Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,359 Real Customer Reviews

#3
Reviews for National Debt Relief | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement program for those with over $7,500 of unsecured debt.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(866) 870-1188

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

645

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: June 11, 2020

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. They work with your creditors on your behalf to stop interest from accumulating and settle your debts at a fraction of what you owe on your accounts.

Is National Debt Relief legitimate? Yes – NDR is an accredited company, and one of the top debt settlement companies in the U.S. In this review, you can read real customer reviews below, compare National Debt Relief to Freedom Debt Relief, and read the pros and cons of NDR.

Pros

No Upfront Fees

There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and do not charge monthly payments. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt management problem is resolved. They charge an average of 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services.

Money-Back Guarantee

National Debt Relief allows customers to cancel services at any time and gives them the option of a money-back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received. The National Debt Relief program does include a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund. This type of money-back guarantee is great for those who are worried about experiencing further financial hardship.

Industry Accreditations

The National Debt Relief program, and company, is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

Works With Some Secured Debt

National Debt Relief works with some secured debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.

National Debt Relief offers debt settlement mainly to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans, and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car debt, some student loan debt, and second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for average secured debt.

Compare to Freedom Debt Relief (rated 9/10 by customers)

Cons

Potentially Higher Costs

Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 18-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your debts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.

It’s important to know that any debt settlement program, not just NDR, will have an immediate negative impact on your credit score. Your credit score takes a hit because you must become delinquent on your accounts.

National Debt Relief Complaints

National Debt Relief is rated 2/10 by consumers on our site; Freedom Debt Relief is rated 9/10. Common complaints among National Debt Relief reviews include:

  • Unprofessional behavior
  • Being passed off between employees
  • Being treated well during enrollment and then the quality dropping once the debt settlement process actually starts.

The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Read reviews or add your own below. 

Limited Availability

National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.

Our Recommendation

Unlike some other debt settlement companies, National Debt Relief does not charge any additional fees including upfront fees, monthly payments, or cancellation fees. The company explains that customers doing start paying for services until their debt problems are solved. National Debt Relief also offers a money-back guarantee, has plenty of industry accreditations, works with some secured debt, and has an online dashboard that clients can use to check their debt management program progress. Additionally, National Debt Relief offers several other professional debt services including credit counseling services, credit card debt relief services, and debt settlement services. While your credit score will take a hit when you start the settlement process, your other options (bankruptcy and making minimum payments forever) will also negatively impact your credit score.

If you are interested in National Debt Relief services, we encourage you to call them and see how much you could save at 1-844-290-8984 or get a free quote online.


About National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief provides various services including credit card debt relief services, debt settlement services, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific financial situation.

How National Debt Relief Works

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. Debt settlement companies work with your creditors on your behalf to negotiate a lower overall amount due. The program follows these basic steps:

  1. Call National Debt Relief for a free consultation to see if debt settlement is right for your particular financial situation
  2. If you sign up with NDR, will ask you to stop making your monthly payments (if you haven’t already)
  3. Set aside the money you would pay for your accounts in a separate savings account. The more money you can accumulate, the faster you can pay off your debts.
  4. NDR will be the point of contact with your creditors. After several months of no payments, NDR will negotiate a lower amount owed with individual creditors (credit card companies, medical bill collectors, personal loan companies, etc).
  5. NDR gives the example of their customers paying 30% less than what is owed. For example, if you owe $10,000 on your CitiBank credit card, you may end up paying $7,000.
  6. You’ll go through this process with each of your creditors until you are debt-free. On average, this takes 2-4 years.

Debt Education Tools

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals with current and future debt problems, which ultimately improves their overall financial situation. We do, however, wish that the training they offer were more organized to help facilitate better financial learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets, and more. Some of the topics that the company covers with these resources include how debt settlement can affect your credit score,

