Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,224 Real Customer Reviews

#3
community_tax11

Community Tax, LLC

Community Tax charges a flat-fee pricing, instead of a percentage of your tax debt.

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.3

Visit Site

Call for a free consulation   1-(877) 699-8805

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2.5k-$4.5k

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

78

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: July 1, 2019

Community Tax has set out to create a new standard for the tax relief industry where the customer’s best interests come first. The company’s philosophy is that no client should pay full price for a service until they know what the options are and what kind of help can be expected. Community Tax offers tax professionals experienced in tax debt resolution, tax preparation, and bookkeeping/accounting.

Pros

Licensed Attorney

Community Tax, LLC takes care of its customers—each client has a state licensed attorney, a legal assistant, and a case manager assigned to his or her specific case in order to keep communication and settlement efforts cohesive and efficient. They guarantee a response to all client phone calls and emails within 24 hours and they care enough about their clients to cater payment options to each client’s unique financial circumstances.

Positive Reviews of Community Tax

Community Tax has one of the highest consumer ratings on Best Debt Companys – 9.3 out of 10! Many of these reviewers would recommend, or have already recommended, Community Tax. The most common praises we see for the company is its customer service. Community Tax reviewers describe the company’s customer service as excellent, helpful, and an overall great experience. Community Tax keeps people up-to-date and informed with their progress.

Here is a review from one of Community Tax’s customer in 2019:

Review of Community Tax on Best Debt Companys

Free Consultation

A free consultation is offered where a team of tax professionals is ready to help consumers discover the best and most affordable option for their tax dilemma. Whether consumers are simply seeking a company dedicated to getting tax returns prepared, or businesses seeking bookkeeping services, Community Tax representatives are available to go in depth and implement a resolution.

Flat-Fee

Clients will be assessed a flat-fee for the investigative services performed prior to determining which plan of action to take. After the initial investigation, an additional flat-fee is charged to cover costs allowing representatives to follow through to program completion. Company representatives have said they simply will not provide estimates due to the nature of each dispute, as it would be “irresponsible to provide such an estimate.” We appreciate this type of honesty from corporations, although a little more transparency in their pricing structure would help consumers feel rest assured their case will be handled with integrity. CTAX has also implemented a refund policy for consumers feeling uneasy about the lack of pricing information. If clients wish to back out, they have a couple of days to do so, in which a full refund of the up-front costs will be given. Afterward, clients may receive a partial refund on services not rendered; however, it’s important to keep in mind on any work they have completed, even the simplest of tasks, clients will not be issued a refund.

Cons

Time in Business

Founded by attorneys and bankers in 2010, this is a pretty young company amidst more experienced competitors. If you live in Minnesota, North Dakota, or West Virginia, you’ll need to look elsewhere for your tax relief needs, as they only extend their services to consumers across 47 states.

Lack of Transparency

When it comes to pricing, we appreciate those companies offer a flat-fee. This leaves little room for opportunities to impose additional or hidden costs, although we would like to see CTAX do more to offer some transparency concerning flat-fees; for example, what is the flat-fee for investigative services performed before taking action, or fees for filing tax returns? We understand each case is unique, but for preliminary services, even a broad range would help ease the minds of tax burdened consumers.

Our Recommendation

Community Tax has an impressive service list, as well as the numerous featured cases illustrating some of their most successful negotiations. Fully certified company representatives have helped resolve over $223 million on clients tax debt to date, and with being a new company in the tax industry, this is quite impressive. Community Tax’s policies and services are competitive. They offer flat pricing fee. We recommend calling Community Tax for a free consultation to evaluate your case at 1-(877) 699-8805.


Community Tax FAQ

How much does Community Tax charge?

On average, Community Tax charges clients $2,500-4,500. They do have some upfront fees, but Community Tax Relief will not turn clients away because of their inability to pay large upfront fees. Staff will work with individuals to set up a payment plan that works for their unique financial situations.

What type of tax debt does Community Tax work with?

Community Tax offers resolution options for these problems with the IRS:

  • Tax liens
  • Tax levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Tax penalties and interest
  • IRS audits
  • Unfiled tax returns
  • Investigations for tax levies and liens

The CT staff is experienced in implementing the following services:

  • Audit representation and reconsideration
  • Reducing tax liability
  • Investigations for tax levies and liens
  • Negotiating penalty abatement
  • Settling back tax debt
  • Amending tax returns
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Hardship and Complex Installment Agreements
  • Currently Non-Collectible
  • Bookkeeping services for businesses
  • Tax preparation and payroll tax help

How much tax debt do I have to have to enroll?

Community Tax will typically require $7,000 or more, but there is no requirement if unfiled.

What states do they work in?

Community Tax is available in 47 states across the country. The states excluded are: Minnesota, North Dakota, and West Virginia.

How long has Community Tax been in business?

They were founded in 2010.

 

What accreditations does Community Tax have?

They are members of American Society of Tax Problem Solvers (ASTPS),  National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP),  and members of their staff belong to the American Bar Association (ABA) and AIPCA.

On staff, they have enrolled agents, CPAs, and Tax Attorneys.

Do they offer a free consultation?

Yes, they offer a free consultation, but just like most other tax relief companies, they can only help so much without detailed information and really digging into a clients problem. They can definitely give you good initial direction.

Does Community Tax have a refund policy?

Client ability to get a refund varies. There is generally a 3-7 day period where the client is able to get a full refund for what he or she paid up-front. However, payment plans differ from person to person and refund options always depend on what work has already been done.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Community Tax, LLC below.

