Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 4,021 Real Customer Reviews

#8
National_Debt_Relief

National Debt Relief

Pro: Holds accreditations with major industry organizations
Con: Not available in all 50 states

Our Score
6.5
User Score
2.1
Our Score
6.5
User Score
2.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
9 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
32

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 15, 2019

  • Potentially higher costs: Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 15-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your accounts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.
  • No sign-up fees and money-back guarantee: There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and offer a money-back guarantee.
  • Negative reviews: Common complaints include unprofessional behavior, being passed off between employees and being treated great during enrollment then the quality dropping once the process actually starts. The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Average user score is 2.4/10.
  • Limited availability: National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.
  • Industry accreditations: The company is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).
  • Works with some secured debt: National Debt Relief works with some secured debts including business debts, lines of credit, and certain student debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.
  • Our recommendation: we recommend going with a more reputable debt settlement company such as Freedom Debt Relief or Pacific Debt Inc.

 

How Much Does National Debt Relief Cost?

There is no monthly cost. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt problem is resolved. They charge an average of around 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services. They allow customers to cancel at any time and give them the option of a money back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No, National Debt Relief does not charge any upfront fees.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

They offer free consultations with debt consolidators, which are very helpful for individuals in tough debt situations and struggling with a poor credit score. They have shown through years of business that experts on staff can provide very valuable information and help to individuals with debt struggles.

Does National Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes, National Debt Relief offers a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund.

What Types of Debt Does National Debt Relief Work With?

National Debt Relief only offers debt settlement to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car or a second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for your average secured debts.

Time in Business

National Debt Relief was founded in 2009. They’ve been in business for over 9 years. This amount of time in business shows they have proven to serve customers for a long enough time to understand the industry well and give customers helpful service.

Debt Education

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals get out of debt and stay out of debt. We do, however, wish that the trainings they offer were more organized to help facilitate better learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets and more. We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Mobile Access

The website is mobile friendly so you can look into your account, access materials and interact with them on your phone. This is convenient for customers and it shows that they understand customer needs. The mobile site is responsive and provides a good user experience.

Address: 

11 Broadway  Suite 1300

New York, NY 10004

Email:

[email protected]

Additional Services

They provide various services including debt settlement, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific situation.

Minimum Debt Accepted

National Debt Relief will not accept clients with less than $7,500 in credit card debt. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as there are other options for resolving your debt situation if you don’t have a really heavy debt load. The more debt you have, the more it is affecting your credit score. Debt consolidation can ultimately lead to a better credit report if a debt management plan is handled properly.

Online Dashboard

You always have access to your own trust bank account where all transactions can be viewed.

Accreditations

They are members of the AFCC and the IAPDA. Membership doesn’t guarantee a companies trustworthiness, but it is definitely a big step in the right direction. These organizations only accept businesses that comply with certain rules and regulations that are beneficial to the consumers they do business with.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

32 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

15
8
3
2
1
3
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    2
    April 16th, 2019 Kirkland, WA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I enrolled with National Debt Relief in July 2018 and now completely regret that decision!! They started taking money in Aug 2018 and now, 8 months later, I am being sued by 2 of my creditors. Until they filed a lawsuit against me, they had not been contacted by NDR at all. I have since verified that 2 other creditors have never been contacted by them as if this date either.

    My accounts were all current when I enrolled. Now thanks to they way they conduct themselves, I have 2 pending lawsuits and will have to file bankruptcy to protect myself.

    Whatever you do, DON’T HIRE THEM! They definitely are not working on my behalf and have brought NO DEBT RELIEF WHATSOEVER. I’m actually worse off now then before I hired them.

