Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 3,180 Real Customer Reviews

#3
STAFF PICK
Pacific_DebtInc.

Pacific Debt Inc.

Pacific Debt offers competitive pricing secured by a money back guarantee. No credit score is required.

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.6

M–Th 8–5pm / Fri 8–3pm (PST)   1-(855) 790-7452

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
224

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: March 30, 2018

Pacific Debt is a debt settlement company that was founded in 2002. The company helps consumers become debt free and settles millions of dollars worth of debt on a monthly basis. Although not available in all states, its industry accreditations, low fees, and reputation in the debt management industry help it stand out from the competition in a big way. Read our expert review below or scroll down to see hundreds of Pacific Debt reviews from real customers.

The Good

Lower Industry Pricing 

Pacific Debt Inc (PDI) brings a lot of expertise and experience to the table, reportedly being able to reduce balances owed to creditors by as much as 70% through their services. Pacific Debt Inc doesn’t charge any fees until they have received a debt settlement offer. Additionally, Pacific Debt’s fees tend to be lower than the fees and monthly payments of most debt settlement companies, charging between 15-25% of the total debt enrolled (the average is 17% – 20% in fees).

Money Back Guarantee

PDI’s debt settlement services are covered by a money back guarantee, offering both a measure of protection for customers and a show of confidence in their ability to help forgive debt in even the most complex scenarios in 2 to 4 years.

Holds Major Industry Accreditations

Of particular note is PDI’s reputation, both amongst consumers, credit card companies and the industry as a whole. The company carries every major industry accreditation we look for, which demonstrates a commitment to ethical business practices and a high level of expertise.

Positive Customer Reviews

Clients have expressed appreciation for PDI’s customer service quality, both regarding professionalism and honesty. Online reviews from those who have used PDI’s debt settlement program include enough reported success stories across multiple sites to suggest that PDI does indeed take good care of their consumers.

Average Minimum Debt Requirement

PDI’s minimum required debt of $7,500 is on the low end of the industry average of $7,500 to $10,000.

Pacific Debt Highlights
  • Low cost: 15-25% of total debt
  • Debt settlement company that has been in business since 2002
  • AFCC & IAPDA Accredited
  • Average of 3 years to resolve debt
  • High level of customer satisfaction
  • Money back guarantee

Get started with Pacific Debt Inc

The Bad

Not Available in All States

Additionally, they aren’t available everywhere in the country. More specifically, at time of writing, PDI does not operate in the following states: CO, CT, DE, GA, IL, KS, LA, ME, MS, NV, NH, NJ, ND, OH, OR, RI, SC, TN, VT, WA, WV, WY.

The Bottom Line

Pacific Debt offers a compelling combination of affordable pricing, experience, accreditations, and satisfaction secured by a money-back guarantee. That’s a strong offer, especially when the only negative thing we can find to gripe about is that it isn’t a truly national debt relief solution because they aren’t available everywhere. Ultimately, If you live within its service area and owe more than $7,500 in unsecured debt, we recommend working with Pacific Debt.

About Pacific Debt

Pacific Debt was founded in 2002 by Kevin Landie to help Americans manage and eliminate credit card debt, negotiate with creditors and improve consumers’ credit scores. The company offers a high level of customer service compared to many of its competitors.

Contact Information

Website: pacificdebt.com
Email: [email protected]
Hours:
Mon-Thurs: 8 am – 5 pm PST
Friday: 8 am – 3 pm PST
Address:
750 B Street, Suite 1700
San Diego, CA 92101

Time in Business

13 years. Pacific Debt Management was started on June 21, 2002.

Debt Education

This company offers free textbooks, workbooks and handbooks that you can use to enhance your understanding of debt and money management. These materials act as educational courses which provide in-depth knowledge so you can receive a quality education without leaving home. These materials can be downloaded and accessed using Adobe Reader.

Additionally, this company maintains a monthly newsletter that teaches customers how to spend wisely and save money in their everyday lives. The PDI blog also contains useful information for people interested in employing a debt relief company or service.

Mobile-Friendly Site

Their site, which has recently been updated, is now mobile-friendly.

Services Provided

Pacific Debt Management is a debt settlement company. Their goal is to offer customers an alternative to bankruptcy or obtaining a new loan for the purpose of paying off old debts. You will pay one monthly payment which will be set aside in a separate account until you have enough to make a settlement offer. At this point, their team of professionals negotiates with creditors to settle your debts for less than the original amount owed. They also try to get you out of debt in as short a time as possible. This company tries to get customers out of debt within 24 to 48 months, although results vary depending on individual situations.

Online Dashboard

Pacific Debt Inc. offers a client portal that allows customers to see progress on their accounts and keep connected with everything surrounding their debt relief status.

Accreditations

Yes, this company holds an AFCC accreditation and IAPDA accreditation.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Pacific Debt Inc. below.

1-(855) 790-7452

224 Pacific Debt Inc. Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
1
2
16
29
175
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    February 14th, 2018 Mclean, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Do not use this company or if you do, make sure you fully understand how they operate.
    Their services do nothing that you can’t do yourself. They will not settle your debts and have you pay them back. They set up an escrow account and will settle debts as your funds become available (after you start accumulating money in the account) and they will only settle with what you have available.

    So if you put in the minimum amount, they will only work with one or two of your creditors.
    They charge MASSIVE fees. I am charged almost 1/3 in fees of what I am putting in to the account, have been working this resolution for over a year and have creditors still threatening judgments.

    I am paying $92.00 a month in settlement fees (they charge you a fee based on a percentage of the cost of the original debt), I pay a $10 for a monthly service fee, another $10 for a check payment fee and a $3 phone fee (??? No clue what that is).

