Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Reviews of Freedom Debt Relief from real customers
(955 verified)

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    LaVonne Washington
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first -- we're extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Christine Zangari
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    I have had nothing but "POSITIVE" help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief's staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what's going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.Read More

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

955 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

11
7
12
8
12
21
15
24
108
121
616
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Miramar, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with FDR have been great, I have no complaints. The agent was great explaining everything to me and also very easy to get in contact with. It’s been great!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Boise, ID
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent overall. With the exception of leaving our family with so little a month to cover emergencies or needs that may come up. We have three disabled people in our family when we entered the program and that is too much almost to demand of a family. It does not leave much for car repairs or if a car needs to be replaced etc.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Hopedale, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience has been excellent with FDR. They have helped with litigation, debt resolution and I am very pleased this far
    Read More
  4. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2018 Woodville, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My husband and I are very satisfied with our service, we applied in 2015 and now we’re in 2018 with only 3 creditors left. I look forward to Freedom Debt negotiating so we can start our new journey without worries. Thank you Freedom Debt for your service.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Fernley, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent in every respect! Great customer service, prompt communication.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Luling, LA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Very easy to work with, great customer service
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Las Vegas, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great relief , very dependable, accommodating
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2018 Opelika, AL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    It has been a good experience. I have been able to pay off more than half of my credit cards through this program. I must admit the monthly payment were kind of high and it was a relief to know that I could call and get the payments reduced when I needed to. I have found Freedom Debt Relief to be a great way to reduce my debt and to protect myself from predators because they provide you an attorney if you are willing to pay the additional $12 fee believe me it is worth it. I like the dashboard on the online website and I also like the text messages that they received to let me know that I have a new settlement coming up. Thus far it has been an overall great experience.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Grass Valley, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful and such an easy process. Great payment plan.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Germantown, WI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They have already settled two credits for me and are working on the third. I’m very comfortable with my decision to sign up with them.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    September 26th, 2018 Hagerstown, MD
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Sometimes you can’t get a hold of them. If I have a question it’ll take them a day or more to get back to me sometimes. I’ve asked them how long I’ll be making payments but they haven’t gotten back to me yet.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Ocala, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Everything I contacted them about I received answers and I was satisfied with my answers.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Battle Creek, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They explained everything really well to me and I felt comfortable about signing up for their services. I really like that you can get a lawyer’s advice for $12 a month.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 La Grange, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were able to simplify everything for me when they explained the process and everything. For $12 a month you can get law advice so there’s a vast range of services as far as helping you get through the debt relief program.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Missoula, MT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were there to answer my questions every time I called and they always put my mind at ease whenever I had an issue. They were great about keeping me updated, whenever I would get something taken care of they would let me know right away. They were the best company I’ve worked with.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Jackson, TN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They always take care of everything I need. They get your debt down pretty low. I feel relieved now that I’m not having to deal with the creditors. It would be nice if they started with your lowest debt and then dealt with your highest debt.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Alexandria, KY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They always send me emails and stuff if I have an offer or a text message. Anytime I call they answer my questions. They’ve been able to offer me settlements sooner than I expected.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Bulls Gap, TN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They did the job that I wanted to get done. I’ve been able to get out of debt quicker. I’d recommend them to others.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Kokomo, IN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They’ve done a marvelous job and have answered any questions I’ve had.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Pleasant Grove, UT
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They were very thorough in their explanation of the process and answering all my questions. It was just straight forward and everything. It was really easy to apply for and they took care of everything.
    Read More
  21. User Score
    8
