Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,234 Real Customer Reviews

one_main_financial
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#17
one_main_financial

OneMain Financial

OneMain Financial offers actual loans to consumers to consolidate their debts as opposed to a consolidation service. Interest rates and other fees are unknown.

Our Score
4.0
User Score
0.6
Our Score
4.0
User Score
0.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Undisclosed

Setup & Activation Fee

Undisclosed

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

No

ISO Certified

No

Number of Reviews

35

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: June 26, 2019

OneMain Financial is an online lending organization that offers auto loan options and personal loan lending options in addition to debt consolidation loan services. OneMain Financial offers a fairly straightforward lending process. Customers can get a free consultation, complete their loan application online, then meet with a loan specialist, and start the process.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $79
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10-$40
AFCC & IAPDA

#3

Up to $49
ISO

#17
one_main_financial

Undisclosed
None

Pros

Free Consultation

OneMain Financial offers a free consultation with a credit/ loan specialist for prospective new clients. This free consultation can help potential customers get a feel for what the OneMain Financial loan has to offer.

No Minimum Debt Requirement

There is no minimum debt the company will handle, but as with any lender, the loan amount is based in part on the credit worthiness and loan application of the borrower.

Cons

No Cancellation Policy

Since a OneMain Financial loan can’t be canceled once granted, and since a debt consolidation loan is the only debt relief product offered by this institution, there is no need for a cancellation policy.

No Money-Back Guarantee

Debt consolidation loans do not have the same refund policy personal loans or other loan options hold. There is no money-back guarantee associated with a debt consolidation loan. However, personal loans have a 14-day policy – if the money is returned, there will be no penalty. After 14 days, consumers are tied to the loan through the term length.

Lack of Accreditations

OneMain Financial does not appear to have standard industry accreditations such as AICCA, NFCC, and Better Business Bureau (BBB) accreditations.

Lack of Transparency

OneMain Financial does not disclose monthly payment amounts, upfront fees, or annual percentage rate/ interest rates.

Poor Customer Reviews

The majority of OneMain Financial reviews are negative on our site. Reviewers typically complain that their debt consolidation loan actually requires collateral and that it brings higher interest rates. They also agree that the customer service representatives are difficult to work with.

Limited Services

In terms of debt relief, OneMain Financial’s only product is the debt consolidation loan. They do not offer any other debt management products and services. In fact, the company focuses more on their personal loan options and auto loan options instead of its debt consolidation loan services.

Those interested in the company’s debt consolidation loan services should keep in mind that collateral may be required to qualify, based on the customer’s pre-loan circumstances. They do not do any type of debt negotiation, debt settlement or adjustments with creditors, nor do they re-age unsecured loan/debt obligations.

Our Recommendation

OneMain Financial has been in business for an impressive amount of time and offers a debt consolidation loan option for customers who are dealing with long-term debt problems. The company offers a free consultation, a helpful online dashboard, and does not have a require a minimum debt amount. Unfortunately, the company does not offer other debt settlement or debt relief options other than its debt consolidation loan. OneMain Financial also does not have a money-back guarantee, cancellation policy, accreditations, and there have been a few negative customer reviews. We do not recommend OneMain Financial for debt consolidation. View the top-rated debt consolidation company.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