1-(877) 699-8805

78 Community Tax, LLC Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
2
5
11
57
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    9
    July 9th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I came to Community Tax for help. They did what they said they were going to do. My case advocate, Tessa is what I believe to be one of the companies greatest asset within their employees. She made everything practically effortless and help dissolve the stress which naturally comes with tax predicaments. This was one of my best financial decisions I have made in the past 15 years. Thanks Tessa and Thank you Community Tax!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    July 5th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Community Tax was simply the best from start to the completion of my case. The team that was assigned to work on my case delivered every service that was advertised regarding professionalism and resolving my IRS issues quickly. The money spent was well worth it!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Oak Park, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Attention to detail and they deliver results!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Wadesboro, NC
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They did an excellent job of helping me resolve a very difficult situation regarding my past taxes
    Read More
  5. User Score
    9
    July 2nd, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    All the people I dealt with at Community Tax were very helpful and prompt with their assistance. They took time to explain the process that would resolve my tax issues. I am grateful to them for all the help they provided me.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with community tax was excellent Erica answered all my questions to my satisfaction
    Read More
  7. User Score
    9
    June 29th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    for my experience in customer service mr. victor G a very professional gentleman know about hes job and have the answer for you five Diamond for hem .
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    June 28th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I would like to thank Patricia V from Community Tax for the excellent job she did with my back taxes. She kept me informed during the entire process and guided me through this problem. She has a great personality to calm me down while making sure I turned in all my documents on time. I will never forget how professional she was and will tell all my family , friends and associates about my great experience. Thank you Community Tax for your help . A special thanks to Patricia V for an outstanding job. Sincerely. Robert Johnson 06/27/2019.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    June 28th, 2019 Ukiah, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My husband and I felt trapped by our tax debt. We were desperate to get help in order to resolve our issues before they got any worse. Saul H saved us! Mr. Herrara and the rest of the Community Tax team gave us our life back. I’m not sure exactly what he did, but I know that we had no idea where to even start. Tax law is extremely intimidating, but Saul took care of everything while we focused on other things. He was very kind to take his time to explain what was going on and always got back to us when we had any questions. We will recommend Saul H to anyone that needs tax help.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    June 28th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Community Tax far exceeded expectations. The support and communication provided from each agent, especially Ms. Jasmine G, throughout the process was nothing short of stellar, and resulted in the satisfactory resolution of my issue. THANK YOU Jasmine and THANK YOU Community Tax!!!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    June 28th, 2019 Marcus Hook, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This was the worst financial decision I have made in more than 20 years. I paid over $7500.00 to help with my tax issues and all I got were lies, shoddy returns, case mismanagement, and an unresolved tax situation that I need to hire more help to fix.
    1. They told me they could stop my liens, garnishments and levies. Nope I got all 3.
    2. Mismanaged my case from the beginning. My case advocate frequently did not know what was going on with my situation. Never did.
    3. I was called to have meetings with them, then they would ask me what I wanted. They called the meeting!
    4. Took over two months to make simple amendments to the returns they filed for me costing em more in penalties and interest. These were simple, well documented deductions that needed to be included. Should have taken minutes to add and recalculate. Took months!
    5. Despite their needing to amend my returns my advocate would call me every two weeks and ask why I hadn’t signed them. And every time I would tell him they still needed to be fixed.
    6. I am having those returns reviewed by a different tax professional for resubmission. The ones community tax prepared looked like they were done by a teenager on Turbo tax.
    6. Had an hour long argument with my advocate about adjust my withholdings for 2018. They werent involved in my 2018 tax matters. For the record I got a return for 2018, no I did not file through Community Tax for that one.
    7. Finally, They negotiated a payment plan for my tax debt for 2015 and 2016 tax debt. and closed my case. No reduction in what I owed, penalties or interest, just a payment plan.
    8. Problem is that wasnt the year that had the big issue. The 2014 tax issue they charged me $5,000.00 for alone and didn’t even resolve it. Again, cause they never knew what was going on. Turns out I did not owe that year, but I have paid the IRS over $8,000.00 in garnishments, bank account reductions, bonus forfeiture and tax return forfeiture (2017 & 2018). So now I have to go yet another agency to see if I can get all that money back.
    Thanks for nothing Community Tax . This was an absolute disgrace!!!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    June 27th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax made a believer out of me! I didn’t think I could EVER get out from under the IRS’s thumb! Every step of the way was quick and easy! They always follow up with you, keeping you updated on every move! I’m so very grateful for everything they’ve done for me! I would recommend them to anyone and everyone who owes the IRS.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 27th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you Community Tax for always being there for me & my wife.
    Your Team is unbelievable. There are choices out there but I only recommend Community Tax.
    My last tow recent contacts with Christine & Daniel was excellent
    They Hope they continue to be a Part of your great company

    Best Regards Eugene.

    Read More
  14. User Score
    8
    June 27th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very pleased with how much you care.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    June 26th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent service and always staying in touch..
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    June 26th, 2019 Milford, CT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent customer service from beginning to end. I never felt alone or abandoned. Provided complete peace of mind.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    June 24th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Community Tax far exceeded expectations. The support and communication provided from each agent, especially Ms. Jasmine G, throughout the process was nothing short of stellar, and resulted in the satisfactory resolution of my issue. THANK YOU Jasmine and THANK YOU Community Tax!!!!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    June 24th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Community Tax far exceeded expectations. The support and communication provided from each agent throughout the process was nothing short of stellar, and resulted in the satisfactory resolution of my issue. THANK YOU Community Tax!!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    7
    June 24th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were able reduce my tax debt even there were some issues with the IRS but you were very helpful.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    June 22nd, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Saul H, my primary contact, worked professionally to resolve my IRS issues. He kept me informed on a regular basis through the whole process. I would recommend their services.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2.5k-$4.5k

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

78
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

243