Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,644 Real Customer Reviews

#2
Optima_Tax_Relief

Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief offers a money-back guarantee

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.7

Get Free Quote

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
116

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.8 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    Angela Brown
    December 12th, 2017 
    I found myself in need of a professional to assist me with my Tax issue. Not knowing where to turn, I remembered the commercials I heard for Optima Tax. From the 1st call I made, to the final resolution, they handled my case with the utmost respect, integrity, and most of all professionalism. I was explained every aspect of the process in detail, and made to feel like a weight was lifted from my shoulders. I would recommend Optima to anyone looking for a firm to assist them with their tax needs. Thank you Optima, your services are greatly appreciated!!Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Ray Becker
    September 28th, 2017 
    I'm a disabled Vet. I had not filed Returns for about 16 years due to a failed business that had not done it's Corporate Returns. I used that as an excuse and I was dead wrong. Mind you, I had never heard from the IRS the entire time. We had come into some past due disability benefits and I had decided to take care of my tax returns. I heard the Optima radio ad and had placed a phone call. The guy I'd reached was Leonard. Nice guy and very knowledgeable. He basically laid out the entire the process and gave me an idea on cost. I already knew that I was going to have to pay, in order to get this fixed. I did the first payment, roughly about $900. I was informed about the investigation phase and that it may take some time for Optima to do all of their research on my case. During this time, I was kept informed by phone and email, regularly. After fully investigating, we were not sure whether or not the IRS had a bunch of outstanding fee's. Sent in another $800 so that we could go through the tax preparation phase. I was contacted by Optima's tax preparation department and then a great deal of activity was happening. What Optima had discovered was that I did not owe any tax, as I had been on W-2 every year since 1999. And there were no penalties. Optima had prepared about five years worth of returns and negotiated with the IRS to forego the others. Everything was sent to me by email, including PDF files and all other communications. In a nutshell, all of my Returns were caught up by Optima and...this is the best part...I was entitled to receive refunds for the last three years. So, because of Optima, I was able to recover almost all of what I had paid out! On top of this, I was declared in full compliance with the IRS. My experience from the first phone call until, well, it still continues. Optima is very much about communication and this is HUGE for me. So, even though I had made a major mistake, I knew what had to be done and I knew that it may cost quite a bit of money. I am so glad that I had contacted Optima. The whole process took less than six months and Optima took care of all of my issues. Now, I can live in peace knowing that I am in full compliance and I could not have done this without Leonard and all of the other great people at Optima. Thank you Optima!Read More

The Good

  • Services
  • Positive customer reviews
  • Core competencies
  • Money back guarantee
  • Stellar reputation

Services

The tax professionals at Optima Tax Relief understand that millions of Americans are plagued by the burden of IRS demands and IRS tax payments. Owing the IRS money can be a daunting and binding financial experience, but the Optima Tax Relief system has helped thousands resolve their IRS debt issues. Following the free consultation, Optima Tax Relief representatives will conduct an investigation where communication with the IRS is established. Following the investigation, Optima Tax Relief experts will work towards a resolution and the closure of the tax case all within nine months (on average). Optima Tax Relief with tax preparation and filing tax returns.

Positive Customer Reviews

On our website, Optima Tax Relief has mostly positive comments, with most customers awarding the company with a 9 or 10 rating. Customers say that Optima Tax Relief saved them thousands of dollars, provided great customer service, and explained the entire tax relief process well. In fact, many clients say working with this company was one of the smartest decisions they’ve ever made.

Core Competencies

Though the company offers many tax services, it lists its “core competencies” as tax negotiation and settlement, IRS audit defense, tax levies and liens, wage garnishment, back taxes, and end penalties and interest. Optima Tax Relief also helps people reduce IRS tax debt. Not only does this cover a broad range of possible tax needs, but all of the company’s agents and attorneys are showcased on its website, giving a personal connection to potential customers.

Money-Back Guarantee

Optima Tax Relief offers a 15-day money-back guarantee for all of its tax services. This means that if customers are not satisfied within the first 15 days, they can receive a refund.

Stellar Reputation

Optima Tax Relief is accredited with numerous professional organizations, including the NATP and the NAEA.

Prospective clients should consider Optima Tax Relief for the following reasons:

  • Free consultation
  • Accredited with many professional organizations
  • Four-step tax relief process
  • Refund policy

Get started with Optima Tax Relief

The Bad

  • Limited industry experience
  • Negative review summary

Limited Industry Experience

It’s important to note that Optima Tax Relief is one of the newest tax relief companies we have reviewed; it began doing business in 2010. While some people may not care about the age of a company, others may prefer to work with a more established company that has greater industry experience.

Negative Review Summary

The handful of negative reviews on our website come primarily from customers who were shocked at the total amount of fees they ended up paying for Optima’s services. Obtaining a full list of fees is next to impossible on the company’s website. The company could do well to be more upfront about this information on its corporate site.

