Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,047 Real Customer Reviews

#1
freedom_debt_relief_review

Freedom Debt Relief

Ideal Customer: over $15,000 in debt

Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.9

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 982-1609

Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
978

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: June 7, 2017

Freedom Debt Relief was founded in 2002 and has since resolved over $4 billion through its debt settlement program and helped more than 40,000 customers out of debt. Freedom Debt Relief was started by two graduates from Stanford Business School, Andrew Housser and Bradford Stroh, who had the desire to help customers out of debt. Although this company requires clients to have at least $7,00 in debt to qualify, it brings a tremendous amount of experience and customer satisfaction to the table. With potentially low rates and excellent services, Freedom Debt Relief is one of the best debt settlement companies out there. The company has almost 900 employees that help consumers select the right form of debt relief (whether it’s settlement, consolidation, or bankruptcy).

Ideal Candidate:
An ideal candidate for Freedom Debt Relief has:

  • Over $7,500 worth of debt

Read our expert review to learn more about them, or scroll down and browse hundreds of Freedom Debt Relief reviews from consumers to see why give Freedom Debt Relief an 8.8/10.

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you settle your debts
  • In business since 2002
  • Only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that Freedom Debt Relief holds major industry accreditations, including AFCC and IAPDA, which means the company abides by industry best practices and ethics. The company has been helping people with debt relief since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the industry.

As we mentioned in our the intro, Freedom Debt Relief employs about 900 people. There are only about a dozen companies in the debt settlement industry that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs this many people speaks volume to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no up front fees, and one debt consultant throughout the settlement process.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is fairly good compared to other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the company and express appreciation that there is no up front fee charged for the service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

Freedom Debt Relief is only available in 38 states. The states the company does not service include VT, CT, GA, ME, NH, NJ, RI, WV, IL, SC, OR, WA. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief to settle your debt may end up costing you 25% of the total debt you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it concerns us that the price could be high. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it can potentially have a negative effect on credit scores. We recommend getting a quote from Freedom Debt Relief before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some customers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to resolve their debts, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and the large amount of money owed.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company that charges less. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief Cost?

Price varies depending on various features. The main features taken into account are the creditor you’re working with, the state you live in and the amount of debt you have. After all is said and done, you can expect to pay 15-25% of your total enrolled debt. Their website states the following:

“If you choose to enroll in a Freedom Debt Relief Program, Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including the state you’re in, the amount of debt you’re enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36 month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year. And the most important thing to remember is that there is absolutely NO FEE RISK to you – we guarantee that you will pay NO FEES for your debt relief services until we successfully resolve a debt for you.”

The review of program details will include:

  • Average time for settlements.
  • How some creditors can be more aggressive
  • How delinquent each debt is
  • How drafting monthly can impact the success of completing the program
  • What options we have for when creditors call our clients too much
  • What options we have for if a client gets sued

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No. Any debt settlement company charging up-front fees is not acting in accordance with the law. Under the Federal Trade Commission Act, no company is to practice up-front fees as of 2010.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Yes, they offer a free debt consultation. Calling in and speaking with a debt help specialist will give you the ability to determine the best path to success in your specific situation. While they can give you very helpful information without you divulging too many specific, they can give you the most effective help when you give them more specific information. The consultation in no risk and you won’t be locked into anything by calling.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes. Any money deposited into the trust account will go directly back to the client, minus the monthly fees charged. These fees will be determined once the applicant qualifies for the program and total debt is assessed.

What Types of Debt Does Freedom Debt Relief Work With?

Freedom Debt Relief only deals with unsecured debt.

Time in Business

13 years. Freedom Debt Relief has been in business since 2002. Since then they, along with the other pillars of their company have been listed as one of Inc. 500’s fastest growing companies in 2008 and 2009. Bills.com was also named the #3 company in the Hot 100 from Entrepreneur magazine. Multiple acquisitions of other companies including Home-Account and Refinance.com have helped the company build up their mortgage refinance tools, mortgage calculators and other mortgage and refinancing services. After more than a decade in service, they have proven to be a stable company. The founders of FDR are very involved in the financial and personal debt communities. The Association of Settlement Companies (TASC) has a founding member of Freedom Debt Relief on their board.

Debt Education

The debt education offering from FDR is excellent. They are a part of Freedom Financial Network which also owns Bills.com. Bills.com offers a great tool called the Debt Coach, which is an effective way of determining your best path to getting out of debt. They also offer videos, blog articles and resource pages to help individuals learn more about debt and how to get rid of it.

Freedom’s broad network allows them to serve customers education need incredibly well.

 

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not responsive on mobile and they do not offer a mobile app. Their desktop site is helpful and easy to navigate, but you won’t be able to navigate as easily on your phone.

Contact Information

They offer multiple options for communicating with them.