We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

645 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

33
15
17
8
12
9
24
10
73
44
400
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    6
    March 6th, 2020
    6 people found this review helpful!
    They will give you a good story but the bottom line is until you are able to build up enough of a budget for them to work with, they will NOT enter into any agreements with your creditors. They will pick one or two creditors and will ignore the rest until they have received enough money from you. Your credit history will be destroyed. Have no doubt. I went from 650 to under 450 in a six month period because National Debt Relief will not work work with your creditors until they have enough of your money. This is the reality of working with NDR.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    March 4th, 2020
    4 people found this review helpful!
    These guys almost got us, thanks for all the customer reviews
    Read More
  3. User Score
    1
    February 8th, 2020 Atco, NJ
    10 people found this review helpful!
    My credit cards were paid up to date. They told me to stop paying my credit cards which is caused late fees to accumulate and balances to increase. With the additions charge of late fees and their charge to settle my debt I paid 100% more on each card! When they couldn’t settle my debt they had me take a loan from Liberty Lending. The loan is for 5 years. The rules and requirements are always changing! I’m sorry I ever used this company!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    3
    January 28th, 2020
    4 people found this review helpful!
    They do not listen to the customer request do as they pleased
    Read More
  5. User Score
    5
    January 27th, 2020 Arlington, TX
    12 people found this review helpful!
    It sounded so good at first. But as time went on I realized I was being told something different every time I called. In the beginning they said I should be able to resolve my debt in about 18 months. I will be finished in May 2020 for a total of 30 months! They are very misleading.
    Right now all of my creditors are paid and now for the next four months I am paying negotiation fees. It would be so much better to have eveything laid out from day one even if approximate numbers. My debt of 10,255.81 was settled for 5,093.38. yet when the lawyer fees, bank fees and negotiation fees were added I’m going to end up paying 8,375.
    They probably conduct their business according to the applicable laws but “misleading” in my book is not right.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    1
    January 23rd, 2020
    11 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve been enrolled in NDRs program for about a year and a half. I can honestly say they talk a big game and do very little to back it up. They have successfully settled ONE account out of 4 in a year and a half. They do ask that you stop paying your past due accounts so that when they call it’s easier for them to negotiate a lower amount. Here’s the problem….I stopped paying per their instruction and after a couple months a sheriff showed up at my door with a summons from Barclays bank. I don’t dispute that I owe the money at all. I got into a really rough spot and was having a hard time get out of it. Anyways since NDR never reqched out to Barclays bank to attempt to settle the 2,200 debt a default judgement was issued and I had to pay the full amount, in one lump sum payment. On another account the collections agency kept calling and e mailing me. Each time I reached out and e mailed NDR with the collections agency’s contact info and who they needed to speak to, also provided the collections agency with NDRs info. Nobody from either side reached out to the other and yet again comes the sheriff with another default judgement. I’ve discussed both issues with NDR and they don’t really seem to care much as I’m “not obligated to pay them fees for debts that I resolve on my own”. That’s not the issue. The issue is you’re not doing anything. My suggestion to anyone considering NDR is to try to resolve debts on your own and save some money. Once you’re being sued by a creditor there are no payment plans. If you get to the creditor first you can set up a payment plan.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    January 16th, 2020
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is an excellent business, and customer service is outstanding which is rare these days, everyone one I spoke with I felt truly was there for me and cared! Also, very helpful, understanding and quick to respond to any service request. I’m debt free!!!!! They handle everything with the bill collectors, follow up with me often to update my account and status of my situation, they followed through on their end of ensuring I was taken care of and I felt like I was their main Priority! If you’re in debt and feel you’re drowning I definitely suggest giving NDR a chance to help you. If they’re able to help me climb my way out of debt then I believe they can help anybody. Thank you NDR, because of you I can breath again!!!!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    9
    January 5th, 2020 Honolulu, HI
    5 people found this review helpful!
    They were great. They were able to negotiate several of my CC debts in half. I was diligent it calling them every month to see what the status was on my accounts were. When encountering an associate who didn’t seem to know what they were talking about, I just hung up and called again to get another associate. We were able to get 8 of my cc negotiated and paid off in a year. And the last 2 credit cards negotiated and paid off the next year. They were able to negotiate A total of $60,000 in debt down to $35,000. I was AMAZED!!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    December 31st, 2019 Houston, TX
    14 people found this review helpful!
