Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,068 Real Customer Reviews

#3
community_tax11

Community Tax, LLC

Flat Fee Pricing

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.4

Visit Site

Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2.5k-$4.5k

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

38

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: April 24, 2019

The Good

  • Licensed attorney
  • Free consultation
  • Flat-fee
  • Educational articles

Licensed Attorney

Community Tax, LLC takes care of its customers—each client has a state licensed attorney, a legal assistant, and a case manager assigned to his or her specific case in order to keep communication and settlement efforts cohesive and efficient. They guarantee a response to all client phone calls and emails within 24 hours and they care enough about their clients to cater payment options to each client’s unique financial circumstances.

Free Consultation

A free consultation is offered where a team of tax professionals is ready to help consumers discover the best and most affordable option for their tax dilemma. Whether consumers are simply seeking a company dedicated to getting tax returns prepared, or businesses seeking bookkeeping services, Community Tax representatives are available to go in depth and implement a resolution.

Flat-Fee

Clients will be assessed a flat-fee for the investigative services performed prior to determining which plan of action to take. After the initial investigation, an additional flat-fee is charged to cover costs allowing representatives to follow through to program completion. Company representatives have said they simply will not provide estimates due to the nature of each dispute, as it would be “irresponsible to provide such an estimate.” We appreciate this type of honesty from corporations, although a little more transparency in their pricing structure would help consumers feel rest assured their case will be handled with integrity. CTAX has also implemented a refund policy for consumers feeling uneasy about the lack of pricing information. If clients wish to back out, they have a couple of days to do so, in which a full refund of the up-front costs will be given. Afterward, clients may receive a partial refund on services not rendered; however, it’s important to keep in mind on any work they have completed, even the simplest of tasks, clients will not be issued a refund.

Educational Articles

Within their impressive list of tax resolutions, the company does well to provide resources and educational articles to help the everyday tax payer achieve awareness and in-sight to all things tax related. In addition, CTAX provides an array of active social media accounts extending their knowledge base toward the general public.

The Bad

  • Time in business
  • Lack of transparency

Time in Business

Founded by attorneys and bankers in 2010, this is a pretty young company amidst more experienced competitors. If you live in Minnesota, North Dakota, or West Virginia, you’ll need to look elsewhere for your tax relief needs, as they only extend their services to consumers across 47 states.

Lack of Transparency

When it comes to pricing, we appreciate those companies offer a flat-fee. This leaves little room for opportunities to impose additional or hidden costs, although we would like to see CTAX do more to offer some transparency concerning flat-fees; for example, what is the flat-fee for investigative services performed before taking action, or fees for filing tax returns? We understand each case is unique, but for preliminary services, even a broad range would help ease the minds of tax burdened consumers.

The Bottom Line

Community Tax has an impressive service list, as well as the numerous featured cases illustrating some of their most successful negotiations. Fully certified company representatives have helped resolve over $223 million on clients tax debt to date, and with being a new company in the tax industry, this is quite impressive. Community Tax’s policies and services are competitive. They offer flat pricing fee. We recommend calling CTAX for a free consultation to evaluate your case, but be sure to get an accurate quote in writing defining prices for both investigative services as well as program fees before signing any contracts.

Pricing

On average, Community Tax charges clients $2,500-4,500.

Services

Community Tax offers resolution options for these problems with the IRS:

  • Tax liens
  • Tax levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Tax penalties and interest
  • IRS audits
  • Unfiled tax returns
  • Investigations for tax levies and liens

The CT staff is experienced in implementing the following services:

  • Audit representation and reconsideration
  • Reducing tax liability
  • Investigations for tax levies and liens
  • Negotiating penalty abatement
  • Settling back tax debt
  • Amending tax returns
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Hardship and Complex Installment Agreements
  • Currently Non-Collectible
  • Bookkeeping services for businesses
  • Tax preparation and payroll tax help

Minimum Debt

Community Tax will typically require $7,000 or more, but there is no requirement if unfiled.

About

Community Tax has set out to create a new standard for the tax relief industry where the customer’s best interests come first. The company’s philosophy is that no client should pay full price for a service until they know what the options are and what kind of help can be expected. Community Tax offers tax professionals experienced in tax debt resolution, tax preparation, and bookkeeping/accounting.

States They Work In

Community Tax is available in 47 states across the country. The states excluded are: Minnesota, North Dakota, and West Virginia.

Time In Business

They were founded in 2010.

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes—ALL of the CTR negotiators are full-time, licensed tax attorneys.

Professional Associations

They are members of American Society of Tax Problem Solvers (ASTPS),  National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP),  and members of their staff belong to the American Bar Association (ABA) and AIPCA.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes, they have Enrolled Agents on staff.

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free consultation, but just like most other tax relief companies, they can only help so much without detailed information and really digging into a clients problem. They can definitely give you good initial direction.

Refund Policy

Client ability to get a refund varies. There is generally a 3-7 day period where the client is able to get a full refund for what he or she paid up-front. However, payment plans differ from person to person and refund options always depend on what work has already been done.

Up-Front Fees

Community Tax Relief will not turn clients away because of their inability to pay large upfront fees. Staff will work with individuals to set up a payment plan that works for their unique financial situations.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Community Tax, LLC below.

