Best Debt Companys

166 Companies 2,767 Real Customer Reviews

#3
StopIRSDebt.com Reviews

StopIRSDebt.com

StopIRSDebt.com has resolved millions of dollars in tax debt across all 50 states; there is no minimum debt requirement

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.8

Visit Site

Get a Free Tax Relief Consultation   1-(855) 273-6690

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee
$1,500-2,500+

Time in Business

total # of years
2001

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
9/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
34

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: October 25, 2016

StopIRSDebt.com

StopIRSDebt.com handles a variety of tax situations that might affect the lives and businesses of the everyday working American. They are a full-service tax consulting and mediation firm offering fully certified and licensed CPA’s, Tax Attorneys and Enrolled Agents that can work across the United States.

Rank Chart
Price (flat-fee)
Time in Business
Our Score

#1

$2,500-3,000
1997
9.4

#2

$2,000-5,000
2010
8.9

#3

$1,500-2,500+
2001
8.4

The Good

StopIRSDebt.com is state accredited and licensed and bonded to practice in all 50 states, and since 2001, they have helped thousands of taxpayers and businesses resolve millions of dollars in tax debt. In one specific instance, the company was able to help a client resolve more than $7 million in back taxes with the client paying back less than one percent of what was owed.

Services Offered:

For individuals and businesses who owe IRS and/or state back taxes, clients can rest assured that their team of tax professionals and tax attorneys are able to defend them from IRS’s audits and collections issues. Their objective is to assist in ceasing wage garnishment and bank levies, file old tax returns and negotiate statements, represent personal and business audits, settle personal and business tax debts, among other tough tax issues. They offer services at a competitive price, but keep in mind, the tougher the job, the more clients will pay. They advise taxpayers and business owners to stay on top of their taxes to avoid getting tangled in the web of tax and IRS problems.

Free Consultation:

A free, no-obligation consultation and quote is offered by calling the number on the home screen., as well as be filling out an online application requesting a callback. Consumers will be connected with tax professionals and they claim to take the time needed to assess the financial situation of callers and to determine the best plan of action to resolve their tax dilemma. We appreciate this company’s aim to lay out all options for consumers to consider before enrolling with any of their services. Among the services offered, the company provides website visitors with a few resources to browse through to get them on the path to understanding the tax relief process.

Prospective clients should consider StopIRSDebt.com for the following reasons:

  • CPA’s, Enrolled Agents and Tax Attorneys on staff
  • Free consultation
  • Payment plans to fit each individual’s needs
  • Active social media presence
  • Accredited members with the ABA, ASTPS, and NATP

The Bad

While StopIRSDebt.com offers a rather comprehensive system and program to their clients, there are features and various services missing from the overall platform. These limitations should be considered prior to enrolling in the StopIRSDebt.com program. These drawbacks include:

Limited Pricing Information:

Like many other companies, prices are case-by-case, so a clear pricing structure is not available. However, they do offer a few generalizations:

  • A tax return will cost a “few hundred dollars”
  • simple tax resolution costs $1,500 – $2,500
  • A more complex tax return costs “thousands”

Guarantee:

There is no mention of a money back guarantee on StopIRSDebt.com. When asked about a money back guarantee or refund policy on their live chat, a company representative said individuals must talk to a tax specialist for answers.

Current Client Complaints:

Additionally, the company provides no insight to the backlash of each option available for consumers. For example, the popular Offer in Compromise (OIC) method typically requires a substantial upfront payment and a zero tolerance policy for noncompliance up to five years later. While installment agreements could take years to pay off and will continue to accrue interest.

The Bottom Line

StopIRSDebt.com provides a variety of services for consumers seeking options to tax relief efforts. They have CPA’s, Enrolled Agents, and Tax Attorneys on staff and boast an A+ BBB rating. This company is able to tackle small IRS debts as well as being one of the only companies able to tackle accounts worth over a $1 million. We would like to see more transparency surrounding the dynamics of relief efforts, but overall, we recommend taking advantage of the free consultation to determine if their team of qualified associates will be able to tackle your tax dilemma. Visit their site today!

