Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

#2
STAFF PICK
Pacific_DebtInc.

Pacific Debt Inc. Reviews

Reviews of Pacific Debt Inc. from real customers
(234 verified)

Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.6
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
234

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.0 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    Cynthia
    September 14th, 2015 Saint Paul, MN
    I was leery and worried at first about doing debt settlement, but have been enrolled for 7 months and have already reached 3 settlements. I cannot thank Josh enough for what he has done for me and my husband. We still have a way to go but to know at the end of the program we will no longer have credit card debt is a huge relief! I highly recommend Pacific Debt to anyone that is buried in credit card debt like we were. Thank you Pacific Debt!!!Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    June Mayford
    June 24th, 2015 Jacksonville, FL
    I just got off of the phone with my account executive Kristin and I'm so excited! They just got me approved for almost 60% of savings on my 3rd account which is the best yet. I've been in their program and working with them over the past 1.5 years and although I was initially nervous, the results are amazing. I'm on track to complete my 36 month program in 24 months and can't wait until the day the last settlement comes through. Thanks again so much!! Highly highly recommend Pacific Debt, especially Kristin!Read More

The Good

Lower Industry Pricing 

Pacific Debt Inc (PDI) brings a lot of expertise and experience to the table, reportedly being able to reduce balances owed to creditors by as much as 70% through their services. Pacific Debt Inc doesn’t charge any fees until they have received a debt settlement offer. Additionally, Pacific Debt’s fees tend to be lower than the fees and monthly payments of most debt settlement companies, charging between 15-25% of the total debt enrolled (the average is 17% – 20% in fees).

Money Back Guarantee

PDI’s debt settlement services are covered by a money back guarantee, offering both a measure of protection for customers and a show of confidence in their ability to help forgive debt in even the most complex scenarios in 2 to 4 years.

Holds Major Industry Accreditations

Of particular note is PDI’s reputation, both amongst consumers, credit card companies and the industry as a whole. The company carries every major industry accreditation we look for, which demonstrates a commitment to ethical business practices and a high level of expertise.

Positive Customer Reviews

Clients have expressed appreciation for PDI’s customer service quality, both regarding professionalism and honesty. Online reviews from those who have used PDI’s debt settlement program include enough reported success stories across multiple sites to suggest that PDI does indeed take good care of their consumers.

Average Minimum Debt Requirement

PDI’s minimum required debt of $7,500 is on the low end of the industry average of $7,500 to $10,000.

Pacific Debt Highlights
  • Low cost: 15-25% of total debt
  • Debt settlement company that has been in business since 2002
  • AFCC & IAPDA Accredited
  • Average of 3 years to resolve debt
  • High level of customer satisfaction
  • Money back guarantee

Get started with Pacific Debt Inc

The Bad

Not Available in All States

Additionally, they aren’t available everywhere in the country. More specifically, at time of writing, PDI does not operate in the following states: CO, CT, DE, GA, IL, KS, ME, MS, NV, NH, NJ, ND, OH, OR, RI, SC, TN, VT, WA, WV, WY.

The Bottom Line

Pacific Debt offers a compelling combination of affordable pricing, experience, accreditations, and satisfaction secured by a money-back guarantee. That’s a strong offer, especially when the only negative thing we can find to gripe about is that it isn’t a truly national debt relief solution because they aren’t available everywhere. Ultimately, If you live within its service area and owe more than $7,500 in unsecured debt, we recommend working with Pacific Debt.

About Pacific Debt

Pacific Debt was founded in 2002 by Kevin Landie to help Americans manage and eliminate credit card debt, negotiate with creditors and improve consumers’ credit scores. The company offers a high level of customer service compared to many of its competitors.

Contact Information

Website: pacificdebt.com
Email: [email protected]
Hours:
Mon-Thurs: 8 am – 5 pm PST
Friday: 8 am – 3 pm PST
Address:
750 B Street, Suite 1700
San Diego, CA 92101

