Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Reviews of Freedom Debt Relief from real customers
(955 verified)

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    LaVonne Washington
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first -- we're extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Christine Zangari
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    I have had nothing but "POSITIVE" help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief's staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what's going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.Read More

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

955 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

11
7
12
8
12
21
15
24
108
121
616
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    December 5th, 2018 Essington, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I can’t give them my highest rating because I have only been in the program for a few short months and they have already settled one of my accounts for half my balance.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Grand Island, NE
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been really pleased with Freedom Debt Relief..they always keep me updated on how my settlements have progressed and all the emails are easy to follow.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Vallejo, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Courteous Customer Service Agents. I will definately recommend them.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Palm Bay, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I been treated like I was there only costomer
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Campbell, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They saved me almost $20,000 and it will only take me two years to complete the program. I will graduate in February and I couldn’t be happier.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    8
    December 5th, 2018 Montgomery Village, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    GOOD BUT COULD BE MORE PRECISE WHEN PROVIDING INFORMATION REGARDING LEGAL MATTERS. THERE WERE S FEW DIFFERENT INFORMATION GIVEN TO ME AND ABOUT UPDATING STATUS WHEN FULL PAYMENT WAS ALREADY COMPLETED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT FDR INFORM CREDITORS THAT THE ACCOUNT HAS BEEN SETTLED, BUT I HAD TO CALL MY CREDITOR MYSELF AND HAD TO REQUEST COPY OF THE FINAL SETTLEMENT WHEN IT COUKLD HAVE BEEN EASIER AND ACCURATE IF THIS INFORMATION WAS GIVEN BY FDR AS SOON AS THE SETTLEMENT WAS COMPLETED. I AM OTHERWISE SATISFIED WITH THE OTHER SERVICES AND THE EASE OF CONTACTING THEM.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Watertown, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with FDR has been fantastic! I have always had very professional people to talk with.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Queen Creek, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I haven’t had any issues. Everything has been moving along great and my credit score has been going up since working with Freedom
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Morning Sun, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with freedom debt relief has been great. I thought this would much harder to get through . All I wish is I could put more into it. Everything has gone so well . The staff is always very helpful and curtious. I would recommend Freedom Debt Relief to any one in need of help.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    8
    December 5th, 2018 St Martinville, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Good service. Quick with everything. Customer service is very reliable & helpful
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Far Rockaway, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt has been settling my debts faster than I would have doing it on my own.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    6
    December 5th, 2018 Las Vegas, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    1. Fast Service 2. Good customer Service 3. Some of my debt has been resolved. 4. They were able to negotiate my existing debts..
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Mt Airy, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We have been happy with the actions being taken on our behalf. Seeing the balances decrease gives me confidence that we will soon be out of debt.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2018 Laplace, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service, good communication
    Read More
  15. User Score
    8
    December 5th, 2018 Raynham, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Good but lacking in updates by an actual person
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2018 Rio Rico, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are friendly and helpful. They understand your situation and are willing to help you figure out the best plan for your needs.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2018 Feasterville Trevose, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They are respectful and sincere. A special thanks to Dan P.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2018 Tell City, IN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They are VERY helpful in resolving credit card debt. They also have GREAT phone support.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2018 Melbourne, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Paying off debt is not an easy task but Freedom Debt Relief will guide you down the road to recovery.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2018 Colorado Springs, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have nothing but good things to say – stress relief and exceptional customer service – I am just months away from being debt free
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2018 Albuquerque, NM
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent choice for debt relief and I receive great service
    Read More
  22. User Score
    8
    October 24th, 2018 Alameda, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Good, but they’re fee should not be on the full amount, should be on the balance after negotiations
    Read More
  23. User Score
    5
    October 24th, 2018 Saint Louis, MO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Although no up front fees, the % of fees collected at the settlement are very high; creating a greater inability to settle debt more quickly. They settle only one debt at a time with no contact with the creditors until funds are available. They say the use an algorithm; but went after high debts first, thus allowing them to collect a higher amount. They did offer a loan option 6 months in, but offered a 25% interest rate, which they would get on top of the settlement fee as they continued to collect. Seems like added pressures to those that they are saying they are trying to help. when you add the 25% interest rate plus the continued 21% settlement fee- no real savings to the consumer. Felt very mislead and overall didn’t help much.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    4