    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    April 16th, 2019 Pearland, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company is the worst, i paid them almost 7,000 and their services just ripped me off.
    Now, i am being sued by a creditor because they did not do their job as far as negotiating, communicating, and paying them.
    Truly a waist of time and money!!!
    Very disapointed to risk my effort and jeopardise my home and lufe with my kids.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    1
    April 9th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This services was the worst thing I every did in my life. It completed affected my credit and relationship with my creditors. I heard several times that Dave Ramsey said you don’t need this services . He is 100% correct. Most creditors will work with you with out a fee. The issue is that if you owe too much DO NOT USE ANY OF THESE COMPANIES. Call each creditors and handle it yourself. These companies charge for there services. Nothing is free in this world. That is why I say you are better off negotiating with your creditors.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    1
    March 19th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    NDR Does not mention up front that they need funds to be able to settle with your creditors, so then you start getting summons to appear in court, HIGH FEES BEWARE, so if you don’t have the money in your account to settle, then Liberty Lending steps in and if you decide to go with them then you have a high interest rate. SO you are no better off in the end!. I would say file chapter 13 or 7 and pay the attorney fees. Big Mistake and lesson learned. Don’t do it!!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    March 1st, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    What a waste of time and money!!!!! They didn’t save me any money… as a matter of fact they cost me more money than it would of if I would have just paid my dept because the money that they settled on I had to file the rest of on taxes so technically I wasn’t any better off and now I have to pay a three year loan plus interest on what they settled. and fill the rest on a 1099 tax form
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    February 26th, 2019 Gering, NE
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I saw bad reviews saying “they are charging you for doing something you can do on your own”. I suggest you do it.
    I appreciate NDR and all the work they do. Yes they are charging, well, they have to get paid too. I hope this person does not expect it for free.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    February 6th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    All I did was call to see if I qualify for the program and my score went down! That’s ridiculous.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    January 30th, 2019 Woodinville, WA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They make you think they are helping and word it as such. its only after I had “qualified for a loan” with another company to pay off my debt that I was informed of the fees and debts still in collection and no settlement was ever made. I have been paying for over a year and half of each payment went to fees for the “services” they provide.All these services they offer you can do yourself with just 30 minutes of your own time.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    1
    January 2nd, 2019
    7 people found this review helpful!
    I don’t know where to begin. as of 2 days ago I had about 1800$ coming back to me after the final settlement. I call to verify and close account and 2 days later I see totally different numbers in my account. the balance I had is gone. Its like my account was rewritten to hide the excess. I know what I saw 2 days ago. Something is off and after I added up what I paid and what they settled my accounts for there is a lot of money missing in general. almost 4000$ what did I pay out in hidden fees!!?? If you are considering using this company think again PLEASE.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    1
    November 10th, 2018 Columbus, OH
    5 people found this review helpful!
    The initial sales pitch was great and friendly, and they had me set up to meet with an attorney, BUT they failed to mention any of the fees they charged, which if they were up front about and transparent, I would have politely declined.
    Doing the math, I would still be paying nearly my total amount of debt (just in a shorter time which I obviously could not afford) plus have a tanked credit score and the possibility of creditors still coming after me with lawsuits.
    I am glad I was able to figure out on my OWN research of the company about their excessive fees which kind of negates the whole idea of getting out of debt with lower monthly payments.
    Great initial sales pitch, not transparent, and not looking out for your financial well-being with the fees they charge.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    September 17th, 2018
    10 people found this review helpful!
    National Debt Relife did nothing but lie and scam me. I asked to leave the program so that I could got to another company. I still had a refund due to me so I submitted the request.
    I have documentation that states when my refund of $2439.40 will come to my bank which is 9/13/2018. As of today I have not received my refund and the company is holding it so that I am charged more fees. Please help, I have already paid late fees and penalties because of this. I am speaking with an attorney now so that I can recover damages caused by the not returning my funds in the mannar promised.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    2
    May 17th, 2018 Houston, TX
    17 people found this review helpful!
    I am currently with this company and I must say their success rate is so high because they automatically drop any account that they can not resolve leaving you at square one. If you find yourself needing to use this company or companies like this do yourself a favor and just work with your creditor directly. You will save money and to my surprise my creditor’s attorney was more willing to work with me directly than with this company.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    May 4th, 2018 Homer, NE
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Wonderful team…..they settle mybfirst account already within 4 months…i am very happy
    Read More
  14. User Score
    1
    April 27th, 2018
    14 people found this review helpful!
    I was in touch with National debt relief from past 2 years and trying to decide if I want to go this path or not by talking to few agents . Recently I had bad experience with few agents that I talked with rude attitude thnking that I am not a serious client or wasting the time by not enrolled into their programs. I think as a customer you have a right of thinking and asking or talking to few agents or looking for other options also . One of the agent Richi S. was very rude and offensive in talking to me and said I am totally a waste of time and not serious before even getting into the details of my current situation. Yes of course I had submitted the request few times thinking of enroll but did not take the decision . They cannot force or assume that every one who ask the adivse does not necessary have to enroll l or cannot submit the request again because they are not serious!. Very bad and rude customer skills. please train them to be kind and professional towards clients with their talking.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    1
    April 18th, 2018
    10 people found this review helpful!
    They say you can opt out at anytime. After 2 years of payments and in between any ongoing negotiations I sent a written statement to opt out. They called me to verify which I answered, then put me on hold several times for 5 to 10 minutes each time and then said my supervisor would like to speak with you. I hung up frustrated and since then they blow up my phone daily with phone calls!!! I opted out, leave me alone!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    0
    April 12th, 2018
    39 people found this review helpful!
    I DO NOT RECOMMEND NATIONAL DEBT RELIEF OR THE COMPANY THAT THEY SENT ME TO WHICH IS CLEAR ONE ADVANTAGE
    IT IS NOTHING BUT A SCAM