The Bottom Line

Optima Tax Relief is highly recommended for consumers because of its services, core competencies, money back guarantee, and positive reputation and customer feedback. However, potential customers should be aware that the company has only been in business for a few years and they may encounter fees that they did not previously know about. Overall, we recommend working with Optima Tax Relief to reach an agreement with the IRS.

More Information

Pricing

Prices vary depending on individual situations. Program fees would be in addition to the rate charged for a completed resolution, which would depend upon taxes owed. In further answering this question, we worked with the example of a $35,000 Federal tax bill owed over a five year period. There are two phases to Optima’s service; the Investigation phase (first retainer) and the Resolution phase (second retainer). For the first retainer under this scenario Optima would charge $999 or, if you’re already being garnished or levied at the time the service starts, $1,999.

The first phase retainer is charged up front to establish power of attorney and begin the investigation. This phase can take up to thirty to forty days.

The second phase, or resolution program, typically ranges from $999 to $9,999, depending on a variety of factors, such as:

  • Number and complexity of returns to prepare
  • Total tax debt owed
  • Seriousness of outstanding collection actions and efforts required to curtail
  • Resolution options we pursue (IA, CNC, OIC, Penalty Abatement)
  • State tax issues involve

No fees are charged during the second phase until the company performs an “in depth investigation into your tax issues with the IRS. At that time [the company] will let you know [its] estimated fees.” In total, for the situation listed above, you could expect a price between $3,000 and $5,000. Again, this price may be lower or higher depending on the unique situation of each individual.

In the company’s FAQ section, it states that each case is different, and to its credit, it honestly states, “[it] may not be able to save you anything at all.”

Services

Optima Tax Relief is a full-service tax relief company. The company works with state and federal tax problems resolving both tax investigation and tax resolution. Offered services include the following:

  • Administrative appeal
  • Bank levy release
  • Collection appeal
  • Currently not collectible
  • Innocent spouse relief
  • Installment agreement
  • Offer in compromise
  • Partial Pay Installment Agreement
  • Statute of limitations
  • Tax lien subordination
  • Tax lien withdrawn
  • Wage garnishment release
  • Asset seizures

Specialties

Optima Tax Relief works with a variety of tax debt/IRS issues. The company can help people who owe thousands of dollars to the IRS to know what their options are. Tax experts at Optima can reduce tax debt and even stop wage garnishments from starting. Whatever your situation, Optima will find the right solution for you.

Minimum Debt

Optima Tax Relief states that its minimum debt requirement is $10,000. This means you must have at least $10,000 in tax debt to hire Optima Tax Relief.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

116 Optima Tax Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

12
2
1
6
13
82
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    October 10th, 2018 Cornwall Borough, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were excellent and very awesome very helpful but did not know before being locked into account that to get rid of all tax debt or most you need to lein your property a bit disappointing there listening to commercials!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    8
    September 18th, 2018 Wahneta, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The process was great! I took off one star for length of time for things to be completed on Optimas side. Everyone was very nice though!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Tenino, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Top notch communication and services. Eliminated almost all of my debt with a settlement of $50!!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Tualatin, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    OTR helped me with the IRS when I really needed help. Easy to work with and to talk and explain my problem to.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    August 15th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Have you found yourself in deep trouble with the IRS? Maybe the 2007 crash crippled you. Or medical debts. Even a divorce. All of those apply to me. So when I called Optima Tax Relief, I was so thankful for their promise to help at a reasonable initial cost. My second call with them was a little more alarming. I was told I owed more than $32k, and I would have to pay $5k to get help. I agreed. What else could I do? Except, when I received my tax filings, the amount I owed came out to around $12k. So hold on just a moment. I was being asked to pay almost half of what I owed to get a result that was still unknown. When I tried to cancel the service (after posting numerous negative reviews about their tactics: the exaggerated debt, the fear of what the IRS could do to me and the rude service I encountered whenever I questioned any of their help), I was offered a refund. But the refund came with a whole new price tag. I Had to do something about my negative reviews. Well that’s awkward. I could sell all of you out who are in my same boat to get my money back. Thanks, but no thanks. DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY. Trust me. They will eff with you into thinking they are the only option by exaggerating your debt and putting the fear of the wrath of the IRS in your head. There are better options.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    2
    August 15th, 2018 Alexandria, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    optima tax relief are not honest at all. They were trying to get 16,000 dollars from me for a 1,000.00 debt. They Stole 500.00. from me and try to justified it. My income tax was written wrong because two 00. HR block solved the problem in 1 hour. Don’t believe nothing they say them lying people
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    May 16th, 2018
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I hire this company to help me with the irs and I paid them $ 6.500 to this company and did nothing in exchange for this money they are nothing but a ripoff company people should beware of what this company does they tell you what you want to hear so you give them money all they do is calling you for more money but no work or help you so BEWARE CITIZENS
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    March 8th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    What Optima didn’t advise us of was the Government couldn’t care less about ANY of your credit card debt. They neglected to advise us of that before taking $3000.00 from us (charged on a credit card btw) that none of our credit card debt (tons) could count in our income.
    So basically we charged 3k on our card, to be told we could pay 150.00/month (after paying a 225.00 “set up fee”) for 1 year then we would pay $300.00/month starting year 2. Are you kidding? If we could afford that we would’ve saved the 3k and made payment arrangements with the IRS ourselves.They didn’t get anything taken off the balance due!
    We instead got a home equity loan and paid the IRS directly. Now to see if we can get our 3k back from Optima since they did NADDA NOTHING ZIP for us but steal 3k.
    Lesson learned
    Read More
  9. User Score
    8
    March 6th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I have had a positive experience with Optima Tax Relief. It is an A rated company that seems to be adept at being the middleman in dealing with complex tax issues with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). I had very serious tax issues with the IRS dating back a number of years and based on a solid recommendation from a syndicated radio host I decided to contact Optima for assistance in solving this problem.

