Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,526 Real Customer Reviews

#1
freedom_debt_relief_review

Freedom Debt Relief

Ideal Customer: over $15,000 in debt

Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.8

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 982-1609

Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$15,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
754

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: May 22, 2017

Freedom Debt Relief was founded in 2002 and has since resolved over $4 billion through its debt settlement program and helped more than 40,000 customers out of debt. Freedom Debt Relief was started by two graduates from Stanford Business School, Andrew Housser and Bradford Stroh, who had the desire to help customers out of debt. Although this company requires clients to have at least $15,000 in debt to qualify, it brings a tremendous amount of experience and customer satisfaction to the table. With potentially low rates and excellent services, Freedom Debt Relief is one of the best debt settlement companies out there. The company has almost 900 employees that help consumers select the right form of debt relief (whether it’s settlement, consolidation, or bankruptcy).

Ideal Candidate:
An ideal candidate for Freedom Debt Relief has:

  • Over $15,000 worth of debt

Read our expert review to learn more about them, or scroll down and browse hundreds of Freedom Debt Relief reviews from consumers to see why give Freedom Debt Relief an 8.6/10.

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you settle your debts
  • In business since 2002
  • Only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that Freedom Debt Relief holds major industry accreditations, including AFCC and IAPDA, which means the company abides by industry best practices and ethics. The company has been helping people with debt relief since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the industry.

As we mentioned in our the intro, Freedom Debt Relief employs about 900 people. There are only about a dozen companies in the debt settlement industry that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs this many people speaks volume to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no up front fees, and one debt consultant throughout the settlement process.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is fairly good compared to other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the company and express appreciation that there is no up front fee charged for the service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

Freedom Debt Relief is only available in 38 states. The states the company does not service include VT, CT, GA, ME, NH, NJ, RI, WV, IL, SC, OR, WA. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief to settle your debt may end up costing you 25% of the total debt you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it concerns us that the price could be high. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it can potentially have a negative effect on credit scores. We recommend getting a quote from Freedom Debt Relief before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some customers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to resolve their debts, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and the large amount of money owed.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company that charges less. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief Cost?

Price varies depending on various features. The main features taken into account are the creditor you’re working with, the state you live in and the amount of debt you have. After all is said and done, you can expect to pay 15-25% of your total enrolled debt. Their website states the following:

“If you choose to enroll in a Freedom Debt Relief Program, Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including the state you’re in, the amount of debt you’re enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36 month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year. And the most important thing to remember is that there is absolutely NO FEE RISK to you – we guarantee that you will pay NO FEES for your debt relief services until we successfully resolve a debt for you.”

The review of program details will include:

  • Average time for settlements.
  • How some creditors can be more aggressive
  • How delinquent each debt is
  • How drafting monthly can impact the success of completing the program
  • What options we have for when creditors call our clients too much
  • What options we have for if a client gets sued

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No. Any debt settlement company charging up-front fees is not acting in accordance with the law. Under the Federal Trade Commission Act, no company is to practice up-front fees as of 2010.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Yes, they offer a free debt consultation. Calling in and speaking with a debt help specialist will give you the ability to determine the best path to success in your specific situation. While they can give you very helpful information without you divulging too many specific, they can give you the most effective help when you give them more specific information. The consultation in no risk and you won’t be locked into anything by calling.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes. Any money deposited into the trust account will go directly back to the client, minus the monthly fees charged. These fees will be determined once the applicant qualifies for the program and total debt is assessed.

What Types of Debt Does Freedom Debt Relief Work With?

Freedom Debt Relief only deals with unsecured debt.

Time in Business

13 years. Freedom Debt Relief has been in business since 2002. Since then they, along with the other pillars of their company have been listed as one of Inc. 500’s fastest growing companies in 2008 and 2009. Bills.com was also named the #3 company in the Hot 100 from Entrepreneur magazine. Multiple acquisitions of other companies including Home-Account and Refinance.com have helped the company build up their mortgage refinance tools, mortgage calculators and other mortgage and refinancing services. After more than a decade in service, they have proven to be a stable company. The founders of FDR are very involved in the financial and personal debt communities. The Association of Settlement Companies (TASC) has a founding member of Freedom Debt Relief on their board.

Debt Education

The debt education offering from FDR is excellent. They are a part of Freedom Financial Network which also owns Bills.com. Bills.com offers a great tool called the Debt Coach, which is an effective way of determining your best path to getting out of debt. They also offer videos, blog articles and resource pages to help individuals learn more about debt and how to get rid of it.

Freedom’s broad network allows them to serve customers education need incredibly well.