    When I contacted and NDR I was desperate. My income had dropped considerably due to my cancer returning and not being able to work my regular hours. Plus children had moved home which put an additional stress on me financially.
    I explained all this to the young man that I spoke to.He told me that they were going to be able to help me and that they would relieve a lot of the stress that I was feeling. He told me to stop making payments on all of my creditors and to not under any circumstances speak to my creditors.
    When I expressed my concern about not paying my creditors because I had never been late on a payment ever…. I was told not to worried about it. It was going to slightly lower my credit score, you stated that not to worry it will drop off slightly but they will have everything settled within 3 to 4 months and it will go back up after they settle with my creditor and we start making the payments.
    There were a few things that he failed to explain to me one being that all of the accounts were going to be close what he did lead me to believe is that they were going to be put into good standings.
    After that first initial call with him I was contacted by a company called Clear One Advantage they were very pleasant in the beginning took all of my information and began debiting my account on a monthly basis in July of 2017 by September of 2017 not one of the accounts have been settled my phone was ringing off the hook my creditors emailing me as well, telling me that they’re willing to work with me, I just needed to contact them and they would see what they could do.
    With it being the third month and nothing had been settled yet I did respond to one of my creditors explaining to them the situation. Disturbing thing is that when I asked her why they hadn’t contacted clear one advantage I was told that they had never received anything from them that’s why they were reaching out to me. At that time I was able to settle the account with my creditor got the direct contact number for the woman that I spoke with and immediately contacted Clear One Advantage.
    Let them know that I was able to settle the account with my creditor and then I told them that my creditor stated that they had never heard from them I was told that they all say that they just want you to make a payment to them.
    That’s funny someone settling an account with me with no problem is going to lie and say they never received the notification I don’t believe that. Anyways I settle the account and they turned around and charge me the full settlement fee
    I had creditors call me and say that they were Allowed by law to discuss my account with anyone but me when I called Clear one and told then what my creditor head told me… it was then that I was told that I sign over my power of attorney to them.
    About a week later I checked my accounts to see if there was anything else settled and I noticed what’s the balance of my account had drop tremendously. So I I clicked on the transactions and see they’ve made a small payment to my creditor plus $10 for 2 day air which it actually cost $6.70 and then I see a deduction for their fee which was more than 6 times the payment they had just made to my creditor leaving my account at less than $10 balance. I contacted clear one expressing the fact I settled the account not them and why was I being charged such a fee and why would they drain the account leaving no money to make the next payment to my creditor or to settle any of the other accounts what I was told was they had a right to pay themselves. After I did explain to them that I settled the account not them they dropped it to half of the fee for the account that I had settled but mind you this is the only 1 account after four months that have been settled. At this point all of my accounts are now going into collection,the amounts owed to my creditors have gone up considerably my credit has dropped tremendously so I start sending them the collection agencies information. In the six months they finally settled the second account. Lo and behold their fee amount because the amount due has gone up there fee has gone up the amount due is gone up because he never made contact what’s the Creditor to make a settlement. They make one $25 payment to that creditor and then pay themselves thier fee draining all the money out of my account again leaving me nothing in the account to make the next payments to both those creditors intern lost both of the settlements.
    Here it is nine months later I have paid them a tremendous amount of money and of that money they only paid $325 to 2 creditors one of them only one payment of $25 the balance of the money they paid themselves oh and there is a $8.35 monthly fee for the account they hold my money in. They only had two accounts settled but now both lost because they said there was no money to pay them.
    i now have my creditors ringing my phone Non-Stop everything’s gone into collections. I started with a 780 credit score I now have a 403 credit score. I was recently laid off from my job and in my line of business I have to have good credit so I can’t get another job. I manage Apartments andI was living onsite I have to move but I can’t get an apartment because my credit so low and when I call them to see what they are going to do I’m being talked to like I’m a piece of garbage.
    I’m receiving daily between 20 and 30 calls a day from the now collection agencies threatening me.
    No I do not recommend this company no because it’s a scam
    I am literally financially devastated. I have paid them thousands of dollars 90% of it went to them. When I asked them why they continually drained my account and caused the loss of my settlements they stated that they wanted to get our fee out of the way. WTF if I can’t make these large payments to my creditors each month what makes them think that I can make them humongous payments that was far more than what I was paying each month to all my creditors.
    In addition I had inform them that I was closing the checking account that they had been taking the payments from so they were not to charge that account going forward. That I wouod get back to them with the new information for my new checking account. I purposely had not given them the information because I was researching what my recourse was so when it came time for the payment I hadn’t given the information and on their website it’s it’s showing that I owe them money for fees and they wanted their money so what did they do they charged my old account which had nothing in it so I was hit with a NSF fees and every 3 days I get charged a fee for the negative balance but they got their payment and I’ve got payment it went to fees for the accounts that they lost the settlement because couldn’t make payments to my creditors Beach they had drained my account for all the fees
    I have my creditors calling me 30 times a day threatening me. And every single one of them told me that it never heard from Clear one advantage when I emailed clear one Advantage for documentation of each time they contacted my creditors, that their website it says “In Negotiations” they have to have some kind of documentation of each time that they called or emailed or mailed something to my creditors and I wanted copies. I received an email back from them saying they didn’t have any documentation.

