Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,181 Real Customer Reviews

#3
freedom_debt_relief_review

Freedom Debt Relief

Pro: Nationally accredited; positive customer reviews
Con: Only available for 38 states

Our Score
8.9
User Score
8.8

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 982-1609

Our Score
8.9
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
648

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: March 24, 2017

Freedom Debt Relief was founded in 2002 and has since resolved over $4 billion through its debt settlement program and helped more than 40,000 customers out of debt. Freedom Debt Relief was started by two graduates from Stanford Business School, Andrew Housser and Bradford Stroh, who had the desire to help customers out of debt. Although this company requires clients to have at least $7,500 in debt to qualify, it brings a tremendous amount of experience and customer satisfaction to the table. With potentially low rates and excellent services, Freedom Debt Relief is one of the best debt settlement companies out there. The company has almost 900 employees that help consumers select the right form of debt relief (whether it’s settlement, consolidation, or bankruptcy).

Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$7,500

#3

15-25%
$7,500

Read our expert review to learn more about them, or scroll down and browse hundreds of Freedom Debt Relief reviews from consumers to see why give Freedom Debt Relief an 8.6/10.

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you settle your debts
  • In business since 2002
  • Only requires you to settle a minimum of $7.5k
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that Freedom Debt Relief holds major industry accreditations, including AFCC and IAPDA, which means the company abides by industry best practices and ethics. The company has been helping people with debt relief since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the industry.

As we mentioned in our the intro, Freedom Debt Relief employs about 900 people. There are only about a dozen companies in the debt settlement industry that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs this many people speaks volume to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no up front fees, and one debt consultant throughout the settlement process.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is fairly good compared to other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the company and express appreciation that there is no up front fee charged for the service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

Freedom Debt Relief is only available in 38 states. The states the company does not service include VT, CT, GA, ME, NH, NJ, RI, WV, IL, SC, OR, WA. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $7,500 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief to settle your debt may end up costing you 25% of the total debt you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it concerns us that the price could be high. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it can potentially have a negative effect on credit scores. We recommend getting a quote from Freedom Debt Relief before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some customers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to resolve their debts, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and the large amount of money owed.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company that charges less. If you owe over $7,500 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief Cost?

Price varies depending on various features. The main features taken into account are the creditor you’re working with, the state you live in and the amount of debt you have. After all is said and done, you can expect to pay 15-25% of your total enrolled debt. Their website states the following:

“If you choose to enroll in a Freedom Debt Relief Program, Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including the state you’re in, the amount of debt you’re enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36 month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year. And the most important thing to remember is that there is absolutely NO FEE RISK to you – we guarantee that you will pay NO FEES for your debt relief services until we successfully resolve a debt for you.”

The review of program details will include:

  • Average time for settlements.
  • How some creditors can be more aggressive
  • How delinquent each debt is
  • How drafting monthly can impact the success of completing the program
  • What options we have for when creditors call our clients too much
  • What options we have for if a client gets sued

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No. Any debt settlement company charging up-front fees is not acting in accordance with the law. Under the Federal Trade Commission Act, no company is to practice up-front fees as of 2010.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Yes, they offer a free debt consultation. Calling in and speaking with a debt help specialist will give you the ability to determine the best path to success in your specific situation. While they can give you very helpful information without you divulging too many specific, they can give you the most effective help when you give them more specific information. The consultation in no risk and you won’t be locked into anything by calling.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes. Any money deposited into the trust account will go directly back to the client, minus the monthly fees charged. These fees will be determined once the applicant qualifies for the program and total debt is assessed.

What Types of Debt Does Freedom Debt Relief Work With?

Freedom Debt Relief only deals with unsecured debt.

Time in Business

13 years. Freedom Debt Relief has been in business since 2002. Since then they, along with the other pillars of their company have been listed as one of Inc. 500’s fastest growing companies in 2008 and 2009. Bills.com was also named the #3 company in the Hot 100 from Entrepreneur magazine. Multiple acquisitions of other companies including Home-Account and Refinance.com have helped the company build up their mortgage refinance tools, mortgage calculators and other mortgage and refinancing services. After more than a decade in service, they have proven to be a stable company. The founders of FDR are very involved in the financial and personal debt communities. The Association of Settlement Companies (TASC) has a founding member of Freedom Debt Relief on their board.

