Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,082 Real Customer Reviews

National Debt Relief Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#8
National Debt Relief Reviews

National Debt Relief

Pro: Holds accreditations with major industry organizations
Con: Not available in all 50 states

Our Score
6.1
User Score
3.1

Visit Site

Our Score
6.1
User Score
3.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
8 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
14

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: May 12, 2017

National Debt Relief has a proven track record of settling unsecured debts for anywhere from 30-50% less than what their customers owe. The company works in all states except the following: CT, GA, KS, ME, NH, SC, OR, VT, WV. National Debt Relief has 8 years of experience backing them up with a trained team of arbitrators helping clients resolve credit card debt in 24-48 months. The company is also accredited with major industry leaders: the IAPDA, and AFCC.

While National Debt Relief looks like an excellent choice for debt settlement on paper, their clients have other things to say. On our website, the company has an average rating of 3.8 out of 10 – this score comes directly from its clients. A major concern is that customers get bounced around from person to person throughout the debt settlement process.

Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$7,500

#3

15-25%
$7,500

#8
National Debt Relief Reviews

15-25%
$7,500

 

The Good

Industry Accreditations

National Debt Relief’s big selling point on its website is the number of accreditations it holds. The company is accredited with the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators).

Works with Some Secured Debt

Most debt settlement companies only work with a client’s unsecured debt. However, National Debt Relief works with some secured debts including business debts, lines of credit, and certain student debts. For specific information on whether or not it can settle your debts, give the company a call for a free consultation.

Money Back Guarantee

First, National Debt Relief charges no upfront fees (although this is not unique to the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees with you and that you can always get your money back.

Positive National Debt Relief Reviews

Clients of National Debt Relief say that working with them has provided them with peace of mind, and that their debt-related stress is gone. Some also say they have seen some accounts that are settled right away, and many people feel their debts are settled surprisingly fast. In one review, a client praises National Debt Relief for honoring their 100% money back guarantee.

The Bad

Limited Industry Experience

National Debt Relief has less experience than most of the top debt settlement companies (in business less than 10 years).

Not Available to Everyone

Even though the company’s actual name is ‘National’ Debt Relief, they don’t offer debt settlement services in every state. States they do not work in include CT, GA, KS, ME, NH, SC, OR, VT, WV. National Debt Relief’s services are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt.

Cost and Fees

You may be able to work with National Debt Relief and only pay the company 15% of the debt you settle (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). Only paying 15% to a debt settlement company is a good price. However, you may end up paying 25% of the debt you settle straight to National Debt Relief (and customers have reported they do end up paying 25% for some settlements). Depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle the customers accounts for, the customer could pay potentially 30% less on their debts or potentially more (in rare cases).

There are no sign-up fees with National Debt Relief.

Negative Reviews

There are several complaints left by dissatisfied clients of National Debt Relief on our site. Common complaints often revolve around how unprofessional the debt consultants are and that customers get passed around between National Debt Relief employees. Other complaints made by customers is that they are treated great through the first step of the process and that the quality drops significantly after enrollment. The company does provide an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt settlement process, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. On average, our reviewers give National Debt Relief a score of 3.8/10.

Compare to the top rated debt settlement companies

The Bottom Line

National Debt Relief has excellent industry accreditations even though it has only been in business since 2009. Debt services are offered at potentially competitive prices, but there is a broad range of what their fees could be (15-25%). Other companies have more industry experience and advertise their compliance with FTC rules. Those who find themselves in need of debt relief should be able to find a company that will charge less. 

Click Here for Our Top Recommended Debt Settlement Providers.

Contact Information

Website: https://www.nationaldebtrelief.com/
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 800-300-9550
Hours: Monday-Friday from 9AM to 12AM EST; Saturday from 10AM to 9PM EST
Address: 11 Broadway 16th Floor, New York, NY 10004

How Much Does National Debt Relief Cost?

There is no monthly cost. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt problem is resolved. They charge an average of around 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services. They allow customers to cancel at any time and give them the option of a money back guarantee if they’re not happy with the service they received.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No, National Debt Relief does not charge any upfront fees?