    Even though it took three years for the process to be finalized and there were a lot of frustrations on my part when I almost asked for a refund, the case managers worked hard and were encouraging and extremely helpful in brokering a win-win resolution to resolve my enormous tax burden with the IRS. With such a positive outcome, I wish to say kudos to all of the individuals who were involved in my case from the start including the case managers in each of the departments that I interacted with. I want to say a Thank you Optima for working hard to resolve my tax issue.”

    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    March 1st, 2018 Woodbridge, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief did an outstanding job settling my tax debt problem.The employees I dealt with were courteous and professional.I was very pleased with the settlement and I highly recommend their services.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    February 28th, 2018 Washington, DC
    7 people found this review helpful!
    Not calling Optima a scam, but they operate like scammers. I paid $495 up front. After a few weeks, Optima ask for $3k+ to submit my back filings to the IRS. Optima will remind you over and over about unsubstantiated amounts that the IRS “could” ask for. They throw those big numbers at you and then tell you to pay them a lesser amount just to file on your behalf. Not calling Optima a scam, but they operate like scammers. You always talk to sales people who gets commissions based on how much they con out of you. DO NOT GIVE OPTIMA your BANKING INFO. They use your banking and pay info to access how much they will ask you to pay them before they file… (the $3k+) this doesn’t include what the IRS will access you owe them. Once I told the “salesman” I won’t be setting up a payment plan to pay them $3k+ and I will look at other options. His demeanor changed from “Happy to help you” to “We will contact the IRS and inform them that we are not representing you and they can move forward with accessing fees, garnishing your wages and freezing assets”; He then hung up abruptly. Not calling Optima a scam, but they operate like scammers. I regret giving them $495 initial fee up front.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    February 15th, 2018 Orlando, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief works on their own schedule and does not take the customer’s availability into account. I have asked for contact during a certain time (because they’re West Coast and I’m East Coast).

    They continue to contact whenever they please and even the payment arrangements are not followed. The agreed upon dates for withdrawal are not met and that causes issues.

    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    January 29th, 2018 Roanoke Rapids, NC
    6 people found this review helpful!
    I paid Optima Tax over $7,000 to help me with my taxes. They not only got my money but did not save me one red cent. Now I’m paying over $550 a month for 8 years to settle my IRS debt.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    December 28th, 2017 Orlando, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The Case Mangers at Optima Tax Relief are patient, polite, and professional. My case was handled with my best interest in mind. Optima Tax Relief save my family a lot of heartache.
    We can now live without fear and financial stability.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    December 18th, 2017 Orlando, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    All of my Case Managers were courteous and professionally. They were thorough and helpful in settling my Tax situation.With Optima Tax Relief assistance, I was able to have my debt negotiated and settled in a financial satisfying process.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I found myself in need of a professional to assist me with my Tax issue. Not knowing where to turn, I remembered the commercials I heard for Optima Tax. From the 1st call I made, to the final resolution, they handled my case with the utmost respect, integrity, and most of all professionalism. I was explained every aspect of the process in detail, and made to feel like a weight was lifted from my shoulders. I would recommend Optima to anyone looking for a firm to assist them with their tax needs. Thank you Optima, your services are greatly appreciated!!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    9
    December 11th, 2017 Kennesaw, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief came through for me. Although I will pay almost everything that was due to the IRS they worked on my behalf. I will save quite a bit however. They are reliable and dedicated.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 4th, 2017 Cedar Hill, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Optima Tax Relief did an awesome job of dealing with the IRS in my case, they got all of my debt written off , I would recommend to anyone who is dealing with the IRS to engage Optima Tax Relief they get the job done.
    They are informative, supportive and timely in their responses.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    9
    November 25th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful getting me through the process of dealing with the IRS. Only negative comment I would have is that they need to better explain the process when you first call for their services as you will deal with multiple people as your progress through the system. This was not clear to me upfront. However, all I dealt with were very nice and helpful.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    November 21st, 2017
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Took 7000 from me did nothing.Had to go elsewhere to do my taxes.They hide bad reviews.Beware
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

based on $35,000 - 5 years behind
$999+

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
NATP, NAEA

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
116

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.8 /10
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
215

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.8 /10