Debt Education

The debt education offering from FDR is excellent. They are a part of Freedom Financial Network which also owns Bills.com. Bills.com offers a great tool called the Debt Coach, which is an effective way of determining your best path to getting out of debt. They also offer videos, blog articles and resource pages to help individuals learn more about debt and how to get rid of it.

Freedom’s broad network allows them to serve customers education need incredibly well.

 

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not responsive on mobile and they do not offer a mobile app. Their desktop site is helpful and easy to navigate, but you won’t be able to navigate as easily on your phone.

Contact Information

They offer multiple options for communicating with them.

Phone Number:  1-(855) 242-5275

Email Address: [email protected]

Address:  1875 S Grant St., Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402-2676

Services Provided

Freedom Debt Relief provides debt settlement & consolidation services.

Minimum Debt Accepted

$7,500

Online Dashboard

Freedom Debt offers clients online access where you cannot only check on your debt settlement account at any time, but you can contact them through it as well. The representative we spoke with indicated that they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Accreditations

Yes, this business is AFCC  and IAPDA accredited.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Freedom Debt Relief below.

1-(855) 982-1609

648 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

13
5
8
7
8
17
9
21
88
106
366
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    March 23rd, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was so happy that they were for real, although there was a doubt at first ,but after they were able to helped me with 4 of my accounts wow I said to myself .They were true to their words.Thank you very much!!! God bless everyone.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    March 20th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Raymond is fantastic! His knowledge, understanding and compassion made me feel valued and not judged. Very, very thankful.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    1
    March 14th, 2017 Montebello, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They charge you 25% of total debts froe reducing your debts but you might settle by 40-50% of your debts with immdiate payment. It means you still need to pay 65% of your debt.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    1
    March 1st, 2017 Mobile, AL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I was NOT happy with Freedom Debt Relief & I will NEVER use them again. I was under the impression that they were taking the $$ I sent them & negotiating with my creditors. They were simply holding onto the money & putting a small percentage into an “account” for me, which they intended to offer the creditors as a settlement once I had defaulted past the point of the return. My score suffered several points & FDR had never even contacted anyone – they just pocketed my money. I do NOT recommend these people.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    2
    February 20th, 2017
    2 people found this review helpful!
    nasty bunch of people at least the ones which I have had to interact with……..all very polite, but it ends there……..they refuse to reply to feed back mail or do not care to reply, months go by that you pay them a huge percentage of your monthly income, but YOU did sign up for that is there position……when you are attempting to re-arrange your monthly payment to FDR trying to get a dollar about, you know, something a little lower……..there position you signed up for this and now it is what it is………if you are not satisfied then cancel/terminate your deal with them…….and with that you may or may not receive your thousands of dollars which you faithfully put into your dedicated account to pay off your bills……..they take it all in and thus far never pay any out……….or for that matter never so much as contacted your creditors with the information that FDR will be to go to company to get them a fair and reasonable timely settlement ………..zip, nada, nothing, and because FDR refused to, or simply did not contact my creditors, the amount origionally owed to them may have increased 25-30 percent with the late fees and penatlys which they have added, not to mention that my credit score in 6-7 months went from 800 to 550………at the moment I could not buy a taco on credit……and the credit I did have, was terminated by them……..and thus thanks to me getting myself into this situation, yea like I deserved this heart attack, or my HVAC at my home was destroyed by normal wear and tear and age, and the un insured driver sans license to legally drive smashed in my a truck stopped at a red light, bla bla bla my problems, which I attempted to get a reverse mortgage on my home, but no help there either, my place is valued at less than $50 thousand which is the minimum, and so ……. enter FDR taking over my problems and then months of them providing no leadership or communication with my creditors…….or with me………..maybe I will get my money returned and maybe I wont…………FDR has got me at a huge disadvantage at the moment………
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    February 15th, 2017 Kingston, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I signed up today and i feel better already. Chris S was so helpful and understanding. He was professional and explained everything to me. He was very patient with me.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    February 10th, 2017 Houston, TX
