Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,603 Real Customer Reviews

#6
Reviews for National Debt Relief | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement program for those with over $7,500 of unsecured debt.

Our Score
7.2
User Score
7.2

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(866) 870-1188

Our Score
7.2
User Score
7.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

180

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 8, 2019

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. They work with your creditors on your behalf to stop interest from accumulating and settle your debts at a fraction of what you owe on your accounts.

Is National Debt Relief legitimate? Yes – NDR is an accredited company, and one of the top debt settlement companies in the U.S. In this review, you can read real customer reviews below, compare National Debt Relief to Freedom Debt Relief, and read the pros and cons of NDR.

Pros

No Up-Front Fees

There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and do not charge monthly payments. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt management problem is resolved. They charge an average of 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services.

Money-Back Guarantee

National Debt Relief allows customers to cancel services at any time and gives them the option of a money-back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received. The National Debt Relief program does include a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund. This type of money-back guarantee is great for those who are worried about experiencing further financial hardship.

Industry Accreditations

The National Debt Relief program, and company, is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

Works With Some Secured Debt

National Debt Relief works with some secured debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.

National Debt Relief offers debt settlement mainly to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans, and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car debt, some student loan debt, and second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for average secured debt.

Compare to Freedom Debt Relief (rated 9/10 by customers)

Cons

Potentially Higher Costs

Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 18-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your debts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.

It’s important to know that any debt settlement program, not just NDR, will have an immediate negative impact on your credit score. Your credit score takes a hit because you must become delinquent on your accounts.

National Debt Relief Complaints

National Debt Relief is rated 2/10 by consumers on our site; Freedom Debt Relief is rated 9/10. Common complaints among National Debt Relief reviews include:

  • Unprofessional behavior
  • Being passed off between employees
  • Being treated well during enrollment and then the quality dropping once the debt settlement process actually starts.

The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Read reviews or add your own below. 

Limited Availability

National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.

Our Recommendation

Unlike some other debt settlement companies, National Debt Relief does not charge any additional fees including upfront fees, monthly payments, or cancellation fees. The company explains that customers doing start paying for services until their debt problems are solved. National Debt Relief also offers a money-back guarantee, has plenty of industry accreditations, works with some secured debt, and has an online dashboard that clients can use to check their debt management program progress. Additionally, National Debt Relief offers several other professional debt services including credit counseling services, credit card debt relief services, and debt settlement services. While your credit score will take a hit when you start the settlement process, your other options (bankruptcy and making minimum payments forever) will also negatively impact your credit score.

If you are interested in National Debt Relief services, we encourage you to call them and see how much you could save at 1-844-290-8984 or get a free quote online.


About National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief provides various services including credit card debt relief services, debt settlement services, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific financial situation.

How National Debt Relief Works

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. Debt settlement companies work with your creditors on your behalf to negotiate a lower overall amount due. The program follows these basic steps:

  1. Call National Debt Relief for a free consultation to see if debt settlement is right for your particular financial situation
  2. If you sign up with NDR, will ask you to stop making your monthly payments (if you haven’t already)
  3. Set aside the money you would pay for your accounts in a separate savings account. The more money you can accumulate, the faster you can pay off your debts.
  4. NDR will be the point of contact with your creditors. After several months of no payments, NDR will negotiate a lower amount owed with individual creditors (credit card companies, medical bill collectors, personal loan companies, etc).
  5. NDR gives the example of their customers paying 30% less than what is owed. For example, if you owe $10,000 on your CitiBank credit card, you may end up paying $7,000.
  6. You’ll go through this process with each of your creditors until you are debt-free. On average, this takes 2-4 years.

Debt Education Tools

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals with current and future debt problems, which ultimately improves their overall financial situation. We do, however, wish that the training they offer were more organized to help facilitate better financial learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets, and more. Some of the topics that the company covers with these resources include how debt settlement can affect your credit score,

We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

180 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

27
11
5
1
7
2
22
1
104
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2019 Harvey, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The speed the National Debt team works at getting your debt paid off
    Read More
  2. User Score
    8
    November 7th, 2019 Bakersfield, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Some questions initially, but the process is fairly smooth once it begins
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2019 Bolton Landing, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far it’s good and in a year I will be deft free
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2019 North Chesterfield, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far I feel things are going alright and think that they are easy to get a hold of and I understand when they go over questions that I have and explain things so I can understand.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2019 Cudahy, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Saving me a lot of money. And i will be out of debt sooner than i would by myself.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2019 Colorado Springs, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Piece of mind and improved quality of life.I no longer have to worry about all these calls since being sick for 2 years, I’m able to focus on getting my life back in order.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    6
    November 7th, 2019 North Branch, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Ok I guess. I wish if a debt becomes close then the monthly payment should go down. Being in bent relief for a reason.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2019 Jonesboro, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    NDR has helped me begin to put my life back in order. Very professional.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Post Falls, ID
    1 people found this review helpful!
    National Dept Relief us awesome. They have settled our accounts and we are now paying them off. We should be adept free the 1st quarter of 2020. The only down side is, they have settled our dept to quickly. In other words, our payments to keep our dept at bay was getting us further and further behind on other things, since national dept relief we caught up a little, however now the payment to NDR is the same amount to the company’s we had owed, thus having us fall behind on other things until everything settles. NDR can and will get you out of dept. They work hard for you and do their best to make it as stress-less as possible. Just make sure you are prepared to truly get rid of your dept entirely before contacting them.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Macungie, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    National debt relief was extremely helpful and I would recommend them to anyone. They made the process very easy!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Palo Cedro, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    National Debt Relief gave me a security blanket. They have been working hard in helping me on all my credit cards. setting up payment plans. able to forward the credit card bills to them. they also keep in touch with me by phone r email. I appreciate this National Debt relief. thank you
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Green Valley, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with NDR has been a positive one. Responsive to inquiries and staff is great to work with.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Nowthen, MN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with National Debt relief has been gong smoothly and very helpful
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience has been great.They have taken care of everything and am surprised at how soon debts are getting taken care of.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    6
    November 6th, 2019 Portland, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Misleading I feel like I was told one thing which wasn’t completely accurate just fed to me to get me to a sign up
    Read More
  16. User Score
    8
    November 6th, 2019 Casselberry, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It’s good. Just wish it was quicker to settle
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 El Paso, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It’s been great they have saved me alot of money with my creditors.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 Norfolk, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It has truly been amazing!!!They really come through
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2019 New York, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It has been a very positive and effective experience.When I call the customer service representatives are knowledgeable and helpful. They are constantly working to help me with my creditissues.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    6
    November 6th, 2019 Laughlin, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’m still trying to adjust to using the service. Currently I don’t like my credit scores. I have several past due accounts that don’t seem to be settling.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
7.2
User Score
7.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

180
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,261