Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,158 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief

Ideal Customer: over $15,000 in debt

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 403-4319

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,137

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: June 19, 2019

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief Cost?

Price varies depending on various features. The main features taken into account are the creditor you’re working with, the state you live in and the amount of debt you have. After all is said and done, you can expect to pay 15-25% of your total enrolled debt. Their website states the following:

“If you choose to enroll in a Freedom Debt Relief Program, Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including the state you’re in, the amount of debt you’re enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36 month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year. And the most important thing to remember is that there is absolutely NO FEE RISK to you – we guarantee that you will pay NO FEES for your debt relief services until we successfully resolve a debt for you.”

The review of program details will include:

  • Average time for settlements.
  • How some creditors can be more aggressive
  • How delinquent each debt is
  • How drafting monthly can impact the success of completing the program
  • What options we have for when creditors call our clients too much
  • What options we have for if a client gets sued

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No. Any debt settlement company charging up-front fees is not acting in accordance with the law. Under the Federal Trade Commission Act, no company is to practice up-front fees as of 2010.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Yes, they offer a free debt consultation. Calling in and speaking with a debt help specialist will give you the ability to determine the best path to success in your specific situation. While they can give you very helpful information without you divulging too many specific, they can give you the most effective help when you give them more specific information. The consultation in no risk and you won’t be locked into anything by calling.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes. Any money deposited into the trust account will go directly back to the client, minus the monthly fees charged. These fees will be determined once the applicant qualifies for the program and total debt is assessed.

What Types of Debt Does Freedom Debt Relief Work With?

Freedom Debt Relief only deals with unsecured debt.

Time in Business

13 years. Freedom Debt Relief has been in business since 2002. Since then they, along with the other pillars of their company have been listed as one of Inc. 500’s fastest growing companies in 2008 and 2009. Bills.com was also named the #3 company in the Hot 100 from Entrepreneur magazine. Multiple acquisitions of other companies including Home-Account and Refinance.com have helped the company build up their mortgage refinance tools, mortgage calculators and other mortgage and refinancing services. After more than a decade in service, they have proven to be a stable company. The founders of FDR are very involved in the financial and personal debt communities. The Association of Settlement Companies (TASC) has a founding member of Freedom Debt Relief on their board.

Debt Education

The debt education offering from FDR is excellent. They are a part of Freedom Financial Network which also owns Bills.com. Bills.com offers a great tool called the Debt Coach, which is an effective way of determining your best path to getting out of debt. They also offer videos, blog articles and resource pages to help individuals learn more about debt and how to get rid of it.

Freedom’s broad network allows them to serve customers education need incredibly well.

 

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not responsive on mobile and they do not offer a mobile app. Their desktop site is helpful and easy to navigate, but you won’t be able to navigate as easily on your phone.

Contact Information

They offer multiple options for communicating with them.

Phone Number:  1-(855) 242-5275

Email Address: [email protected]

Address:  1875 S Grant St., Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402-2676

Services Provided

Freedom Debt Relief provides debt settlement & consolidation services.

Minimum Debt Accepted

$15,000

Online Dashboard

Freedom Debt offers clients online access where you cannot only check on your debt settlement account at any time, but you can contact them through it as well. The representative we spoke with indicated that they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Accreditations

Yes, this business is AFCC  and IAPDA accredited.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Freedom Debt Relief below.