StopIRSDebt.com Pricing

StopIRSDebt.com is one of the only companies in this industry that gives a price range for its services on its site.Prices may vary depending on your situation, but the following is an example of their pricing services.

The charge to run a tax Power of Attorney (also known as a form 2848), is $1,500. To file for a few years of back taxes (simple tax resolution) was roughly quoted to be $1,500-$2,500. A more complicated tax return can be “in the thousands”. Of course the final cost depends on your specific tax debt situation. Price is based on how many billable hours there are to the tax attorney and the work that has been done up to the point that work is complete.

Services

StopIRSDebt.com offers a wide variety of tax relief services. The company will help stop the following forms of enforced collection:

  • Tax Liens
  • Bank Levies
  • Wage Garnishment
  • Other services include:
  • Tax return filing
  • Stop IRS notices
  • Create IRS payment plans
  • Audit defense
  • Offer in compromise
  • Penalties and interest
  • State tax debt
  • 941 business tax
  • Offshore banking
  • High dollar unit

Minimum Debt

Compared to other companies, StopIRSDebt.com has no minimum debt requirement.

About

StopIRSDebt.com offers great experience to supplement its great services. Over the past 12 years, the company has resolved millions of dollars in tax debt for thousands of taxpayers and businesses all over the country. The company has also released thousands of wage garnishments and bank levies – good news for those seeking these kinds of tax debt relief. Additionally, StopIRSDebt.com has maintainted an A+ rating with the BBB.

States Available

StopIRSDebt.com’s services is available in all 50 states.

Contact Info

Website: stopirsdebt.com
Email:  Contact Form
Address: 10100 Santa Monica Blvd., Suite 300, Los Angeles, CA 90067

Ratings Breakdown:

Time In Business

They’ve been in business since 2001.

BBB Rating

They are rated A+ with the BBB. Stop IRS Debt has the best rating available, with only two complaint filed, that have since been closed.

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes. There are actual attorneys that work for Stop IRS Debt, not just those that they consult with.

Professional Associations

They have members of the American Bar Association, ASTPS and NATP.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free consultation.

Refund Policy

If you needed to stop services with Stop IRS Debt, you simply pay for the work that has been done and can walk away if you choose.

Up-Front Fees

There are no fees up front. Once things get started there is a retainer fee of $1,500 to file for Power of Attorney for your taxes.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at StopIRSDebt.com below.

1-(855) 273-6690

34 StopIRSDebt.com Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
6
27
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    9
    June 24th, 2016
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Hired em to fix my garnisheers and leevys. They got it released like they said they would which made me happy. I think it took bout 2 days. Right now We are working on a compromise and I’m already in a hardship. If I end up with the hardship I’m standing real good, but hey, I will take that compromise too.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    June 2nd, 2016 San Francisco, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I am past due for this review. I owe the team at stopirsdebt.com a huge Thank you. My taxes were a mess. I did not file for 4 years. I had crazy high balances they said I owed, I was getting letters weekly threatening my accounts. I am not one that deals well with this kind of thing. I called this company when I found them online. I spoke to Neal and he was so pleasant. He was very down to earth and gave me hope this could be fixed. Here we are 6 months later and my returns are filed, i no longer get the horrible letters ANNND this year I finally am going to get a refund for the first time in lord knows how long. Thank you to all that worked on my account and helped me through this!!!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    May 6th, 2016 Baltimore, MD
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I personally had an EXCELLENT experience. Amanda, treated me with such kindness and always informed me as to what was going on. I had a small dry cleaning business in the Atlanta area and did not file my returns for 6 years. The THOUGHT of picking up any receipts and attempting to put these together just immobilized me. I really can’t deal. I ignored this all for so long the IRS sent me these big bills. I nearly had a panic attack. I am a single mother and could not afford what they were asking for. They said they were going to garnish my check and take my bank accounts.

