Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,352 Real Customer Reviews

#3
Reviews for National Debt Relief | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement program for those with over $7,500 of unsecured debt.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(866) 870-1188

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

645

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: June 11, 2020

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. They work with your creditors on your behalf to stop interest from accumulating and settle your debts at a fraction of what you owe on your accounts.

Is National Debt Relief legitimate? Yes – NDR is an accredited company, and one of the top debt settlement companies in the U.S. In this review, you can read real customer reviews below, compare National Debt Relief to Freedom Debt Relief, and read the pros and cons of NDR.

Pros

No Upfront Fees

There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and do not charge monthly payments. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt management problem is resolved. They charge an average of 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services.

Money-Back Guarantee

National Debt Relief allows customers to cancel services at any time and gives them the option of a money-back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received. The National Debt Relief program does include a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund. This type of money-back guarantee is great for those who are worried about experiencing further financial hardship.

Industry Accreditations

The National Debt Relief program, and company, is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

Works With Some Secured Debt

National Debt Relief works with some secured debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.

National Debt Relief offers debt settlement mainly to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans, and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car debt, some student loan debt, and second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for average secured debt.

Compare to Freedom Debt Relief (rated 9/10 by customers)

Cons

Potentially Higher Costs

Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 18-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your debts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.

It’s important to know that any debt settlement program, not just NDR, will have an immediate negative impact on your credit score. Your credit score takes a hit because you must become delinquent on your accounts.

National Debt Relief Complaints

National Debt Relief is rated 2/10 by consumers on our site; Freedom Debt Relief is rated 9/10. Common complaints among National Debt Relief reviews include:

  • Unprofessional behavior
  • Being passed off between employees
  • Being treated well during enrollment and then the quality dropping once the debt settlement process actually starts.

The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Read reviews or add your own below. 

Limited Availability

National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.

Our Recommendation

Unlike some other debt settlement companies, National Debt Relief does not charge any additional fees including upfront fees, monthly payments, or cancellation fees. The company explains that customers doing start paying for services until their debt problems are solved. National Debt Relief also offers a money-back guarantee, has plenty of industry accreditations, works with some secured debt, and has an online dashboard that clients can use to check their debt management program progress. Additionally, National Debt Relief offers several other professional debt services including credit counseling services, credit card debt relief services, and debt settlement services. While your credit score will take a hit when you start the settlement process, your other options (bankruptcy and making minimum payments forever) will also negatively impact your credit score.

If you are interested in National Debt Relief services, we encourage you to call them and see how much you could save at 1-844-290-8984 or get a free quote online.


About National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief provides various services including credit card debt relief services, debt settlement services, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific financial situation.

How National Debt Relief Works

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. Debt settlement companies work with your creditors on your behalf to negotiate a lower overall amount due. The program follows these basic steps:

  1. Call National Debt Relief for a free consultation to see if debt settlement is right for your particular financial situation
  2. If you sign up with NDR, will ask you to stop making your monthly payments (if you haven’t already)
  3. Set aside the money you would pay for your accounts in a separate savings account. The more money you can accumulate, the faster you can pay off your debts.
  4. NDR will be the point of contact with your creditors. After several months of no payments, NDR will negotiate a lower amount owed with individual creditors (credit card companies, medical bill collectors, personal loan companies, etc).
  5. NDR gives the example of their customers paying 30% less than what is owed. For example, if you owe $10,000 on your CitiBank credit card, you may end up paying $7,000.
  6. You’ll go through this process with each of your creditors until you are debt-free. On average, this takes 2-4 years.

Debt Education Tools

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals with current and future debt problems, which ultimately improves their overall financial situation. We do, however, wish that the training they offer were more organized to help facilitate better financial learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets, and more. Some of the topics that the company covers with these resources include how debt settlement can affect your credit score,

We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

645 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

33
15
17
8
12
9
24
10
73
44
400
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Tempe, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Amazing. I can trust them and I feel respected.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Phoenix, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It has been a great experience in removing my debt. It was hard at the beginning because the credit cards are gone. Once you get the hang of only spending what you have rather than on credit it becomes easier. I am now debt free
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Msc, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Amazing Customer Support Team! Life threw me a curveball when I took a job that sounded like a “great opportunity” for my family. Little did I know that I was getting myself into one huge mistake. National Debt Relief helped me get settlements on my credit cards fast! One low monthly payment was my saving grace in order to stay afloat and avoid bankruptcy. I can’t thank them enough for all of their kindness and service without judgement.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    2
    December 10th, 2019 Greenley, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    No updates. I always have to make contact and always get no updates or status.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service always polite and ready to help. Never on hold for a long period of time.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Alice, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Relief No collection letters in my mailbox.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Sienna Plant, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It was great. excellent customer service. Attentive to details.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    December 10th, 2019 Atascocita, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This has been a great experience and the company is so willing to help you get out of debt. The communication is excellent and you can always log in easily to your account to check where you are at.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Conroe, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have been very helpful in to what is the best way to fix my debt
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Weatherford, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great, fast, response time, 2 settlements,
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    December 9th, 2019 Diana, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    it has been ok i have been told one thing by one person and another by another person my credit score did climb like i was promised but i would say fair
    Read More
  12. User Score
    6
    December 9th, 2019 Dallas, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Started strong, but seems to have tapered off. They do what they say they’ll do.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Dallas, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My credit score dropped tremendously after I enrolled in the program, but once they settled my debt, it began to rise again. And it’s getting better every day! It’s a challenging program, but it’s helped me greatly reduce my debt, get out of financial burden & to not rely on credit cards anymore. I’m grateful.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Metairie, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I thought I was in a no win situation. I had already claimed bankruptcy and I couldn’t do it again because I was still in the 10 years before it would fall off my report. I knew that I couldn’t get out of this hole. NDR was my only hope. They set up a payment plan that I could afford; I was also able to increase my payments to get finished early. I was told that I would be debt free from the 4 accounts I gave them. I was told 4 years, however I will be debt free in 15 months. I believe that I entered NDR in April 2018. They were a Godsend for me
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Papillion, NE
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Just started program this year and the correspondence, communications and customer service has been spectacular. I obviously, look forward to the end result!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Sandusky, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    excellent service, friendly and very timely.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Plymouth, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very good. They helped me to get my finances in order so I could be out of debt in goodyrs.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Jasper, AL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I did not understand how this works the customer service rep was very patient and well informed.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Lake Worth, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Positive progress and willingness to help and guide you through your ideal goals. If I continue what I started the end of the line will be incredible. They are productive and friendly, each time I make an effort to contact I am treated with patience and care. I look forward to approaching the finish line!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2019 Vero Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Flawless !!! Happy and accomplished feel like proud to be paying off my debt they make it so simple and treat you with respect and understanding
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

645
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,395