Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,068 Real Customer Reviews

#4
mtTQEvDEg0nY8zJdv0xv45PZsiNLohDmhs2rgxX3

StopIRSDebt.com

StopIRSDebt.com is a member of the ASTPS and the NATP

Our Score
8.2
User Score
6.0

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(844) 204-1767

Our Score
8.2
User Score
6.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$1,500-2,500+

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

No

Number of Reviews

43

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 24, 2019

  • 50-state availabilityStopIRSDebt.com is state accredited, licensed, and bonded to practice in all 50 states.
  • Limited guarantee: StopIRSDebt.com offers a money back guarantee on a case by case basis, so it doesn’t apply to everyone. It’s best to consult a representative to see if you apply. 
  • Free consultation: Consumers will be connected with tax professionals to assess the financial situation of the caller and to determine the best plan of action all for free.
  • Limited pricing information: Like many other companies, prices are case-by-case, so a clear pricing structure is not available.
  • Our recommendation: StopIRSDebt.com provides a variety of services with a qualified staff trained to address for large and small tax issues. We encourage potential clients to take advantage of their free consultation. However, since they lack concrete pricing information and more versatile money back guarantee, at this time we recommend another company such as Optima Tax Relief or Tax Defense Network.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at StopIRSDebt.com below.

1-(844) 204-1767

43 StopIRSDebt.com Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

13
3
1
1
5
20
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    March 19th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I paid all this money to these people for the IRS to send me papers saying pay immediately wtf they had me send papers for abatement they said it takes 9 months to get it if this doesn’t clear ill sue them for all my money and what I owe the IRS
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    March 14th, 2019 CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    THIS IS THE BIGGEST RIP OFF COMPANY ON THE INTERNET. THEY HAVE TAKEN $4500 OF MY MONEY AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ON MY ACCOUNT. I’M OUT ALL OF THE MONEY THAT COULD HAVE GONE TO WHAT I OWE THE IRS. YOU CAN NEVER GET AHOLD OF ANYONE, AND WHEN YOU DO THEY DON’T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. THIS IS THE WORST SERVICE EVER. IM HAVING TROUBLE NOW STOPPING MY DIRECT PAYMENTS TO THEM AND THEY KEEP SUCKING MORE MONEY OUT OF MY ACCOUNT. THEY ARE LIARS AND THIEVES
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 San Francisco, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Helped me so much with tax relief & working on letters
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    January 29th, 2019 Lewes, DE
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This is the worse company I have ever dealt with. They just want your money and they don’t care if you get your taxes taken care of. The customer service is a joke and if you think your dealing with attorneys your not. They are data pushers and they don’t fight for you. Your better of doing it yourself. Go to IRS.gov and type in search box OIC booklet and it will explain how to deal with the IRS. The IRS are a lot nicer to deal with instead of these clowns. #stopirssucks
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    December 7th, 2018 Washington, DC
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Horrible service, promise reduction in debt and only added to it with their costs. After I requested to cancel the service, they started to ignore my emails and calls. This service doesn’t provide anything that a tax payer can’t do themselves. Months after requesting a refund, I’m still waiting and pursuing legal action.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    December 3rd, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Should have taken care of it my self they did not save me at all now i am on a payment with irs and tbey still soak me in penaltys find another company or do it yourself i hope i can save at least 1 person from getting ripled off
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    November 16th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    All a lie. Was told they would settle my account with monthly payments. Never heard anything else after that phone conversation. The next thing I hear from anyone is a GARNISHMENT from my bank. Entire account was wiped out without notice. S C A M. Paid them $1200 in advance, for NOTHING. BBB is not helping at all.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    October 30th, 2018 Hastings, NE
    4 people found this review helpful!
    We Paid $4200 for services and Nothing was done. They lied and said they stepped in and negotiated a settlement with the IRS Attorney for our 2013 Audit. I called the IRS Attorney and she verified that she NEVER Talked to them and that she would not have. We were told we would get a breakdown of services and that it would take 5-7 business days. We waited 3 months and Nothing. I send emails and have called and get no response from them unless I post a bad review and then when I asked for a response in regards to the refund options they wanted to discuss. NOTHING!! Ultimately we ended up paying the IRS $13,139.88. We were told they were going to handle our 2013 and 2014 Audits and amend our 2015 and 2016 taxes. None of this was done. We will continue to post negative reviews until they do the right thing and give us a refund because they DID NOT do what they said they were going to do.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    October 3rd, 2018 Cokato, MN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    These people have a tendency to forget who the CUSTOMER is in their business dealings. If you call their offices, you will be put on hold indefinitely. Any correspondence sent to you via email is sent at an obscure time, so it may be a day or 2 before you will discover you have received an email from them.

