Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,411 Real Customer Reviews

#6
Reviews for National Debt Relief | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement program for those with over $7,500 of unsecured debt.

Our Score
6.7
User Score
3.7

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(866) 870-1188

Our Score
6.7
User Score
3.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

67

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: September 18, 2019

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. They work with your creditors on your behalf to stop interest from accumulating and settle your debts at a fraction of what you owe on your accounts.

Is National Debt Relief legitimate? Yes – NDR is an accredited company, and one of the top debt settlement companies in the U.S. In this review, you can read real customer reviews below, compare National Debt Relief to Freedom Debt Relief, and read the pros and cons of NDR.

  National Debt Relief Freedom Debt Relief
How much money can I enroll? $7,500 - $100,00 of unsecured debts $7,500 of unsecured debts
How long will it take? 24 to 48 months 24 to 48 months
What are the upfront fees? No upfront fees No upfront fees
How much will it cost? 18% - 25% of the debt you enroll 15% - 25% of the debt you enroll
How much will I save? Pay 30% less than what you currently owe Varies
Average consumer rating 2/10 9/10

Pros

No Up-Front Fees

There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and do not charge monthly payments. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt management problem is resolved. They charge an average of 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services.

Money-Back Guarantee

National Debt Relief allows customers to cancel services at any time and gives them the option of a money-back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received. The National Debt Relief program does include a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund. This type of money-back guarantee is great for those who are worried about experiencing further financial hardship.

Industry Accreditations

The National Debt Relief program, and company, is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

Works With Some Secured Debt

National Debt Relief works with some secured debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.

National Debt Relief offers debt settlement mainly to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans, and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car debt, some student loan debt, and second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for average secured debt.

Compare to Freedom Debt Relief (rated 9/10 by customers)

Cons

Potentially Higher Costs

Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 18-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your debts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.

It’s important to know that any debt settlement program, not just NDR, will have an immediate negative impact on your credit score. Your credit score takes a hit because you must become delinquent on your accounts.

National Debt Relief Complaints

National Debt Relief is rated 2/10 by consumers on our site; Freedom Debt Relief is rated 9/10. Common complaints among National Debt Relief reviews include:

  • Unprofessional behavior
  • Being passed off between employees
  • Being treated well during enrollment and then the quality dropping once the debt settlement process actually starts.

The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Read reviews or add your own below. 

Limited Availability

National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.

Our Recommendation

Unlike some other debt settlement companies, National Debt Relief does not charge any additional fees including upfront fees, monthly payments, or cancellation fees. The company explains that customers doing start paying for services until their debt problems are solved. National Debt Relief also offers a money-back guarantee, has plenty of industry accreditations, works with some secured debt, and has an online dashboard that clients can use to check their debt management program progress. Additionally, National Debt Relief offers several other professional debt services including credit counseling services, credit card debt relief services, and debt settlement services. While your credit score will take a hit when you start the settlement process, your other options (bankruptcy and making minimum payments forever) will also negatively impact your credit score.

If you are interested in National Debt Relief services, we encourage you to call them and see how much you could save at 1-844-290-8984 or get a free quote online.


About National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief provides various services including credit card debt relief services, debt settlement services, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific financial situation.

How National Debt Relief Works

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. Debt settlement companies work with your creditors on your behalf to negotiate a lower overall amount due. The program follows these basic steps:

  1. Call National Debt Relief for a free consultation to see if debt settlement is right for your particular financial situation
  2. If you sign up with NDR, will ask you to stop making your monthly payments (if you haven’t already)
  3. Set aside the money you would pay for your accounts in a separate savings account. The more money you can accumulate, the faster you can pay off your debts.
  4. NDR will be the point of contact with your creditors. After several months of no payments, NDR will negotiate a lower amount owed with individual creditors (credit card companies, medical bill collectors, personal loan companies, etc).
  5. NDR gives the example of their customers paying 30% less than what is owed. For example, if you owe $10,000 on your CitiBank credit card, you may end up paying $7,000.
  6. You’ll go through this process with each of your creditors until you are debt-free. On average, this takes 2-4 years.