    October 24th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    The program is so slow about resolving debt, and the company pulls you in with an exceptional person that promises the world and states she is there for you as long as you are in the program, this is false and you are left with customer service which is average or below. I suspect that all these type corporations are the same despite what is stated above.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    0
    October 16th, 2018 Vienna, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Lets begin with customer service from Freedom Debt- Plain and simple truth there is no customer service just a lot of lip service then they cancel your service with no warning
    Read More
  26. User Score
    0
    October 11th, 2018 Cleveland, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thoroughly dis-satisfied with the process of adding additional accounts as well as use of funds.Documents were sent as well as required funds with the expectation that they would be used for the additinal account only to learn that the account was not added and the funds were used for other accounts. Was not informed of this beforehand and told there was nothing else I can do deposit more $$$
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2018 Downey, CA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve had a great experience with FDR this far. Customer service is great and I appreciate the user friendly client dashboard. Anytime I have questions, I know I can reach out easily by phone or email.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2018 Brodhead, WI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    very helpful while in a stressful situation
    Read More
  29. User Score
    8
    October 10th, 2018 Swatara, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Good customer service. Prompt attention when needed.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2018 Auxier, KY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I am overall pleased with Freedom Debt Relief. I wish I could complete the process sooner, but haven’t been able to do so.
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2018 Bronx, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Extremely Positive. Virtually hands off, supportive, transparent, results driven, great user interface and great customer service. They also work with your individual financial situation. You will see your credit drop, but it would have done that anyway.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first — we’re extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))
    Read More
  33. User Score
    8
    October 10th, 2018 Groveton, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Satisfied with most aspects of Freedom Dept Relief but some accounts haven’t been serviced. It’s been approximately 8 months.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Clara City, MN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent. They have gotten me on the path to pay off my credit cards and build my credit rating up. They are very helpful and they make you feel you can ask any questions and give a honest answer.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2018 Dover, DE
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Easy to use. Peace of mind. The graduation date changes and is pushed further out and I’m sure it is to collect more monthly fees.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have had nothing but “POSITIVE” help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief’s staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what’s going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Queen Creek, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Exceptional service throughout my process so far
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Chiriaco Summit, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience has been great. You take good care of my accounts. With your help I have paid off 3 accounts. It is so wonderful that I don’t receive phone calls from rude people and that continually call all day. Your help is hassle free and informative. I can always check my progress on my client dashboard. My progress has been slow but steady. If I do my part then all goes well.
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Brandenburg, KY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They make great negotiations on settlements!
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Menifee, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great, every representative are awesome, very helpful and friendly
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Temple City, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    i am glad i decided to go with freedom i only wish they would spread their fees out
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 South Chesterfield, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very professional has helped me get my life back on track.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    8
    October 4th, 2018 Indiana, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It has been a great experience, it takes a little while but they get your dept solved for less than you owed
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Nampa, ID
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I HAVE BEEN VERY SATISFIED SO FAR AND EVERY ONE IS SO HELPFULL AND KIND
    Read More
  45. User Score
    4
    October 4th, 2018 West Palm Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    A little confused as to how the program works
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Hialeah, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Sofar, so good. Excellent company. I have closed 2 accounts
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Mishawaka, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very informative when I had questions and never experienced any negative feedback
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Kingman, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Keeps me up to date on the progress of their actions to eliminate my debt and is getting my debt paid off very quickly..
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 El Paso, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had to contact customer service an they were quick to respond to my inquiry and answered my questions in a timely manner. Great company
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2018 Shreveport, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I l have never seen a company so good and helper. Thay were a life saver for me .
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10