Best Debt Companys

166 Companies 2,767 Real Customer Reviews

CuraDebt Tax Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#4
CuraDebt Tax Reviews

CuraDebt

CuraDebt has been in business for 15 years and competitive pricing but lacks transparency.

Our Score
8.3
User Score
9.4

Visit Site

Our Score
8.3
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
20%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
20 Years

F

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$5,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
37

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: August 1, 2016

CuraDebt is a company that seems to hit all the right spots with affordable pricing, low minimum debt qualifications, and industry experience. But there are a number of troubling questions surrounding its business practices and ownership that should be carefully considered before enrolling with them.

Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$7,500

#3

15-25%
$7,500

#4
CuraDebt Tax Reviews

20%
$5,000

The Good

Low Fees

CuraDebt offers competitive pricing, charging only 20% of a client’s debt for their settlement services. This is price is slightly lower than most industry prices we have seen.

Experienced and Accredited

This is one of the longest running debt settlement companies in the industry. CuraDebt has been helping people get out of tough financial solutions since 1996. The company holds certificates with major industry accreditations, including the AFCC and the IAPDA.

Easy to Qualify

Of note is the fact that they take on smaller dollar cases as low as $5,000 in unsecured debt, allowing more people to use them than many competitors.

The Bad

Transparency Issues

One of our concerns with CuraDebt relates to transparency. The company is filed in Nevada, but has no offices in the state. Instead, they list an address on their website in Hollywood, Florida in a building owned by Regus. According to Regus, a company that rents virtual and physical office spaces, there are three CuraDebt employees who work there.

While the company does have some ties to the U.S., it appears that most of their operation is located in Columbia.

Employees

On top of this, we are unable to verify through LinkedIn or the company’s website that there are more than two employees. Because there are only two employees listed on LinkedIn we question whether CuraDebt can handle large case loads.

Not Available in All States

CuraDebt is only available in a few states (37/50). The states they do not work in are: CO, CT, GA, ID, IL, KS, ND, NH, SC, VT, WA, WI, WV.

BBB Rating

Currently, the BBB has an F score for CuraDebt.

Compare to the top rated debt settlement companies

The Bottom Line

On paper, CuraDebt appears to have all of the right things: competitive pricing, accreditations, a money back guarantee, and 15 years in business. Even so, the company’s F rating on the BBB page and low number of employees, are serious cause for concern, in our opinion. We do not recommend CuraDebt at this time. 

Click Here for other Top Recommended Debt Settlement Providers.

Contact Information

Website: curadebt.com
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (877) 850-3328
Hours:
9 am to 9 pm EST M-F
10 am to 3 pm EST Sat
Address:
4000 Hollywood Blvd
Suite 555-S
Hollywood, FL 33021

How Much Does CuraDebt cost?

No fees are charged upfront. On average, clients are charged 20% of the total debt enrolled for CuraDebt’s services. No payments are made until the client accepts the settlement. There are no installment or administrative fees.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

They currently have no up-front fees.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Curadebt offers a free consultation over the phone or they can give you basic advice by just filling out the form on their site. If you fill out the form, you’re not committing to anything binding, you’re simply giving them permission to counsel with you about your debt.

Does CuraDebt Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

The company will refund you if the settlement amount plus fees paid are in excess of the original debt.

What Types of Debt Does CuraDebt Work With?

They offer debt settlement for unsecured loans.

About CuraDebt

CuraDebt was formed in 2000 to help individuals and small businesses in settling debt. Operating for over 15 years has made this company one of the most experienced in the industry. CuraDebt offers a free consultation to help you better understand your situation and financial goals. The company’s team of representatives is committed to providing expert assistance, timely advice, and personalized solutions.

Time in Business

15 Years. Curadebt has been in business since 2000.

BBB

They have a F Rating with the BBB.

Debt Education

Curadebt has a blog about saving money, paying off debts, avoiding bankruptcy, avoiding credit repair scams and the like, but they don’t offer much that’s unique or any type of heavy duty training or education system.  They also have a page with links to debt management and bankruptcy sites by state. Specifications and regulations vary from state to state, so this can be helpful information.

Mobile Friendly

No. Curadebt does not have a responsive website, so when you pull it up on a phone, everything is more difficult to read. In addition , they don’t offer a mobile app. It would be beneficial for many customers if they had access to their information on a mobile device.

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel services at any time, since you aren’t charged until a settlement is reached.

 Services Available

Curadebt specializes in debt settlement. They provided debt consolidation up to a year ago, but stopped a year ago once decided it wasn’t the path for them anymore.

Minimum Debt Accepted

The minimum amount of debt they service is $7,500.

Online Dashboard

No. There is no special dashboard for customers. As with all debt settlement companies, you always have access to your FCC account at all times.

Accreditations

Yes, they are proudly listed as an accredited member of the AFCC, but not the IAPDA.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

