a chance at resolving your tax issues.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    October 26th, 2017 Dover, DE
    0 people found this review helpful!
    After being ripped off by a few providers who fraudulently claimed to give these services, I happened to hear a Optima radio commercial. I was initially reluctant to give this another try, but my IRS situation was so bad that I decided to proceed. Well let me tell you, Optima got the job done and I literally paid the IRS pennies on the dollar. If you or someone you know want immediate closure to a serious tax problem, there is none other like Optima. I don’t mean to sound clichéish, but Optima succeeds where the pretenders fail. And I might add, (You’ll only be sorry if you don’t reach out to them, the first time around) Optima is Relief!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    October 25th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We owed the IRS for a mistake we made. We contacted Optima and they stepped in and handled the issue with a professionalism that is hardly ever seen today. We were able to talk with real people whenever we wanted and they kept us up to date with each step. Contact with the IRS was limited to normal notices with none of those threats of collections or other actions. Our issue was solved in a manner way better than we expected.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    October 17th, 2017 Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima was great. They handled my IRS debt and negotiated a settlement I can manage. Thanks Optima.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    October 13th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was in way over my head with the IRS, I owed them a ton of money and had liens and everything. I hired Optima and they were able to get me a settlement that I was able to pay back! They explained the hole process as we went through it and did nothing without me knowing about it! The people were super friendly. I have recommended them to a couple friends that are I the same boat I was in!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    October 13th, 2017 Phoenix, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief was a life saver. I had a really high IRS payment that was really hard to manage. Optima handled everything, I did not have to contact IRS Optima took care of everything. Optima was able to get may payment dropped more then half of what I was paying before. They put my mind at ease!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Taxe Relife is a great company when it comes the IRS debt. They work fast and hard to provide the best outcome of your case. I would highly recommend them for any IRS debt. As they help me clear my name of a $30,000 debt.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    October 6th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would recommend Optima Tax Relief to anyone who is being harassed by the IRS. I went through some ruff times and racked up a debt of $29,000.00. Optima took on my case and settled for only $100.00 saving me thousands. My only regret is that I did not call them sooner. Thank you Optima!!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    September 30th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The Optima Staff was GREAT! Very professional and informed. They took the pressure off of my Husband and I immediately. They walked us through what we were to expect and followed through! Once the case (payment plan) was worked out with the IRS, the even followed up with a plan to stay with us in case the IRS revisited us. Optima Tax did exactly what they said they would do! Thank You Optima
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    September 28th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’m a disabled Vet. I had not filed Returns for about 16 years due to a failed business that had not done it’s Corporate Returns. I used that as an excuse and I was dead wrong. Mind you, I had never heard from the IRS the entire time. We had come into some past due disability benefits and I had decided to take care of my tax returns. I heard the Optima radio ad and had placed a phone call. The guy I’d reached was Leonard. Nice guy and very knowledgeable. He basically laid out the entire the process and gave me an idea on cost. I already knew that I was going to have to pay, in order to get this fixed.

    I did the first payment, roughly about $900. I was informed about the investigation phase and that it may take some time for Optima to do all of their research on my case. During this time, I was kept informed by phone and email, regularly. After fully investigating, we were not sure whether or not the IRS had a bunch of outstanding fee’s. Sent in another $800 so that we could go through the tax preparation phase. I was contacted by Optima’s tax preparation department and then a great deal of activity was happening.

    What Optima had discovered was that I did not owe any tax, as I had been on W-2 every year since 1999. And there were no penalties. Optima had prepared about five years worth of returns and negotiated with the IRS to forego the others. Everything was sent to me by email, including PDF files and all other communications. In a nutshell, all of my Returns were caught up by Optima and…this is the best part…I was entitled to receive refunds for the last three years. So, because of Optima, I was able to recover almost all of what I had paid out! On top of this, I was declared in full compliance with the IRS.

    My experience from the first phone call until, well, it still continues. Optima is very much about communication and this is HUGE for me. So, even though I had made a major mistake, I knew what had to be done and I knew that it may cost quite a bit of money. I am so glad that I had contacted Optima. The whole process took less than six months and Optima took care of all of my issues. Now, I can live in peace knowing that I am in full compliance and I could not have done this without Leonard and all of the other great people at Optima. Thank you Optima!

    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2017 San Antonio, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief truly helped us out in a very bad time in our lives, during the whole process we felt like they had our best interest and never once did I regret the decision to trust them with our tax issues. They were able to save us a lot of money and the peace of mind was well worth the money. Thanks Optima!!!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    September 11th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima was very professional and they addressed our concerns quickly and with a friendly attitude. They helped our family tremendously. Would recommend to anyone who is in need of tax help.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    August 19th, 2017 Ross, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief is a great Company to work with! I had a lot of back taxes piled up and no desire to deal with the IRS myself. I was facing possible liens and collections. Thank goodness I put my trust in Optima. There process was easy, fast and informative. They helped me get a satisfactory resolution quick. I would highly recommend their services!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    These people are customer service all stars! They keep you on track and get you organized to accomplish any workable problem that comes up. Very personal.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.9
User Score
9.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Time in Business

total # of years
2010

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
95
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
177