Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,590 Real Customer Reviews

#4
StopIRSDebt.com Reviews on BestHomeSecurityCompanys.com

StopIRSDebt.com

StopIRSDebt.com has mixed reviews from customers. The company is accredited, and potentially has high fees for their tax relief work.

Our Score
8.2
User Score
6.0

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(844) 204-1767

Our Score
8.2
User Score
6.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$1,500-2,500+

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

No

Number of Reviews

47

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: July 1, 2019

StopIRSDebt.com offers tax relief, tax preparation, and audit service for individuals and businesses

Pros

Nationwide Accreditation and Availability

StopIRSDebt.com is state accredited, licensed, and bonded to offer help on tax problems in all 50 states. The company holds both of the major accreditations in the tax relief industry: ASTPS (American Society of Tax Problem Solvers)and NATP (National Association of Tax Professionals)

Positive StopIRSDebt com Reviews

Overall, Best Debt Companys has more positive reviews for StopIRSDebt.com than negative. Customers really like how helpful the customer service at StopIRSDebt.com is. A lot of our reviewers have worked with StopIRSDebt.com through their entire tax relief case, and no longer owe the IRS money.

Requires a Low Minimum Debt to Enroll

To sign up for StopIRSDebt.com’s services, you only need to owe $5,000 in taxes. Most tax debt companies, including our other top companies, requires each customer to have and enroll $10,000 in back taxes. For those who owe less than $10,000 on their tax case, StopIRSDebt.com may the best company for you.

Cons

Limited Money Back Guarantee

StopIRSDebt.com offers a money back guarantee on a case by case basis, so it doesn’t apply to everyone. It’s best to consult a representative to see if you apply.

Unknown Pricing Structure

Like many other companies, prices are case-by-case, so a clear pricing structure is not available. Pricing will depend on the amount of work you need done by StopIRSDebt.com – the amount you owe and the complexity of your situation. Of course the more help you need with your case, the more money it will cost.

The company states that they can help with your tax return for as little as a few hundred dollars. Simple tax resolutions range from $1500-2500 each. Those looking for tax debt relief can call StopIRSDebt.com for a free consultation and cost estimation on their case. StopIRSDebt.com will often allow for interest-free financing.

Negative Reviews

While there are many positive reviews of StopIRSDebt.com, most of the reviews in 2019 have been negative. The biggest complaints we’ve seen for STopIRSDebt.com are…

  • Cost. Many customers feel that the fees for StopIRSDebt.com are too high. People report paying as little as $1,200 and as much as $6,900 – sometimes up front. Try to get price estimates from multiple companies before choosing one to help with your tax debt.
  • No reduction in the amount owed. Several reviewers said that the company didn’t lower the amount they owed at all with the IRS. The company’s customer service reps did not seem to help with this.

Our Recommendation

StopIRSDebt.com provides a variety of services with a qualified staff trained to address for large and small tax issues. Although they may have good customer service, their tax relief cost may be higher than other companies. We encourage potential clients to take advantage of their free consultation, but to also compare them to our top tax relief companies.

To speak to a representative at Stop IRS Debt, call 1-(855) 790-7087


About StopIRSDebt.com

StopIRSDebt.com provides tax relief services for individual customers and businesses. In addition to their tax relief expertise, the company can also help with tax preparation and audits. They have enrolled agents, tax attorney, and certified public accountants, although Stop IRS Debt’s website says that these professionals may not be available at all times.

Tax Relief Services Offered

Specific tax relief services provided by Stop IRS Debt include…

  • Accurate filing of tax returns
  • End wage garnishment
  • End bank levy
  • End interest
  • Penalty Abatement
  • Lift tax levies and liens
  • Stop IRS collection notices
  • IRS payment plan
  • Representation for IRS audit
  • Offer in compromise
  • Innocent spouse

The company works with state tax debt as well as federal debt. While you only need $5,000 in debt to work with the, StopIRSDebt.com can also work with a customer who has a high tax debt amounts – over $1 million.

Tax Relief Steps

  1. After a free consultation, Stop IRS Debt will collect all your tax information in order to form a plan. They will also pick a tax relief representative for your case.
  2. If the IRS is automatically taking back tax money from you, Stop IRS Debt will work to end wage garnishment, interest, penalties or more. They will then investigate your case.
  3. Once your master tax file has been investigated, they will negotiate a lower payment or a specific tax relief service, depending on your case.

Tax Preparation Services

The best way to avoid penalties with the IRS is to file your taxes correctly the first time. Stop IRS Debt works with individuals and companies on tax returns. For businesses, they also offering bookkeeping at a monthly price.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at StopIRSDebt.com below.

