Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,158 Real Customer Reviews

#8
National_Debt_Relief

National Debt Relief

Call for a free consultation: 800-674-9433

Our Score
6.5
User Score
1.8
Our Score
6.5
User Score
1.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

39

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: June 19, 2019

National Debt Relief has provided debt management services since its founding in 2008. Customers can receive relief from their unsecured debt including “credit card debt, medical bills, and unsecured loans.

The Good

  • No Extra Fees
  • Money-Back Guarantee
  • Industry Accreditations
  • Works With Some Secured Debt
  • Debt Education
  • Online Dashboard
  • Additional Services

No Extra Fees

There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and do not charge monthly payments. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt management problem is resolved. They charge an average of around 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services.

Money-Back Guarantee

National Debt Relief allows customers to cancel services at any time and gives them the option of a money-back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received. The National Debt Relief program does include a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund. This type of money-back guarantee is great for those who are worried about experiencing further financial hardship.

Industry Accreditations

The National Debt Relief program, and company, is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

Works With Some Secured Debt

National Debt Relief works with some secured debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.

National Debt Relief offers debt settlement mainly to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans, and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car debt, some student loan debt, and second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for average secured debt.

Debt Education

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals with current and future debt problems, which ultimately improves their overall financial situation. We do, however, wish that the trainings they offer were more organized to help facilitate better financial learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets, and more. Some of the topics that the company covers with these resources include how debt settlement can affect your credit score,

We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Online Dashboard

You always have access to your own trust bank account where all transactions can be viewed.

Additional Services

National Debt Relief provides various services including credit card debt relief services, debt settlement services, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific financial situation.

The Bad

  • Potentially Higher Costs
  • Negative Reviews
  • Limited Availability


Potentially Higher Costs

Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 15-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your debts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.

Negative Reviews

Common complaints include unprofessional behavior, being passed off between employees, and being treated great during enrollment then the quality dropping once the debt settlement process actually starts. The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process.

Limited Availability

National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.

The Bottom Line

Unlike some other debt settlement companies, National Debt Relief does not charge any additional fees including upfront fees, monthly payments, or cancellation fees. The company explains that customers doing start paying for services until their debt problems are solved. National Debt Relief also offers a money-back guarantee, has plenty of industry accreditations, works with some secured debt, and has an online dashboard that clients can use to check their debt management program progress. Additionally, National Debt Relief offers several other professional debt services including credit counseling services, credit card debt relief services, and debt settlement services.

If you are interested in National Debt Relief services, we encourage you to read several National Debt Relief reviews and conduct your own research to determine if National Debt Relief is the right fit for you.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

39 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

20
9
4
2
1
3
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    June 17th, 2019 Chicopee, MA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with this company for a year. In that time, all three of my accounts have been charged off. For months, I was told that one of my accounts was resolved and payments were completed. However, as soon as I asked for a paid in full letter, all of sudden, it was NOT resolved. NDR had only paid one payment out of three. Total scam artists. They had taken $1500 in fees over the past year & had accomplished nothing. It took WEEKS of calling several times to get them to agree to refund the $1500 in fees. There was absolutely zero benefit to being in this program the past year. Only frustration, lies, and being flat out stolen from. They have finally agreed to refund the fees, but I am STILL waiting to see that deposit show up in my bank account. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. They are extremely misleading & in my case, actually lied and stole from me. If I believed everything they said, they would have gotten away with stealing $1500 from me. Terrible business, complete scam artists, making a buck off a very vulnerable and desperate population. Please do not ever trust these people! I am writing this review to hopefully help someone else not get involved with this deceitful company!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    June 13th, 2019 Birmingham, AL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I enrolled to National Debt Relief in order to consolidate and my credit debt. My first credit card was settled from an original balance of 10,449 to a settled amount of $8,766. While they offer to settle your debt for 50% they actually settled mine for 83%. The problem is that they charge a negotiation fee of 25% which in my case was $2,612…so in total i will be paying $11,378. That’s right, i will be paying more than I originally owed after paying my settlement + their fee. How is that supposed to save me any money? Naturally I called concerning this situation. I was told by a QA that they would escalate my concern and see if they could reduce the negotiation fee since I would be paying more than owed after it was all done. 2 months passed and I called back to see if there was an update but to my surprise, they weren’t even aware of any escalation or what was said in my last call. I was told the negotiation fees were fixed and there was nothing they could do. So from my personal experience, I was disappointed and let down from their original promise to save money settling my debts. I will be paying more then originally owed using National Debt Relief. I hope this review helps someone. God Bless.

