Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,509 Real Customer Reviews

tax-defense-partners
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#6
tax-defense-partners

Tax Defense Partners

Tax Defense Partners has only been in business since 2014; they help with all tax problems and negotiation services.

Our Score
6.7
User Score
5.2

Visit Site

Our Score
6.7
User Score
5.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Case by case basis
Undisclosed

Time in Business

total # of years
2014

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
No

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
24

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: February 9, 2018

Tax Defense Partners is a young company, founded in 2014, with a small, dedicated team. As a full-service tax debt relief company, they claim to settle cases quickly and efficiently, and they pride themselves on being “Customer Centric.” Unfortunately, negative customer feedback calls into question how effectively they achieve their company goals.

Rank Chart
Price (flat-fee)
Time in Business
Review

#1

$2,500-3,000
1997

#2

$999+
2010

#3

$1,500-2,500+
2001

#6
tax-defense-partners

Undisclosed
2014

The Good

  • American Society of Tax Problem Solvers
  • Full range of tax relief services
  • Positive review summary
American Society of Tax Problem Solvers

The full team of Enrolled Agents, Tax Attorneys and CPAs at Tax Defense Partners are Certified Tax Resolution Specialists of the American Society of Tax Problem Solvers. The ASTPS provides tax resolution training and specialized education services for industry professionals.

Full Range of Tax Relief Services

The list of tax relief services offered by Tax Defense Partners is fairly exhaustive, covering pretty much any need a customer might have in regard to IRS problems. These include help with Unfiled Tax Returns, Wage Garnishments, Bank Levies, Tax Liens, Payroll Taxes, Audit Representation, Penalty Abatement, and even Foreign Bank Account Reporting.

Positive Review Summary

On our website, there is really only one positive review from a customer. Most of the reviews are negative. The one positive review is an nine out of ten from a customer who got a free consultation about an IRS problem with one of their agents. A willingness to give free consultations is a good sign of a helpful company. There has also been one review stating that all of their issues with Tax Defense Partners has been resolved and gave the company a seven out of ten.

The Bad

  • No refund information
  • Young company
  • Negative Tax Defense Partners reviews
No Refund Information

Unfortunately, we were unable to obtain any specific information about a money back guarantee. This is not a good sign, as a great refund policy would be a selling point. Indeed, this might be a contributing factor to many of the negative customer complaints on our website.

Young Company

This is one of the youngest companies in the industry, founded in 2014, which might be a problem for some people. Being only a few years old means they haven’t had time to establish a reputation yet.

Negative Tax Defense Partners Reviews

This is where we begin to see the real problem with Tax Defense Partners. They have accrued numerous bad reviews from customers on our website, with multiple scores of zero and one out of ten. The complaints are about the same things:

  • Insanely high fees
  • Absurdly long processes
  • Agents who are hard to get hold of

Compare to the top rated tax debt relief companies

The Bottom Line

More than anything, the sheer number of negative reviews gives us pause. If there were more positive reviews to balance it out, it might make a difference, but that hasn’t happened. The lack of a clearly defined refund policy is also troubling. They do offer a wide range of services, but with so much negative feedback, it is hard to recommend them. Customers are advised to looked elsewhere, though as a young company, maybe Tax Defense Partners will improve over time.

View More Tax Debt Relief Companies

Tax Defense Partners’ Pricing

The price for TDP’s services will vary from case to case, scaled to the services needed to properly represent the client and solve the tax problems that are present. The company makes it clear that the flat amount is determined from the very beginning, provided they have the information they need from the client. They don’t charge for faxes, photocopies, correspondence, or meetings, as law and accounting firms often do.

Tax Relief Services Offered

TDN helps with a variety of tax debt circumstances. One of the biggest problems they solve for customers is stopping the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies
  • Wage Garnishment

The company also offers the following services:

  • Unfiled Tax Returns
  • Payroll Taxes
  • Offer in Compromise
  • Installment Agreement
  • FBAR
  • Audit Representation
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Collection Statute Expiration Date
  • Full Representation
  • Innocent Spouse Relief
  • Currently Not Collectible

Minimum Debt

You must owe at least $10,000 to the IRS to be considered for Tax Defense Partners’ services.

