Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,182 Real Customer Reviews

curadebt
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#5
curadebt

CuraDebt

CuraDebt has been in business for 15 years and has competitive pricing but lacks transparency.

Our Score
7.9
User Score
9.4
Our Score
7.9
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

20%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$5,000

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

95

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: July 10, 2019

Wondering if CuraDebt is the right debt settlement company for you? Here’s a glance at their debt relief program:

What do they do? CuraDebt’s primary focus is debt relief. They also offer debt consolidation and tax relief services.
Who is this program for? Debt settlement is for people who are falling delinquent on their accounts or can’t make their minimum payments on unsecured debts. Your overall debt must be $5k to enroll.
Are they in my state? Not available in CT, DE, GA, KS, MT, ND, OR, PA, SC, VT, WA, WV, WY.
How long will it take? 2-4 years.
How much will it cost? 20% of the debt you enroll (ex: you enroll $40k, CuraDebt charges $8k). Average savings are not disclosed.
Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$10,000

#3

18-25%
$7,500

#5
curadebt

20%
$5,000

Pros

Low Fees

CuraDebt offers competitive pricing, charging only 20% of a client’s debt for their debt settlement services. This price is slightly lower than most industry prices we have seen. Like many other debt settlement companies, CuraDebt also offers a free debt relief consultation. The 20% fee is paid as your debts are settled.

Easy to Qualify

Of note is the fact that they take on smaller dollar cases as low as $5,000 in unsecured debt, allowing more people to use their debt services than many competing debt settlement companies would. Most debt relief companies require a minimum debt of $10,000 to enroll in their program.

CuraDebt Consumer Reviews

The CuraDebt reviews on Best Debt Companys are overwhelmingly positive, with customer’s rating them at an average of 9 out of 10. Some common themes of these positive reviews include:

  • Attentive customer service
  • Easy, well explained process

Positive review of CuraDebt on Bestdebtcomapnys.com

Cons

Transparency Issues

One of our concerns with CuraDebt relates to transparency. The debt settlement company is filed in Nevada but has no offices in the state. Instead, they list an address on their website in Hollywood, Florida in a building owned by Regus. According to Regus, a company that rents virtual and physical office spaces. While the company does have some ties to the U.S., it appears that most of their operation is located in Columbia.

Small Company

According to the company’s website and LinkedIn, CuraDebt has less than 10 employees. This is a very small company compared to some of the top debt relief companies (with 200+ employees). The more employees a company has, the more time and resources they have to dedicate to your account.

Not Available in All States

CuraDebt is only available in 37 U.S. states. They do not work with debt settlement cases in the following states:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Kansas
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Negative CuraDebt Reviews

While most of the reviews for CuraDebt are positive, there have been a handful of negative reviews left about the company in 2019 on Best Debt Companys. These reviewers are upset about the fees and cost of CuraDebt. There are also a few mentions that the program took longer than the company originally promised. Below is a review from Julio Iglesias, left on March 2019:

Negative review of CuraDebt on Bestdebtcompanys.com

Our Recommendation

On paper, CuraDebt appears to have all of the right things: competitive pricing, accreditations, a money back guarantee, and 15 years in the debt settlement business. However, the debt company’s low number of employees and confusing physical location make us concerned about its legitimacy. At this time, we do not recommend CuraDebt at this time. 

View top-rated debt settlement companies


CuraDebt FAQs

Are they accredited?

This is one of the longest-running debt settlement companies in the industry. CuraDebt has been helping people get out of tough financial situations since 2000. The debt settlement company holds certificates with major industry accreditations, including the AFCC and the IAPDA.

What types of debts do CuraDebt work with?

CuraDebt works with unsecured debts. The most common unsecured debts include credit cards, medical bills, business loans, personal loans / lines of credit, and repossessions. CuraDebt says they work with certain secured debts – they are one of the only debt relief companies who claim this. The company also works with tax debt, lawsuits, and student loans in some cases.

How Much Does CuraDebt cost?

No fees are charged upfront. On average, clients are charged 20% of the total debt enrolled for CuraDebt’s debt settlement services. No payments are made until the client accepts the settlement. There are no installment or administrative fees.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

They currently have no up-front fees.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Curadebt offers a free debt consultation over the phone or they can give you basic advice by just filling out the form on their site. If you fill out the form, you’re not committing to anything binding, you’re simply giving them permission to counsel with you about your debt.

Does CuraDebt Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

The company will refund you if the debt settlement amount plus fees paid are in excess of the original debt. You can cancel debt services at any time since you aren’t charged until a settlement is reached.

How much debt do I need to enroll in this program?