35 OneMain Financial Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

28
2
2
2
1
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    June 22nd, 2019 Fort Huachuca, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company is a fraud. during the government shut down I was supposed to be deferred which they did not honor and charged me interest. In the month of March 19 I made 3 payments of 897.00 and they charged me 1974.00 in interest. I sold my car to get from under these crooks. I’ve this great nation for over 35 years to preserve our way of life. This company is worst than the terrorist I’ve fought abroad. NEVER AGAIN.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    May 31st, 2019 Medina, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They did not disclose a large originating fee would be charged and actually told me none until I walked into the branch. Beware
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    May 8th, 2019 Saint Louis, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I recommend to stay away from this company. I was lied to and was told I could get a better rate once my credit score gets better. We here is the response I got.
    Mr. Y, I have been with the company for 1 year and took over as Branch Manager of this location in October. At no time since I’ve been with the company has OMF offered anything lower than a 36% Interest Rate on Unsecured loans. Again, the only loans we have available with possibly lower interest rates are secured vehicle loans. Depending on the age of the vehicle, I’ve seen them as low as 14% up to 35%. I’m sorry if you misunderstood, or where told something different, but I cannot speak for what was said when you took out your loan.
    If you have a vehicle that you would like us to look into using as collateral for the loan in order to try to secure a lower rate, we would be happy to look into that for you to refinance your current loan.
    And I do not understand what you are asking about being on the contract. If you mean something about the Interest rate, rates can change at any time in lending, they just have not for us and our unsecured products for some time.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    April 24th, 2019 Anderson, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    this is the worse place to get a loan ignore your questions.
    Rude not professional at all,
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    April 15th, 2019 Richmond, VA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    One of the worst decisions I have made in a long time. After 3 years of repayment , I will be finally done with this loan and these people! (Last payment next week) . I encourage everyone even considering such a loan…DONT!!! Borrow money from a relative , get a second or third job or just don’t address the crisis that you may be in. Let it happen and maybe in the long run it is better for you, then getting into a situation in which you have made a contract with loan sharks. I was desperate when I went in for a loan, for something I thought I needed money for. I allowed them to persuade me to re-finance my car and since I had a luxury car, I was able to get top money for the loan. It’s been a nightmare every sense with a high interest rate and high car payment. I went from pay $400 a month to about $630 a month. Then they made a mistake and did not realize that I was already paying car insurance on the car and unbeknownst to me , adding insurance to the payment. So, about 2 years I was paying insurance on the car twice…through my private insurance and tack on insurance from them. My insurance company informed me that they had sent notice to them several times that they were the insurance company for the car. I finally was able to get that cleared up and they had to apply the already paid extra money to my overall balance . No apology, no nothing. Then the harassment from this company if you are late is at a new level. They have called my job, when I asked them not to, called my elderly mother in another state and that’s when I lost it and went off. I consider them to be unprofessional at the most and just rude at the least. Our relationship will be coming to a needed and blessed end next week. But if there is anything that I can tell other consumers, let it go…lose what you trying to keep, in the long run it is a life lesson we all have to learn about our finances. I learned the hard way, but my journey is almost completed. STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE AND THEIR COMPANY!!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    March 1st, 2019 Slayton, MN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I would try anywhere else to get a loan. These people are horrible! When trying to get a very minimal loan of only a few thousand….ALL they want to do is refinance vehicles at a HUGE interest rate. DO NOT TRUST!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    February 21st, 2019 Seattle, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My husband and I went to One Main Financial one evening. Met with TJ a very nice and helpful Lady in South Hill Puyallup. Took GREAT CARE of us! Had our loan approved and money in hand the very next afternoon! It was painless and we were both pleased with the experience! If your considering a loan go see Lady TJ
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    February 4th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This company is full of it. What ever you feel like you want it full of to fill that “it” other than honesty and integrity.
    I got quoted a rate…. then it wasn’t a final rate… then the final rate quoted over the phone was not the final rate when I got in the office.

    They’ll pull a switch on you. they’ll tell you over the phone you have a certain interest rate and payment. when you get there…they raise the interest rate and say that oh they cant offer the lower rate unless you add on 2000 worth of extra roadcoverage and insurance. wtf. I guess desperation is desperation.
    Predatory lending and games at its finest by far.