    They settled my case with IRS with no prior notification to me. I received a letter from IRS informing me of this settlement; at a monthly rate I cannot afford, after being told by their “salesman” that I would dictate the amount I would pay on a monthly basis back to IRS. The reason I cannot afford this monthly payment is because a few weeks prior to me receiving this letter from IRS; they contacted me via telecom and informed be the amount I owed IRS was more than they had initially figured, and that I owed them an additional $1500. Not knowing they had already settled my case, I agreed to the $1500 paid over a 6 month installment. They were very quick to get the contract for me to sign and return. My original contract payments totaling $2500.00 ended on 10/18. After contacting their “accounting dept.” which after numerous attempts I never got through to them to work out an additional payment agreement I could afford, a very rude young lady named “Susan” got on the phone and informed me “you CAN afford to pay this, we have you financials and we know what your expenses are”.

    After this 2nd installment I will have paid these shysters over $4,000.00, not including the extra $300 I paid them to do my 2017 tax return. DO NOT CONTACT THESE PEOPLE TO SETTLE YOUR IRS ISSUES, hire a tax attorney or accountant at half the price and get REAL results.

    Read More
  10. User Score
    1
    September 19th, 2018 West Columbia, SC
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I paid this company thousands of dollars. The last contact I had was when one of their employees called me and said there were additional years that needed done. I told her to let me know what I had to pay and I just wanted it taken care of. After many attempts to contact them I recently spoke to an executive that said my account was closed. She said they had mailed me something that needed signed and never got it back. I told her I never received it. At that point she said she was on anothr call and would get back to me. That was last week. I have checked old emails, text and phone messages, and apparently I am using the wrong number because there isnt anything there.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    1
    September 12th, 2018 Liberty, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I would not recommend this company, A lot of the promises that were made in regards to reducing tax debt were untrue. For a fee of $3000, all they did was negotiated a payment schedule with the IRS: something I could of done myself.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    4
    August 20th, 2018 Ravenswood, WV
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They are good with knowing the IRS forms and helping set up payment plans, but their customer service is horrible, they simply won’t answer questions on a so called, one on one, it gets confusing at times, all the forms etc. and when you ask them for help, they simply don’t answer. Also, they don’t tell you when they are , final, with you or how your case is going. If you call them, you will get the “run around” and usually they say they will send you an email but don’t count on it. They must be a big business and I would guess, work better with someone who has Big money problems, I owe the IRS about 5 grand but paid StopIRS almost 2 grand, and I think they are done with me as they havent answered none of my questions in the last couple of months, I havent skipped no payments and still owe them a few hundred , they do let you set up automatic payments. Would I use them again ? Not sure, can’t answer that now.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 6th, 2018 Encino, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone was always so helpful and tried to help me in any way possible. At times, I might have been a pain in the butt, but I am happy that they never let me down. My case was finalized in about 8-9 months and my case manager always kept me informed through email, text, and calls. I am happy to say I can now sleep at night.Thank you to StopIRSdebt.com for helping me resolve all my tax issues..
    Read More
  14. User Score
    0
    May 31st, 2018 Cambridge, MA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Was told by sales rep that I had a great case and they should be able to resolve this easily, and that most settlements were for 1% of the money owed. After 3 yrs the contacted me and said there was nothing that could be done since I had assets. Thus, I paid my tax liability including 3 years of accumulated interest. Add the $4,500 I paid Stop IRS debt and it would have been cheaper just to have paid the original amount. When I asked them about the 1% settlement they stated that was for people with zero money and no assets.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    April 12th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is a complete scam. I was in a payment plan prior to contacting StopIRSDebt.com. After 5 months, they were “successfully” able to negotiate a payment plan in the exact amount I had prior set up. So now, I am 5 months behind on payments to the IRS where I would of been on my own. And I’m out the amount of money I sent to these scam artists. They have terrible communication after the first initial contacts to get you signed up. It took 3 emails and 4 phone messages to finally hear back from someone. I DO NOT recommend this company. It is a waste of time and money only to set you back extra time and payments towards your actual debt.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    0
    March 11th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    As soon as I signed and paid, the person who did my consultation and intake disappeared from contact. One day he says that we are going to be talking often; the next and the next no response to emails or calls. Two weeks or so later, I got an email from a new person saying she would be working with me. In a few days, same thing. For every 10 emails I sent, I got 0-1. Then, I got a statement from .CA tax board, saying I owed thousands for a year I did not work or owe, and it threatened a bank levy. First if all, why was I getting this threat when StopIRSDebt was supposed to halt any potential action? Second, why was I being threatened for a debt I did not owe?! If StopIRSDebt had even just answered my frantic calls or emails, and looked into this, it would have certainly been resolved and dismissed as an error. Later, on my own, I was able to make CA realize it was a mistake, but by then it was too late as CA FTB had levied tens of thousands from my bank account. Once they knew it was an error they were reimbursing me, but IRS intercepted all of it. It was treated like a tax refund instead of a mistake. I had had a “currently non collectible” status, AND- once again, StopIRSDebt had not done anything about addressing the IRS either!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    February 9th, 2018 Waipahu, HI
    5 people found this review helpful!
    This company is a joke!!!!! I paid them 6900.00. Prior to hiring them I had a payment plan with both the state in which I reside for state taxes and with the IRS. Monthly payments made on time no levy to my bank accounts all which I set up on my own. After hiring them to try and get some relief from my taxes, I sent them soooo much documentation they asked for after a year of nothing my accounts were levied and drained which they told me would not happen. The 6900.00 I paid them I could have put toward my actual bill continue with my monthly payments and would have cleared my state tax debt and lien. After back and forth emails and excuses they offered me 500.00 can you believe that 500.00 after paying them 6900.00 and I was in a better position prior to hiring them. As I am aware of the saying “you can’t please everyone” and believe in it this is totally different this company took money from me and did absolutely NOTHING for me and left me in a worst position then I was before contacting them. I hope no one else goes through what I have because it left me broke and in debt for over a year before I got back on my feet.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    October 31st, 2017 Roseville, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    After three years, I received an email stating that I could contact the IRS for my payment arrangements but I have never been told how much I owe or what has been done to reduce the P&I. The account manager was incredibly rude and her supervisor decided not to be helpful and hide out behind an email alias.

