Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 4,021 Real Customer Reviews

#8
National_Debt_Relief

National Debt Relief

Pro: Holds accreditations with major industry organizations
Con: Not available in all 50 states

Our Score
6.5
User Score
2.1
Our Score
6.5
User Score
2.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
9 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
32

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 15, 2019

  • Potentially higher costs: Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 15-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your accounts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.
  • No sign-up fees and money-back guarantee: There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and offer a money-back guarantee.
  • Negative reviews: Common complaints include unprofessional behavior, being passed off between employees and being treated great during enrollment then the quality dropping once the process actually starts. The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Average user score is 2.4/10.
  • Limited availability: National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.
  • Industry accreditations: The company is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).
  • Works with some secured debt: National Debt Relief works with some secured debts including business debts, lines of credit, and certain student debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.
  • Our recommendation: we recommend going with a more reputable debt settlement company such as Freedom Debt Relief or Pacific Debt Inc.

 

How Much Does National Debt Relief Cost?

There is no monthly cost. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt problem is resolved. They charge an average of around 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services. They allow customers to cancel at any time and give them the option of a money back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No, National Debt Relief does not charge any upfront fees.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

They offer free consultations with debt consolidators, which are very helpful for individuals in tough debt situations and struggling with a poor credit score. They have shown through years of business that experts on staff can provide very valuable information and help to individuals with debt struggles.

Does National Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes, National Debt Relief offers a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund.

What Types of Debt Does National Debt Relief Work With?

National Debt Relief only offers debt settlement to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car or a second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for your average secured debts.

Time in Business

National Debt Relief was founded in 2009. They’ve been in business for over 9 years. This amount of time in business shows they have proven to serve customers for a long enough time to understand the industry well and give customers helpful service.

Debt Education

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals get out of debt and stay out of debt. We do, however, wish that the trainings they offer were more organized to help facilitate better learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets and more. We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Mobile Access

The website is mobile friendly so you can look into your account, access materials and interact with them on your phone. This is convenient for customers and it shows that they understand customer needs. The mobile site is responsive and provides a good user experience.

Address: 

11 Broadway  Suite 1300

New York, NY 10004

Email:

[email protected]

Additional Services

They provide various services including debt settlement, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific situation.

Minimum Debt Accepted

National Debt Relief will not accept clients with less than $7,500 in credit card debt. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as there are other options for resolving your debt situation if you don’t have a really heavy debt load. The more debt you have, the more it is affecting your credit score. Debt consolidation can ultimately lead to a better credit report if a debt management plan is handled properly.

Online Dashboard

You always have access to your own trust bank account where all transactions can be viewed.

Accreditations

They are members of the AFCC and the IAPDA. Membership doesn’t guarantee a companies trustworthiness, but it is definitely a big step in the right direction. These organizations only accept businesses that comply with certain rules and regulations that are beneficial to the consumers they do business with.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

