Best Debt Companys

166 Companies 2,767 Real Customer Reviews

tax_defense_partners
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#10
tax_defense_partners

Tax Defense Partners

Tax Defense Partners has only been in business since 2014; they help with all tax problems and negotiation services.

Our Score
5.6
User Score
1.9

Visit Site

Our Score
5.6
User Score
1.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Case by case basis
$5,000-7,500

Time in Business

total # of years
2014

B-

Services

Variety of services offered
8/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: December 6, 2016

Tax Defense Partners is a young company, founded in 2014, with a small, dedicated team. As a full-service tax debt relief company, they claim to settle cases quickly and efficiently, and they pride themselves on being “Customer Centric.” Unfortunately, negative customer feedback calls into question how effectively they achieve their company goals.

Rank Chart
Price (flat-fee)
Time in Business
Review

#1

$2,500-3,000
1997

#2

$2,000-5,000
2010

#3

$1,500-2,500+
2001

#10
tax_defense_partners

$5,000-7,500
2014

The Good

American Society of Tax Problem Solvers

The full team of Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys and CPAs at Tax Defense Partners are Certified Tax Resolution Specialists of the American Society of Tax Problem Solvers. The ASTPS provides tax resolution training and specialized education services for industry professionals.

Full Range of Tax Relief Services

The list of tax relief services offered by Tax Defense Partners is fairly exhaustive, covering pretty much any need a customer might have in regard to IRS problems. These include help with Unfiled Tax Returns, Wage Garnishments, Bank Levies, Tax Liens, Payroll Taxes, Audit Representation, Penalty Abatement, and even Foreign Bank Account Reporting.

Positive Review Summary

On our website, there is really only one positive review from a customer. Most of the reviews are negative. The one positive review is an 8 out of 10 from a customer who got a free consultation about an IRS problem with one of their agents. A willingness to give free consultations is a good sign of a helpful company.

The Bad

No Refund Information

Unfortunately, we were unable to obtain any specific information about a money back guarantee. This is not a good sign, as a great refund policy would be a selling point. Indeed, this might be a contributing factor to many of the negative customer complaints on our website.

Young Company

This is one of the youngest companies in the industry, founded in 2014, which might be a problem for some people. Being only a few years old means they haven’t had time to establish a reputation yet.

BBB Score

On top of this, their Better Business Bureau score is only a B-. While this is not a terrible score, by any means, many of their competitors have maintained solid A+ scores. The lower BBB rating is the result of outstanding customer complaints, according to the BBB website, though to be fair, at the time of this writing, there only seems to be one unresolved complaint.

Negative Tax Defense Partners Reviews

This is where we begin to see the real problem with Tax Defense Partners. They have accrued numerous bad reviews from customers on our website, with multiple scores of 0 and 1 out of 10. The complaints are about the same things:

  • Insanely high fees
  • Absurdly long processes
  • Agents who are hard to get hold of

Compare to the top rated tax debt relief companies

The Bottom Line

More than anything, the sheer number of negative reviews gives us pause. If there were more positive reviews to balance it out, it might make a difference, but that hasn’t happened. The lack of a clearly defined refund policy is also troubling. They do offer a wide range of services, but with so much negative feedback, it is hard to recommend them. Customers are advised to looked elsewhere, though as a young company, maybe Tax Defense Partners will improve over time.

View More Tax Debt Relief Companies

Tax Defense Partners’ Pricing

The price for TDP’s services will vary from case to case, scaled to the services needed to properly represent the client and solve the tax problems that are present. The company makes it clear that the flat amount is determined from the very beginning, provided they have the information they need from the client. They don’t charge for faxes, photocopies, correspondence, or meetings, as law and accounting firms often do.

Some sources suggest that you can expect a $5,000-7,500 flat fee for services. In order to get an accurate quote for your specific case, just request a free consultation.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies
  • Wage Garnishment

The company also offers the following services:

  • Unfiled Tax Returns
  • Payroll Taxes
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreement
  • FBAR
  • Audit Representation
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Collection Statute Expiration Date
  • Full Representation
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible

Minimum Debt

You must owe at least $10,000 to the IRS to be considered for Tax Defense Partners’ services.

