Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,854 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Reviews of Freedom Debt Relief from real customers
(1,006 verified)

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 403-4319

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
1,006

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

Most Helpful Reviews From Freedom Debt Relief Customers

  1. User Score
    10
    LaVonne Washington
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first -- we're extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Christine Zangari
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    I have had nothing but "POSITIVE" help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief's staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what's going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.Read More

1,006 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

12
7
12
9
13
21
18
24
115
121
654
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Mayville, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very happy to have some one on my side. I would not have ever got out of dedt with my spending problem. I realize this is my second chance to get my bills in order with some great help from Freedom.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Bronx, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very very good service. This company is absolutely comfiable. They speak Spanish and English. the attention is wonderful, negotiate your accounts well and we can approve, sincerely it is worth working with them on the financial situation. I recommend them 100%.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Gastonia, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very satisfied so far. The customer service has been good and reliable.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Hagerstown, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Yet another one of my debts resolved. It’s comforting to know that as long as I keep up my deposits that my outstanding debts are being taken care of by the friendly curtious folks at freedom debt relief knowing that they will always work hard to get me the best resolution.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Upper Moreland, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This is wonderful, no problems, kind people
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 East Meadow, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Just amazing so far 4 bills paid to date and more negotiatins coming
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    When I need an answer, I’m actually talking to someone from the customer service.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019 Dansville, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They always go out of their way to find answers to your questions and help you through the whole process. They help me with getting my credit score back up in a minimum amount of time.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019 Nesconset, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I can see the changes and nothing but good things are happening.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019 Ellerbe, NC
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They are the only ones that would really help me with a low interest rate and help you get debt free. They are really helpful in getting you debt free.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    January 22nd, 2019 Wylie, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had problems with the customer service at first, but they straightened out and everything is going well. They got one account settled and I’m waiting on the other one.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019 Daphne, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff was helpful and friendly and knowledgeable.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019 San Diego, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When I need assistance, any questions, they were there to assist me right away. I feel like they did a good job and I’ve had a really good experience so far.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2019 Bay Lake, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The customer service is excellent, excellent. It is always excellent.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    6
    January 13th, 2019 Richmond, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief provides great customer service, education and an easy to use web based dashboard to monitor progress; however, the fees are very high and clients still get lots of threatening phone calls.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    3
    January 4th, 2019 Troy, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They have had my accounts over a year and the only settlement was to a debtor who contacted the from my referral. In the meantime they have continued to collect fees while doing nothing . I was finally sued by the largest creditor. In the meantime my credit rating is destroyed and I cannot even remortgage my home. Some small loans could have been paid in the first couple months. while they sit and do nothing , interest charges keep accumulating and the balances grow larger and larger.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    December 27th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They suck Between charging you 25 percent of of you enrolled debt settlementtheyb let intrest accumulate on the debt settle it for about 60 percent . Then charge you 25 percent then suggest you take a loan out to pay the debt off faster and that cost you another 22 percent so in long run you pay more than you would if you had payed all your debts off yourself . You can call the creditor and settle the debt yourself for less
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Little Rock, AR
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They have always been patient with me when answering my questions. All the information I ever needed was on the online dashboard. I wish I would have taken a different rout because I took a big hit on my credit because of the service, but it is building back up now. It is a really good company and they have helped me a lot.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Radcliff, KY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They really work hard and they are helping me to reduce the debt with the people that I owe.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 San Antonio, TX
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I needed to get rid of my debt, but I was nervous at first. Freedom Debt Relief has made it easy for me to find out what is going on with my account and they always keep me updated with emails and text messages.
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Gloster, LA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They are nice and courteous. The online dashboard is very helpful to check your progress. I feel great because IÕm making progress in a bad situation. They have helped me to be able to focus on other things like family and friends.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Rockwall, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have been good so far, but I do have an issue with one of my cards. I do feel good about it because they have been paying off and keeping me updated.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Staten Island, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They always had accurate answers to my questions. If there was anything inaccurate about my account then they would let me know immediately. They took a lot off my shoulders and helped me feel more comfortable with my income.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Los Angeles, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Whenever I have called, they were able to resolve everything and they have always been very kind. Their online dashboard is very user friendly.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are very competent and were able to settle the debt that I had. I made a very good decision going to them.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    8