    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    January 12th, 2019
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Been with One Main for couple of years. If my monthly payments are $205 I set up reaccuring payment of $300 . Wanted a new loan to buy a trailer for my car fixing,( classic car ),business . When I finished with application I was informed ther would be no problem. My credit score was 710 Before they check me out. I then asked what would be my interest rate and she told me 35.99% . What the I said , why. She informed me that it wasn’t set by my credit worthiness, but by the amount you barrow. Apparently the amount of $1400.00 wasn’t enough. I told her I had the rest ,($1000.00 ), to perches the trailer. I asked her why would you charge the maximum amount allowed by the government to a good customer with good credit? She informed me there are other companies and I should try one of them. One day the Lord will put the meek in charge and the money grubber’s will be nothing. That is a promise made that will surely happen!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    0
    December 19th, 2018
    7 people found this review helpful!
    Have had one main for along time (4 loans ).Never been so disatified with the office in savannah ga.never been late on any loan payments but when i moved down here to savannah got loan threw them .OUT OF ALL LOANS I HAD BEFORE NEVER BEEN SO UNHAPPY WITH THIS BRANCH ALWAYS CALLING 3-4-5 TIMES A DAY IF YOUR PAYMENT IS NOT DONE ON DUE DATE ,WHICH YOU HAVE A 10 DAY GRACE PERIOD WILL KEEP CALLING EVERYDAY UNTIL YOU MAKE PAYMENT.SO I INTENSELY DONT MAKE PAYMENT ON DUE DATE JUST TO WASTE THERE TIME! DONT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYBODY.NEVER HAD PROBLEM WITH OTHER LOANS FROM THIS COMPANY FROM ANOTHER BRANCH.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    1
    November 16th, 2018 Superior, WI
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I busted this company fraudulently billing me late fees. Caught them doing it 3 times. I couldn’t get it fixed over the phone. Then I would get it fixed and they would do it again the next month. It took roughly 90 minutes a month to make a payment and not pay fees I didn’t owe. Filed a complaint with the Attorney General’s Office for the state of Minnesota and it finally stopped. Paid off the account last month. Paid in full. Now I owe $390.00 in “they think” penalty interest for paying the loan off early. I’m going back to the Attorney General’s office. This is a corrupt company and they will screw you.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    November 6th, 2018 Medina, WA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Once you sign you need to be ready for the screw ups they do. Friendly at first than they will become your worst enemy. Head Quarter Office is even worse
    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    October 26th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was two days late on a payment due to losing my job. I had to explain to three people in the office my situation then the manager proceeded to threaten the vehicle that was on loan and try to bully me into setting up a payments from my checking account. This was not the first issue with them. I had gone to their office to change the bank my account was withdrawn from as my husband and i had separated but they still took the payment from the incorrect account. If you don’t have business with them I don’t suggest you start.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    0
    September 13th, 2018 Jacksonville, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Lack of Communication never call you back, my application was under someone taking vacation and got delayed I felt they were starting to get annoying when I asked to many questions because they were short of staff and the manager was out for training, they make you send them a lot of paperwork and your application still incomplete, they want me to borrow 15,000 and refinance my car thru them instead 1500 very misleading, I told them I didn’t want to proceed and cancel, I need the money but I won’t let them take advantage of my situation.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    August 21st, 2018 Babylon, NY
    4 people found this review helpful!
    This is the second time I have attempted to deal with them for a loan. I should have learned after the first experience. They don’t call you back, they talk in circles and frankly treat you like a piece of meat. AVOID like the plague
    Read More
  16. User Score
    1
    August 11th, 2018
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Credit Karma recommended One Main Financial, shame on them. After reading the reviews I went through some of the process of obtaining a consolidation loan, shame on me. I would suggest that the gal that talked to me on the phone, and stated the terrible offers her superiors came up with, should look for better employment and not put One Main Financial on her resume.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    August 6th, 2018
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Rude customer service, poor billing process.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    March 13th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    A $8000.00 lian after 4 years was $16700.00. Thats not helping people,its robbery of good people,plus collateral,and over pushy staff.Never again..
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    March 1st, 2018 Hermosa Beach, CA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    They are like used car salespersons, underhanded and sneaky. Will say and do anything to get you to get a loan with them. Be careful of anything they present to you as far as insurance, ANYTHING. It’s not what it is. They say one thing and when something comes up and you need to file a claim, insurance you have paid for to ensure that if something does occur in your like that you are unable to pay, then the insurance will come in place. One Main’s insurance carrier does everything and anything, from requesting documents, after receiving what they requested, acting as if they didn’t get it, only to send again and then being told ok, will send to another department, over and over. This going on for months, then after months of back and forth, they present something else needed, when knowing full well they have it, it was sent over and over with their first, second and third. Finally, after months them pushing your claim to different departments and representatives, the claim will be denied for some frivolous or technical issue. They will try and find ANY reason not to pay a claim. DO NOT GET THE INSURANCE, IT’S USELESS. One Main has full knowledge of Triton’s practice of unfair dealings and practices of avoiding payment of claims and still encourage customers to get the insurance coverage using tactics such as “in this climate today you need insurance, anything can happen, what if you lose your job, then your loan will be covered”, Bull. Don’t listen, remember they are used car sales persons.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    June 14th, 2017 Leominster, MA
    15 people found this review helpful!
    My elderly mother got a flyer from One Main in the mail. She called and went down for a loan.
    She was 73 with beginning of dementia. She took out a loan and then 3 months later took out another for a total of $7200 in Aug 2015. She has no memory of it.
    They are automatically taking 273.00 per month from her bank account. She gets $1300.00 a month between SS and pension.
    I called One Main as I have POA , and was advised that the balance is $5600, and the payoff is $6K. I said after paying almost $5400, how is that. The reply was 36% interest.
    I have no idea how she even qualified.
    This to me is predatory lending to the elderly. Trying to figure of what to do.
    Maybe just close her account at the bank and open another somewhere else, and tell them to pound salt….
    There has to be a place to file complaints on this type of lending.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
4.0
User Score
0.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Undisclosed

Setup & Activation Fee

Undisclosed

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

No

ISO Certified

No

Number of Reviews

35
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

430