32 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

15
8
3
2
1
3
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    2
    January 11th, 2018 Willingboro, NJ
    12 people found this review helpful!
    Reading the complaints, now I see it wasn’t me, because sometimes. I expect more from a company, but what really upset me ,was this person who answered the phone and he pretty much said you handle that .We only have limited power of attorney. I was trying to explain the problem, but all he kept saying was “ DID I ANSWER ALL YOUR Concerns! I said yes because I knew he didn’t hear a word I said , and could give a crap less.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    December 26th, 2017
    13 people found this review helpful!
    Consultant wanted me to contact him everyday he said, until I️ paid then he didn’t want to hear from me. It’s been two weeks haven’t heard nothing. You can do it on your own for free. Same results! This is a scam and the BBB should put them out of business, by giving them an F+, for putting their costumers in greater debt.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    July 20th, 2017 Brooklyn, NY
    41 people found this review helpful!
    Do yourself a favor, if you were ripped off like me by National Debt Relief, submit a complaint to ConsumerFinance.Gov. My lawyer counseled me on this. When I called from my job, they did not disclose they were a for profit agency, I had to ask them. They did not tell me the percentage that they would take as profit. I did not learn that until about 3 weeks ago when I demanded to know the profit they took. Their answer after a long time of questioning was they took 25% off the original debt for themselves. When I said that I did not know this. Their response was : “it is in page 3 of the contract.” I could not find this information anywhere nor it was said to me. The representative who enrolled me Berlinda C only said ” We take a small fee” but would not specify the amount. So far, they have taken from me $2,500 and my creditors have hardly seen any money. When a settlement is negotiated, they take everything they have taken from my account for themselves and on top of that charge about $60 monthly extra in order to make the payments to the creditors. I find this sum exorbitant. I now closed my account with them because I have realized the rip off that this company is. I have lost $2,500 for their profit.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    June 29th, 2017 Ridgewood, NJ
    31 people found this review helpful!
    Such a scam, they make you believe they’re helping you but in reality they are ripping you off. They are charging you for something you can do on your own. There is nothing special about this company, please don’t waste your time and money. Wish someone told me this before I signed up. I never write reviews but I feel so strongly about this that I had to try to stop someone else from making the same mistake and sign up with National Debt Relief.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    October 18th, 2016 Mount Pleasant, MI
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Great company to work with. Very quickly addressing and resolving issues. Always communicate with you and are respectable.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    7
    March 14th, 2015 CA
    50 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve only been in the program a few weeks. I’m rather disappointed with their csr. At first they treat you like you’re golden and give the impression that they actually care. Once I signed up I tried reaching out to the lady who originally helped me,she completely ignored me and has not replied to any of my emails. It just feels awful being tossed to the side like garbage after initially being treat with attention and support.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    March 6th, 2015 Chula Vista, CA
    28 people found this review helpful!
    Shady. I have to work with these ” yahoos” daily as I am a debt collector. They will not accept the guidelines set by the creditors to provide settlement options to their clients. They INSIST that I take very low and unreasonable offers to creditors and even if I manage to get them approved then say THEY have to get them approved before paying out. I feel if you are making an offer to settle, it is only fair that you can fund the settlement instead of jerking around. It’s a waste of everyone’s time and is unethical. You can’t make offers to creditors that you can’t fund!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    March 6th, 2015 Canton, MI
    35 people found this review helpful!
    You always speak to someone different and they all tell you something different! In the beginning it was all good, then when my circumstances changed, I was told LIE after LIE! Especially when it came to getting my money back! I do not recommend!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    9
    January 21st, 2015 Staunton, IL
    13 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful. Transparency was provided .
    Read More
  10. User Score
    1
    January 5th, 2015 Boulder, CO
    29 people found this review helpful!
    Guy who signed me up was professional BUT dealing with the company afterwards was a complete run-around. Transferred 5 times and not given an honest answer. Had to call back and confirm my exit from the program. Then asked personal questions in a resell attempt. Mailing address given to submit cancellation request to is NOT a valid mailing address. Percentage higher than advertised – 23%. Customer service transfers you immediately somewhere else – couldn’t even finish my sentence. Very shady.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    November 29th, 2014 Los Angeles, CA
    29 people found this review helpful!
    So I called National debt relief some man by the name of eric was you can say helping me out . Once I was into the phone letting him know my problems he cut me off and told me he knows no one or and him himself couldn’t help me at all . I didn’t even get the chance to even let him know everything that was going on . That was such a waste of time and I’m here so anyone else shouldn’t waste their valuable time on people that don’t care for their customers ! Happy holidays and suggest to keep away from National debt relief especially eric could have gave his last name , but clicked on me before I could have even got it.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    7
    June 20th, 2014 Columbia, MD
    30 people found this review helpful!
    National Debt Relief recently refunded part of the money that was saved in my account before I terminated my agreement with the company. I found this action on their part to be quite surprising and very much appreciated. This leads me to believe that they do have the best interest of their customers at heart. I have chosen to work with another company in becoming debt free and am very thankful for the services provided to me from National Debt Relief.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
6.5
User Score
2.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
9 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
32
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
1,083