Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,158 Real Customer Reviews

one_main_financial
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#17
one_main_financial

OneMain Financial

OneMain Financial offers actual loans to consumers to consolidate their debts as opposed to a consolidation service. Interest rates and other fees are unknown.

Our Score
4.0
User Score
0.7
Our Score
4.0
User Score
0.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Undisclosed

Setup & Activation Fee

Undisclosed

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

No

ISO Certified

No

Number of Reviews

51

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: June 26, 2019

OneMain Financial is an online lending organization that offers auto loan options and personal loan lending options in addition to debt consolidation loan services. OneMain Financial offers a fairly straightforward lending process. Customers can get a free consultation, complete their loan application online, then meet with a loan specialist, and start the process.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $79
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10-$40
AFCC & IAPDA

#3

Up to $49
ISO

#17
one_main_financial

Undisclosed
None

Pros

Free Consultation

OneMain Financial offers a free consultation with a credit/ loan specialist for prospective new clients. This free consultation can help potential customers get a feel for what the OneMain Financial loan has to offer.

No Minimum Debt Requirement

There is no minimum debt the company will handle, but as with any lender, the loan amount is based in part on the credit worthiness and loan application of the borrower.

Cons

No Cancellation Policy

Since a OneMain Financial loan can’t be canceled once granted, and since a debt consolidation loan is the only debt relief product offered by this institution, there is no need for a cancellation policy.

No Money-Back Guarantee

Debt consolidation loans do not have the same refund policy personal loans or other loan options hold. There is no money-back guarantee associated with a debt consolidation loan. However, personal loans have a 14-day policy – if the money is returned, there will be no penalty. After 14 days, consumers are tied to the loan through the term length.

Lack of Accreditations

OneMain Financial does not appear to have standard industry accreditations such as AICCA, NFCC, and Better Business Bureau (BBB) accreditations.

Lack of Transparency

OneMain Financial does not disclose monthly payment amounts, upfront fees, or annual percentage rate/ interest rates.

Poor Customer Reviews

The majority of OneMain Financial reviews are negative on our site. Reviewers typically complain that their debt consolidation loan actually requires collateral and that it brings higher interest rates. They also agree that the customer service representatives are difficult to work with.

Limited Services

In terms of debt relief, OneMain Financial’s only product is the debt consolidation loan. They do not offer any other debt management products and services. In fact, the company focuses more on their personal loan options and auto loan options instead of its debt consolidation loan services.

Those interested in the company’s debt consolidation loan services should keep in mind that collateral may be required to qualify, based on the customer’s pre-loan circumstances. They do not do any type of debt negotiation, debt settlement or adjustments with creditors, nor do they re-age unsecured loan/debt obligations.

Our Recommendation

OneMain Financial has been in business for an impressive amount of time and offers a debt consolidation loan option for customers who are dealing with long-term debt problems. The company offers a free consultation, a helpful online dashboard, and does not have a require a minimum debt amount. Unfortunately, the company does not offer other debt settlement or debt relief options other than its debt consolidation loan. OneMain Financial also does not have a money-back guarantee, cancellation policy, accreditations, and there have been a few negative customer reviews. We do not recommend OneMain Financial for debt consolidation. View the top-rated debt consolidation company.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