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

They offer free consultations, which are very helpful for individuals in tough debt situations. They have shown through years of business that experts on staff can provide very valuable information and help to individuals with debt struggles.

Does National Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes, National Debt Relief offers a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund.

What Types of Debt Does National Debt Relief Work With?

National Debt Relief only offers debt settlement to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, business debt and a small few certain secured loans like totaled car or a second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for your average secured debts.

Time in Business

National Debt Relief was founded in 2009. They’ve been in business for over 8 years. This amount of time in business shows they have proven to serve customers for a long enough time to understand the industry well and give customers helpful service.

Debt Education

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals get out of debt and stay out of debt. We do, however, wish that the trainings they offer were more organized to help facilitate learning a little better. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets and more. We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Mobile Access

The website is mobile friendly so you can look into your account, access materials and interact with them on your phone. This is convenient for customers and it shows that they understand customer needs. The mobile site is responsive and provides a good user experience.

Address: 

11 Broadway  Suite 1300

New York, NY 10004

Email:

[email protected]

Additional Services

They provide various services including debt settlement, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customer the best service for their specific situation.

Minimum Debt Accepted

National Debt Relief will not accept clients with less than $7,500 in debt. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as there are other options for resolving your debt situation if you don’t have a really heavy debt load.

Online Dashboard

You always have access to your own trust bank account where all transactions can be viewed.

Accreditations

They are members of the AFCC and the IAPDA. Membership doesn’t guarantee a companies trustworthiness, but it is definitely a big step in the right direction. These organizations only accept businesses that comply with  certain rules and regulations that are beneficial to the consumers they do business with.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

