Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,940 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

Reviews of DebtWave Credit Counseling from real customers
(306 verified)

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 26, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Most Helpful Reviews From DebtWave Credit Counseling Customers

  1. User Score
    2
    ADH
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Debra Edmondson
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.Read More

306 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
225
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    October 30th, 2014 Rock Hill, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has made it possible for me to pay off my debt in a reasonable amount of time and to get my debt under control for my future.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    9
    October 29th, 2014 Tennessee Ridge, TN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has worked out great for me, Cutting my interest rates down and getting credit cards paid off. I have even had to ask to move the direct deduction date a few days up to work with my pay period and it was not a problem. Thank you Debtwave
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 29th, 2014 Millbrook, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My husband and I have been working with debtwave for about 3 years now. They are nice and extremely easy to work with! I definitely recommend them!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    October 29th, 2014
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve been able to budget better and get my debt under control thanks to DebtWave. :)
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    October 29th, 2014 Cleburne, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has helped me out with my monthly bills. It has great customer service who are willing to help you out in a nice friendly manner.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 29th, 2014 Shelby, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    By far the best debt relief company out there (and I’ve tried them all) if you want an honest team of caring individuals working just as hard as you are to eliminate your debt, call them now!!! Best decision I ever made.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 29th, 2014 Haverhill, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debt wave has been great! The stress of having 7 different bills to pay each month is gone. They are always keeping I touch and letting you know how much closer you are getting to your goal of becoming debt free.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    9
    October 28th, 2014 Cartersville, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very friendly staff that has made my goal of becoming debt free a work in progress. I use to view my debt as an astronomical amount of debt I couldnt get out of but after debtwave worked with my credit card companies ihave one monthly payment. Hopefully I will be debt free in just two more years.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    October 28th, 2014 Escondido, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I began working with Debtwave over a year ago. I have to say that I am extremely pleased with the progress I have made in the short time thanks to them. The staff is extremely attentive. They are always following up on anything that I have pending, or needs attention. I had some financial difficulties for a few months, and they were very willing to work with me through the hardship in my life. They kept me in the program, and stayed in contact throughout these months. I couldn’t be more pleased to have chosen Debtwave for my credit counseling needs. I would highly recommend Debtwave to anyone who is willing to do what it takes to be debt free. They have made it much easier for me to do, and are willing to help in any aspect of it.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    9
    October 28th, 2014 Germantown, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have only been with Debtwave less then six months and I have paid a significant amount of my debt paid off!! I would definitely recommend this program to anyone who is in financial debt. Every representative I have been in contact with were pleasant and very helpful!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    8
    October 28th, 2014 Oceanside, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve only used Debt wave for a few months and haven’t had too many issues. The customer service is great and they keep in contact with you when there are changes to your account or need any additional information. Everyone is friendly and do their best to help find a solution to your needs.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    October 28th, 2014 Riverside, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company has been so helpful and accommodating to my needs; I greatly appreciate them!!!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    October 28th, 2014 Hubbard, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been using Debt Wave for 2 years now and it’s great. It was so east to set up, they were so helpful and knowledgeable, they even helped me to get the credit companies that wouldn’t work with me.

    I feel so happy every month knowing that I am almost debt free. It is also a great feeling when they call to tell you that you paid off a credit card.

    I would highly without a doubt recommend Debt Wave to everyone.