    I called stopirsdebt.com and spoke to Olivia. She made me feel so much better. She told me they could handle all of it. She really calmed my nerves. As soon as I signed up I got a phone call immediately telling me that I had time and they placed a hold. I mailed my box of tax papers and receipts. Amanda even called me to tell me she got my box! They did all my tax returns and after this the number IRS had was knocked out! I mean I still owed since I never did pay anything but it was much less that what the IRS papers said. Amanda and the attorney Michael got information from me and they were able to get me on a 3 year plan of $25 a month!

    After I settled all this madness with the IRS, I then got letters from Georgia Department of Revenue. Can I just tell you these people are RUTHLESS. I thought maybe if I called them and sent them the papers from my settlement with the IRS they would do the same thing. Nope. Next thing I knew they were garnishing my paycheck. I had to call Amanda again and tell her what I did. I was a little embarrassed because I tried to do this one on my own since I now had confidence, but she never made me feel bad. She told me that they handle Georgia too and that they can get the state off my check.

    The woman I was dealing with at Georgia was nasty. She came out to my house, and called my job. Once I had amanda take this over for me, she stopped calling me. Within a few days the garnishment was fixed. We had to give Georgia all the stuff they were asking for. They ignored the papers I sent them, but accepted the returns stopirsdebt sent to them.

    I really felt that stopirsdebt.com outdid themselves and really took the IRS by the horns. I truly know I could not have handled all this on my own (I tried!). If I did I sure KNOW I would NOT have gotten these results nor do I think I would have been able to have gotten all the returns done by when I was supposed to. I really do owe them a big Thank you! An Amanda.. If I come out to Cali, I’m buying you a big Steak dinner girl!