The minimum amount of debt they service is $5,000

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

95 CuraDebt Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

4
3
9
79
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    August 25th, 2015 Lake Elsinore, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Gloria is always there to get me thru what needs to be done Very friendly,easy to talk to and makes it not so stressful. If I had to go thru this again, she would most certain be the first person I would call.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    August 14th, 2015 Lees Summit, MO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Informative, precise and easy to comprehend advice in a straight forward style. Excellent experience
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    July 29th, 2015 Baden, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    M(r)s.Gloria E. was very helpful, patient and professional. She made the whole process less stressful since this is the first time we’ve had to do this. She was very informative and kept us up-to-date through the whole process. I will definitely refer any family/friends that need to go this route specifically to M(r)s Gloria E.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    July 21st, 2015 Marlton, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Awesome experience
    CuraDebt Rep. was very patient and helpful and try to understand my situation explain the program thoroughly
    I will definitely refer to friends and family
    Read More
  5. User Score
    8
    July 13th, 2015 Bryant, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Talking with Gloria about our problem took alot of stress of us…Helping us with the solution…..Thank You
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    July 7th, 2015 Grand Rapids, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I am soooooo glad I called to get help with my credit card debt. I was drowning. I checked out Cura Debt on line, made the call and Julio threw me a “life line”. He spent time reviewing my options with me and gave me what I needed to make an informed decison. He was patient, kind and I actually felt better about facing my debt and getting it resolved. Thank you Julio!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    8
    June 29th, 2015 Tacoma, WA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Wonderful service. Very kind and thoughtful.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    June 26th, 2015 Parsippany, NJ
    6 people found this review helpful!
    i have been dealing with zac fessner from the beginning and his repore and his expertise creates a sense of complete confidence that your goals will be achieved. he also wants to keep in touch with you for questions and dealing with any issues
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    June 18th, 2015 North Fort Myers, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I couldn’t be happier with Curadebt! Yamile A was awesome always answered my many questions promptly and helped me to reduce 23,000 in credit card debt to just over $16,000 in only 13 months! It has been a great experience!! Thank you CuraDebt!!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    9
    June 13th, 2015 Los Angeles, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    To whom it may concern:

    I’ve been a client for two years but I must say, I had lately an outstanding customer service by one of your team member: Yamile A. She’s professional, knowledgeable and compassionate. She’s the best agent I came across since I’ve been a client of CuraDebt. You should be proud to have such a great professional!!

    Valerie

    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2015 Tulsa, OK
    2 people found this review helpful!
    When I decided to consolidate and settle my debts, I went online to check on the various debt reduction companies & services. CuraDebt consistently came up as one of the best companies listed, and there were many positive testimonials. I especially liked the fact that the same counselor works with the client, which means that I don’t need to tell my story to a different person each time I call with a question. My case manager, Maurice, was very prompt at responding to my requests and reviewing all of the required documents. In fact, he usually responded within hours or even minutes after receiving my emails. He was very professional and knowledgeable, and he answered all of my questions quickly, and provided detailed information. He also went the extra mile to send links to useful articles related to my case. My case was filed and approved within days after I first contacted them. I feel a lot better now that I’ve enrolled in the program, and the pressure is off. I would recommend CuraDebt to anyone wanting to consolidate and settle their outstanding debt.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    June 2nd, 2015 Uxbridge, MA
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent experience so far. Gloria is knowledgeable and took the time to clearly and fully explain everything to me. My questions were answered in a timely way and I felt valued.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 2nd, 2015
    4 people found this review helpful!
    It is very clear in the papers when you sign in that for the first 14 MONTHS THEY ARE TAKING AWAY THEIR FEES, and a part goes to your savings, I have with them 7 months and they settled for me already an account of 4400 for just 1572, just a fraction of the whole debt, besides that., I was protected and nobody harrassed. or bothered me from my creditors, in 7 months I received just 2 phone calls from creditors, believe me, this program really works, maybe you had a bad experience because you did not work with my consultant Gloria Echevarria
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    June 1st, 2015 Dallas, TX
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I went online and called many other debt settlement companies and found that not only was Curadebt the best option for me but also had the best customer service. Julio Maldonado was very informative and very polite. Julio has been awesome the entire process and would give him 5 stars anyday! He is GREAT!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    June 1st, 2015
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I am happy to say that after evaluating various companies, CuraDebt has been my choice. I’ve been with them for 2 years and almost all of my debts have been resolved. The reduction have exceeded what I was initially estimated and I would and do recommend CuraDebt to my associates and friends.

    If you are considering a debt relief company, I highly recommend CuraDebt.

    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with CuraDebt

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from CuraDebt at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
7.9
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

20%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$5,000

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

95
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,314