About Tax Defense Partners

With its focus on customer experience, Tax Defense Partners seeks to earn your respect. The company employs a minimum of 16 “touch-points” with clients during the process of the tax problem resolution services. These touch-points are times when the company will contact a client to advise on the status and progress of the case, ask for further information, or actively representing the client.

Rush Limbaugh has even sponsored the company by saying: “You don’t want to fight this fight alone. You need the “heavyweights” in your corner. Tax Defense Partners are THE experts and the only tax resolution firm I recommend. If you owe $10,000 or more in back taxes, have unfiled returns, or are under audit, they can help.”

States They Work In

Tax Defense Partners has qualified licensed professionals for all state and territorial tax jurisdictions.

Contact Info

Phone: 800-600-4300
Hours: NA
Website: taxdefensepartners.com
Email: Contact Form
Address: 6345 Balboa Blvd., Bldg IV, Encino, CA 91316

Price

The price for TDP’s services will vary from case to case, scaled to the services needed to properly represent the client and solve the tax problems that are present. The company makes it clear that the flat amount is determined from the very beginning, provided they have the information they need from the client. They don’t charge for faxes, photocopies, correspondence, or meetings, as law and accounting firms often do.

Minimum Tax Debt Accepted

TDP offers services as needed to taxpayers with at least $10,000 in controversy. (If you owe less than that and you have a clean IRS record, including all your taxes filed, you can work out a payment plan directly with the IRS.) Those who owe more than $20,000 have the most relief options with Tax Defense Partners.

Time In Business

TDP was founded in 2014 and has represented over 15,000 taxpayers since that time.

Types of Services Available

The staff at TDP is equipped to help clients who are going through the following struggles:

  • IRS back taxes owed
  • Wage garnishes
  • Bank accounts levied
  • Liens filed
  • Unfiled tax returns
  • Businesses that owe payroll taxes
  • Assets seized
  • Denial or termination of previous installment agreement

Specific relief solutions include:

  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Installment Payment Plans and Partial Pay Installments
  • Filing services
  • Innocent Spouses Relief
  • Properly disclosing offshore bank accounts
  • Freedom of Information requests
  • Collection Statute Expiration Date (CSED)
  • Resolving payroll tax problems
  • Recouping from investment fraud or losses from Ponzi schemes

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Professional Associations

They are members of the American Society of Tax Problem Solvers (ASTPS), the American Bar Association (ABA) and National Association of Tax Resolution Companies (NATRC).

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free initial consultation. As with all tax relief companies, it’s difficult for them to give you the most detailed information until you have provided them with plenty of information yourself and they have had a chance to dig into it.

Up-Front Fees

Up-front fees vary. Depending on the steps they need to take and the time required, TDP charges 30-50 percent of the total fee upfront before they begin working.

Contact Information

E-Mail:[email protected]
Address:
6345 Balboa Blvd.
Encino Office Park Bldg. IV
Suite 285
Encino, CA 91316