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

234 Pacific Debt Inc. Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
2
2
18
29
182
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 San Francisco, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    So far the experience has been great. Will do a follow up review in future.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    8
    May 11th, 2018 Schenectady, NY 
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are helpful and easy to work with regarding debt settlement.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    8
    May 9th, 2018 Detroit, MI
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They keep me informed, but it is a little hard to reach because of the time. Everyone is really nice, and they keep me well informed about anything that they are doing. Except maybe I wasn’t paying attention when they spend the amount of what they charged of the percentage they get out of a debt.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2018 San Jacinto, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They talk to me by phone, text, and email and have do an excellent job with their service.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2018 Lancaster, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I don’t like that I have to spend any money by doing this, but I have no choice. They do a great job dealing with creditors and have managed to reduce my bills though.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    6
    May 9th, 2018 Spring Valley, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Their rates are a little better than others and they are very professional and have been responsive to my phone calls.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2018 Village of Clarkston, MI 
    3 people found this review helpful!
    It can be hard to get ahold of them because I’m on the East coast and they’re on the West coast which can sometimes play a little trick with us communicating. But they are pretty straight up on telling us what to do.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Sacramento, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great communication!!! Follow ups!! Been with them for 6 plus months. My rep contacts me and keeps me posted.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 San Francisco, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    So far the experience has been very pleasant and helpful. Great customer service.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2018 Springfield, MA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    QUICK RESPONSE, AND PROFESSIONAL MANNER.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    February 14th, 2018 Mclean, VA
    7 people found this review helpful!
    Do not use this company or if you do, make sure you fully understand how they operate.
    Their services do nothing that you can’t do yourself. They will not settle your debts and have you pay them back. They set up an escrow account and will settle debts as your funds become available (after you start accumulating money in the account) and they will only settle with what you have available.

    So if you put in the minimum amount, they will only work with one or two of your creditors.
    They charge MASSIVE fees. I am charged almost 1/3 in fees of what I am putting in to the account, have been working this resolution for over a year and have creditors still threatening judgments.

    I am paying $92.00 a month in settlement fees (they charge you a fee based on a percentage of the cost of the original debt), I pay a $10 for a monthly service fee, another $10 for a check payment fee and a $3 phone fee (??? No clue what that is).

    I could have saved that money each month to go towards my debts and paid them down much faster. It’s a shame that I didn’t read the fine print, but I was just so excited by the thought of freeing myself of this debt burden and honestly was worn down and didn’t want to deal with it. I will be closing my account with them to prevent them from settling any other debts and add extra cash to the account to pay of my settlements quicker to save myself those extra monthly fees. I would recommend you just open a separate account that you won’t touch and throw a few hundred in there each month and work with your creditors yourself.

    They don’t stop the calls, they don’t expedite the recovery, they start by working with collection agencies they have good relationships with and settle the debts at what I would figure are higher rates than you could probably do yourself.

    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    December 27th, 2017
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I called and spoke with a very professional debt specialist Jeremy S. He was caring and understood my situation he explained the program to me and was very informative. This program is wonderful. I am glad I called. These guys are excellent.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2017 Alpine, UT
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Quick response from the managers, updates are available on time. Pleasant people ready to answer questions
    Read More
  14. User Score
    8
    November 7th, 2017 Alpine, UT
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Josh has been great.I get a quick response.I gax over my bills I receive and in a day I get conformation that it was received and being reviewed
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    June 30th, 2016 San Antonio, TX
    18 people found this review helpful!
    Pacific Debt Inc., has provide me services that I have looked for several years. Honest from day one, Ellen Hill is very quick to help me with all my questions, she has made dealing with Pacific Debt Inc. very enjoyable. If ever ask I am sure to recommend this company. Many thanks.
    Joseph Robinson
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    June 30th, 2016 Mentor, MN
    11 people found this review helpful!
    PDI is a top notch company. We have been enrolled for 12 months and thanks to the hard work and guidance of Josh Hallas, we will finish in the program much sooner than we originally thought! Trust that the process works!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    9
    October 14th, 2015 Palm Desert, CA
    12 people found this review helpful!
    The service offered to help me become debt free has been excellent even though the process has been long.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    8
    September 16th, 2015 Newark, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Pacific debt has been a miracle for me. Jenn has especially been very informative and helpful throughout this process. I’m am very happy to have her as my consultant!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    September 16th, 2015 Westland, MI
    7 people found this review helpful!
    Jennifer Has been the best when dealing with all my debt. I always felt very comfortable talking with her and asking any questions I had. When I decided to finally get help with my debt I was embarrassed at how much I had and not once did she make me feel any worse than I was already was feeling she made me feel much better and that there would be light at the end of the tunnel and for that I am truly grateful.