    December 20th, 2018 Little Falls, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had a lot of problems and didn’t want to file bankruptcy so I got in contact with Freedom Debt Relief. It was great at the beginning, but I cannot afford the payment amounts they have set up for me. I wish I would have looked around a little first.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2018 Queens, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    A friend of mine told me that they were excellent and after using Freedom Debt Relief, my debt was so much more manageable. They stay in touch with me regularly. I feel relieved and satisfied.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Utica, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Easy to work with. They don’t make you feel like a loser-no judgement, just helpful.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Turlock, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent! Company is very good communicating everything that is going on with account.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Ozark, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom debt relief has helped illuminate my credit card debt. Without them I would‰Ûªve lost my house. They were able to illuminate my credit card debt in a timely manner. I am grateful to the organization .
    Read More
  31. User Score
    8
    December 19th, 2018 Garland, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Quick, easy, and way less stressful than doing it all by myself.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    4
    December 19th, 2018 Ruskin, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Average. Was told they would reach out to creditors and they didn’t reach out to two and now I’m being sued for the entire amount plus some of what was owed.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Dade City, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Easy to work with!!! Very forthcoming with everything entailed in the debt process.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    8
    December 19th, 2018 Portola Hills, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Overall good. It is taking longer than originally stated for all my debt to be cleared.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    8
    December 19th, 2018 North Zulch, TX
    2 people found this review helpful!
    We like the pay you guys and you take care of it all! Redirecting mail, phone calls and email is fantastic
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Piqua, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Pleasant, informative, surprising. I was very skeptical about any debt program but they made it painless.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    8
    December 19th, 2018 El Paso, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    It has been okay so far. I did notice how high the fees were. If they weren’t so high maybe some of the debt could be paid off sooner, though.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Philadelphia, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It has been hassle free, I am glad I choose them as my debt relief advisor
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Mohrsville, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I am very well pleased with Freedom Debt Reluef. We have roughly 1-2 yeard to go and it will all be done. It is working very well for us and we are so thankful we wrnt with them to help us with our situation.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    6
    December 19th, 2018 Albany, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Okay, though fees are high and settelments don’t save much. I’ve had better results contacting debt collectors on my own.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Corona, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Extremely excellent. Most of my creditors have been taken care of, which is a great feeling.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Fairbanks, AK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    great people. helped with all my concerns. very patient with all my question. very knowledgeable about who to talk to and helped with phone numbers.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2018 Ankeny, IA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very happy with working with Freedom. They have paid 2 of my debts and are working on others. They keep you informed of what they are doing and you can always call and ask questions.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    6
    December 19th, 2018 San Diego, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Approximately 5 months ago, I contacted Freedom to settle the remaining debt. I waited for a call back, but that didn’t happen. I called back again and was given the total to negotiate and settle. I deposited the money and it’s still sitting in the account, with them still deducting the monthly agreed amount.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    8
    December 12th, 2018 Albany, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent plan to help you recover. Great customer service. If you stick with plan and make payments it works. A great relief.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Pelham, MA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They have kept me in the loop with frequent updates on my status, and have also settled debts to a much more affordable amount.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Mesa, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very helpful from the beginning
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Des Moines, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    All caring and professional people to work with.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Fort Smith, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When we first talked to FDR we were very skeptical and spent a lot of time on the phone asking questions and even told them we would think about it,they have been straightforward and honest in all their dealings with us.our credit score did take a hit but it was going down anyway because of being in the situation I was in but it is gradually starting to come back up.My experience has been very good, anytime we’ve had a problem or question they were always more than happy to help take care of things
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2018 Crofton, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very pleased with the customer service professionalism and being very knowledgeable. The only thing that I wasnt informed about was the possibility of my other creditors that I didnt include in FDR lowering my credit limit and raising my interest rate due to my low credit score.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
1,006

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
1,006

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10