    I could have saved that money each month to go towards my debts and paid them down much faster. It’s a shame that I didn’t read the fine print, but I was just so excited by the thought of freeing myself of this debt burden and honestly was worn down and didn’t want to deal with it. I will be closing my account with them to prevent them from settling any other debts and add extra cash to the account to pay of my settlements quicker to save myself those extra monthly fees. I would recommend you just open a separate account that you won’t touch and throw a few hundred in there each month and work with your creditors yourself.

    They don’t stop the calls, they don’t expedite the recovery, they start by working with collection agencies they have good relationships with and settle the debts at what I would figure are higher rates than you could probably do yourself.

    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    December 27th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I called and spoke with a very professional debt specialist Jeremy S. He was caring and understood my situation he explained the program to me and was very informative. This program is wonderful. I am glad I called. These guys are excellent.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2017 Alpine, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Quick response from the managers, updates are available on time. Pleasant people ready to answer questions
    Read More
  4. User Score
    8
    November 7th, 2017 Alpine, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Josh has been great.I get a quick response.I gax over my bills I receive and in a day I get conformation that it was received and being reviewed
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    June 30th, 2016 San Antonio, TX
    14 people found this review helpful!
    Pacific Debt Inc., has provide me services that I have looked for several years. Honest from day one, Ellen Hill is very quick to help me with all my questions, she has made dealing with Pacific Debt Inc. very enjoyable. If ever ask I am sure to recommend this company. Many thanks.
    Joseph Robinson
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    June 30th, 2016 Mentor, MN
    10 people found this review helpful!
    PDI is a top notch company. We have been enrolled for 12 months and thanks to the hard work and guidance of Josh Hallas, we will finish in the program much sooner than we originally thought! Trust that the process works!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    9
    October 14th, 2015 Palm Desert, CA
    10 people found this review helpful!
    The service offered to help me become debt free has been excellent even though the process has been long.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    September 16th, 2015 Newark, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Pacific debt has been a miracle for me. Jenn has especially been very informative and helpful throughout this process. I’m am very happy to have her as my consultant!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    September 16th, 2015 Westland, MI
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Jennifer Has been the best when dealing with all my debt. I always felt very comfortable talking with her and asking any questions I had. When I decided to finally get help with my debt I was embarrassed at how much I had and not once did she make me feel any worse than I was already was feeling she made me feel much better and that there would be light at the end of the tunnel and for that I am truly grateful.

    Thank you,
    Nikki Wilson

    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    September 14th, 2015 Saint Paul, MN
    8 people found this review helpful!
    I was leery and worried at first about doing debt settlement, but have been enrolled for 7 months and have already reached 3 settlements. I cannot thank Josh enough for what he has done for me and my husband. We still have a way to go but to know at the end of the program we will no longer have credit card debt is a huge relief! I highly recommend Pacific Debt to anyone that is buried in credit card debt like we were. Thank you Pacific Debt!!!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    September 11th, 2015 Irvine, CA
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Shonna has been very helpful in handling my account. She is very personable and professional and she has been able to get me a very good settlement on one of my accounts. I look forward to working with her to resolve the rest of my accounts.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    9
    August 25th, 2015 Providence, UT
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I don’t have a bad thing to share. Great peeps.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    August 10th, 2015 Franklin, WI
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Megan and the team have been fantastic. I would suggest anyone that has credit card debt talk to these people before doing anything else.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    9
    August 10th, 2015 New York, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Thrilled to see some light. Enrolled 12 credit cards and 5 have been knocked out. Having to pay taxes on the settlements may hurt but I have a low monthly payment and was able to avoid BK.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    July 31st, 2015 Jacksonville, FL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I’m glad the ratings go up to “AWESOME”, because that is exactly what my account manager Jessica has been. I feel that she has gone out of her way to keep me happy and in the know on the dealings with my creditors. After getting burned on my first attempt to consolidate my debt, I was a very hesitant to trust another company again. In the end, I’m very glad I chose this company. Thanks again!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    July 22nd, 2015 Phoenix, AZ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I would absolutely recommend this company to anyone who has found themselves needing some debt relief and support. I had a hassle free experience with them, cleared my debt in a short amount of time and saved myself a large amount of money in the process. I’m proud to say I won’t deal with them again which means they did their job well.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    July 21st, 2015 Buffalo, NY
    12 people found this review helpful!
    This service did what it was suppose to do. Never worried about payments getting made. They also kept me in the loop. Never left me guessing. It was wonderful. Great customer service, always courteous. Love it. Thank you for getting me out of debt.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    July 21st, 2015
    7 people found this review helpful!
    My only problem is not with Pacific Debt, but with the fact that my pride caused me to wait so long to look for help. Had I started this journey sooner, I could’ve been back on track to repair my credit by now. I’m projected to be done with the program within 6 months, but I’m doing my best to contribute funds to make the last two negotiations happen faster. Thanks again to their team for keeping me on track, motivated and more financially aware.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    July 17th, 2015 Southfield, MI
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Josh & Rian have been great to work with since we enrolled in the program 6 months ago. We just completed our 3rd settlement and I couldn’t be happier at this point. I’m so glad this debt is going away.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    July 14th, 2015 Pinellas Park, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Just wanted to give a shout out to Drew over at Pacific Debt!! I’m so happy to have 11 settlements handled by him in the last 2 years. I know he is getting me the best deal possible. Can’t wait to finish the program and work towards getting a new motorcycle and ride again!
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Pacific Debt Inc.

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Pacific Debt Inc. at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
224
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
785