 

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not responsive on mobile and they do not offer a mobile app. Their desktop site is helpful and easy to navigate, but you won’t be able to navigate as easily on your phone.

Contact Information

They offer multiple options for communicating with them.

Phone Number:  1-(855) 242-5275

Email Address: [email protected]

Address:  1875 S Grant St., Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402-2676

Services Provided

Freedom Debt Relief provides debt settlement & consolidation services.

Minimum Debt Accepted

$15,000

Online Dashboard

Freedom Debt offers clients online access where you cannot only check on your debt settlement account at any time, but you can contact them through it as well. The representative we spoke with indicated that they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Accreditations

Yes, this business is AFCC  and IAPDA accredited.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Freedom Debt Relief below.

1-(855) 982-1609

754 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

15
5
11
7
8
20
9
22
93
120
444
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    May 22nd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was unsure about this kind of program but the sales person made me feel very relieved and confident that I will succeed with the program.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    May 12th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Easy to work with, great at explaining how the process works!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    May 10th, 2017 Vernal, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Cheyenne was very patient, and helpful! Freedom debt relief got all the help that I needed, at a lower payment than I expected! Thank you very much for your help, this takes a hugh load off my mind, I can sleep better not worring about how I am going to catch up on my payments.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2017 Cottonwood, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    FDR exceeded my expectations in every category. They deliver on every promise, and work diligently to ensure every detail is considered. Customer service is always helpful, personable and thorough. My staggering debt and unique blend of creditors was navigated with professional determination and a level of personal attention that made it seem easy – and it was all resolved in a single year! They have earned my sincere gratitude and respect.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Shantel L was Excellent and I hope I did the right thing.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    May 8th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Andre was excellent. Answered all my questions went through the whole process with me. Stayed in touch with me through the whole process. Very knowledgeable & professional.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 8th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tyler was very helpful, He was able to explain the program and answer all of my questions.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    9
    May 8th, 2017 Chantilly, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tiffany B. was incredibly patient, informative, and pleasant in each of our interactions. She earned my trust, and made an otherwise arduous experience feel comfortable.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    8
    May 5th, 2017 Whiteriver, AZ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was about to retire, but still had a lot of debts to pay, so I decided that going with them would be the best option. There was a lot of communication with them in the beginning, and they helped me save enough money to pay what I owed them. They congratulated me through the phone after all my debts were settled, but I’m still waiting for a physical confirmation; considering I don’t have an email nor a computer. Besides that, I say they were good.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    9
    May 5th, 2017 Nashville, TN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Overall, they have worked just fine. I had a few contact issues with their customer service, but besides that, I have been extremely happy with what they’ve done so far. They kept me updated and helped me save a lot of money.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have nothing but good things to say about Freedom Debt Relief so far! They helped me save money! All I can say no is that I feel good about signing up with them.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Hagerstown, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They made me feel like I can get out of debt and live a better life. The people I spoke with were really knowledgeable and very friendly, and they immediately got on the job. Definitely a very positive experience.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Soledad, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re doing a great job! The consultants have already talked to a lot of my creditors and they’ve settled. They do a really good job and I would recommend them to anybody.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Columbus, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The consultants helped me work my way through the process. They would notify me when certain payments were made, or when some bills were paid off. I just feel pretty good about it. If somebody ever asked me, I’m sure I would recommend them to use the services.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    8
    May 5th, 2017 Kemp, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I think I made the right decision signing up with Freedom Debt Relief. I had a real good experience with the consultants, so I was happy with that. However, I was not happy with how they managaed my last debt. They let it go so long that the interest doubled, so I saved absolutely no money, and now I have to pay taxes on that.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Kissimmee, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It’s been such a positive experience! They were very helpful, and kept me informed throughout the entire process. All my questions were answered and they were there to assist me. I can always get in touch with them.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Terre Haute, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would highly recommend them to anybody who had a financial trouble. They have been very good to work with, and have been true to their work. I was able to eliminate at least half of the debt that I had turned in, and save some money in the process.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Harvey, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It’s been a good experience. A legal friend of ours advised us to go through Freedom Debt Relief after a medical crisis we had, and so far they’ve been great! The consultants were very informative and keep you abreast of all that’s going on. They’ve settled couple of debts for us already.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2017 Middletown, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are 100% awesome! I would recommend them to anybody. We have an internet dashboard that keeps our personal information, and that’s how they keep us in contact of what was going on. Plus, we have the number to call 24 hours a day if we need to. They’re doing a wonderful job!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    May 5th, 2017 Levittown, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far, they’ve been very helpful. I’m quite pleased with it, mainly because I have been saving money with them. I’m just very satisfied with what they’ve done for me.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$15,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
754
Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$15,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
754