Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 4,021 Real Customer Reviews

cesi_solutions
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#16
cesi_solutions

CESI

CESI has been in business for over 26 Years. Undisclosed up-front and monthly fees.

Our Score
4.1
User Score
3.6

Visit Site

Our Score
4.1
User Score
3.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly service fee
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
26 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
No

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
12

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 27, 2019

  • Money-back guarantee CESI offers a 100 percent money back guarantee, which is uncommon in the industry and can be very beneficial to customers if they are not satisfied with the services they receive.
  • Lack of transparency: CESI doesn’t disclose the actual interest rates offered on consolidation loans and doesn’t disclose the up-front or monthly fees associated with using their services. 
  • Long tenure in the industry: CESI has a long track record at 26 years of operation. This is above average in the industry.
  • Lawsuits: CESI has been a part of two lawsuits, one of which has involvement with the IRS, alleging that the company was abusing its non-profit status and operating more like a for-profit institution. This is very troubling and should be considered before committing to using their services.
  • Multiple industry accreditations: CESI has NFCC, FCAA, and AICCCA accreditations. This shows a willingness on the company’s part to address concerns, have books audited, and comply with sound business practices. CESI also provides clients with certified credit counselors.
  • Poor customer service: Customers have often complained over poor communication with CESI’s customer service and slow speed. There have been complaints of confused customer service agents and generally lackluster client care overall.
  • Our recommendation: Due to their lack of transparency and poor reviews, we recommend another company for debt consolidation and counseling services such as Consolidated Credit.

Price

Prices are undisclosed at this time.

Up-Front Fees

Prices are undisclosed at this time.

Free Consultation

A customer representative can provide a free preliminary financial consultation over the phone. In addition, the website has a “Debt Relief Calculator” tool that is useful for estimating your debt management plan before talking to a counselor.

Time in Business

26 years. They have been in business since 1991.

Debt Education

The website provides many resources such as videos, articles and webinars which can be utilized to increase your financial understanding. There is also an online education course called the CESI University Curriculum which is an instructional program that can be accomplished from home free of charge.

Cancellation Policy / Money-Back Guarantee

There is no penalty for canceling before the debt management program is complete. This program is not contract-based, and therefore does not hold the customer to any binding agreement. CESI Solutions provides customers with a 100% Satisfaction guarantee. Upon entering into a debt management plan, the customer has six months to decide if the program is meeting expectations. If you decide to terminate service, you will be reimbursed for all the service fees paid up to that point.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

CESI Solutions only manages unsecured debt such as credit cards, medical bills, and past-due utility bills. Secured debts like your home or car cannot be included in the debt management plan.

Mobile-Friendly Site

Yes, they offer a mobile friendly site. Although there isn’t an official mobile app, the website looks great. It functions sufficiently on mobile devices while offering a smooth and comfortable user experience. Tools such as the Debt Relief Calculator function properly.

Contact Information

Email Address:

[email protected]

Address: 

3700 Barrett Drive

Raleigh, NC 27609

Business Hours:

Agents are available between the hours of 8 a.m. and 9 p.m. EST.

Services Provided

In addition to debt management and consolidation, CESI Solutions also offers housing, credit and bankruptcy counseling as well as financial education resources. The Assure Money Services is a suite of services designed to help older adults with disabilities as well as their caregivers. This company also provides Representative Payee services to SSA beneficiaries. Lastly, WiseTrac is offered to employers who wish to offer financial education courses to their employees. This service can also be utilized by individual customers looking for a way to expertly track their income and thus gain financial control.

Minimum Debt Accepted

The minimum debt level to qualify is $2,500.

Online Dashboard

CESI offers an online dashboard for their customers through the CESI website. Once a customer’s account is active, they are able to monitor their financial accounts and ensure their benefits are being applied properly.

CPFC Certified

CESI’s counselors are certified within 6 months of employment by agencies such as Association of Independent Consumer Credit Counseling Agencies (AICCCA), the Association for Financial Counseling Planning and Education (AFCPE), the National Institute for Financial Education (NIFE), and the Center for Financial Certifications.

