Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,854 Real Customer Reviews

#4
community_tax11

Community Tax, LLC Reviews

Reviews of Community Tax, LLC from real customers
(20 verified)

Our Score
7.4
User Score
7.8

See Top Rated

Our Score
7.4
User Score
7.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Case by case basis
$2.5k-$4.5k

Services

Variety of services offered
9/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
20

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
7.4 /10

Tax Defense Network

Compared to industry leader
9.4 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 15, 2018

The Good

  • Licensed attorney
  • Free consultation
  • Flat-fee
  • Educational articles

Licensed Attorney

Community Tax, LLC takes care of its customers—each client has a state licensed attorney, a legal assistant, and a case manager assigned to his or her specific case in order to keep communication and settlement efforts cohesive and efficient. They guarantee a response to all client phone calls and emails within 24 hours and they care enough about their clients to cater payment options to each client’s unique financial circumstances.

Free Consultation

A free consultation is offered where a team of tax professionals is ready to help consumers discover the best and most affordable option for their tax dilemma. Whether consumers are simply seeking a company dedicated to getting tax returns prepared, or businesses seeking bookkeeping services, Community Tax representatives are available to go in depth and implement a resolution.

Flat-Fee

Clients will be assessed a flat-fee for the investigative services performed prior to determining which plan of action to take. After the initial investigation, an additional flat-fee is charged to cover costs allowing representatives to follow through to program completion. Company representatives have said they simply will not provide estimates due to the nature of each dispute, as it would be “irresponsible to provide such an estimate.” We appreciate this type of honesty from corporations, although a little more transparency in their pricing structure would help consumers feel rest assured their case will be handled with integrity. CTAX has also implemented a refund policy for consumers feeling uneasy about the lack of pricing information. If clients wish to back out, they have a couple of days to do so, in which a full refund of the up-front costs will be given. Afterward, clients may receive a partial refund on services not rendered; however, it’s important to keep in mind on any work they have completed, even the simplest of tasks, clients will not be issued a refund.

Educational Articles

Within their impressive list of tax resolutions, the company does well to provide resources and educational articles to help the everyday tax payer achieve awareness and in-sight to all things tax related. In addition, CTAX provides an array of active social media accounts extending their knowledge base toward the general public.

The Bad

  • Time in business
  • Lack of transparency

Time in Business

Founded by attorneys and bankers in 2010, this is a pretty young company amidst more experienced competitors. If you live in Minnesota, North Dakota, or West Virginia, you’ll need to look elsewhere for your tax relief needs, as they only extend their services to consumers across 47 states.

Lack of Transparency

When it comes to pricing, we appreciate those companies offer a flat-fee. This leaves little room for opportunities to impose additional or hidden costs, although we would like to see CTAX do more to offer some transparency concerning flat-fees; for example, what is the flat-fee for investigative services performed before taking action, or fees for filing tax returns? We understand each case is unique, but for preliminary services, even a broad range would help ease the minds of tax burdened consumers.

The Bottom Line

Community Tax has an impressive service list, as well as the numerous featured cases illustrating some of their most successful negotiations. Fully certified company representatives have helped resolve over $223 million on clients tax debt to date, and with being a new company in the tax industry, this is quite impressive. Community Tax’s policies and services are competitive. They offer flat pricing fee. We recommend calling CTAX for a free consultation to evaluate your case, but be sure to get an accurate quote in writing defining prices for both investigative services as well as program fees before signing any contracts.

Pricing

On average, Community Tax charges clients $2,500-4,500.

Services

Community Tax offers resolution options for these problems with the IRS:

  • Tax liens
  • Tax levies
  • Wage garnishments
  • Tax penalties and interest
  • IRS audits
  • Unfiled tax returns
  • Investigations for tax levies and liens

The CT staff is experienced in implementing the following services:

  • Audit representation and reconsideration
  • Reducing tax liability
  • Investigations for tax levies and liens
  • Negotiating penalty abatement
  • Settling back tax debt
  • Amending tax returns
  • Offer in Compromise (OIC)
  • Hardship and Complex Installment Agreements
  • Currently Non-Collectible
  • Bookkeeping services for businesses
  • Tax preparation and payroll tax help

Minimum Debt

Community Tax will typically require $7,000 or more, but there is no requirement if unfiled.