    September 26th, 2018 Bronx, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They are really reliable and very knowledgeable. They’re able to answer any questions I have.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 East Tawakoni, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They’ve been great in everything they’ve done. They helped me set up my dashboard and everything, it was really helpful. The people I’ve dealt with have been super nice.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Gowanda, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They follow through on everything they let you know what’s happening with their your debt. The customer service is always there for you when you need them and they answer your questions and they have good manners.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Snow Hill, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re in touch with me on important matters and everything’s been running smoothly with them. In my opinion Freedom Debt Relief is the best. They have lived up to their promise of relieving me of of any stress that I may have encounters or would encounter.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Hollister, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have a good service, I just wish it was faster. I’ve never had any issues and any time I I’ve contacted them and they’ve been very helpful. They update me once, at least once a month. They stopped collection agencies from calling me once I game them Freedom’s number.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 O'Fallon, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time you talked them they’re very courteous and help you out. We already settled most of our debt and they got us into different program were it would take 3 more years and we’re done.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    September 26th, 2018 Columbus, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have exceptional customer support, they listen to the customer. They really have the ability to work with your creditors and get the results that you’re looking for. They’re a great company to work with and everybody should do it that has debt.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    8
    September 26th, 2018 Cape Coral, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were always friendly and courteous, and always helped me on a timely manner. I wish I would’ve done more research before I signed up. I’m struggling to make my monthly payment.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Sebring, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They always want to go the extra mile, they don’t slack they just press ahead.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 North Little Rock, AR
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They took care of everything for me, my debt was diminished pretty well.
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Omaha, NE
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They’re prompt, professional, and are really good to work with if things get financially tight. They send texts, emails, and sometimes they’ll call me if it’s something more serious or needs my attention.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    8
    September 18th, 2018 South Daytona, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I don’t get any phone calls, I just get emails. I like the dashboard and being able to check and see how things are progressing.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Eunice, NM
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everybody has always been very helpful, they’re there for me. I go to the client dashboard, get emails, and can call them for information.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    8
    September 18th, 2018 Queen Creek, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They showed me exactly what needed to be done to get the ball rolling.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 West Palm Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve never had any issues with anybody, they’ve been completely on top of my debt and helped me take care of it.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Trotwood, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I call they resolve my questions. I feel 100% satisfied, they’ve helped me all the way.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They always work with me really well and take care of me. They send text messages and I go on my dashboard to stay updated. They’ve done an excellent job with my bills, outstanding service.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 San Antonio, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re always available when I call, and they always have the answers I need. They have done a great job at lowering my debt. They’ll call you or you can go check your portal on the website to keep updated.
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Suffolk, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have been the most helpful each time I call them. They’ve never made me feel stupid, they’re always kind and make me feel like I am important. I get regular emails from them and they ask me to check my dashboard. They’re good at what they do, I’ve had two of my debts paid off already.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Kissimmee, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The customer service is polite, and they do everything possible to insure me what they can do. They paid my bills and no one harasses me now.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Lecanto, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Their responses are always in a timely manner and I didn’t have any problems with the program. It all went smoothly.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Sienna Plant, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re responsive and the website is user friendly. You can always reach a person. They are transparent and effective as well. I think it was the best decision I could have made at the time, it’s helped me immensely.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Gainesville, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are really accommodating and accessible, I can talk to them anytime.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Cadiz, KY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very thorough, compassionate, and helpful. They make progress and do a good job.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Heritage Creek, KY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I had a question they answered it right away. They are really proactive. Everybody is friendly and helpful.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Wilmington, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They helped me or sent me information on anything I needed. I’ve been involved with them over a year now and I am comfortable and feel I made the right decision.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2018 Brooklyn, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone you talk to understands and is respectful. They also give you good feedback.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Centerburg, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everybody is helpful, if I have a question then they help explain it to me. They send me emails and I have a dashboard I can look at to see how things are going, it’s very detailed about the process.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 St Cloud, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We spent about 4 weeks back and forth with questions and answers. They were very patient with me because I had so many questions I wanted answered before I signed up. I have someone’s personal extension that I can call anytime, and he would be there right away to answer them or put me through to someone who could. I have contact with them constantly through email with them wanting to know how I feel about progress.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Dania Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far, it’s working because 2 of the 3 problems I have are resolved. Whenever I call, they always promptly answer my questions.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10