Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 4,021 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling

DebtWave specializes in consolidating credit card debt, offers a free consultation and charges relatively low monthly fees in comparison with other companies.

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
16 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
309

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: April 15, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Price

The monthly service fee is tied to the number of credit cards enrolled into the program. Typically it ranges from $10 – $49 (less in some states, it depends on where you live).  Payment preferred is automatic debit. Personal checks or cash are not accepted. Once creditors are paid, these fees are typically not refundable. Some very simple plans may potentially be as low as $10 per month. The savings generated typically are much higher than the total amount of fees paid.

Enrollment Fee

A minimum enrollment fee is charged depending on the state you live in. The fee will not exceed $75.  You can obtain a no-obligation quote by requesting a free consultation.

Free Consultation

Yes. An estimated pay off time is provided during the initial consultation. They will also provide information on the best path to debt relief and other topics surrounding your specific debt situation.

Time In Business

16 years. DebtWave was founded in June 2001.

Debt Education

Financial literacy seminars are offered free of charge in the San Diego area. Other tools include on-line debt calculators, “Smart With Your Money” Workbook, Budget Template Worksheet, Debt to Income Calculator, FICO Estimator – calculators you might wish “why didn’t I think of that?” such as the “Hours of Work Required to Make Minimum Payments” Calculator.

Money Back Guarantee

DebtWave does offer a money back guarantee for it’s services. If for any reason you are not satisfied with our services within 90 days of enrollment, we will refund back to you your enrollment fee.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

Unsecured credit card debt only.

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not mobile friendly. There is no specific app for their services either, although they do have links and info for obtaining mobile coupon apps for groceries and merchandise.

Cancellation Policy

The program is voluntary as stated in their contract and puts no obligation upon clients; they may cancel any time. There is no fee for cancellation.

Contact Information

Telephone:

1 (877) 934-3003

E-Mail:

[email protected]

Address:

9325 Sky Park Ct. #260

San Diego, CA 92123

Business Hours: (all times are Pacific)

Customer Service: 7:00am – 5:00pm Monday – Thursday; 7:00am – 4:00pm PST Friday

Counseling: 7:00am – 6:00pm Monday – Thursday; 7:00am – 5:00pm PST Friday

Types of Services Available

Debt management, debt consolidation, credit counseling, credit report reviews, budget evaluation and more.

Minimum Debt Accepted

Must have at least $5k in debt to sign up.

Online Dashboard

An online account is available for those with a DebtWave account. The online account allows customers to see the progress of their DMP in real time.

CPFC Certified

All employees at DebtWave are certified personal finance counselors.

ISO Certified

DebtWave is ISO certified.

Dear Potential Client,

We understand that debt and finances are difficult subjects to talk about and deal with. That is why at DebtWave Credit Counseling, Inc. we offer services to help make your life simple.

We provide many services, which include: debt consolidation, free credit counseling sessions, student loan consolidation, a financial education program, and we also participate in community outreach. If you join our debt management program, we can consolidate your credit card debt into one monthly payment, lower your interest rates to single digits, and help you become debt-free in 3-5 years. Before joining this program, a certified credit counselor will even take you through a free credit counseling session, where he or she will pull your credit, review all of your accounts, create a detailed budget, and give you a financial analysis report at the end.

Similar to a credit counseling session, our certified credit counselors can walk you through a student loan consolidation session, where he or she will consolidate all of your loans, create a budget, and look at the many repayment plans offered by the Department of Education. On our website, we also offer a financial education program, where you can read our financial workbook and take a short test afterwards to educate yourself on the basics of personal finance. We also have a few different credit card debt calculators online to help you understand your current situation a little better. Lastly, we provide free seminars, workshops, programs, and services to all members of the community, including the military, high school and college students, and employees and their organizations.