    I would never recommend these people to anyone and will do everything in my power to spread the word about what a horrible value they provide – TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Read More
  19. User Score
    1
    September 23rd, 2017 Omaha, NE
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Started with Stop IRS in February of 2017, It is now nearly October. Nothing has been done except me sending them papers that they requested and several I have had to send twice. I cannot get anyone to answer the phone, I have received no relief from the IRS and in fact they kept my 2016 tax refund since this company has done nothing that they said they could, not even tried to my knowledge. They only thing they have done is collect their fees, I should have applied these to my back taxes instead of sending it to them and I would be way ahead. Whatever you do stay away from this rip off company.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    December 14th, 2016 Asheville, NC
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I am very happy with the results this company achieved for me. I was trying to buy a home and owed well over 50,000. I also have a government contract job and am NOT allowed to have any liens under my name for security reasons. My CPA told me to take a loan and pay in full, and the IRS told me if I did not pay it all I could not get rid of the lien. Afraid to lose my job and not be able to purchase the home I was living in I called for help. I spoke to Nicole and she was very helpful. She was honest and did not tell me mythical stories like some of the other places I called. She gave me a plan and told me what it would take. The girl I spoke to regularly was Ariana. She was friendly and almost always available. I did experience some higher hold times during Sept and Oct.. but it was explained to me that it was just the time of year. This proved true because in Nov and this month (Dec), I’ve had no issues at all. I followed all the instructions they gave me and in about 4 months time my case was done. We followed a special plan, lifted the lien and I type this from my home that I was able to close on! Thank you to all the fabulous ladies at Stopirsdebt.com. I am VERY happy I call you all.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.2
User Score
6.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$1,500-2,500+

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

No

Number of Reviews

43
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

243