    The NDR charged me 24% of the enrolled amount as settlement fee after concluding all my creditors. The NDR told me that I will be debt free after 3 years. They collected $186 biweekly from my account for more than a year with a total of $5000 plus . Then they recommended Liberty Lending service to provide me a loan to settle the remaining unsettled amount which is $5000 plus . The Liberty lender approved an amount equivalent to almost $10,000.00 with an interest (APR) of 24,7%. The approved amount was released to the Global Client Solution , a bank collecting (AUTO)from my account biweekly to pay the creditors. So, now I am going to pay (auto) the Liberty Lender $183 biweekly for 36 months beginning January 2020 .. The approved amount which is $10k , half of it went to the creditors to settle the remaining amount and the other remaining half goes to the NDR as a form of settlement fee. Now I am paying the Lender the total amount of almost $15000.00 including interest for 36 months. My Total amount of debt that I enrolled in the program is $16000 plus , . The NDR clearly used their cunning ability in the disguise of helping me out of debt but it appears that all my debt was just transferred to the Lender while their company benefitted much from that program. My debt was not resolved they just consolidate it to one company which is the Lender,To sum it all, I paid them cash in the total amount of more or less $5000 to pay or settle the creditors and now I am going to pay for 36 months the Lender in the total amount of nearly $15000.000 so all in all the final total amount that cost me to settle the $16000.00 enrolled amount to NDR is nearly $20,000.00 I don’t think this is FAIR.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    3
    December 27th, 2019 Myrtle Beach, SC
    10 people found this review helpful!
    They tell you one thing then tranfere you to another member of their team who give you a different answer they when you speak up about the difference they connect you with another member who is above them who tell you something difference from the other two. I have been told so many different thing that I flat told them I did not believe any of them.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    December 17th, 2019 Tampa, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Let’s consider…The debt relief process is lengthy and frustrating but if you can hang in there, it is so worth it. Remember, in the long run, these accounts belong to the debtor and checking on how things are going plus checking the online account (if you can access it) is a debtor’s responsibility. As for NDR, every time I call with a question or to review a deposit, any member of the Client Success team I have spoken with has been absolutely amazing. The process of setting up an account was quick and easy.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    9
    December 17th, 2019
    6 people found this review helpful!
    I Actually don’t have a problem with this company because they are handling something that I am not good at , which is handling my debt. I am very happy with their service and In my opinion , companies sometimes has different departments and has a tendency to pass you onto other people because that person you are talking to is probably not trained on your specific problem.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    2
    December 15th, 2019 Federal Way, WA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I’m still waiting to see if I hear from you guys. Ever since you out me in a loan I don’t hear any feedback of you guys lowering my debit. I feel like I’ve been pushed to the side and forgotten. I’m guessing you won’t respond to this either. Thank you
    Read More
  14. User Score
    3
    December 14th, 2019 Skiatook, OK
    9 people found this review helpful!
    A debt settlement was presented to me for approval. I asked specific questions such as: 1 Does this settlement include everything such as legal fees, National Debt’s fee? 2 Are there any fees not included? The answer was this settlement was all encompassing, no other fees. It turns out, that was not accurate. There were additional fees of $2.000.00 dollars. National Debt, after hearing my concerns, listened to the tape and found my account of the conversation was accurate. I asked them to honor the information given to me by their employee, as I otherwise might not have authorize the settlement. There reply was : Sorry, people make mistakes, and we cannot honor what our employee told you. I feel financially raped by this company. I’m am experiencing trauma, stress and a all encompassing feeling of financial powerlessness.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    December 13th, 2019 Stanton, CA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Beware when you cancel your service with them, they will lock your bank account and freeze it. And then you will have to wait the whole weekend until they decide to come work on Monday. Good luck with a cease and decese on your account.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    December 13th, 2019 Newport News, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The process was fast and easy. I am on my way to becoming debt free. Thankyou National Debt Relief.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    December 13th, 2019 Hilo, HI
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Amazing assistance, and very accommodating.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 13th, 2019 Clayton, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Wonderful, great to work with. Also, very flexible when things changed.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 13th, 2019 Fruita, CO
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I appreciate everyone so much that has helped me. I am very happy with where i am right now with handling my debt.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    December 13th, 2019 Springfield, MO
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I’m very satisfied. Took much stress off of me. I am down to one credit card to be paid off and I am happy!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

645
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,395