Sincerely,

Antony Murigu, President

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

309 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
228
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2015 Des Moines, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany was really really helpful and nice !! I am so excited to begin getting out of debt !! Thanks Debt Wave !!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    April 8th, 2015 Tampa, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo was awesome!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    April 8th, 2015 Mifflinburg, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo-Jo was a joy to work with. She was extremely patient with this senior citizen. I never felt rushed to complete anything on the application and she took the time to explain the various parts of the program. Even if I did not understand something fully and asked her to return to any specific item and explain it again, she was always patient and did so without any hesitation. I was not sure I wanted to start this program but Jo-Jo put my mind somewhat at ease convincing me that this was the right step toward relieving my debt. It’s going to be a long 4+ years but I’m grateful to Jo-Jo for helping me get through all of this.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    April 8th, 2015 Bakersfield, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My counselor was amazing! Very sweet and easy to talk to. She answered all of my questions in an easy to understand verbiage. She was able to get my payments to the exact amount I was looking for. I am so relieved and happy to be on my way to being debt free. I would recommend your company to anyone! Thank you so much!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    April 7th, 2015 Bell, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Fast and easy help.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    April 7th, 2015 Danbury, CT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I found Monica very helpful walking me through the process. I am looking forward to getting out of debt.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    April 2nd, 2015 Anaheim, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    my review was great Monica was very helpful and very nice.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    April 2nd, 2015 South Portland, ME
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great. She spent a lot of time walking through each step of my debt consolidation. We looked at a couple of different approaches and options. She was very patient as we found what would be best for me.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    9
    April 1st, 2015 Bethlehem, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Having the interest rates lowered significantly is a blessing to be able to reduce and pay off the debt.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    April 1st, 2015 Compton, IL
    6 people found this review helpful!
    This was easy and pain free. What would have taken over 20 years on my own, will be paid off in less than 5 years. I would recommend this company and this program to anyone trying (and not succeeding) to get out of debt.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Honolulu, HI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany was an amazing help for me today. The sense of relief I have is overwhelming. I can’t thank you all enough. From the bottom of my heart and my two boys, Thank You So Much!!!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I spoke with Giliane and Mica (not sure if spelling is right) and they were both extremely helpful and friendly. They didn’t make me feel embarrassed about an embarrassing situation. I have just signed up for the consolidation program so can’t comment on how well it works but I am very hopeful and am certainly impressed with the professionalism and quick responses of the employees I’ve spoken with so far.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Bonham, TX
    3 people found this review helpful!
    The customer service representative was in a word- stellar. She took a most stressful and frankly embarrassing situation and handled it as a true professional. She was extremely kind, very sweet and disarming about the complete process. Any fear or shame of my monitory situation she quickly dissapated. She is not a diamond in the rough but a real jewel as a customer service representative for Debtwave. She truly took charge and my stress is gone with the assistance she gave me. Thank you do very much
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Los Angeles, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great! Made it very easy!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    March 30th, 2015 Cumming, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica Ameng has been a wonderful help today! She was very thorough in her explanations of each step and my options. Such a kind lady! I feel much better about moving on toward being debt free. I’m also going to pass along her information to my mom and a couple of friends. Thank you for being available for those of us who are in need of getting back on track financially!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    9
    March 30th, 2015 Jensen Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Julian was a big help And very personable.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    March 27th, 2015 Portland, OR
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Both Sean and Brittany were very helpful. Sean explained things to me in a way that I could understand, more than once. He was also very clear on the direction of my situation if it did not change. Bethany was very nice and also clear about what was going on. They both gave me a positive feeling about my negative finances and made me feel pro- active.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    March 26th, 2015 Atlantic City, NJ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was so depressed having all this debt hanging over my head, then I went online searching for a solution. I came across debt wave the care and compassion that was given to me I felt like I was already debt free. Damion and Mika broke everything down even though my bills were in collections they did not waive the white flag in. I am not fully there but I know I be soon with debt wave by my side. THANK YOU DEBT WAVE.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    March 24th, 2015 Irmo, SC
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with Giliane Guerrero, she was awesome. Explained everything very well and made the experience very satisfying. She is awesome!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    March 24th, 2015 Huntingdon Valley, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I felt like their was no hope for us to get out of Debt, but came across Debt wave and now i can see the light at the end of the tunnel, I feel hopeful again thank you Jo Jo for all your time with us and just how nice and patient everyone seems I would highly recommend to seek out Debt wave for console if you feel like your drowning, their is hope for tomorrow. thank you Tammy..
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
16 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
309
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
26 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425