ISO Certified

CESI is  not ISO certified.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

12 CESI Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

5
2
1
1
3
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2019 Atlanta, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Cesi has helped me pay off my debt that I could not handle on my own. I have nothing but good feedback for Cesi. Customer service has been great for me. As I cards are paid off, I can call and update the balances and they handle these changes right away. This is my last month is the program and I am very thankful for all they helped me accomplish.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    April 13th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’m not sure where or who the bad reviews are dealing with, but I’ve been in the CESI program for 3.5 years with one more to go to get our debts paid off. I have been nothing but pleased. From the get go we knew what the negotiated rates were with each credit company. we also knew there was a$30 per month fee. Every time we have been on the phone with their staff, we have had superb folks who were respectful and helpful.
    I’m thinking the bad reviews must be confused with a diff company. If not, just because you queued your debt up to begin with is no fault of theirs.
    I LOVE CESI! I recommend it highly!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    1
    January 14th, 2019 Mount Shasta, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They reached out to me and made it sound like a completely different kind of program. When I called to cancel, the rep on the phone got very defensive and threatened to send a recording of our conversation to his supervisor. Who is who I asked to talk to in the first place. Very unprofessional, and put me on hold without even telling me. DONT SIGN UP FOR THIS PROGRAM!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    October 25th, 2018 Fresno, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE YOUR BANK INFORMATION!!!!!! I was double billed my first month in this program and they refused to fix their error. Their representative told me that it was my bank’s responsibility to fix CESI’s errors and refused to refund my money or transfer me to a supervisor. Extremely shady and predatory conduct AVOID.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    September 19th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    A very scary encounter to say the least. I spoke with a person who I thought was a representative of this company only to realize after a long 45 minute conversation of exchanging my information to this so called cesi employee that she was not an employee of there’s at all. Now I have fears of identity theft ! I’ve spoken to at least 4 more representatives of this company and have come to no resolution. Iwill get to the bottom of this I think they’ve forgotten one thing I can find out who has pulled my credit and I’m hoping they back there word with the fact she was not there employee.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    May 9th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Poor customer service and an unwillingness to address and rectify concerns.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 3rd, 2018 Hollywood, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This is a great program for people that really need help with debt. They also share a lot of content to help you during and after.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    April 23rd, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Not taking responsability for their mistake and following up on what they told you.still looking forward to talk to a supervisor of a manager and not happening so far.still asking for recorded conversation to be sent to my email to show that they’ve done the mistake and messed up my credit score and still no response.
    It is a very dysfunctional company.
    DON’T DO IT.
    I’M LOOKING INTO LEGAL HELP.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    1
    February 8th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I was told numerous times that this consolidation would not affect my credit. I was on time with all my payments when I signed up for cesi. I consolidated only because I was told that they would reduce my payments and it would never affect my credit score. I have several recordings proving the so-called promise. Documents were never sent on time and I had to do everything. I would not recommend this company.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    8
    January 24th, 2018 Alamogordo, NM
    1 people found this review helpful!
    \ere over $10K in debt after Bush stk mkt meltdown, lost job, sold home in IN as a short sell when we joined CESI in 2010> Knocked cr.cd debt down by reducing interest to 10% or less We’ve saved over $17K in interest alone thks to Sen.Elizabeth Warren setting up CFPA
    Only complaint is original cost was $25/mo but last year it jumped to $75 but I credit them for listening to me when I negotiated a reduction to $50/mo for less impact on our debt relief pan When we paid off a bill, just a phone call switched pay’ts to another bill &/or added a cr.cd but now U have to wait 90days to add a cr.cd> Still its worth a B+ rating so I gave ’em an 8 as after 10 years am almost outa’ debt (owe $4K) mostly auto loan tho for grandson’s HS grad gift
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    September 24th, 2015 Lafayette, LA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Because of how slow they work, my credit has gone from bad to worst, im making calls to creditor and once i tell them what a creditor wants them to do, they still dont do it. things has been pending for 3 months, ok so how long do you wait before getting back with a creditor. Don’t know how to get out of this mess, without messing up the the few they did get accepted into the program. submitted paperwork to them over 2 weeks ago and my acct is still not updated.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    3
    July 26th, 2014 Tucson, AZ
    13 people found this review helpful!
    I have rated CESI, below Average, as I have been experiencing some “confused”, employees, who can’t seem to get the paperwork right. I have been having trouble with SS with DD, and it’s been more frustrated for me, as I try to sort out my current bills and payments. I hardly ever hear from CESI, whether, I am doing good, bad, or indifferent to paying off some existing accounts to which CESI, has payment control. I think I can do as good a job on my own, and save me $43 per month, which I don’t understand this fee, or any one that charges a fee for this alleged “non-profit” business. Then there is the question of whether or not CESI, is available 24/7, as “advertised”. So, I may drop CESI, and go it alone, on the existing “creditors”, and take the “challenge”. Thanks.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
4.1
User Score
3.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly service fee
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
26 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
No

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
12
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
26 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425