    PS. I should also mention that I have left my own personal reviews in as many sites as I can so that my experience with NDR reaches other people considering this option. I have found that 100% of the time NDR responds to a review, they write a generic response saying they will be “reaching out” to you. They have never reached out to me. Or better yet, they will ask you to call in to discuss this issue. When I called, they had no idea what I was talking about and transferred me several times just to simply reiterate that they can’t do anything about it. The same NDR agent responding to these reviews should do the research on the account in question and call us back with actual options, solutions or explanations. I’m already expecting a generic response from NDR which should prove what I’m saying here.

    Read More
  3. User Score
    2
    June 12th, 2019 Lenoir, NC
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Constant calls from them 2 and 3 times a day then they ask for one thing after another such as can you add this extra amount this month to help pay faster when the contract had a set amount. Towards the end of getting everything settled they push you off on to a lending company with the excuse it will get everything paid faster and the settlements will go better instead of with a payment plan pay whole amount including their fee!!! Wonder if they have stock in the Lending company to make more money in interest
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    June 10th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    If anything. They’re making it worse. Far worse. They don’t tell you about the negotiation fees in the “welcome call”. They buried that in the fine print. And when it comes to these fees the scripted fallback from their service reps is “they should have told you in the welcome call”.
    And every settlement offer they make they limit it to 12 months. They were negotiating one of my cards and that card wound up taking me to court. With call logs indicating national debt relief weren’t doing their job and I wound up getting a much more flexible settlement offer by myself. And after I signed the agreement in court national debt relief calls me back a week later saying they settled the card and needed the required funds plus negotiation fees.
    It’s a scam. They always ask for more funds too in between every question you have after the “welcome call”
    The quality of service drops after that “welcome call” im livid with them. You truly are better to tell the judge and the attorneys who want your money that you got suckered by national debt relief and ask if you can find a resolution yourselves. Be honest and they may show some mercy.
    Oh and I’ll be contacting the attorney general. Luckily in my state he currently has it out for debt relief companies.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    June 1st, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Instead of improving my credit, it became much worst and the additional worst thing it happened when I contacted my creditor (Direct TV) they’ve said that the check of National Debt Relief bounced due to insufficient funds issued by National Debt Relief to Direct TV and not only that, National Debt Relief has not been paying my debts to my creditor and they took money from my checking twice a month for over two years. They steal your money for something they can not deliver.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    1
    May 26th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They bait you by telling you it will take 2 years, no matter how much your in debt. Then it takes 4. They don’t tell you upfront (you have to comb through the fine print) that they charge a 25% “negotiation” fee (on the entire amount, not the negotiated amount). This usually amounts to thousands of dollars for calling your creditor and saying “we will pay you half”. The customer service reps lie. I had to talk to 6 different reps before someone would tell me about the negotiation fee. One flat out lied and told me I owed $950 when I really owed $2200. They are counting on you getting so far into the program by the time you realize how much the fees are, that you are reluctant to pull out before your done.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    May 16th, 2019 Staten Island, NY
    4 people found this review helpful!
    The representative did not tell me there are fees & that I would be paying into a savings accounts ,not paying my loans off.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    2
    April 16th, 2019 Kirkland, WA
    10 people found this review helpful!
    I enrolled with National Debt Relief in July 2018 and now completely regret that decision!! They started taking money in Aug 2018 and now, 8 months later, I am being sued by 2 of my creditors. Until they filed a lawsuit against me, they had not been contacted by NDR at all. I have since verified that 2 other creditors have never been contacted by them as if this date either.

    My accounts were all current when I enrolled. Now thanks to they way they conduct themselves, I have 2 pending lawsuits and will have to file bankruptcy to protect myself.

    Whatever you do, DON’T HIRE THEM! They definitely are not working on my behalf and have brought NO DEBT RELIEF WHATSOEVER. I’m actually worse off now then before I hired them.