51 OneMain Financial Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

42
2
3
2
2
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    January 14th, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I paid my loan off in full early and it is 30 days later and I have not received my title back.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    January 2nd, 2020 Des Moines, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have applied 2 different times the first time was in Elizabeth city nd I was a appoved the customer was very bad everyone was rude so we walked away we applied again in ahoskie nd there rules were totally different from Elizabeth city’s they kept finding reason not to use our total income so I call Elizabeth city back they said this not the correct way to do the loan so I will not be dealing with one main ever again I am contacting the better buisness b and reported them for unfair buisness practice so they get a zero.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    December 6th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Rep call 10 times a day hang up on you and cuss horrible customer service
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    December 2nd, 2019 South Bend, IN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Worst customer service at ever experienced anywhere. Ran a false social security number approved at and attached it to my name. Whoever’s social security number they ran is probably extremely upset. How do you run a credit report and get all this pretty secure private information on someone and don’t even check the name or the numbers. Horrible place would not recommend it to anyone stay clear of this place.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    November 29th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I tried to get rid of a hard inquiry that I didn’t know about so I could get a loan from another company. So i called them and they said it could take 30 days. I said fine. 30 days roll around and the inquiry is still there so I called them back and told them what happened and they said the same thing. So instead I told them if they don’t give me a letter of declination than I’m suing them in small claims court. They said nothing so I did and won getting my inquiry removed. The fact that I had to do this is outrageous and which is why I HATE BUREAUCRACY.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    October 16th, 2019 Lake Worth, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is the worst company ever ever, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM… CATFISH I was approved for a loan 11000, by the time I talked 5o them they wanted my car as collateral then they wanted to give me 6300 after I decided to go along to see how far this thievery would go.. I expressed to the guy that they were misleading mind u I was already approved but he was not happy with my candid . So I was told the next day I will be given a call to close the deal. Low and behold no call, so I took initiative and made the call at the staten island branch big mistake I was ask my last name and was told YOU ARE NOT APPROVED not to shocked because I already read reviews on how they operate. I said really but all was good last night with the online guy WELL THE GUY AT THE STATEN ISLAND BRANCH WAS STOCK ON REPEAT YOU ARE NOT APPROVED YOU ARE NOT APPROVED With condescending tone. I tried to ask a question but my answer would always be YOU ARE NOT APPROVED. So here I am telling the world if you ask to much or question them or slightly get annoyed at their policy even after you do all that they ask for and get approval if you only do such a thing as try to speak up for yourself you will be told You are not APPROVED… please stay away take your business elsewhere or just ride it out.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    October 8th, 2019 Portland, OR
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Parkville, MD totally horrible branch!! Took a payment out 3 days before the due date and put my account in the negative and caused me overdraft fees. Excuses upon excuses for not being able to correct the situation for days. Would not fix their own mistake. Will never use them again!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    September 25th, 2019 Spokane, WA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    After receiving a “pre-approval” we decided to go ahead and give this company a try. What a nightmare experience. First of all it took over 3 weeks, then we were pre-approved for $14,500.00, then we are told we can only get $9900.00, we said fine we went through the entire process 3 weeks it took then on the day to finally sign they say we can only get $5000.00. What a joke of a place to deal with. They called us a month later to see if we were going to take the loan obliviously we said no and let them know we felt their company was a scam and that we were less than satisfied and less than extremely disappointed with their services. Wait for it………… today we received a letter stating they denied us a loan they are unable to approve us at this time. PRICELSS!!!!! Stay far far far away from this company…………..
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    September 24th, 2019 Guntersville, AL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I received several emails assuring me that I was pre qualified to request additional money on my existing loan. I called the branch office in Rainbow City, Alabama, and talked to Charlene–I think she said her name was. She took my information and set up an appointment for me to come in at 10:00 a.m. the following morning to complete the loan. Before I left I checked my house phone and my cell phone to make sure she hadn’t tried to call and cancel. I drove 15 miles on my one day off from work in seven days. When I got to the office, I was told that I wasn’t approved for the loan. Charlene said she had tried to call me back twice the day before, but couldn’t reach me. Apparently, she hadn’t even tried that morning. “Lending done human” is definitely false advertising for this company.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    0
    September 11th, 2019
    4 people found this review helpful!
    this was the worst customer service I have EVER had with ANY company I’ve EVER dealt with in my life!!!!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    September 7th, 2019
    7 people found this review helpful!
    BEWARE. you can make triple payments to pay your load but you are required to pay the interest and fees for the entire length of the load…

    borrow 1000.00 for 1 year and at the end of 1 youar you pay 1700.00
    if you pay the 1000.00 back 7 days later, you still owe them 700.00

    liars and theives. that is a early payoff penalty. a huge one..

    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    September 6th, 2019 Manning, SC
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I was sent a letter asking me to renew my loan. I filled in he online application complete with all required documentation. I got a call back from an unqualified rep who didn’t understand the concept of online application or loan renewal. He proceeded to fill in an application for a new loan. Loan was approved and I declined the offer because he had more than doubled what I asked for which more than doubled my payments. I declined because he seemed so confused and was definitely unqualified to close the deal. The next morning I was going to talk to the manager. I checked my online site first and learned that he put down that I was turned down for the loan. I checked my credit score which had dropped 7 points because of his incompetence.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    August 28th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    OneMain Financial, Hall Rd., Sterling Heights, Michigan:

    Cheryl, my loan specialist was very helpful and professional during the process. I received my loan quickly. Highly recommend!