    So let’s recap 9 months the only two settlements that they had they lost because they had drained all the money out of the account. They have now also caused me to be in debt with a bank that I was closing myjet has now almost tripled 90% of the money that a page of them they took in fees
    My credit score went from 780 to 403 I have creditors calling me 30 times a day threatening me I can’t get a job in my line of work because I have to maintain a good credit score and now I can’t even get an apartment because my credit score is so low no one will rent to me
    So they financially devastated me and I’m going to be homeless how does that sound to you.
    They told me they were going to reduce my stress I think not.

    Read More
  17. User Score
    1
    April 7th, 2018 Pettisville, OH
    21 people found this review helpful!
    I was looking online for payment consolidation loan, then redirected to these guys somehow although I wasn’t looking for this service at all. After talking to Steve for about 30 min., this is my opinion:

    Be VERY careful before you decide go with debt settlement and don’t believe the huge savings you will supposedly get. Lower but stretched payments with higher interest will cost much more on the end. These 30-50% so-called savings are in the fact money going into their pockets. Plus, your credit score will be so screwed up that nobody rent you a bicycle.

    Debt “relief” agents are well trained to get a prey, just like the door-to-door vacuum salesmen does. Same sweet and polite talk. Their job is not help anybody but make a commission from a (bad for you) deal. They do the best to make you feel bad and guilty. Don’t believe all the misleading calculations, lies and twisted statements.

    I am not in the best situation right now but was there before. Sometimes things just happen. But not as Steve told me that: “you live lifestyle you cannot afford”. Such a jerk comment from somebody who’s declaring to help. Believe me, you may be able fix it on your own without guys like this.

    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    March 2nd, 2018 Huntingdon, TN
    17 people found this review helpful!
    What a scam! If they had their clients best interest, they wouldn’t deplete your account to pay themselves before the creditors. Then they call you with unrealistic terms! One of my debt arrangements was for 700+ per month on top of the 500 I deposited monthly. If I had 1200+ extra a month, I could’ve managed my own debt.
    Trust me folks…do not get involved with this company!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    February 20th, 2018
    15 people found this review helpful!
    I cancelled my membership and was subject to withdrawal from my bank account of almost $600. DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    January 12th, 2018
    15 people found this review helpful!
    THIS COMPANY DOES NOT KEEP COMMUNICATION WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS. I HAVE BEEN UNDER THE PROGRAM WITH THEM FOR OVER A YEAR. HAVE SENT THEM SEVERAL COMMUNICATIONS WITH NO RESPONSE.
    I JUST RECEIVED A LAWSUIT FROM ONE OF MY CREDITORS SINCE THIS COMPANY DID NOT CONTACTED THEM. NOT VERY PLEASE WITH THEIR SERVICE. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE SERVICE.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
6.5
User Score
2.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
9 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
32
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
1,083