    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    April 16th, 2019 Pearland, TX
    11 people found this review helpful!
    This company is the worst, i paid them almost 7,000 and their services just ripped me off.
    Now, i am being sued by a creditor because they did not do their job as far as negotiating, communicating, and paying them.
    Truly a waist of time and money!!!
    Very disapointed to risk my effort and jeopardise my home and lufe with my kids.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    1
    April 9th, 2019
    7 people found this review helpful!
    This services was the worst thing I every did in my life. It completed affected my credit and relationship with my creditors. I heard several times that Dave Ramsey said you don’t need this services . He is 100% correct. Most creditors will work with you with out a fee. The issue is that if you owe too much DO NOT USE ANY OF THESE COMPANIES. Call each creditors and handle it yourself. These companies charge for there services. Nothing is free in this world. That is why I say you are better off negotiating with your creditors.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    1
    March 19th, 2019
    6 people found this review helpful!
    NDR Does not mention up front that they need funds to be able to settle with your creditors, so then you start getting summons to appear in court, HIGH FEES BEWARE, so if you don’t have the money in your account to settle, then Liberty Lending steps in and if you decide to go with them then you have a high interest rate. SO you are no better off in the end!. I would say file chapter 13 or 7 and pay the attorney fees. Big Mistake and lesson learned. Don’t do it!!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    March 1st, 2019
    7 people found this review helpful!
    What a waste of time and money!!!!! They didn’t save me any money… as a matter of fact they cost me more money than it would of if I would have just paid my dept because the money that they settled on I had to file the rest of on taxes so technically I wasn’t any better off and now I have to pay a three year loan plus interest on what they settled. and fill the rest on a 1099 tax form
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    February 26th, 2019 Gering, NE
    7 people found this review helpful!
    I saw bad reviews saying “they are charging you for doing something you can do on your own”. I suggest you do it.
    I appreciate NDR and all the work they do. Yes they are charging, well, they have to get paid too. I hope this person does not expect it for free.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    0
    February 6th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    All I did was call to see if I qualify for the program and my score went down! That’s ridiculous.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    January 30th, 2019 Woodinville, WA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    They make you think they are helping and word it as such. its only after I had “qualified for a loan” with another company to pay off my debt that I was informed of the fees and debts still in collection and no settlement was ever made. I have been paying for over a year and half of each payment went to fees for the “services” they provide.All these services they offer you can do yourself with just 30 minutes of your own time.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    1
    January 2nd, 2019
    9 people found this review helpful!
    I don’t know where to begin. as of 2 days ago I had about 1800$ coming back to me after the final settlement. I call to verify and close account and 2 days later I see totally different numbers in my account. the balance I had is gone. Its like my account was rewritten to hide the excess. I know what I saw 2 days ago. Something is off and after I added up what I paid and what they settled my accounts for there is a lot of money missing in general. almost 4000$ what did I pay out in hidden fees!!?? If you are considering using this company think again PLEASE.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    1
    November 10th, 2018 Columbus, OH
    9 people found this review helpful!
    The initial sales pitch was great and friendly, and they had me set up to meet with an attorney, BUT they failed to mention any of the fees they charged, which if they were up front about and transparent, I would have politely declined.
    Doing the math, I would still be paying nearly my total amount of debt (just in a shorter time which I obviously could not afford) plus have a tanked credit score and the possibility of creditors still coming after me with lawsuits.
    I am glad I was able to figure out on my OWN research of the company about their excessive fees which kind of negates the whole idea of getting out of debt with lower monthly payments.
    Great initial sales pitch, not transparent, and not looking out for your financial well-being with the fees they charge.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    September 17th, 2018
    11 people found this review helpful!
    National Debt Relife did nothing but lie and scam me. I asked to leave the program so that I could got to another company. I still had a refund due to me so I submitted the request.
    I have documentation that states when my refund of $2439.40 will come to my bank which is 9/13/2018. As of today I have not received my refund and the company is holding it so that I am charged more fees. Please help, I have already paid late fees and penalties because of this. I am speaking with an attorney now so that I can recover damages caused by the not returning my funds in the mannar promised.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    2
    May 17th, 2018 Houston, TX
    20 people found this review helpful!
    I am currently with this company and I must say their success rate is so high because they automatically drop any account that they can not resolve leaving you at square one. If you find yourself needing to use this company or companies like this do yourself a favor and just work with your creditor directly. You will save money and to my surprise my creditor’s attorney was more willing to work with me directly than with this company.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    May 4th, 2018 Homer, NE
    8 people found this review helpful!
    Wonderful team…..they settle mybfirst account already within 4 months…i am very happy
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
6.5
User Score
1.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

39
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,137