About

Community Tax has set out to create a new standard for the tax relief industry where the customer’s best interests come first. The company’s philosophy is that no client should pay full price for a service until they know what the options are and what kind of help can be expected. Community Tax offers tax professionals experienced in tax debt resolution, tax preparation, and bookkeeping/accounting.

States They Work In

Community Tax is available in 47 states across the country. The states excluded are: Minnesota, North Dakota, and West Virginia.

Time In Business

They were founded in 2010.

CPA on Staff

Yes

Tax Attorney on Staff

Yes—ALL of the CTR negotiators are full-time, licensed tax attorneys.

Professional Associations

They are members of American Society of Tax Problem Solvers (ASTPS),  National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP),  and members of their staff belong to the American Bar Association (ABA) and AIPCA.

Enrolled Agent on Staff

Yes, they have Enrolled Agents on staff.

Free Consultation

Yes, they offer a free consultation, but just like most other tax relief companies, they can only help so much without detailed information and really digging into a clients problem. They can definitely give you good initial direction.

Refund Policy

Client ability to get a refund varies. There is generally a 3-7 day period where the client is able to get a full refund for what he or she paid up-front. However, payment plans differ from person to person and refund options always depend on what work has already been done.

Up-Front Fees

Community Tax Relief will not turn clients away because of their inability to pay large upfront fees. Staff will work with individuals to set up a payment plan that works for their unique financial situations.

Most Helpful Reviews From Community Tax, LLC Customers

  1. User Score
    0
    David
    January 7th, 2018 Irvine, CA
    An absolute waste of time and money! Paid them $5000.00 to resolve a $94000.00 tax lien and after about a year and a lot of non returned calls, they pat themselves on the back for a job well done, sending me a letter saying congratulations, they are done! Problem is that the only thing that has changed for me is that I get regular demand letters from IRS that I was not getting before! The lien is still there, not a penny different and I have NOTHING to show for the $5000.00 I paid them! Just a bunch of crooked, lying, lawyers and legal aids! BUYER BEWARE!!! We were a vendor to this company. They racked up a debt to us and didn't pay it.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    mr and mrs Giuvel Rivera
    April 13th, 2016 Randolph, MA
    Community Tax has been a lifesavor sent to my husband and myself. They were patient and polite. and most of all they know what they are doing We owe a lot of money and they never gave up fighting for us and gathering material they needed. They talked to gov. people for us, made us feel we had people that really cared . We are an elderly couple and believe me we have been taken advantage of, so at first it was hard to trust. Community even found someone to speak to my husband in Spanish so he would feel comfortable. We thank you Community!Read More

20 Community Tax, LLC Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
1
2
16
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    February 20th, 2019 Oklahoma City, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    All I can say is, They are the best ever. To the whole team that helped me from the beginning to the end. Dan, Ben, Nicholas, Lilly. I can’t thank you enough and I am sending some business your way. I really like the Professionalism that was displayed by the whole team, it speaks volume while I was having a difficult time. Thank You All
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    February 20th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thanks community tax for Chris H he was very helpful and knowledgeable about what I needed
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    February 15th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve had a great experience with Community Tax. Alan has responded to all my calls right away and made sure my issues were addressed. Looking forward to a positive result upon completion of my case.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    February 14th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Denise Y was very helpful and informative…I am please with her service
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    February 13th, 2019 Redmond, WA
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax met all my expectations in resolving all my income tax issues.
    Their professionalism and easy to work with manner relieved my angst from the start.
    A special thanks and kudos goes to Tim K for the customer care and service he provided. His attention to detail and reacting quickly to my questions and concerns made for a very smooth experience.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    February 12th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Hello, My husband and I give a Big shoutout to Tim K and Ryan S from Community Tax for there hardwork resolving a very difficult case with the IRS. They worked really hard for us considering the amount that was owed to IRS in the amount of $400,000 , and a Resolution in the amount of less then $10,000. They never gave up fighting for the Best Outcome we could get. I highly recommend these 2 wonderful Gentlemen to GET THE JOB DONE AND THEY GOT”IR DONE !!!! Thank you very much !! You guys have helped lift a load off of us , now we can move on in life !!! Thanks Again, Mr&Mrs D Wilson
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    February 9th, 2019
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Chris was very helpful and NOT pushy in any way! I have worked with your company before and I plan to work with you again. Thank you for providing great customer service!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    February 8th, 2019 Somers, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    My introduction with Ms. Denise Y has been spectacular. She is informative , patient, attentive to detail. She is extraordinarily pleasant as well as kind. I felt a sense of relief after speaking with her. My only regret is her not handling the entire case through to the end. Thank you.