    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    April 7th, 2016 Atlanta, GA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Hallelujah Stopirsdebt.com. Been paying them IRS tax people almost all my pay check for 3 years and wasn’t going nowhere. Couldn’t barely pay the light bill. I talked to Beth here and she helped me get my check back and get this thing done. I am a blessed man that I found them. Best thing I done in a while. No more tax problems for Mr. Jackson!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2016 Fort Lauderdale, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Filed my returns for last three years and represented us in an audit – favorably! – the customer service was superb and my dealings with the staff were simply wonderful. Terrific job.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    January 5th, 2016 San Diego, CA
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Brand new year and a fresh start with the IRS – all thanks to the rockstars at StopIRSDebt.com. Thanks Jade and the entire staff who did an awesome job for me, I know I asked a LOT of questions but you were there for me and I won’t soon forget it!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    November 24th, 2015 Denver, CO
    3 people found this review helpful!
    We got a letter from the IRS stating we owed well over $80,000 and my wife and I almost fainted! They were threatening to levy our wages and accounts, we found StopIRSDebt.com online, they seemed very reputable and had solid feedback (actually read some reviews here), so we hired them and they have done a great job for us from top to bottom. We have saved roughly 75% off of our tax bill and the monthly payments are very affordable. They aren’t that expensive, and you can spread the payments out over 6 months (you can full pay for a discount which might be better for some people who can pay in one lump sum). Compared to what we saved the fee was well worth it and the people are all very sweet and patient.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    November 20th, 2015 Encinitas, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Without a doubt they are the best I had to get all my returns filed and the wage garnishment against my accounts payable was lifted. No more tax problems for me, thanks to aaron and elizabeth, top notch and marks all around.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    November 10th, 2015 San Jose, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    BEST DECISION EVER! After living in tax hell for over three years we found this company through our family accountant and are so grateful that they took this item off of our worry list. Owed over $43,000 to the IRS and the State of California, had a couple levies on our bank accounts, and Elizabeth and the staff at Stop IRS Debt did a phenomenal job and now we are basically tax debt free, a small payment every month, all tax returns current and filed, and feel like we can breathe again. If they did financial planning, we would sign up no questions asked!!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    October 27th, 2015 Buffalo, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    So without a doubt these guys are awesome, had a debt, now it’s all gone – mostly – and no more headaches with the irs. Jade is superwoman.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    October 14th, 2015 Dublin, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    BEST TEAM EVER! The people assigned to my case were all so professional and they got me RESULTS. Really went above and beyond for me and I am forever grateful!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    September 28th, 2015 Colorado Springs, CO
    3 people found this review helpful!
    my account was handled near perfection and the irs officer/agent who kept calling and harssing me was finally put in check with their attorney who called and put and end to the endless threats. game changers. it’s so unfair how the irs is given a blank check and they can basically do whatever they want and bully people. thankfully I found this company and they stood up to him and now my tax debt issue is gone for good.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    September 12th, 2015 Walnut, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Best there is. Ask for Ben. Very helpful and very smart. Knew all of the IRS plans and was one good guy.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    August 31st, 2015 Sacramento, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    STOPIRSDEBT.com stopped the IRS bank levy within three days and we had this whole puppy wrapped up with a total savings well over twenty k in a couple months. Don’t think about hiring them, just do it. Pure awesomeness.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    August 28th, 2015 Fort Lauderdale, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I am so grateful to everyone at stopirsdebt for helping me take care of this tax debt and for holding my hand honestly don’t know what I would have done without you so THANK YOU!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    August 21st, 2015 Fort Lauderdale, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Perfect! Are the best! Was so helpful and easy to understand what they were going to do for me they laid out the plan and then step by stepp they took me from point A to point D and my tax debt is now a thing of the past. Payments were very affordable – not ‘cheap’ like some other firms I spoke to that felt like they were just out for my money and then I was gonna get lousy service – they were fair and honestly you get what you pay for. If you owe thirty thousand like I did you need to spend a little to save a lot and that’s what I did and it was 100% worth it in the end. Jade and Amanda were very cool helping me along the way and now I am debt free!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    9
    August 15th, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I am just so happy that the tax debt issue is behind me and thank you so much to julie and tamara, they were so sweet the entire time!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    August 7th, 2015 Phoenix, AZ
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Perfect service, couldn’t be happier, besides yelp this is honestly the only review I’ve ever posted online and it’s well deserved. They offered a very simple payment plan the fees were more than fair comparing them to some others I looked into, but just going with my gut and all the positive stuff people have written about them online I would’ve paid more, they really worked hard. So many times I called and spoke with people right away, there’s not an annoying auto attendant that puts you on hold – you speak to a REAL person each time. Imagine that! What’s really surprising is that they would call me each week, sometimes just to say hi, we’re still waiting on some documents to be processed but we’re here if you need us, it was an amazing focus on the customer. The owners have clearly done their homework, they must’ve been in hotel service before because I felt like they were a concierge service everything was so well organized and the people so well trained and friendly. Reminded me of american express, if you’ve ever called in, the reps are so smart and friendly. Anyways I’m going on too long, they are great, hire them.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    July 22nd, 2015 Las Vegas, NV
    1 people found this review helpful!
    was one of the best hirings we have ever done we saved a lot on the taxes and the irs and my cousin is using them now and is very happy too. better price than the other company we called and their office is so nice it is very professional and the people are so nice we want them to do all of our tax return each year so we don’t ever get in trouble like this again. especially nicole was very sweet. thanks.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    July 16th, 2015 Chicago, IL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    THANK YOU AMANDA! You are so sweet and you did such a good job for me I am happy to give you a very happy and positive review here. I don’t even remember why we got into trouble it was so long ago but I mean the IRS is so intimidating and you and stop IRS debt really came through, you were considerate and always called me just to even tell me nothing was happening just to make sure I was doing ok and to know I had an entire team on my side making sure I was SAFE. I honestly don’t even remember another company I have ever hired for anything that did this, stayed in touch so often, and held my hand like this. I definitely had problems with the IRS, I know I owed them because we messed up a while ago and didn’t file returns etc, but now am making a single payment, it’s a lot lower and the settlement we got is just amazing, we feel like we have a fresh start and a new outlook on things. Ok, long review here, hire them, ask for amanda if she’s available, but everyone there was so awesome so good luck!! :)))
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee
$1,500-2,500+

Time in Business

total # of years
2001

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
9/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
34
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Time in Business

total # of years
1997

A+

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
257