Phone Number:  1-(855) 242-5275

Email Address: [email protected]

Address:  1875 S Grant St., Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402-2676

Services Provided

Freedom Debt Relief provides debt settlement & consolidation services.

Minimum Debt Accepted

$15,000

Online Dashboard

Freedom Debt offers clients online access where you cannot only check on your debt settlement account at any time, but you can contact them through it as well. The representative we spoke with indicated that they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Accreditations

Yes, this business is AFCC  and IAPDA accredited.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Freedom Debt Relief below.

1-(855) 982-1609

978 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

17
7
12
8
11
27
10
29
117
164
576
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    October 11th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far so good. The company itself is doing what they advertise and I am happy with the service. They use an outside sales force that could represent them better though.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    October 10th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been enrolled nine month and nothing happened. My credit score has been drop to 540. I don’t recommend this program.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 6th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have lost my job and I don’t have that much money so I can pay off my credit then I talk to freedom debt relief company they are help me out best way..and I appreciate for they help me best ..
    Read More
  4. User Score
    5
    October 6th, 2017 Orlando, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It is the 4th month and I don’t see anything happening. When they offer the product they don’t explain the details of how the program works. You need to read the contract. Who reads contract these days. At the time of the sale since you need to make a decision you don’t have time to read contract. I am not sure if this is a good program or not since I haven’t see anything settlement as of yet. What I learned from several counselors after I joined the program is that until you deposit a 25% of funds in your account they don’t negotiate with the creditors. For example if owe 20,000 in debt, in order for them to negotiate you need to have total funds of $5,000 therefore if you are in a hardship situation how would you be able to save all this funds quickly. Depending on how long you can deposit these funds is the time you will stay in the program.

    Another thing I learned is that according to the counselors the sales department is a third party and they are not responsible for the false advertisement or for withholding important information to the customers. Of course they should be responsible!!! What kind of response is that? I give them a 5 because I am not is the service they provide and the outcome is good.

    Read More
  5. User Score
    8
    October 5th, 2017 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Alex, is very thorough and delivered all information about debt relief in a clear and concise manner.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 5th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great company and customer service very glad I had contacted you thanks
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017 Roscommon, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am very new to this. I called customer service Monday morning to ask a couple questions after I received my official welcome package. The customer service rep was extremely helpful and made me feel at ease. The person I talked to when I initially signed up was also very informed and efficient. I’m looking forward to this business arrangement.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2017 Sweetwater, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Overall the experience was good. The amount of information can be overwhelming at times. Corie did a great job of walking us through the application.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017 Hammond, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017 Victorville, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Andie S was a very nice person and easy to talk to. She was well prepared to give us all the information we needed. She convinced us that this was the best way to proceed. Every step of the way we found very helpful and polite people. It was a very nice experience.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2017 Lillington, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I recently enrolled in Freedom Debt Relief program, so far I’ve had a very positive experience. I’m looking forward to completing the program and having my debts problems resolved.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017 Kennesaw, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone has been so kind, knowledgeable, helpful and on the spot for all questions and answers. they get the info and job done quickly as possible. Keeping you informed as to all things happening.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    If you have the patience, and you still want to do what’s right? Freedom financial will help you every step of the way. I feel better about myself paying my bills then going bankrupt. Thank freedom
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief was an answer to my
    Prayers. Simple, easy steps to follow, excellent service.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    6
    October 4th, 2017 Hamilton, OH
    2 people found this review helpful!
    At this point I can’t really give much of a review. I was just enrolled into the program and only just made my first payment yesterday. What I can say is that this debt relief company was able to include two creditors that another company could not. BIG BIG plus for that since those are the two largest debts. In doing so they have reduced the monthly payments by about half. The other thing I really like was being instructed to change all my contact information from my creditors to Freedom Debt Relief. In doing so my phone won’t be ringing off the hook. What a relief!! Oh, I only rate them at a 7 due to the very little time I have had experience with them. I usually NEVER give the very best rating as this is foolish on any rating system because it assumes no room for improvement. I expect the rating to go up in the future though.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    5
    October 4th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My husband is trying hard born to loose his job, but since everything is slowly working ( at turtle pase) he is at risk. I was told this is the best company to go through on seeking help. I understand letting bills go to collections is what you need to do, but putting people jobs at risk isn’t the way to go.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017 Tampa, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I started to get concerned with my bills when I got sick and realized I needed some kind of help dealing with our bills. I looked and all the services that I could find, after thinking on this for days I finally called. I talked with the rep over the phone and he explained the program. I made my decision and started the program. The rep went over everything, very detailed and concise. In a few years we will be debt free.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017 Monongahela, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service each time need was outstanding.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    9
    October 4th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Same was very knowledgeable and friendly. His persistence paid off
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone I’ve spoken with has been courteous.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
978
Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
978