    Warm Regards.

    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Success with a difficult case due to my inept accountant
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    February 7th, 2019 Gloucester, MA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    CTR helped me through a long process while I was too panicked to help. Yet they held my hand and we succeeded, and later when I needed follow up help they were there for me right away! I would personally like to thank Meghan W and Jasmine G for everything.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    January 28th, 2019 Traverse City, MI
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax was excellent in helping me out of unbelievable debt stress! They guided me kindly and professionally! I am beyond grateful for their help!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 28th, 2018 Chappaqua, NY
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Totally professional and also human at the same time.
    Explained everything to a tee and all questions where absolutely answered without any doubt left
    I would absolutely recommend Community Tax to everyone I know and to everyone I don’t know!!!!!
    GREAT COMPANY!!!!!!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    November 10th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I was in a financial mess when I sought out Community Tax. From the get go, they had a plan and my Contact Jason N made the plan easy to follow, and helped me get back underneath my finances
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    November 6th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I solicited many accounting firms to manage my company Hermon Planning and Jason N, EA was by far the most engaging, professional and patient consultant I found. He is readily available and willing to share his in-depth knowledge to a questioning client like myself. I don’t worry about my accounting and tax needs with Jason. I highly recommend him. Bravo!!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2018 New Freedom, PA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    They pretty much helped me with any question I had, they called me right back whenever I needed help. They’re just very friendly and helpful.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    8
    June 8th, 2018 Miami, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Follow through was needed on my account and I was thankful for the service.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    January 7th, 2018 Irvine, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    An absolute waste of time and money! Paid them $5000.00 to resolve a $94000.00 tax lien and after about a year and a lot of non returned calls, they pat themselves on the back for a job well done, sending me a letter saying congratulations, they are done! Problem is that the only thing that has changed for me is that I get regular demand letters from IRS that I was not getting before! The lien is still there, not a penny different and I have NOTHING to show for the $5000.00 I paid them! Just a bunch of crooked, lying, lawyers and legal aids! BUYER BEWARE!!!
    We were a vendor to this company. They racked up a debt to us and didn’t pay it.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    May 17th, 2016 Colchester, VT
    9 people found this review helpful!
    I was not feeling confident in any tax services since I had had a negative experience with another high profile company. I was pleasantly surprised by the highly qualified staff at Community Tax. Any question or issue was addressed and resolved quickly. Community Tax restored my confidence in online tax prep companies. In my opinion, Community Tax is the best available.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    9
    April 13th, 2016 Minneapolis, MN
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax has helped me get out from under a rock with the IRS. After submitting an offer and compromise, I saved over $ 37,000. The team I worked with was awesome, Alan and Megan and Jillian are great!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    April 13th, 2016 Randolph, MA
    10 people found this review helpful!
    Community Tax has been a lifesavor sent to my husband and myself. They were patient and polite.
    and most of all they know what they are doing We owe a lot of money and they never gave up fighting for us and gathering material they needed. They talked to gov. people for us, made us feel we had people that really cared . We are an elderly couple and believe me we have been taken advantage of, so at first it was hard to trust. Community even found someone to speak to my husband in Spanish so he would feel comfortable. We thank you Community!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
7.4
User Score
7.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Case by case basis
$2.5k-$4.5k

Services

Variety of services offered
9/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
20

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
7.4 /10

Tax Defense Network

Compared to industry leader
9.4 /10
Our Score
9.4
User Score
8.8
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

flat fee, paid monthly
$2,500-3,000

Services

Variety of services offered
10/10

CPA

CPA on staff?
Yes

Tax Attorney

Tax Attorney on staff?
Yes

Associations

Professional Association Members
Yes

Enrolled Agent

Certified by U.S Government
Yes

Refund Policy

Is there a refund policy?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
235

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
7.4 /10