    Thank you,
    Nikki Wilson

    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    September 14th, 2015 Saint Paul, MN
    10 people found this review helpful!
    I was leery and worried at first about doing debt settlement, but have been enrolled for 7 months and have already reached 3 settlements. I cannot thank Josh enough for what he has done for me and my husband. We still have a way to go but to know at the end of the program we will no longer have credit card debt is a huge relief! I highly recommend Pacific Debt to anyone that is buried in credit card debt like we were. Thank you Pacific Debt!!!
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    September 11th, 2015 Irvine, CA
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Shonna has been very helpful in handling my account. She is very personable and professional and she has been able to get me a very good settlement on one of my accounts. I look forward to working with her to resolve the rest of my accounts.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    9
    August 25th, 2015 Providence, UT
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I don’t have a bad thing to share. Great peeps.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    August 10th, 2015 Franklin, WI
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Megan and the team have been fantastic. I would suggest anyone that has credit card debt talk to these people before doing anything else.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    9
    August 10th, 2015 New York, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Thrilled to see some light. Enrolled 12 credit cards and 5 have been knocked out. Having to pay taxes on the settlements may hurt but I have a low monthly payment and was able to avoid BK.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    July 31st, 2015 Jacksonville, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I’m glad the ratings go up to “AWESOME”, because that is exactly what my account manager Jessica has been. I feel that she has gone out of her way to keep me happy and in the know on the dealings with my creditors. After getting burned on my first attempt to consolidate my debt, I was a very hesitant to trust another company again. In the end, I’m very glad I chose this company. Thanks again!
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    July 22nd, 2015 Phoenix, AZ
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I would absolutely recommend this company to anyone who has found themselves needing some debt relief and support. I had a hassle free experience with them, cleared my debt in a short amount of time and saved myself a large amount of money in the process. I’m proud to say I won’t deal with them again which means they did their job well.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    July 21st, 2015 Buffalo, NY
    13 people found this review helpful!
    This service did what it was suppose to do. Never worried about payments getting made. They also kept me in the loop. Never left me guessing. It was wonderful. Great customer service, always courteous. Love it. Thank you for getting me out of debt.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    July 21st, 2015
    7 people found this review helpful!
    My only problem is not with Pacific Debt, but with the fact that my pride caused me to wait so long to look for help. Had I started this journey sooner, I could’ve been back on track to repair my credit by now. I’m projected to be done with the program within 6 months, but I’m doing my best to contribute funds to make the last two negotiations happen faster. Thanks again to their team for keeping me on track, motivated and more financially aware.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    July 17th, 2015 Southfield, MI
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Josh & Rian have been great to work with since we enrolled in the program 6 months ago. We just completed our 3rd settlement and I couldn’t be happier at this point. I’m so glad this debt is going away.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    July 14th, 2015 Pinellas Park, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Just wanted to give a shout out to Drew over at Pacific Debt!! I’m so happy to have 11 settlements handled by him in the last 2 years. I know he is getting me the best deal possible. Can’t wait to finish the program and work towards getting a new motorcycle and ride again!
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    July 14th, 2015 Los Angeles, CA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Kimberly Becker was awesome to work with. She was very patient with me, as I can be difficult to get ahold of at times. She would calmly me, text me, and email me when she needed me to respond.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    July 14th, 2015 East Lansing, MI
    4 people found this review helpful!
    We really appreciated the way Jeremy explained the difference between their program vs some of the other options we didn’t even know about at the time. After going through our budget and our long-term financial goals they were able to come up with an affordable plan for us. We would certainly recommend them to anyone even if you just have basic questions about your debt in general.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    8
    July 8th, 2015
    4 people found this review helpful!
    When I first started the program I was moved around from a few different client account managers and was a little unsure of what was going on. About half way through the program I started working with Julius Young and then things started to make much more sense. I never felt rushed off the phone and he always answered my questions and made me feel at ease. As much as I would have preferred to pay a bit less on some of my settlements, I have only good things to say about the service that I received.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    9
    July 8th, 2015 Taylor, AZ
    2 people found this review helpful!
    The staff are very willing and understandable.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    9