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Sounded great, but not as promised. Great salesman, but disappeared after FINALLY (way longer then expected) another department settled my debt. One company filed against us, which he said “never hsppens”, and we were threatened to have to appear in court. Thank GOD they work with a law firm, and I recommend you pay the $12 or so a month with them. I settled 2 cards myself, and they took the savings credit! They tell you they start working on your account right away, but truth is, you have to start putting your bimonthly huge payments into a trust account. Then, they have to wait months for you to first, fall very delinquent on every account, so like a minimum of 3 to 6 months, and then, they tell you when you ask why they have not settled anything yet, that you do not have enough in your trust account for them to settle some of the larger accounts! In the end they offer you a Consolplus loan, “if you qualify, ” meaning I guess none of your auto drafts were returned. Catch is its at like 22% and they t we ll you it wipes them sll out at once and speeds the process. Worst part, I was told they’d tell me how to fix my credit report to accurately show the accounts were settled, so paid In full. Nobody could answer that after it was all done. Then my eager to help salesman never returned another email. Biggest regret ever. I have talked to others since then, and should’ve contacted creditors myself, or used another company. TERRIBLE, more stressful than original bills. Why try money back after its all been done, your credit is almost 200 points lower, and you wouldn’t be able to pay agreed settlements without them? Where Do You Go then???
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    February 6th, 2017 Santa Barbara, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent help with finances takes the worry out of your life not to mention the high interest rates!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    January 26th, 2017 Walkertown, NC
    1 people found this review helpful!
    awful, pulled my leg all the way around, didn’t have all the information they needed but kept pulling money out of my account….not professional at all. do not fool with these people, i just got my money back from them short 28.00 of course, someone had to make some money off of me……..do not fool with FDR
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    As I shared with Alex, your mailroom folks are awesome. Yesterday I received a notice, including a refund cheque, from the Federal Trade Commission. The FTC had sent it addressed to me at Freedom DR. The refund was totally unexpected. Some good person(s) in the Freedom mail room had looked up my name & address in your records system, typed an address label & forwarded the refund letter to me. Whomever did this makes me feel really secure dealing with Freedom DR. That person could have not bothered & thrown out the check or gone & cashed it themselves. i would have never known. So applause & a big thank you to the honest mailroom people.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    January 24th, 2017 Casa Grande, AZ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Such a fast and simple process. I can’t thanks Steve enough for making this process so easy. Looking forward to being debt free. Thanks!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    January 23rd, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Steven L was great at helping me with getting started on this program. He went over everything with great detail. He was great at answering any questions that I had. it is a pleasure working with him. Thank you.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2017
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Gina S was wonderful. She was very helpful in explaining the program and very polite. Thanks for the help today!
    Read More
  14. User Score
    9
    January 17th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Steven L was very persistent in getting me enrolled in the program and I am actually so grateful he did. Working with him was a pleasure and I’m looking forward to getting started.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    January 17th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Danielle H was warm, friendly, compassionate, professional ,, and very understanding ! I really enjoyed working with her! She is fabulous!!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    January 15th, 2017 Katy, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Overall I’m very appreciative of the service I received. I called another debt relief company yesterday and they didn’t seem like they really wanted to assist me with certain bills and in the ones that they did they were almost adamant that it had to be certain bills that they will work with and that’s just not possible sometimes. I appreciate the fact that Gina and her team were very personable and combing through this entire process. If you were looking for a company to work with you and help you through this ordeal of debts and please call for freedom debt relief.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    January 12th, 2017 San Antonio, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Good and exelent job.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    8
    January 11th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I appreciated Cynthia’s patience as I was making my decision to enrollin the program.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    January 11th, 2017 Orlando, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I spoken to so many customer care specialist throughout my life and never spoken to a Rep like this one. When contated Freedom Dept Relief Cindy C | IAPDA Certified Debt Counselor Assist me and I feel I call at the right time at the right moment. Cindy was Outstanding, Amazing & understanding. She was clear an easy to understand everything step by step with no confusion may God Bless her with a bright future because she deserves it. Thank you Cindy & Freedom Dept Relief 🗽
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    January 11th, 2017 Woodstock, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are awesome at customer service
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
8.9
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
648
Our Score
9.5
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
285