1-(844) 204-1767

47 StopIRSDebt.com Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

14
4
1
1
5
22
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    July 18th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    IRS figured my 2014 taxes incorrectly sending me a refund followed by a notice that there had been a mistake in my taxes and I owe $22,000.00 .Hired StopIRSDebt.com and informed by one of their employee approximately 10 minutes ago and I quote ” the IRS did Not fill out my taxes”, repeated more than once. Never have taken kindly to being called a liar. I’ve been taught , point the finger at someone, your pointing 3 back at yourself. Further more, they don’t work on your case for 10 months after you hire them while they collect your money for this service all the while racking up more interest for you to owe to the IRS.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Springfield, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were so helpful in helping me settle with the IRS.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Communication is great from the team, prompt and courteous
    Read More
  4. User Score
    1
    May 28th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Very much did not due what I paid them to do then they don’t contact you at all its been 16 month to me if you could not do nothing at least tell me.nevrt received any paperwork that they sent the irs I just think there is No way I would use them
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    March 19th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I paid all this money to these people for the IRS to send me papers saying pay immediately wtf they had me send papers for abatement they said it takes 9 months to get it if this doesn’t clear ill sue them for all my money and what I owe the IRS
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    March 14th, 2019 CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    THIS IS THE BIGGEST RIP OFF COMPANY ON THE INTERNET. THEY HAVE TAKEN $4500 OF MY MONEY AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ON MY ACCOUNT. I’M OUT ALL OF THE MONEY THAT COULD HAVE GONE TO WHAT I OWE THE IRS. YOU CAN NEVER GET AHOLD OF ANYONE, AND WHEN YOU DO THEY DON’T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. THIS IS THE WORST SERVICE EVER. IM HAVING TROUBLE NOW STOPPING MY DIRECT PAYMENTS TO THEM AND THEY KEEP SUCKING MORE MONEY OUT OF MY ACCOUNT. THEY ARE LIARS AND THIEVES
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 San Francisco, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Helped me so much with tax relief & working on letters
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    January 29th, 2019 Lewes, DE
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This is the worse company I have ever dealt with. They just want your money and they don’t care if you get your taxes taken care of. The customer service is a joke and if you think your dealing with attorneys your not. They are data pushers and they don’t fight for you. Your better of doing it yourself. Go to IRS.gov and type in search box OIC booklet and it will explain how to deal with the IRS. The IRS are a lot nicer to deal with instead of these clowns. #stopirssucks
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    December 7th, 2018 Washington, DC
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Horrible service, promise reduction in debt and only added to it with their costs. After I requested to cancel the service, they started to ignore my emails and calls. This service doesn’t provide anything that a tax payer can’t do themselves. Months after requesting a refund, I’m still waiting and pursuing legal action.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    0
    December 3rd, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Should have taken care of it my self they did not save me at all now i am on a payment with irs and tbey still soak me in penaltys find another company or do it yourself i hope i can save at least 1 person from getting ripled off
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    November 16th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    All a lie. Was told they would settle my account with monthly payments. Never heard anything else after that phone conversation. The next thing I hear from anyone is a GARNISHMENT from my bank. Entire account was wiped out without notice. S C A M. Paid them $1200 in advance, for NOTHING. BBB is not helping at all.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    October 30th, 2018 Hastings, NE
    4 people found this review helpful!
    We Paid $4200 for services and Nothing was done. They lied and said they stepped in and negotiated a settlement with the IRS Attorney for our 2013 Audit. I called the IRS Attorney and she verified that she NEVER Talked to them and that she would not have. We were told we would get a breakdown of services and that it would take 5-7 business days. We waited 3 months and Nothing. I send emails and have called and get no response from them unless I post a bad review and then when I asked for a response in regards to the refund options they wanted to discuss. NOTHING!! Ultimately we ended up paying the IRS $13,139.88. We were told they were going to handle our 2013 and 2014 Audits and amend our 2015 and 2016 taxes. None of this was done. We will continue to post negative reviews until they do the right thing and give us a refund because they DID NOT do what they said they were going to do.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    October 3rd, 2018 Cokato, MN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    These people have a tendency to forget who the CUSTOMER is in their business dealings. If you call their offices, you will be put on hold indefinitely. Any correspondence sent to you via email is sent at an obscure time, so it may be a day or 2 before you will discover you have received an email from them.

    They settled my case with IRS with no prior notification to me. I received a letter from IRS informing me of this settlement; at a monthly rate I cannot afford, after being told by their “salesman” that I would dictate the amount I would pay on a monthly basis back to IRS. The reason I cannot afford this monthly payment is because a few weeks prior to me receiving this letter from IRS; they contacted me via telecom and informed be the amount I owed IRS was more than they had initially figured, and that I owed them an additional $1500. Not knowing they had already settled my case, I agreed to the $1500 paid over a 6 month installment. They were very quick to get the contract for me to sign and return. My original contract payments totaling $2500.00 ended on 10/18. After contacting their “accounting dept.” which after numerous attempts I never got through to them to work out an additional payment agreement I could afford, a very rude young lady named “Susan” got on the phone and informed me “you CAN afford to pay this, we have you financials and we know what your expenses are”.