1-(877) 699-8805

38 Community Tax, LLC Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
1
1
7
28
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2019 San Francisco, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Community Tax has been great and my Case Advocate Victor ***** has been extremely helpful. If I have any questions, he gets right back to me. Highly recommend.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    April 25th, 2019 Rex, GA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They kept me informed and stayed on top of my issue
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    April 21st, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Mi experiencia con Community tax fue larga, pero la espera y la paciencia valieron la pena. Cuando me dieron la información pensaba q era muy bonito para ser real. Entre a un foro como este y leí comentarios positivos así q me arriesgué. Nuestra deuda con el IRS era imposible pagarla, más de 40,000. A CT les pagamos una sola vez, en todo el proceso no me volvieron a pedir más dinero. En el momento q firmamos contrato ya el IRS no volvió a cobrarnos un solo centavo. Pensamos q el proceso se tardaría unos 6 meses pero tomo alrededor de 3 años, la lucha fue ardua y en el proceso tuvimos más de un representante. Pero ellos se encargaron de q nos representaran las personas más competentes. Unos de los representantes no estaba dando la milla extra y llame para notificarlo. No dudaron en cambiarlos y recibí dos representantes mas q eficientes, Sarah N y Elisabel M lograron lo q nadie había logrado q nos perdonaran la deuda y al fin pudiéramos respirar. No sólo eran competentes también fueron accesibles y muy amables. Debido a q soy hispana Elisabel fue clave para ayudarnos en el proceso. Lo recomiendo al 100% no se q me hubiera hecho sin ellos. Espero q mi experiencia pueda ayudar a otros.

    My experience with Community tax was long, but the wait and patience were worth it. When they gave me the information I thought it was too good to be true. I search online for reviews and find a forum like this were I read positive comments, so I took a chance. Our debt to the IRS was impossible to pay, more than 40,000. In CT you pay just once, in the whole process they did not ask me for more money. From the very moment we signed the contract with CT, the IRS did not charge us a single cent. We thought that the process would take about 6 months but it took more than 3 years. The struggle was arduous and in the process we had more than one legal representative. But CT were responsible of finding us the most competent people. One of them wasn’t giving the extra mile so I call CT to notify him. They did not hesitate to change him and gave me the most efficient representatives, Sarah and Elisabel achieved what no one had managed, the to forgive us the debt and finally we could breathe. Not only they were competent they were so accessible and very friendly. Because I am Hispanic, Elisabel was a key helping us in the process. I recommend it 100% I would not have done it without them. I hope my experience can help others.

    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2019 Columbus, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    She was outstanding and kept me inforn6ed
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    April 15th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I’m very satisfied with the service provided. They are very professional and know what their doing. When you call, they answer the phone promptly and have answer for all your questions regarding the matter. I truly recommend them for all your tax needs.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    9
    April 14th, 2019 Monroe, NC
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Very good customer service really friendly service
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    April 12th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Each member of their tax team was great. They helped us through a very stressful time ….!!! There is no way we could have done it without them. Lindsey, our case manager, was awesome. She was always there for us when we needed help in getting answers and assistance. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Community Tax Service if you need help like we did. They actually take the STRESS out of STRESS….!!!!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    April 12th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Community Tax has been great and my Case Advocate Victor G has been extremely helpful. Whenever I have questions I can count on Victor to get back ro my and answer my questions quickly. Highly recommend.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    April 12th, 2019 Denton, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The IRS can be harsh, impatient and threatening which makes us fearful of dealing with them.

    Saul H, my case advocate, with Community Tax has been such the OPPOSITE! Saul has been patient, responsive, understanding and kind. I can tell in talking with Saul, he is not judging or looking for a quick way to close the case. Saul is the reason I’m not stressed out or scared the IRS will be harassing me. He has taken his time to be sure I’m comfortable with our discussions and next steps.

    Thank YOU Saul! You are THE BEST !

    Read More
  10. User Score
    6
    April 12th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax was giving me the blues. Communication was terrible. I was just about to ask for all my files and find a new company but one day I got a follow up call from Mr Daniel F. He is the man that saved the day with his great follow-up techniques and caring attitude. He is the best!!!!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    April 9th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Mr S and community tax has been their to help me.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax not only helped me solve my tax problems, but they were able to give me the most important kind of support.. peace of mind.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    March 29th, 2019 Coachella, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax is currently helping me negotiate a tax debt. So far everything has been going good. Elisabel M is the person helping me out on my case and she is amazing. She is very friendly, always answers any question or doubt i might have, always keeps me informed and update on my case. Hoping everything comes out great at the end. Thanks Elisabel M and Community Tax for your help.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    March 13th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Very satisfied with the service Érica S and the community tax team has treated me.I was kept informed in my case step by step,Thanks again for your attention in my case.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    March 8th, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Erika S and other members of this staff have been very helpfull to my wife and I. I however get confused with so many people calling me with different questions.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    9
    March 7th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Erica has been very helpful in every aspect …I look forward to continue working with her.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    March 1st, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Jennifer B was our practitioner. Her assistance was top notch and the savings far exceeded our expectations.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    9
    February 26th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was very pleased with the handling of my case. I was kept informed on all decisions about my case. I never had a problem that they did not address with me or approach any subject with them that they did not make me comfortable addressing it. I would totally recommend community tax to anyone who may be having problems with your taxes.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    February 20th, 2019 Oklahoma City, OK
    3 people found this review helpful!
    All I can say is, They are the best ever. To the whole team that helped me from the beginning to the end. Dan, Ben, Nicholas, Lilly. I can’t thank you enough and I am sending some business your way. I really like the Professionalism that was displayed by the whole team, it speaks volume while I was having a difficult time. Thank You All
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    February 20th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Thanks community tax for Chris H he was very helpful and knowledgeable about what I needed
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.7
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2.5k-$4.5k

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

38
Our Score
9.3
User Score
8.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Average Program Cost

$2,500-3,000

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes

Certified Agents

Yes

Refund Policy

Yes

Number of Reviews

243