About Tax Defense Partners

With its focus on customer experience, Tax Defense Partners seeks to earn your respect. The company employs a minimum of 16 “touch-points” with clients during the process of the tax problem resolution services. These touch-points are times when the company will contact a client to advise on the status and progress of the case, ask for further information, or actively representing the client.

Rush Limbaugh has even sponsored the company by saying: “You don’t want to fight this fight alone. You need the “heavyweights” in your corner. Tax Defense Partners are THE experts and the only tax resolution firm I recommend. If you owe $10,000 or more in back taxes, have unfiled returns, or are under audit, they can help.”

States They Work In

Tax Defense Partners has qualified licensed professionals for all state and territorial tax jurisdictions.

Contact Info

Phone: 800-600-4300
Hours: NA
Website: taxdefensepartners.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 6345 Balboa Blvd., Bldg IV, Encino, CA 91316

Price

The price for TDP’s services will vary from case to case, scaled to the services needed to properly represent the client and solve the tax problems that are present. The company makes it clear that the flat amount is determined from the very beginning, provided they have the information they need from the client. They don’t charge for faxes, photocopies, correspondence, or meetings, as law and accounting firms often do.

Some sources suggest that you can expect a $5,000-7,500 flat fee for services. In order to get an accurate quote for your specific case, just request a free consultation.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

TDP offers services as needed to taxpayers with at least $10,000 in controversy. (If you owe less than that and you have a clean IRS record, including all your taxes filed, you can work out a payment plan directly with the IRS.) Those who owe more than $20,000 have the most relief options with Tax Defense Partners.

Time In Business

TDP was founded in 2014 and has represented over 15,000 taxpayers since that time.

BBB Rating

Tax Defense Partners has no rating with the BBB.

Types of Services Available

The staff at TDP is equipped to help clients who are going through the following struggles:

  • IRS back taxes owed
  • Wage garnishes
  • Bank accounts levied
  • Liens filed
  • Unfiled tax returns
  • Businesses that owe payroll taxes
  • Assets seized
  • Denial or termination of previous installment agreement

Specific relief solutions include:

  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Installment Payment Plans and Partial Pay Installments
  • Filing services
  • Innocent Spouses Relief
  • Properly disclosing offshore bank accounts
  • Freedom of Information requests
  • Collection Statute Expiration Date (CSED)
  • Resolving payroll tax problems
  • Recouping from investment fraud or losses from Ponzi schemes

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They are members of the American Society of Tax Problem Solvers (ASTPS), the American Bar Association (ABA) and National Association of Tax Resolution Companies (NATRC).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with all tax relief companies, it’s difficult for them to give you the most detailed information until you have provided them with plenty of information yourself and they have had a chance to dig into it.

Refund Policy

After paying the initial fee to hire Tax Defense Partners, clients have a full week (seven days) to cancel enrollment for a full refund. After that, the refund decreases depending on the work that has been done on the case.

Up-Front Fees

Up- front fees vary. Depending on the steps they need to take and the time required, TDP charges 30-50% of the total fee upfront before they begin working.

Contact Information

E-Mail:

[email protected]

Address:

6345 Balboa Blvd.
Encino Office Park Bldg. IV
Suite 285
Encino, CA 91316

Business Hours:

7:00-5:00pm PST Monday-Friday

 