Business Hours:
7:00-5:00pm PST Monday-Friday

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

24 Tax Defense Partners Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

8
3
1
3
9
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    9
    July 19th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It starts with a really bad year and it escalates till you get to the point of having to find a lawyer to help.
    Combination of having no money and fear of the IRS makes the process frightening
    After a recommendation from a friend I hired Tax Defense Partners. April L. was Amazing. I give her a 10
    The process to get to her I rate an 8. You start with the pitch, and I am sure you are stressed if you are doing this. Pay attention. Read the acceptance letter carefully. You will get a lot of correspondence at first, ALOT of different people and I never knew who did what. Never an exact walk thru of the process and it added some stress. Finally I was assigned a case manager. April L. was mine :she is Great. Listened to my concerns, fears and some dumb questions on my end. I am so grateful to April, the resolution was beyond my hopes and expectations. I finally feel I can plan a life. Thank you April
    Read More
  2. User Score
    8
    June 3rd, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My wife and I were several years behind on our federal tax payments. We tried negotiating with the IRS ourselves and even hired our long time CPA to help out. All of this was to no avail. We faced years of burdensome high back tax payments, and possibly bankruptcy. With the help and assistance of Tax Defence Partners they worked out a solution with the IRS that saved us thousands of dollars per year. They helped us get our financial situation under control and gave us a feeling of confidence and peace for our financial future.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    February 27th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They just want your money, and you are not a person to them nor a company. You are merely a means to squeeze more money out of something. I needed just 6 line adjustments and they wanted to charge me $1000 for the right to go over SIX lines. I had never felt so cheated.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    February 19th, 2018 Burbank, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Partners helped me with my bankruptcy last year. They were very helpful and answered my questions in a timely manner. These guys are very professional and definitely know what they’re doing. They even helped me almost a year after my case. If you want your bankruptcy done in a timely manner, go with Tax Defense Partners. They’ll make you feel less stressed about filing. Great service.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    9
    February 16th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Honestly, the cost was high for me, but in the end worth it. When I started with TDP i was unable to keep any money in my bank accounts for fear that the IRS or the California State Franchise Tax Board was going to take it all. I haven’t made a ton of money in my life and I didn’t file or pay my taxes, Federal or State for many years. It seemed like a hopeless mess. TDP was able to clear it all up. I no longer have liens on my accounts and I am in repayment. They are very professional in their conduct. I highly recommend.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    January 23rd, 2018 Madison, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Partners is a amazing group of people. They helped me when I needed them and made Taxes so simple instead of a headache for me. I would like to thank them for being such a wonderful team and I can’t wait to file my taxes with them again this year and get back my tax returns. 100% Recommended !
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Tax Defense Partners was there for me when I needed them. At the time I was dealing with so many obstacles in my life and the IRS was one of them. Their team kept things professional and were compassionate and understanding of my situation. I believe they did everything in their power to help me and I’d like to thank them for that. Tax Defense Partners are in my opinion one of the best firms out there. Sure, you might be able to find a tax attorney who will charge you less but the results would be correspondent with the price you pay. If you are looking for a quality firm that brings you results that you will be satisfied with, then Tax Defense Partners are your best bet.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 La Crescenta, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am extremely satisfied with my experience with Tax Defense Partners and am thankful that I found out about them just in time to take care of my taxes. I needed to make sure that my taxes were filed correctly since I had issues with local tax attorneys in the past. TDP was over-achieving in every aspect and definitely knew what they were doing. I had trouble with the IRS and owed them a nice chunk of money but their team came to the rescue. They nearly erased my debt and saved me a great deal of money … they dealt with the IRS on my behalf and I am beyond happy with the result. Thank you again for everything!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    December 19th, 2017 Glendale, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The IRS had put a lien on my house and I was really struggling to settle the debt due to so many complications in my life. I’m glad I found Tax Defense Partners because without them I would have never heard the end of it from the IRS. I went on their website which was very user friendly and immediately navigated to tax debt relief where I found the tax lien option. I contacted them through their website and got a response within the hour, scheduled a meeting with one of their team members in their Encino office and the rest is history. They settled my debt far better than I could have imagined and relieved me of the stress of dealing with the IRS. Very professional and extremely friendly. Communication is key and I believe they did a great job. The results speak for themselves! Thank you TDP!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    0
    December 14th, 2017 Thayne, WY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    You’d be better off hiring a local tax accountant, who will probably charge you a bit less than that of TDP. Not only did they not even attempt to have taxes, including penalties and interest reduced, no liens were removed either. They also failed to call into the IRS for a scheduled telephone call on “our behalf” as our Power of Attorney.
    They missed several filing deadlines, along with taking over a year to file after receiving all necessary information to do so. Once filed, income, expenses and vehicle mileage were entered with different figures other than that of which they were given, as well as filing under the wrong filing status. And now every year of taxes filed (nine in total) by TDP must be amended and refiled.
    They have been dragging their feet and stalling to resolve this for us for five months now. They were paid their $5,500, so what do they care? I just wish reviews would have been read prior to using this company because there are more bad reviews than good!
    These types of companies need to be stopped from taking advantage of and profiting from someone already in bad financial situation. They prey on the desperation and vulnerability of people who owe thousands, even tens of thousands of dollars to the IRS. Watch for yourself at http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/taxmasters-patrick-cox-hit-200-judgment/story?id=16040652 (Please do yourself a favor and watch all video clips). Ironically the CEO of Tax Defense Partners and the founder of Tax Masters both have the same name! Go figure!!