37 CuraDebt Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
3
6
27
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    9
    May 26th, 2016
    1 people found this review helpful!
    J.F. is fantastic! He is thorough, efficient and knowledgeable…I highly recommend CuraDebt as an effective way of managing financial hurdles. I wanted to avoid bankruptcy, J.F. and CuraDebt is making that possible for me ~ Thank You!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    November 15th, 2015 New Paltz, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    have been very happy with curadebt. I was lost in debt and didn’t know what to do. Curadebt helped me so much. Through them, and with the huge help of Yasmile A .have paid off a lot of it and my stress levels have gone way down. Thank you again for all your do Yasmile
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    November 10th, 2015 Evansville, IN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    When I started falling behind on my accounts, I didn’t know what my options were. After calling some competitors, I was just frustrated. Once I spoke to Zac at Curadebt I was finally able to feel comfortable and get an honest assessment of my situation, and didn’t feel condescended to. I’ve been enrolled a few months now and I’m already seeing progress. Would definitely recommend.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Fremont, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very happy with curadebt. I was lost in debt and didn’t know what to do. Curadebt helped me so much. Through them, and with the huge help of Katerine T, I have paid off a lot of it and my stress levels have gone way down. Thank you again for all your help.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Sandy, UT
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Curadebt has been everything they claimed to be and much more. I never have an issue reaching anyone. They always answer their phones. I always feel they are there to help and want what’s best for me. My goals are always at the forefront of how they handle my case and feel they are helping me achieve those. Couldn’t ask for anything more from a company.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Miami, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I give CuraDebt a 10 rating because Mr Freeman was kind and understanding. He explained everything to me step by step.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    9
    November 9th, 2015 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great experience and very knowledgeable. ..Jim helped me get on the right track to becoming dept free…the process was quick and easy to follow and Jim provided me with a way to fix my credit and start a new life ….thanx again Jim. …i will definitely be telling my friends and family about this program
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Miami, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We have been partners with Curadebt for years and they never disappoint. They are always on top of the details, very responsive and they always communicate clearly and often. Everyone we have dealt with has been extremely professional, caring and helpful. They have the highest recommendations from us!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Las Vegas, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We are proud to partner with CuraDebt as a resource for our users to solve their issues with tax relief. Their team has been extremely responsive in building a platform to easily help online users looking for assistance and information.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Waco, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    By my own poor judgement, I had gotten myself into this situation. Curadebt has helped me to climb out slowly but surely. Katerine T. has been very helpful and understanding. Thank you! I see a light at the end of the tunnel.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    November 8th, 2015 Plymouth, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Ive been searching and searching for help there was always some stipulation on why no one could help me with my debt problems but curadebt did…. My consultant was awesome and explained and covered all my questions
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 7th, 2015 Boardman, OR
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The decision to choose a debt settlement company was a serious one for me, and I went online to make sure the company I chose was the best for me.

    My counselor was extremely helpful, non judgmental, and helped me evaluate debt consolidation as well as debt settlement options. I chose debt settlement for the benefits of getting done much sooner and because it would work much better in my budget.

    I am now about 2/3 of the way done with resolving my debts. In terms of my experience, I found that customer service usually responds within hours or minutes of my receiving my emails, is very professional, knowledgeable, answered my questions quickly, and often provided additional helpful information. I feel a weight off my shoulders and know I’ll soon be done. I would recommend CuraDebt in all respects.

    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    November 5th, 2015 Cherokee Village, AR
    6 people found this review helpful!
    We enrolled with CuraDebt in July 2015 because we thought they could help us. We were (and are) desperate for help. They gave us all of these assurances that they would be there to help us through everything and would work with us. Well 4 months later we are still getting threatening phone calls and letters. We are getting court notices and everything. I have tried calling every number that CuraDebt provided us with and can not get anyone to answer my phone calls or return my phone calls. On the two occasions that I did actually get to speak to a real live person they told me they can not view anything on my account and will request that someone call me back. I’ve come to the realization that I have been scammed. I don’t know what I’m going to do from here. Especially since I’ve wasted so much money with this company.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    October 4th, 2015 Leonardtown, MD
    1 people found this review helpful!
    When I received and listened to the first message from Jim, I knew I would be in good hands! He was warm, friendly and reassuring and spoke so positively about CuraDebt and its ability to help with debt relief. There was no hard sell, no pressure at all. I’m so looking forward to finally being debt free and returning to a healthy financial state!!! Thank you, Jim, for putting my concerns at ease and instilling in me a new confidence for my future!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    September 24th, 2015 Braintree, MA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Julio is absolutely amazing at what he does. Very patient, professional, and kind. Choosing a company to work with is a very difficult decision but curadebt made it 100x better! Looking forward to working with this comany and successfully completing the program.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    9
    September 16th, 2015 Trenton, NJ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The process was simple and concise. All of my questions were answered clearly. Open lines of communication makes it easy for any further questions or concerns I may have to be satiated.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    9
    September 10th, 2015 Emmett, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I recently had been forced into retirement, & still had several credit cards to pay off. With now limited income, I was at a loss as to what to do. My husband had also been forced into retirement 5 yrs ago. So with limited income, we were at a loss. I contacted Curadebt, and got ahold of Gloria. She was fantastic!!!! She went thru everything with me, & explained how this worked. Answered all my questions over the course of about a week. My husband, was still skeptical, but finally agreed to go with me on this. We’ve just begun our journey with this, but all support staff & especially Gloria (my savior) have been of tremendous help. The reassurance has been great. Every so often I will doubt myself about my choice, but a rep will e-mail me and reassure me things are going as planned. And, yes, they are… Just as was explained to me. In the beginning there was so much info to absorb, but things are smoothing out. We are hoping in a few yrs all this credit card debt will be resolved. Thank you Gloria for getting me started!!!!!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    September 10th, 2015 Idaho Falls, ID
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Everything was fully explained and my personal financial situation was managed well to what would be best for my specific situation. I felt comfortable asking questions and I’m glad we are in the program. We look forward to becoming debt free and changing how we live financially.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    September 9th, 2015 Rochester, MN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Zac was helpful and kind during my first phone call with me. Never did i feel judge on my financial situation. Very top notch!!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    September 7th, 2015 Yonkers, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Assistance was swift, professional and friendly. Maurice was very helpful and totally dedicated to delivering excellent service and was very responsive to requests. He responded to all my questions and made me feel like he truly understood my concerns and that he cared. I am very satisfied with my experience so far and I hope that my case will be resolved successfully.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with CuraDebt

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from CuraDebt at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
8.3
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
20%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
20 Years

F

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$5,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
37
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
14 Years

A+

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
284