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

10 Tax Defense Partners Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

5
3
1
1
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    7
    April 22nd, 2016 Branford, CT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    All issues I previously had with Tax Defense Partners have been resolved.The issue was handled professionally and in a fair time frame.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    April 9th, 2016 Gainesville, VA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Partners are only interested in one thing…your hard earned money. Very unprofessional. When transmitting sensitive info via internet, they don’t even send the info encrypted! I got a bad feeling from the first conversation . The person I spoke with sounded like a sleezy telemarketer, only interested in how fast I could send $$$. Don’t walk away from these people…RUN FAST!!!
    Any problem you have with the IRS, will become worse, after wasting your time and money with these clowns.
    After I told them I wasn’t interested they have continues to harass me with phone calls and emails.
    If they continue I will file a complaint with the FTC.
    DON”T BELIEVE A WORD THEY SAY, IT”S ALL BULLSXIT!!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    April 7th, 2016 Branford, CT
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They talk a good game,but it is all about how much you can pay.I paid $1000 retainer and was told I had 7 days to change my mind.I did change my mind because they wanted $7500 to continue their service and asked for a refund of my original retainer,was told it was used up on their service,this was all in 48 hours.They also tried to hook me up with a loan service to pay their fee,enorm ously high interest rates,that is when I pulled the plug.They play on your desperation.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    1
    February 8th, 2016 Concord, NC
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Said they could only reduce the penalties the IRS levied against me not the main tax liability; This was never mentioned.ITs A RIPOFF!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    July 14th, 2015 Pharr, TX
    6 people found this review helpful!
    I started with TDP and paid $2000 up front. A month Later I was laid off. I continued to pay TDP $500 per month for 6 more months till my money ran out. I finally got a job but it was commission only in the oil sales field. It started out good then the bottom fell out of the price of oil per barrel, market. They kept telly me they were going to make a deal with the IRS but never did and it is a year and a half later. Now, no one from their company is returning my calls to them. Stay away. A waste of my $5000.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    May 24th, 2015 Marietta, GA
    7 people found this review helpful!
    These people are crooks. They talk a big talk and then ignore emails, give bad advice, filed an appeal on our tax matter without even discussing it with me. We had forms that needed to be filed. and it was premature to file an appeal without our having to be able to get all our filings done. I was working with one woman that told me not to ask for an extension of the appeals hearing, it was scheduled and we were told not to file any paperwork the appeals officer was asking for but to send it to them instead. I was told we would get an automatic extension of 90 days anyway which was a bold lie. We received a 14 day extension. Even the Appeals officer said this company were crooks and usually ended up doing more harm than good.We have revoked their power of attorney and are having our accountant handle the matter going forward. We’ve paid them 6,800.00 to do nothing. I am filing every complaint possible and attempting to get a refund for not providing the services we contracted them to perform. I have emails documenting all this and can prove they were irresponsible and neglectful of our case.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    1
    January 20th, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    6 people found this review helpful!
    I called and talked with Mr Mike Castaneda a year ago. My claim is not solved yet and the IRS sent me a letter stating they will begin seizing my property next month. I have paid in full the $6800 flat fee they charge. I have twice sent them the paperwork and background they have asked for. I would call or email them and not hear from them for weeks. They would tell me they were waiting on me to send them something. When I pointed out I had and proved it from my set file, they would say we will get on this right away. I am now told since I have the money in an account to settle this debt, send us the money and we will negotiate the penalties down.

    So the fox goes into the hen house and then we negotiate for the chickens.

    When I told them they advertise nationwide on their negotiating federal and state debt down to minimal amounts, I was emailed two options: empty one of my accounts to pay the debt OR pay $10,000 more than I owe the IRS in installments over 72 months. Those were my only options.

    I have gone weeks without hearing from them. During this past year, the Attorney handling my account went on leave for months. I did not learn this until after I got an “out of office” email reply from the individual. I called Mr Castaneda… and then got another phone call telling me this individual would be out of the office. Would have been nice to know since I received three more letters from the IRS during my wait to find out who was handling the claim.

    After numerous emails during this 11 months, no resolution in sight and now I feel the emails I receive from them are letting me know this is my fault for the extended resolution of my claims.

    But I do have my two options now…

    I would not recommend Tax Defense Partners to anyone for resolving IRS issues unless you have a lot of bank accounts and a year or more to wait for claims to be solved.

    Read More
  8. User Score
    9
    October 14th, 2014 Manassas, VA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I have a problem with the IRS, I had hired another Co. {{ Wall & Associat “they are a VERY bad Co. they do nothing to help” }}-
    Called Mr. Mike Castaneda at Tax Defence Partners, after he realized that I’m in a very difficult position, and that I’m with another “bad” firm –
    He did everything to help me, he give me good advices, what is best in my case, how to fight for my rights, he give me his direct # to call him direct, he really tried hard to help me – He did NOT charge me ANYthing but he helped me.- he his a good person to hire to fight for you.-
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    August 16th, 2014 Gaithersburg, MD
    6 people found this review helpful!
    This company has done nothing but take my money. Proceed at your own risk.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    1
    June 8th, 2014 South Holland, IL
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I owed 9,900.00 to the Feds. Said they could help, then wouldn’t take my calls, or call back! Screw them!!
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
5.6
User Score
1.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Case by case basis
$5,000-7,500

Time in Business

total # of years
2014

B-

Services

Variety of services offered
8/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
10
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
257