Debt Education Tools

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals with current and future debt problems, which ultimately improves their overall financial situation. We do, however, wish that the training they offer were more organized to help facilitate better financial learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets, and more. Some of the topics that the company covers with these resources include how debt settlement can affect your credit score,

We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

67 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

27
10
5
1
2
5
1
16
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    October 14th, 2019 Tacoma, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Wonderful people very helpful, don’t lose phone number for them
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Washington, DC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    With my experience I’m glad that they help my financial problem is to pay off my debts.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    8
    October 14th, 2019 Carriere, MS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    when to work on my debt fast and let me know what was happen.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Georgetown, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very responsive to my questions and professional.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Chambersburg, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very professional didnt make me feel like I was a bad person because of our problem
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Riverton, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very knowledgeable but most importantly very compassionate and caring during the whole initial process and continue to provide good communication in what needs to be done and how to do it. I have alreadyreferred a friend who is also satisfied with her experience
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 South Lyon, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very good.They have helped me out a lot on getting my creditors paid off.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Corinth, MS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very good! They handle everything and work very quickly.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Dumas, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very good service. 100% satisfied. Helped me with my overwhelming credit card debt.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Rochester, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very exlant keep up the good work everyone very nice
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    October 14th, 2019 Santa Fe, NM
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very efficient in negotiating with my timeshare. The settlement was about 15 percent of what I owed.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Sellersville, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Total communication and great explanation and follow up
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Fort Washington, MS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re excellent! and every NDR person I have talked to were all nice and helpful.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    8
    October 14th, 2019 Sharon, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very pleasant and helpful.Also very easy to understand and anytime I have an issue they are quick to respond to assist.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2019 Anaheim, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have helped settle 2 of my debts that I am paying off now and then 2 more to go.They are very thorough and efficient. I have a lot of peace of mindknowing they are helping me get out of debt
    Read More
  16. User Score
    8
    October 14th, 2019 Gosnell, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have helped me tremendously! They have gotten my creditors to negotiate with them to lower my balance to help me get out of debt quicker!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    October 8th, 2019 Bethlehem, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am more than half way to settling $70,000 of my debt after 1 year So far $35,000 of this settled debt cost me $19,000 and that’s including their fees. If you follow their directions you will be out of debt for less money that what you owe now.
    Also great customer support that is always available and accommodating. They are flexible if you can not make a payment due to unforeseen emergencies.
    If this company has received negative reviews it has to be by customers who were not able to follow the company’s direction. Getting out of debt is difficult but I’m grateful to have NDR get me through this situation.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    October 2nd, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I contacted national debt relief and after 2 years they were receiving $425.00 a month and paying out $25.00 a month to 2 of the debtors I owed to and I got out of the program with them keeping $2500.00.A good deal for them getting their money first. I still have problems with one of the debtors even though I payed them all off. They get their money off the top and kill your credit scores. Also they still try to contact me. Captain Gary
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    August 26th, 2019
    6 people found this review helpful!
    This company is so rude from the initial phone call. I AM QUALIFYING THEM to see if this is a debt consolidation company I wish to use for a family member. REP talked over you, only want your confidential info to input into their system to “see” which plan you qualify for but cannot give the terms or define their plans. What good is a customer service “welcome” representative if they can’t even define their own “plans”.

    Horrible…less 0!

    Read More
  20. User Score
    2
    August 22nd, 2019 Austin, TX
    5 people found this review helpful!
    NOT worth it, if you are dealing Wells Fargo Debt WF will put a judgement against you even if they haven’t served you. You will not get any discount if you can’t come up with their large settlement amount then you have to pay entire amount back plus the fee you pay National Debt and the balance will be even higher than what you originally owed since they tell you to stop making payments and you get hit with large late fees.. This system works if you have small debts to pay off but not with BIG debt.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
6.7
User Score
3.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

67
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,212