1-(855) 403-4319

1,137 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

12
7
12
9
13
24
21
24
128
121
766
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    August 20th, 2014 Pico Rivera, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I love freedom financial debit relief I wish I had known about them lon time ago. awesome:) my mind is at ease now that my debits are winding down. Thank you
    Read More
  2. User Score
    5
    August 20th, 2014 Valley Stream, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Reps were nice to deal with but as the saying goes “too many hands in the pot”. You could speak to one rep who would give you an answer and then a day later, speak to someone else who had no clue what you were talking about. They would say they would call you back and never did. Used the email system as suggested and they would say they never received the email.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    August 19th, 2014 Reading, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom is the best by far!!!! Thank you for helping me sleep at night.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    8
    August 14th, 2014 Dallas, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Satisfactory
    Read More
  5. User Score
    9
    August 14th, 2014 Hagerstown, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief is a wonderful company. They are trying very hard to get me debt free. They have already accomplished amazing results. I only have to call and they will reassure me things are going well whenever I need it. Thank you Freedom Debt Relief!!!!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    August 14th, 2014 Oakland, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I trust Freedom Financial since day one. Before I ever called them to talk about my financial burdens, I went on line to read the feed back on the best business bureau. The reviews were all good. I love this compagny, it’s always someone calling me, even on a Sunday to ask if I have any question , I was satisfied with the service. I just love dealing with freedom financial, the people that work here are very polite and feel like a valued costumer
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2014 Victoria, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief has been outstanding in providing advice, letting me know what to expect, and doing everything they said they would do. There have been know surprises! They have been organized and made the entire process of eliminating debt as easy as I would have ever imagined. There was immediate relief after joining the program because they gave me an affordable payment and I was able to rid myself of the overwhelming amount of bills. They have also been great at following up with phone calls to me to make sure I knew what was going on and whether or not I had any questions. The entire experience has been great. I highly recommend them for anyone who is over extended with their debt.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2014 Westerville, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I chose freedom financial because they have a good reputation and are in good standing with the BBB. I like that you can call and ask question and every one is knowable. Rate them a 10.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2014 Dover, DE
    0 people found this review helpful!
    What a lifesaver Freedom Debt has been to me!?!! I just referred a young friend of mine to Freedom Debt and just shared who just emotional and psychological “weight” Freedom Debt has lifted off of my shoulders as I continue to go through some very hard times with one of the most wicked divorce battles known to man!?!!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2014 Richmond, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am very please with the progress of my debt solution. Freedom was able to get a large creditor to accept 1/2 of the amount owed. I can’t wait to see what the next reduction will be.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2014 Leesburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have only been involved with Freedom since Feb of this year and already 2 of my 5 debts are settled. I am so happy to have the phone calls stop and I feel good about making some headway on my debt situation already!! I highly reccommend this to anyone who needs a break and a plan to get back on track. I was skeptical at first, but they have done everything they promised me.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2014 Edinburg, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This is a great company! I have been on the program for only four months and three debts have already been resolved. Thank you so much!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    August 11th, 2014 Coachella, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Things went “GREAT” Best team I have ever. They work with you to get the best results for you situation..
    Highly recommended….
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    August 11th, 2014 Lorain, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Wishing was going faster but pretty good other than that
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    August 9th, 2014 Clarksville, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    been in the program now for 7 months and already have 2 debts settled that saved me almost three thousand dollars. I am very pleased so far with the fantastic results have three more years in the program and hope in that time to be debt free thank you for all the great help
    Read More
  16. User Score
    2
    August 8th, 2014 Chickasha, OK
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I would not like to comment on your success ofhelping my debts getting cleared. I thought that you would be working on all of the debts at the same time and then make the payments to the creditors on a settled amount that was agreeded on. As of now 1 of my debts has been settled and as for as I know you must not be working on any of the others, because there has been no information as how they are coming along. I can’t sleep at night or if I go to sleep I wake up thinking whats going to happen next to me as I am on a fixed income and still I have not much help from you.Sorry I cannot give you a good reccomendation at this time.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    August 7th, 2014 Fredericksburg, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    i have been with freedom debt relief for three months and i’m very pleased with the professionalism there staff has provided me with in helping me resolve my debt problems. my first debt was resolved within the first week of the program with a fifty percent reduction. i’m looking forward to becoming debt free with freedom debt relief guiding me all the way. thanks freedom debt for all your help.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    August 7th, 2014 Satellite Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Wish I had done this sooner, one debt settled and a few more to go. Good job,
    Thanks,
    Read More
  19. User Score
    5
    August 6th, 2014 Livonia, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    We started the program the first of May 2014 and we are now into August and none of our accounts have been settled. You get our money every month and I would like to see some results. Everytime I callI get a differant response every time. I think you should have one person who represents you through the whole process fron start to finish.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    August 6th, 2014 Albany, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I am 6 months into the program and have settled 2 of my 13 cards. Customer service is excellent when I had a problem with an attorney’s office the people at Freedom Debt Relief were very quick to turn the call into a settlement saving me over $1,000.00. My second card was settled for 33% of the debt saving me over $1,500.00.
    When I tried to settle on my own with these cards I was treated rudely and there was no flexibility in the terms that they offered. I have a long way to go to be debt free but at this point I am really glad that I choose Freedom Debt Relief
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,137
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,137