    Read More
  14. User Score
    9
    October 28th, 2014 Pittsburgh, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful with needs to get debt free — work with you to accomplish goals that need to be met with what is available in accounts
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    October 28th, 2014 Memphis, TN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has helped me a great deal! I will be proud to pay off my credit card next year. All thanks to Debtwave!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    October 28th, 2014 Little Rock, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would and have recommended debt wave to anyone who is looking to pay off their debt. I have had nothing but a positive experience with them and finally after 5 yrs of trying to pay it off on my own I’m watching my debt actually being paid off!!! I looked forward to becoming debt free in only 3 yrs!! Woo Hoo!!!!!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    9
    October 28th, 2014 Atlanta, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would highly recommend Debtwave. They have great customer service which includes, returning your phone calls in a timely manner and exhibiting patience!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    8
    October 28th, 2014 Lonsdale, MN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am so happy that a friend told me about this company. Life is a lot less stressed! Their customer service is great!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Bloomington, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great to work with and very friendly and professional team
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Seattle, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very friendly people. Always willing to move my payment a day or 2, if I needed it.
    Read More
  21. User Score
    8
    October 27th, 2014 San Diego, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have been very helpful when I need them and they seem to be on top of things when we call them to look into something or for some help.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Vero Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Hands down the best company I have worked with!!! I will be debt free in less then a year and couldn’t have done it without them! They are extremely helpful, always available and so nice!! I have personally have had 2 friends of mine sign up and they say the same thing!!
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Apo, AE
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This website has helped me when nobody else would. Because of them i am almost debt free with a bright future ahead
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Mcfarland, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service. feel like I finally have a handle on my credit debt. It is nice to see it finally getting paid off, thanks to the help of debtwave!
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has genuinely helped me get on a path to being debt free. I was referred by a friend who is now 100% debt free. I now make 1 payment at a lesser interest rate vs barely being able to keep up. While this whole process can be embarrassing/intimidating for some- they always made me feel at ease. I am thrilled with the updates I receive about how much progress I’ve made and how much I’ve paid off. I’d recommend debtwave to anyone looking to get out of debt!
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Southampton, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has been an excellent credit counselor for two reasons. First of all, before they even decided to handle my debt and the consolidation, they educated me on how to budget my money and to spend wisely. Debtwave did this because they are interested in keeping us truly debt free! Secondly, debtwave removed the stress from this process by dealing with my creditors directly; no more calling multiple agencies, and running around paying bills at multiple deadlines. Debtwave made things simpler, easier and more organized.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Savannah, GA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have had wonderful success with DebtWave! They are very helpful when it comes to helping me pay off my debt.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Saint Cloud, MN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I’m so glad I signed up. Debtwave has helped me get my debt under control.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Rahway, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Friendly and helpful customer service representatives! They have really given peace of mind over financial burden!
    Read More
  30. User Score
    8
    October 27th, 2014
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The customer service reps at DebtWave are very friendly and helpful. I felt relief right away and am on the right track to becoming debt free!
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Mckinney, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debt Wave offers good customer service and is easy to get started on. Having only one payment verses seven makes life a lot easier. The company is accredited with the BBB and the reps are pleasant to work with.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Fort Irwin, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I can say that debtwave consistently keeps me informed on what going on with my account by sending me monthly stats on my payments. When i first called debtwave i had a million questions and they took the time and effort to see to it that my questions were answered. They are also very respectful over the phone unlike other companies that i had the displeasure of talking to.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Pittsburgh, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has changed my life. I used to be so frustrated with all of my bills and having 100 different due dates. Now with debtwave I have one monthly payment and I don’t have to worry about making payment deadlines or late fees. It’s awesome! Definitely recommend it!
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Mckinney, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    One of the best debt management companies around. They have a professional and friendly staff, and they provide excellent debt management. I highly recommend Debtwave if you want to get out of debt and lower your monthly interest rates and payments. Thanks Debtwave!!!
    Read More
  35. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Neenah, WI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    So happy I got set up with debtwave! Everyone has been so helpful and easy to work with! It’s been a great experience!
    Read More
  36. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Mountain View, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has been extremely helpful from the start. I would recommend them to anyone who is serious about getting out of debt. I haven’t had any issues with them in over a year.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Tuttle, OK
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave is helpful. That’s the bottom line.

    I was paying out debts on many accounts. Our debt was growing out of control after I left military service and had difficulty getting a job. In a moment of clarity, I called Debtwave for help.

    They walked me through the process of debt consolidation and gave me a timetable for eliminating these debts. They called me back after seeking my creditors and negotiating with them. They kept me in the loop on how things were progressing on the debt front. I could focus my energy on my education and getting a better job.

    Now, with less than two years to go on our debt, we see big things in our future. Debtwave has been with us every step of the way.

    Read More
  38. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Wayne, NJ
    2 people found this review helpful!
    One payment to go!!! Thank you to Debtwave for making paying off my debts easy! Your customer service reps are professional and always willing to help. I was very uneasy when I first signed on because I was waiting for “The Catch” to a gimmick. You were the real deal and I thank you!
    Read More
  39. User Score
    8
    October 27th, 2014
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave is different than any other debt consolidation company I’ve researched. Your credit does not get destroyed further while you are in the process of paying off debt, which is a big bonus. Customer service is friendly & knowledgeable. No penalties for paying off your debt sooner than planned.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Fremont, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debt wave has been a great help to me with my debts and I am blessed to have them. They have helped me to become financially debt free step by step and I just want to say thank you.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Spring Branch, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been entirely satisfied with Debt Wave Credit Counseling. The process was easy to start and I really enjoy the monthly feedback on my account.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far a great experience! Nice people and great options! They help me set something up that was in my price range and didn’t take advantage either!
    Read More
  43. User Score
    8
    October 27th, 2014 Las Vegas, NV
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has been a no hassle company. They lowered all my interest payments and now i have just one payment to male vs 8.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Henderson, NV
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Detailed and caring when it comes to your personal finances. Customer service is friendly and they strive to work hard for you. I’m glad to be with this company in becoming debt free.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Nashville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave saved me! I was swimming in credit card debt, and now I only have about 6 months left to pay it all off! So simple, the staff is friendly, and you pay off debt quick! I have ZERO complaints.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Los Angeles, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been with debt wave for a few years now, and with their help I have almost paid off all of my debt! I am about 3 payments away from being completely debt free! I have referred them to everyone I know and will continue to do so. They have a wonderful customer service department and are quick to return all phone calls. If you are in the market for a debt management company you will not regret choosing debtwave!
    Read More
  47. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Methuen, MA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has been excellent. Very personal and understanding. Customer service did everything they could to help me in my current situation as well as worked with me throughout my time on the program so far.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Nashua, NH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    have been a great help to me and help me get back on track and be debt freee!!!
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2014 Saint Petersburg, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very pleased with my service from DebtWave. I was originally very wary of these types of companies but did my research and have been very pleased with DebtWave and their very friendly and helpful staff.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    9
    October 27th, 2014 Rocklin, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I couldn’t have found a better company for consolidating my debt for me.. they got my payments low, and they keep me updated on everything from debt left to what I can do to pay off faster. I really appreciate their level of service and the agent I talk to couldn’t be friendlier or knowledgeable. Im glad I chose to go with them
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.2 /10