    July 8th, 2015 San Jose, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    After my wife and I divorced, I was left with a large amount of her debt, which I didn’t even know existed. I’m still angry about being in this situation in the first place but I’m thankful I researched companies that help with debt problems. I thought there was no way out after being sent to collections on all of the accounts I relied on. Pacific Debt has helped me settle 2 accounts so far and continues to help me even though my program payments can be “inconsistent”.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    June 24th, 2015 Jacksonville, FL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I just got off of the phone with my account executive Kristin and I’m so excited! They just got me approved for almost 60% of savings on my 3rd account which is the best yet. I’ve been in their program and working with them over the past 1.5 years and although I was initially nervous, the results are amazing. I’m on track to complete my 36 month program in 24 months and can’t wait until the day the last settlement comes through. Thanks again so much!! Highly highly recommend Pacific Debt, especially Kristin!
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    June 19th, 2015 Carlsbad, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This has been quite an experience. I could have never ever dealt with my creditors like Pacific Debt has done. When we added up all that I owed I was shocked. I mean, I knew it was a big number but I had no idea how much (close to $90,000). One of these creditors was particularly difficult to deal with but…by keeping on keeping on we were able to come to an agreement that was good for them and me. If you are on the fence looking into getting your financial ship to stop listing badly to port or starboard, just call them and dive in. I sleep very well at night. Thank you Pacific Debt.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    June 13th, 2015 Cathedral City, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I started with Pacific Debt a few months ago, and I already have a settlement, I was so happy to hear the good news, my manager Kimberly Becker informed me she was already worker on my second settlement. I am quite happy the way things have progressed in such a short time. I also have to mention that any time you call Pacific Debt everyone is very cordial and respectful and extremely informative. They inform you on how to deal with harassing phone calls and other alternatives. I recommend anyone with debt problems should contact them and they will help you step by step. Don’t do it your way! Do it their way, it works. Thank you Pacific Debt, Thank you Kimberly Becker
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    June 11th, 2015 Houston, TX
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Coming into the program I wasn’t convinced this program was for me. It sure is though and soon enough will be able to say I graduated! Yipee.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    9
    June 10th, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I enrolled into this program about a year ago and it was one of the best decisions I ever made. They make me feel comfortable on every call and they really do want to help resolve the debt problems. Only complaint I have is they couldn’t help with the student loans we have but once we’re done with the program the payments will be so affordable.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    June 9th, 2015 Gretna, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I joined the program in July 2014. Best decision I ever made. Mr Padilla has work dilligently work with me to get my financial life in order.I would recommend this program to everyone.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2015 Baltimore, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The entire workforce at this company and especially Ray deserve a 110 out of a 100 and 5 gold stars.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    June 3rd, 2015 Los Angeles, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    David has been extremely helpful.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    May 29th, 2015
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Julius was an expert in guiding us through uncharted territory, managing negotiations and establishing a method for us of putting aside funds through regular savings in anticipation of a successful settlement offer. The method of saving and keeping the savings under the control of the client was an empowering experience, which led to successful management of obligations and a conclusion of the program, which will leave us without debt. Undertaking this required trust, patience and a cool head. Julius was able to create the bond that made this possible.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    May 29th, 2015 Naples, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I was happy with every aspect of the work you did for me. I feel so much better now. Many, many thanks. I would definitely recommend you. Her name is Shonna Gillis, and I could not have asked for anyone better. Thank you Shonna.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    May 29th, 2015
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I only have positives things to say about the operation. They will walk you through the consolidation offer and educate you on what it will take to get rid of your debt problems with them.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    9
    May 29th, 2015 Jacksonville, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I really enjoyed working with Chris and hope they can finish off the rest of my accounts for me.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    7
    May 28th, 2015 Indianapolis, IN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    So far I am happy with the plan. I only signed on 2 days ago so it is a little early to comment. I know Pacific has a good rating which is the reason I went to them. Otherwise, I will have to wait and see as it progresses.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    May 28th, 2015 Denver, CO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    We were first enrolled in a local consumer credit counseling company but couldn’t afford the high payments anymore. The company referred us to Pacific Debt as they were one of just a few licensed companies in CO. This is maybe one of the best things that happened to us. Nothing but great things to say about this company.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    8
    May 27th, 2015 Middleburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The enrollment process was very detailed and easy to understand. I’m happy with the company thus far but it’s only been 4 months. Will post another review down the road.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Pacific Debt Inc.

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Pacific Debt Inc. at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
234

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.0 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.0 /10