Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,235 Real Customer Reviews

#3
Reviews for National Debt Relief | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement program for those with over $7,500 of unsecured debt.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(866) 870-1188

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

645

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 8, 2019

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. They work with your creditors on your behalf to stop interest from accumulating and settle your debts at a fraction of what you owe on your accounts.

Is National Debt Relief legitimate? Yes – NDR is an accredited company, and one of the top debt settlement companies in the U.S. In this review, you can read real customer reviews below, compare National Debt Relief to Freedom Debt Relief, and read the pros and cons of NDR.

Pros

No Up-Front Fees

There are no upfront fees (which is typical for the industry). They also promise to not charge any cancellation fees and do not charge monthly payments. National Debt Relief will not charge customers until their debt management problem is resolved. They charge an average of 18-25% of the amount you saved after your debt has been settled for settlement services.

Money-Back Guarantee

National Debt Relief allows customers to cancel services at any time and gives them the option of a money-back guarantee if they’re not happy with the debt management plan or service they received. The National Debt Relief program does include a 100% money-back guarantee. A money-back guarantee is a promising offer from a debt relief company. It shows that they stand by the work they do. If you don’t see results, you can receive a refund. This type of money-back guarantee is great for those who are worried about experiencing further financial hardship.

Industry Accreditations

The National Debt Relief program, and company, is accredited by the AFCC (Association of Family and Conciliation Courts) and IAPDA (International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators). They also comply with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).

Works With Some Secured Debt

National Debt Relief works with some secured debts whereas other debt settlement companies won’t.

National Debt Relief offers debt settlement mainly to customers with unsecured debt such as credit cards, personal loans, and lines of credit, medical bills, collections and repossessions, and business debt. They will work with creditors on a small, few certain secured loans like totaled car debt, some student loan debt, and second mortgage on a foreclosed home. They do not offer settlement services for average secured debt.

Compare to Freedom Debt Relief (rated 9/10 by customers)

Cons

Potentially Higher Costs

Working with National Debt Relief you could pay anywhere between 18-25% of the debt you settle as a monthly payment (this is on top of what you pay your creditors). However, depending on how much National Debt Relief can settle your debts for, you could potentially pay 30% less on your debts.

It’s important to know that any debt settlement program, not just NDR, will have an immediate negative impact on your credit score. Your credit score takes a hit because you must become delinquent on your accounts.

National Debt Relief Complaints

National Debt Relief is rated 2/10 by consumers on our site; Freedom Debt Relief is rated 9/10. Common complaints among National Debt Relief reviews include:

  • Unprofessional behavior
  • Being passed off between employees
  • Being treated well during enrollment and then the quality dropping once the debt settlement process actually starts.

The company provides an online dashboard to help clients keep track of their debt management program, but customers have still said they feel disconnected from the debt settlement process. Read reviews or add your own below. 

Limited Availability

National Debt Relief’s services and are also only available to those with at least $7,500 of debt. Debt consolidators are not operating in the following states: CT, GA, IL, KS, ME, NH, OR, SC, VT, and WV.

Our Recommendation

Unlike some other debt settlement companies, National Debt Relief does not charge any additional fees including upfront fees, monthly payments, or cancellation fees. The company explains that customers doing start paying for services until their debt problems are solved. National Debt Relief also offers a money-back guarantee, has plenty of industry accreditations, works with some secured debt, and has an online dashboard that clients can use to check their debt management program progress. Additionally, National Debt Relief offers several other professional debt services including credit counseling services, credit card debt relief services, and debt settlement services. While your credit score will take a hit when you start the settlement process, your other options (bankruptcy and making minimum payments forever) will also negatively impact your credit score.

If you are interested in National Debt Relief services, we encourage you to call them and see how much you could save at 1-844-290-8984 or get a free quote online.


About National Debt Relief

National Debt Relief provides various services including credit card debt relief services, debt settlement services, credit counseling and more. They have consistently shown a willingness to give customers the best service for their specific financial situation.