14 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

8
1
2
1
2
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    July 24th, 2017 Pomona, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    NDR has been working since December 2016 on settling my two debts. So far in just fees, I have paid over $1600!!! They fee you to death. I would not recommend this company. Read the fine print before going with anyone. Consolidation Plus is a good company I have been told. I wish I could get out of this nightmare.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    July 20th, 2017 Brooklyn, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Do yourself a favor, if you were ripped off like me by National Debt Relief, submit a complaint to ConsumerFinance.Gov. My lawyer counseled me on this. When I called from my job, they did not disclose they were a for profit agency, I had to ask them. They did not tell me the percentage that they would take as profit. I did not learn that until about 3 weeks ago when I demanded to know the profit they took. Their answer after a long time of questioning was they took 25% off the original debt for themselves. When I said that I did not know this. Their response was : “it is in page 3 of the contract.” I could not find this information anywhere nor it was said to me. The representative who enrolled me Berlinda C only said ” We take a small fee” but would not specify the amount. So far, they have taken from me $2,500 and my creditors have hardly seen any money. When a settlement is negotiated, they take everything they have taken from my account for themselves and on top of that charge about $60 monthly extra in order to make the payments to the creditors. I find this sum exorbitant. I now closed my account with them because I have realized the rip off that this company is. I have lost $2,500 for their profit.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    June 29th, 2017 Ridgewood, NJ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Such a scam, they make you believe they’re helping you but in reality they are ripping you off. They are charging you for something you can do on your own. There is nothing special about this company, please don’t waste your time and money. Wish someone told me this before I signed up. I never write reviews but I feel so strongly about this that I had to try to stop someone else from making the same mistake and sign up with National Debt Relief.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    May 10th, 2017 New Port Richey, FL
    7 people found this review helpful!
    If you are needing relief from your debt, DO NOT use this company. They tell you not to pay any of your bills but instead send your money to a specified bank and for me that was $314 each month. They tell you they will get started negotiating with your creditors right away to settle for a reduced amount. However, THEY ONLY USE YOUR MONEY to pay off the reduced amount. So figure….If I owed $5,000 on a credit card and they say they usually get the debt reduced by 50%, then they must wait until YOU have deposited at least $2500 into the account before they can do that. Lets figure…$2500 divided by $314 = 7.96. Otherwise I have to make at least 8 payments before they will start the negotiating process. That’s 8 months of phone calls from the creditor. NOTE: That is for just the first credit card, and I have 5 total so it will take years to complete THEIR process. If you need help, file bankruptcy. It stops the calls quicker and your settlement will be quicker and easer OR you have the choice to just stop paying the bills and deal with the calls. If you ask them to stop calling, by law, they are suppose to quit calling…if they don’t, then you can file suit against them. I have consulted two lawyers and both said just what I told you. It is your choice.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2017 Niagara Falls, NY
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve had a great experience with NDR so far. I began this program in October 2016 and have already have settled 3/4 credit cards I had. Each is for less than the amount that was owed; averaging about 60% less than what was originally owed! Each time I speak to a customer service representative they have been very excited about these settlements and eager to offer additional assistance. I was a good customer to the creditors before, regularly paying on time, but I was finding it difficult to get ahead of the payments. It also helped to close the accounts so I could not have access to available credit and you are also restricted from opening new unsecured lines of credit which helps with the temptation of accumulating more debt. This is a business so, of course,they will need to receive payment for their services. They disclosed the details of the entire process, stating that it may take up to 6-24 months before settlements start coming in. I was encouraged to be patient and to stick with the program from the beginning and now I’m very pleased with the results and will be debt free in the very near future!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    February 20th, 2017 Greensburg, PA
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I have never done business with this company
    They keep calling me even after I’ve told them, repeatedly, not to call me. It has reached the level that I am considering contacting a lawyer and going after them for harassment
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 18th, 2016 Mount Pleasant, MI
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Great company to work with. Very quickly addressing and resolving issues. Always communicate with you and are respectable.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    7
    March 14th, 2015 CA
    31 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve only been in the program a few weeks. I’m rather disappointed with their csr. At first they treat you like you’re golden and give the impression that they actually care. Once I signed up I tried reaching out to the lady who originally helped me,she completely ignored me and has not replied to any of my emails. It just feels awful being tossed to the side like garbage after initially being treat with attention and support.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    March 6th, 2015 Chula Vista, CA
    17 people found this review helpful!
    Shady. I have to work with these ” yahoos” daily as I am a debt collector. They will not accept the guidelines set by the creditors to provide settlement options to their clients. They INSIST that I take very low and unreasonable offers to creditors and even if I manage to get them approved then say THEY have to get them approved before paying out. I feel if you are making an offer to settle, it is only fair that you can fund the settlement instead of jerking around. It’s a waste of everyone’s time and is unethical. You can’t make offers to creditors that you can’t fund!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    0
    March 6th, 2015 Canton, MI
    25 people found this review helpful!
    You always speak to someone different and they all tell you something different! In the beginning it was all good, then when my circumstances changed, I was told LIE after LIE! Especially when it came to getting my money back! I do not recommend!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    January 21st, 2015 Staunton, IL
    10 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful. Transparency was provided .
    Read More
  12. User Score
    1
    January 5th, 2015 Boulder, CO
    20 people found this review helpful!
    Guy who signed me up was professional BUT dealing with the company afterwards was a complete run-around. Transferred 5 times and not given an honest answer. Had to call back and confirm my exit from the program. Then asked personal questions in a resell attempt. Mailing address given to submit cancellation request to is NOT a valid mailing address. Percentage higher than advertised – 23%. Customer service transfers you immediately somewhere else – couldn’t even finish my sentence. Very shady.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    November 29th, 2014 Los Angeles, CA
    20 people found this review helpful!
    So I called National debt relief some man by the name of eric was you can say helping me out . Once I was into the phone letting him know my problems he cut me off and told me he knows no one or and him himself couldn’t help me at all . I didn’t even get the chance to even let him know everything that was going on . That was such a waste of time and I’m here so anyone else shouldn’t waste their valuable time on people that don’t care for their customers ! Happy holidays and suggest to keep away from National debt relief especially eric could have gave his last name , but clicked on me before I could have even got it.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    7
    June 20th, 2014 Columbia, MD
    19 people found this review helpful!
    National Debt Relief recently refunded part of the money that was saved in my account before I terminated my agreement with the company. I found this action on their part to be quite surprising and very much appreciated. This leads me to believe that they do have the best interest of their customers at heart. I have chosen to work with another company in becoming debt free and am very thankful for the services provided to me from National Debt Relief.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
6.1
User Score
3.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
8 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
14
Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
863