    You can make a formal complaint to the California Attorney General at:
    https://oag.ca.gov/contact/consumer-complaint-against-business-or-company

    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Communicating with the IRS sounds simple, but the more questions they ask, the harder it gets. With Tax Defense Partners on my side, I don’t have to worry about saying or doing the wrong thing. They always had the answers and were great at guiding me along the way. I’ve seen them handle the toughest situations in a calm and professional matter because they really know what they are doing and care about their clients.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Thankful to have found Tax Defense Partners when I did. They resolved my IRS tax problems and I immediately felt relieved of the unwavering stress that had taken over my life due to my financial situation. No matter what you are facing, they will be able to help.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I could not be happier with Tax Defense Partners’ service. I was overwhelmed by the amount of times the IRS tried to contact me about issues on my record, but I didn’t know how to resolve them. Thankfully the experts at TDP were able to clear things up! After one meeting with them I knew they would be the best choice to help me with my situation. I always recommend them to friends and family who need tax resolution services
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    November 28th, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    April and the team from Tax Defense Partners really helped my family overcome a huge IRS problem – we got slapped with major back taxes but fortunately contacted TDP after hearing about them on Rush. Now we use TDP for our taxes in order to avoid further issues with the IRS. Thank you April and TDP!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    October 26th, 2017
    2 people found this review helpful!
    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! THEY ARE SCAM ARTISTS AND PROMISED TO NEGOTIATE WITH THE IRS. I DID EVERYTHING THEY ASKED AND PAID THEM $4000. I RECEIVED A CERTIFIED LETTER YESTERDAY FROM THE IRS STATING I OWE $5000 MORE THAN WHEN I STARTED WITH THIS GROUP. THEY DID NOT DO ANYTHING BUT TAKE MY MONEY!!! I COULD HAVE USED THAT MONEY TO HELP PAY MY TAXES!!! EVERY TIME I CALL THEM THEY SAY THE PERSON IN CHARGE OF MY CASE WILL CALL ME BACK. I HAVE YET TO GET THAT CALL. I WILL BE CONTACTING THE BBB.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    0
    September 29th, 2017 Montague, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    An absolute terrible company,,,they ripped me off for 3K and have done nothing for me, in fact they act like the IRS, totally arrogant ass-holes
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    April 7th, 2016 Branford, CT
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They talk a good game,but it is all about how much you can pay.I paid $1000 retainer and was told I had 7 days to change my mind.I did change my mind because they wanted $7500 to continue their service and asked for a refund of my original retainer,was told it was used up on their service,this was all in 48 hours.They also tried to hook me up with a loan service to pay their fee,enorm ously high interest rates,that is when I pulled the plug.They play on your desperation.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    1
    February 8th, 2016 Concord, NC
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Said they could only reduce the penalties the IRS levied against me not the main tax liability; This was never mentioned.ITs A RIPOFF!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    July 14th, 2015 Pharr, TX
    10 people found this review helpful!
    I started with TDP and paid $2000 up front. A month Later I was laid off. I continued to pay TDP $500 per month for 6 more months till my money ran out. I finally got a job but it was commission only in the oil sales field. It started out good then the bottom fell out of the price of oil per barrel, market. They kept telly me they were going to make a deal with the IRS but never did and it is a year and a half later. Now, no one from their company is returning my calls to them. Stay away. A waste of my $5000.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    May 24th, 2015 Marietta, GA
    9 people found this review helpful!
    These people are crooks. They talk a big talk and then ignore emails, give bad advice, filed an appeal on our tax matter without even discussing it with me. We had forms that needed to be filed. and it was premature to file an appeal without our having to be able to get all our filings done. I was working with one woman that told me not to ask for an extension of the appeals hearing, it was scheduled and we were told not to file any paperwork the appeals officer was asking for but to send it to them instead. I was told we would get an automatic extension of 90 days anyway which was a bold lie. We received a 14 day extension. Even the Appeals officer said this company were crooks and usually ended up doing more harm than good.We have revoked their power of attorney and are having our accountant handle the matter going forward. We’ve paid them 6,800.00 to do nothing. I am filing every complaint possible and attempting to get a refund for not providing the services we contracted them to perform. I have emails documenting all this and can prove they were irresponsible and neglectful of our case.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
6.7
User Score
5.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Case by case basis
Undisclosed

Time in Business

total # of years
2014

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
No

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
24
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
214