Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Reviews of Freedom Debt Relief from real customers
(955 verified)

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    LaVonne Washington
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first -- we're extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Christine Zangari
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    I have had nothing but "POSITIVE" help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief's staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what's going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.Read More

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

955 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

11
7
12
8
12
21
15
24
108
121
616
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Stockton, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was getting nowhere with my payments so I signed up with them. They have been on top of everything and always make sure things are going well. I get emails constantly with updates. If I don’t respond for a certain amount of time, they call me and talk with me about how things are going.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    4
    April 20th, 2018 Seymour, TN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    After my husband got sick and we fell behind on our bills, we went to them to deal with things. I would not do it again though. I just don’t feel like they did everything they could have done for me.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    2
    April 20th, 2018 Henderson, NV
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I’m disabled and no longer working. Over the phone they don’t know what they are talking about. I get a lot of mismatched information from the emails, dashboard, and phone calls. The only way I can get real answers from them is by talking to the guy that signed me up. They didn’t update me on things at all either, I was just told to look at my dashboard and that’s it. They’re just constantly doing things differently from what’s written in the contract. I mean, they don’t negotiate well with my creditors at all and charge too much for their personal fees.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2018 Ridgeway, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They informed me of something two other companies missed.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2018 Greenville, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I rate them this way because they explain everything clearly.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    6
    April 17th, 2018 Fort Myers, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Never got to use this service. But had a nice man who really tried to help.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    6
    April 17th, 2018 Seminole, OK
    2 people found this review helpful!
    So far it has been okay, but I just signed up. The true test will be when I get behind on my bills and how they handle it. I will not refer anyone until I see how I am treated and how the situations are handled by Freedom.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    1
    April 17th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They took out 1st payment and then sent letter saying it would start next month, but they already took the money!
    They asked if any accounts had auto payment, we told them which one did. They never said a word about going to my bank and stopping payment on it. So now they are taking money from and so is the creditor.
    Chat with them to lower the next months payment and they continued with regular anyway. They don’t listen! Very bad so far.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2018 Goode, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful and they have excellent customer service.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    3
    April 9th, 2018 Rosiclare, IL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They charge a larger monthly fee than others
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2018 Stafford, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    The man on the phone was so understanding and patient. He took the time to explain everything perfectly and even made me laugh a time or two! Great people good service!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    8
    April 9th, 2018 Birmingham, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Easy process to get started and the associates are helpful.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    2
    April 9th, 2018 San Bernardino, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    apparently i don’t qualify, i must put myself in further debt to do so. and, was told it was not a consolidation and payment offer. ok whatever…
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    March 29th, 2018 Springville, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My name is Kristin S. I have had the pleasure of speaking with Matt G. over the Phone and via email to help qualify for this program. He was able to tell me exactly what I needed to do, and made this very easy. He always got back to me quickly, and was always helpful and pleasant to talk to. I appreciated his help and kindness very much. Thanks Matt!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    January 15th, 2018 Citrus Heights, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Because the gold true to their promises to help you become debt free.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    January 15th, 2018 Tempe, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Amazing service and product. Great relief getting on track
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    January 15th, 2018 Citrus Heights, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    A well planned and executed program. I have had experience with similar companies and Freedom outshines them with their customer service and support.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Grand Haven, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very happy with the progress FDR has made.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    8
    January 2nd, 2018 Sanger, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    FDR has been very helpful and support have always been friendly
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Fullerton, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Knowledgeable and helpful and explain things so out is understandable. Professional and suppoetive to please their customers
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Anaheim, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My account are being paid off in a timely manner. And they are always very helpful when I call to talk to them. They are saving me a lot of money.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Westminster, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They do a good job. They stopped my creditors calling very fast.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Murrieta, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful gibes me a peace of mind knowing my accounts r being handled by ur company
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Murrieta, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The Customer Support and Communications with the Client at the time a settlement is reached.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Beaumont, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    they have done everything they said they would so far. they also will answer questions no matter how silly they may be.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Burbank, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    It has been hassle free on paying down my debt. Whenever I need to speak with anyone there they are very friendly
    Read More
  27. User Score
    8
    January 2nd, 2018 Sylmar, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is a great customer service company but I do not receive follow up calls or emails, to let me know of any progress!
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    January 2nd, 2018 Torrance, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    very attentive, ease of mind that everything is being taken care of.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    December 31st, 2017 Baton Rouge, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief has been awesome helping me to get debt free!!
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    December 28th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Great service in settling my debt!!
    Very confident that all of my debt will be resolved
    In a timely manner!!
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Lawndale, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent, experience. Professionalism great information on updating and getting the best deal with companies.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Las Vegas, NV
    1 people found this review helpful!
    So far, so good. I feel very comfortable and I believe I will eventually be out of debt
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Las Vegas, NV
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Great service always no complaints with customer service
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Kirkland, AZ
    2 people found this review helpful!
    FDR has only treated me with respect, explaining all details of the debt relief program to me and always working hard to get the best for me.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    always have a satisfactory answer to my questions, they are very well trained and they are always abailable
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Salt Lake City, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are so helpful also have been able to answer all my questions through the process
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Lewis, CO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Because they are so nice and understanding. And they helping me so much.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    December 21st, 2017 Englewood, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are always there you when you have a questions
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Barnum, MN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They were amazing. So helpful with all of my questions. Always patient and friendly, never judgmental. Resolved our debt in an amazingly short time! Yes I still owe for the consolidation loan, but my credit is on the mend! They were wonderful and I would recommend they to anyone! I even revived and birthday e-mail :) . Thank you so much!
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Davenport, IA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They are truely great. Treated me as family. Was always there when I needed them.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Goshen, IN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They have done everything they said they would
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Griffith, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everything is so easy however I would like to see the fees charged by FDR to indicate which account that fee applied in the transaction under bankning.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Crown Point, IN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    They are very helpful and nice. I was unsure of what to do til I talked to them and found a program that works for me. I will be debt free sooner then what I was doing on my own.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Noblesville, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    everything is working great and easy to work with
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 South Point, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    For helping me decrease my debt in a timely manner without the stress!
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Youngstown, OH_
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are the best. They answer all of my questions.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    8
    December 20th, 2017 Cleveland, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    A slow start but mostly very satisfied now.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Cleveland, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    becuase i trust fdr and it a good place to deal with
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Odessa, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have had a great experiance at anytime I have a question Im answered in a timely matter
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    December 20th, 2017 Canyon, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Always have been very helpful and answered all questions
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10