    Read More
  14. User Score
    2
    August 21st, 2019 Meridian, ID
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Horrible. I repeat horrible customer service the loan reps and store manager are just plain rude. Even lie about their names when you call and they don’t want to speak to you and transfer to Kathy Who is pure evil. they treat you like crap and bully you. they make you feel about 2 inches tall for needing a loan then harass you tell you do everything they want. If you have another option. do not use these guys. They are horrible rude people. This is my experience with two loans at the Boise Idaho branch. i wish i could transfer stores. Kathy and Tanya are the worse.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    July 23rd, 2019
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I recently entered some information online looking to possibly obtain an online loan. The company that came up as a possible lender was One Main Financial on South Avenue, in Staten Island NY. My husband and I decided to go there with all of our financial information.
    Upon entering the place, there was a white male that yelled from his seat “what are you here to do today “? I said I am here to obtain a loan. The rude guy then asked the lady sitting in front of him if she could help my husband and I she said no. The guy then yells to us from his desk… sorry we can’t help you. We only take clients by appointment only (mind you, there is no where on their site that states this). I explained to the guy that it would be hard for my husband and I to come back together because of his work schedule and he replied sorry…we have appointments set ( mind you there are 5 loan officers at their desk and only 3 customers in the office). My husband and I felt discriminated against, treated unprofessionally and judged before we ever received the opportunity to apply for a loan. Thankfully, we we able to get money from our credit union bank and not deal with this loan shark of a company with their racist employees and sky high interest rates!! I would suggest to take your business else where were you are appreciated and not judged by your appearance!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    0
    July 19th, 2019 Richmond, VA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    My name is Janice W. Harris I receive a pre approve coupon in the mail from One Main Financial. On Thursday evening July 18, 2019 I called and personally walked in and provided my information. My representative who seem to be nice was Ms. Wanda at the Bell Creek Road Branch in Mechanicsville VA said she would call me back on Friday. Due to the fact I called because I had some question the next day once in the morning, once in the afternoon, and once in the evening, each time Ms. Wanda was unable to come to the phone and there was no call back from her the entire day to let me know the status of my application . So that gave me a chance to Read up and see the Customer Reviews concerning this company. To my surprise The Reviews were horrible concerning this company.. It was also mention the people don’t call you back….Well I don’t want to be approved now Maybe God was watching over me that’s why I didn’t call back…Please Customer Service People cancel my application I don’t want to go through what these people has gone through… “let me stay broke I don’t need another headache to add on to my life”
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    June 22nd, 2019 Fort Huachuca, AZ
    6 people found this review helpful!
    This company is a fraud. during the government shut down I was supposed to be deferred which they did not honor and charged me interest. In the month of March 19 I made 3 payments of 897.00 and they charged me 1974.00 in interest. I sold my car to get from under these crooks. I’ve this great nation for over 35 years to preserve our way of life. This company is worst than the terrorist I’ve fought abroad. NEVER AGAIN.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    May 31st, 2019 Medina, OH
    5 people found this review helpful!
    They did not disclose a large originating fee would be charged and actually told me none until I walked into the branch. Beware
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    May 8th, 2019 Saint Louis, MO
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I recommend to stay away from this company. I was lied to and was told I could get a better rate once my credit score gets better. We here is the response I got.
    Mr. Y, I have been with the company for 1 year and took over as Branch Manager of this location in October. At no time since I’ve been with the company has OMF offered anything lower than a 36% Interest Rate on Unsecured loans. Again, the only loans we have available with possibly lower interest rates are secured vehicle loans. Depending on the age of the vehicle, I’ve seen them as low as 14% up to 35%. I’m sorry if you misunderstood, or where told something different, but I cannot speak for what was said when you took out your loan.
    If you have a vehicle that you would like us to look into using as collateral for the loan in order to try to secure a lower rate, we would be happy to look into that for you to refinance your current loan.
    And I do not understand what you are asking about being on the contract. If you mean something about the Interest rate, rates can change at any time in lending, they just have not for us and our unsecured products for some time.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    April 24th, 2019 Anderson, IN
    5 people found this review helpful!
    this is the worse place to get a loan ignore your questions.
    Rude not professional at all,
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
4.0
User Score
0.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Undisclosed

Setup & Activation Fee

Undisclosed

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

No

ISO Certified

No

Number of Reviews

51
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

432