    After this 2nd installment I will have paid these shysters over $4,000.00, not including the extra $300 I paid them to do my 2017 tax return. DO NOT CONTACT THESE PEOPLE TO SETTLE YOUR IRS ISSUES, hire a tax attorney or accountant at half the price and get REAL results.

    Read More
  14. User Score
    1
    September 19th, 2018 West Columbia, SC
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I paid this company thousands of dollars. The last contact I had was when one of their employees called me and said there were additional years that needed done. I told her to let me know what I had to pay and I just wanted it taken care of. After many attempts to contact them I recently spoke to an executive that said my account was closed. She said they had mailed me something that needed signed and never got it back. I told her I never received it. At that point she said she was on anothr call and would get back to me. That was last week. I have checked old emails, text and phone messages, and apparently I am using the wrong number because there isnt anything there.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    1
    September 12th, 2018 Liberty, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I would not recommend this company, A lot of the promises that were made in regards to reducing tax debt were untrue. For a fee of $3000, all they did was negotiated a payment schedule with the IRS: something I could of done myself.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    4
    August 20th, 2018 Ravenswood, WV
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They are good with knowing the IRS forms and helping set up payment plans, but their customer service is horrible, they simply won’t answer questions on a so called, one on one, it gets confusing at times, all the forms etc. and when you ask them for help, they simply don’t answer. Also, they don’t tell you when they are , final, with you or how your case is going. If you call them, you will get the “run around” and usually they say they will send you an email but don’t count on it. They must be a big business and I would guess, work better with someone who has Big money problems, I owe the IRS about 5 grand but paid StopIRS almost 2 grand, and I think they are done with me as they havent answered none of my questions in the last couple of months, I havent skipped no payments and still owe them a few hundred , they do let you set up automatic payments. Would I use them again ? Not sure, can’t answer that now.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    June 6th, 2018 Encino, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone was always so helpful and tried to help me in any way possible. At times, I might have been a pain in the butt, but I am happy that they never let me down. My case was finalized in about 8-9 months and my case manager always kept me informed through email, text, and calls. I am happy to say I can now sleep at night.Thank you to StopIRSdebt.com for helping me resolve all my tax issues..
    Read More
  18. User Score
    0
    May 31st, 2018 Cambridge, MA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Was told by sales rep that I had a great case and they should be able to resolve this easily, and that most settlements were for 1% of the money owed. After 3 yrs the contacted me and said there was nothing that could be done since I had assets. Thus, I paid my tax liability including 3 years of accumulated interest. Add the $4,500 I paid Stop IRS debt and it would have been cheaper just to have paid the original amount. When I asked them about the 1% settlement they stated that was for people with zero money and no assets.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    April 12th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is a complete scam. I was in a payment plan prior to contacting StopIRSDebt.com. After 5 months, they were “successfully” able to negotiate a payment plan in the exact amount I had prior set up. So now, I am 5 months behind on payments to the IRS where I would of been on my own. And I’m out the amount of money I sent to these scam artists. They have terrible communication after the first initial contacts to get you signed up. It took 3 emails and 4 phone messages to finally hear back from someone. I DO NOT recommend this company. It is a waste of time and money only to set you back extra time and payments towards your actual debt.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    0
    March 11th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    As soon as I signed and paid, the person who did my consultation and intake disappeared from contact. One day he says that we are going to be talking often; the next and the next no response to emails or calls. Two weeks or so later, I got an email from a new person saying she would be working with me. In a few days, same thing. For every 10 emails I sent, I got 0-1. Then, I got a statement from .CA tax board, saying I owed thousands for a year I did not work or owe, and it threatened a bank levy. First if all, why was I getting this threat when StopIRSDebt was supposed to halt any potential action? Second, why was I being threatened for a debt I did not owe?! If StopIRSDebt had even just answered my frantic calls or emails, and looked into this, it would have certainly been resolved and dismissed as an error. Later, on my own, I was able to make CA realize it was a mistake, but by then it was too late as CA FTB had levied tens of thousands from my bank account. Once they knew it was an error they were reimbursing me, but IRS intercepted all of it. It was treated like a tax refund instead of a mistake. I had had a “currently non collectible” status, AND- once again, StopIRSDebt had not done anything about addressing the IRS either!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.2
User Score
6.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$1,500-2,500+

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

No

Number of Reviews

47
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

248