How National Debt Relief Works

National Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. Debt settlement companies work with your creditors on your behalf to negotiate a lower overall amount due. The program follows these basic steps:

  1. Call National Debt Relief for a free consultation to see if debt settlement is right for your particular financial situation
  2. If you sign up with NDR, will ask you to stop making your monthly payments (if you haven’t already)
  3. Set aside the money you would pay for your accounts in a separate savings account. The more money you can accumulate, the faster you can pay off your debts.
  4. NDR will be the point of contact with your creditors. After several months of no payments, NDR will negotiate a lower amount owed with individual creditors (credit card companies, medical bill collectors, personal loan companies, etc).
  5. NDR gives the example of their customers paying 30% less than what is owed. For example, if you owe $10,000 on your CitiBank credit card, you may end up paying $7,000.
  6. You’ll go through this process with each of your creditors until you are debt-free. On average, this takes 2-4 years.

Debt Education Tools

This company offers many resources and tools to help individuals with current and future debt problems, which ultimately improves their overall financial situation. We do, however, wish that the training they offer were more organized to help facilitate better financial learning. They offer FAQ pages, calculator tools, budgets spreadsheets, and more. Some of the topics that the company covers with these resources include how debt settlement can affect your credit score,

We would like to see them organize it into more of a mini school to help customers move through the information more smoothly. Increased direction would be a very valuable service.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at National Debt Relief below.

1-(866) 870-1188

645 National Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

33
15
17
8
12
9
24
10
73
44
400
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    8
    December 3rd, 2019 Hesperia, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Pretty good. A bit expensive, but I would still do it again if I went back.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    December 3rd, 2019 Salem, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service! Everyone I talked to, was respectful and very professional.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    December 3rd, 2019 Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very pleased and satisfied with the service and support from National Debt.Their team members are top notch and make this a pleasant experience.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    2
    December 3rd, 2019 Wisconsin Rapids, WI
    2 people found this review helpful!
    At first I was satisfied with Alexa W who I originally worked with but after a few montths inthe program I was contacted by a gentleman who gave me the option of turning my debt to Liberty Lenders and recommended I take this offer.Now I am paying a high rate of interest and will end up taking 2 more years to pay off as I was originally told I should be clear of my debt in about 2 years. I am very upset about this.My credit score is not good and I am not any better off than before.I would li bye to have the amount I owe Liberty turned back over to national debt relief buy I am sure that is not posdible8.Very disappointed
    Read More
  5. User Score
    6
    December 3rd, 2019 Los Gatos, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    After paying Commission, and added taxes forgiven debt. And huge drop in credit scope.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    December 3rd, 2019 Woodbridge, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Professional people who tell you the truth and who will help any way they can.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    6
    December 3rd, 2019 Mesquite, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    In between they are not fast at getting back to customers emails nor fast at working debt when they say they are. But not bad company so far
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    December 3rd, 2019 Kaneohe, HI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are good to work with and they explain things to make it easier for you
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Savage, MN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very positive. I was hesitant to enroll just because I wasn’t sure if this was a scam but overall, I’ve been pleased. The customer service has put a lot of my worries at ease.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Pasadena, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very positive – clear and easy to work with.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Oklahoma City, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    National Debt Relief came along when I thought there was no way to handle the debt I accrued.I have only to pay about half of my original debt and would recommend this service highly!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Brentwood, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Consistent and reliable, was what i needed! Helped me out more than i expected.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    4
    December 2nd, 2019 Redding, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was horribly misslead and very untrustworty. If i find the finacial means on my own I will be takiong care of these debits on my OWN
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Round Rock, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It’s been great. A true relief . We have a debt free date in our timeline now, and felt awful about being in such deep debt, and with the help if NDR, we arent drowning anymore, and feel like we have a chance to live free of the burden of debt.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    8
    December 2nd, 2019 Glendive, MT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are very good at what they do. I just have a hard time that my credit scoreis so very low! It went down almost 200 pts!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Indian River, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    NDR helped me to resolve my debt the right way …gave me confidence and relief
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Corpus Christi, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have experienced great personal . very courteous and knowledgeable putting me at ease every time i speak to anyone of them
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Valley Glen, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    very helpful and through. the agents keep track on my needs. i do recommendNatuonal Debt Relief .
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Zionsville, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Just make the payments. They take care of the rest!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2019 Salisbury, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful l am getting OUT of debt thanks
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with National Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from National Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
8.8
User Score
8.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

18-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

645
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,342