Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Reviews of Freedom Debt Relief from real customers
(955 verified)

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    LaVonne Washington
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first -- we're extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Christine Zangari
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    I have had nothing but "POSITIVE" help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief's staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what's going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.Read More

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

955 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

11
7
12
8
12
21
15
24
108
121
616
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Santa Barbara, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great experience and the people were easy to work with…..
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Huntington Beach, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    EXCELANT SERVICE, TERRIFIC STAFF WITH KNOWLEDGE AND UNDERSTANDING
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Murrieta, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Online or by phone customer service is great
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Riverside, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Because they helped me get my debt taken care-of in a timely matter.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Redlands, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They clearly stated what they do and then did it. Made the whole process simple for me!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    4
    May 2nd, 2018 San Dimas, CA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    They don’t call back, they lied about an amount that would settle two account I told them to replay our conversation and call me back and they haven’t. It’s been escalated three times. And nothing. That’s unethical. They overcharge to settle loans. It’s almoat the amount of the balance of the amount due. Had I known that I wouldn’t have signed up. They don’t change the graduation date and I’e made larger payments.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Reseda, CA 
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Reliable and do what they say trustworthy lots of knowhow
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Pico Rivera, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have received great service from whoever it is that I speak with, whether on phone or online.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Los Angeles, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom made me feel like I could finally take charge of my debt. They made things simple and helped me with planning.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    6
    May 1st, 2018 Salt Lake City, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So far Lloyd M. has been great. Waiting on one more file to get approved. So far like I said Lloyd is awesome and has gone anove and beyond for me so far
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2018 Muleshoe, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very willing to work with customers and formulate a debt plan.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2018 American Fork, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They explained everything clearly and what they proposed was doable for me so far so good!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    2
    May 1st, 2018 Fowler, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    very rude agents and no customer service
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    April 24th, 2018 Boston, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I did some research about Debt relief it was wonderful things
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    April 24th, 2018 Jacksonville, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Answered my questions and concerns clearly
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    April 24th, 2018 Beaver Falls, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I like how they explain everything in detail
    Read More
  17. User Score
    2
    April 24th, 2018 Bay Shore, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They have no prompt for getting information
    Read More
  18. User Score
    6
    April 24th, 2018 Carnegie, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They want u 2 let your account go delinquent before they can help
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    April 23rd, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Was in contact with freedom deit about debt settlement everything was good until I ask why there fees where so high and they said what did you think they should be not sure but 25% seemed high so I told him I wanted to check around for other companies and he said you want find anyone better and was berry pushy and rude so I told to check back with me and he did today and I told him we found a better deal for us and he was very rude and told me there company was the best and said good luck and hung up on me I would not recommend this company to anybody very rude his name is victor p.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    April 22nd, 2018 New Orleans, LA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    They were able to negotiate with all but one credit card company. If you have any accounts with Chase bank you’re on your own to settle with them as they don’t work with debt settlement companies. If they do give you a verbal agreement to a settlement make sure you get something in writing before sending any funds because they can and will change the terms of the agreement without consulting you, leaving you on the hook to pay additional funds to settle the debt. If I had to do this again I would have kept making the minimum payments on my Chase Visa card and kept it out of the debt settlement program as I only owed them about $960 and was current with my payments when I enrolled in Freedom Debt Relief’s program.
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Greenwood, IN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I read about other people’s experiences with them and since everybody seemed quite happy I went with them. I’ve been very happy with them the entire time I’ve used them. Every time I called them, they would answer my questions and solve my problems right away.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Marion Center, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve been very pleased with them. The people are really friendly and helpful. They are always there when I call. I’ve never had any problems with them. They always work with me and do a good job. I feel wonderful.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Rainbow City, AL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was in a very bad spot and had been out of work for a couple of years, so it was probably one of the best things I have done. I was given a lot of options of how to take care of things and so far, they have taken care of everything. They were there to answer every question I had and they took care of everything that needed to be taken care of. Everyone was very knowledgeable and resourceful. They were able to take care of my debt very quickly.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Wooster, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They just seemed like the best option at the time, so I went with it. In the two years that I’ve been with them, they have helped me out a great deal. They always answered my questions and were very helpful when dealing with my account. I got text messages and phone calls from them updating me on things. I’ve been quite satisfied with the service.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Greenville, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I saw it in an advertisement and since they seemed like the best option I went with it. They have done a good job and have helped me a lot. I like them, they treated me right and took care of business rather quickly. There’s nothing they can’t do.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Arlington, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I went to them to get out of debt. I’ve had a couple of issues but, as soon as I called them, they resolved them. Whenever something happens they send me emails, but I could also check online to look at things.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 DeSoto, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed to get out of debt and since I liked their program I went with it. They are constantly in contact with me. Whenever there are settlements they are very good about letting me know and dealing with them. They send me emails and, if I don’t respond in a certain amount of time, they call me instead. I like their professionalism. They seem to know what they are doing and have been getting me out of debt.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Lawton, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I couldn’t get out of debt on my own, so I went to them. They gave me good service and kept me updated with messages and on their dashboard. They took care of everything.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Zephyrhills, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed help so I went to them. They are prompt and do everything they way they said they will do it. Every time a situation came up, they were very quick and helpful. I feel a lot better now.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Chandler, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    A few years ago, when I signed up with them, I was in a lot of debt with my credit cards. When I talked to Freedom debt relief they made it sound like a workable plan for me, so I went with it. They do a good job and are very courteous. Every time I’ve gotten in touch with them for anything I always get good answers promptly. I also got periodic emails from them to update me on things.
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Somerset, KY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I went with them since they were ranked as the best service online. They have answered all my questions and have taken care of what they said they would take care of. They’re pretty trustworthy and what I’m paying is pretty reasonable for the service that I get.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Vail, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I went to Freedom Debt Relief because I was tired of making overwhelming monthly payments that got me nowhere. They made it easier for me to pay things back. Every time I called to ask a question, they answered them very easily. I was also kept well informed of what was going on in there. They’re knowledgeable and know what’s going on. The company is just very good at communicating.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 San Jose, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It seemed like I couldn’t get out of debt, no matter how much I paid. That was why I went to Freedom Debt Relief. Every time I called them, they answered my questions well and took care of me. They were just on top of everything and kept me well informed.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Knoxville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I’ve called, someone has been able to help me. It was hard when I first got started but now that I’ve been on the program for 18 months it has gotten a lot easier. I’m getting so many more bills paid than what I would’ve been able to do on my own. To let me know about the progress they had made they call me. I can also check that on the internet.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Cordova, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    At that time, they were my best option and they have been a good company to deal with. They are always there to answer my questions and keep me updated through phone calls and emails.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Vista, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was in over my head. I couldn’t do house and credit card payments at the same time. Their ad just happened to show up at that time so I gave them a call and started with them. I’m glad I did. They started taking care of me right away. When I had questions I could just call and they would give me an answer. If they didn’t know right then, they would check and give me a call back. I’m very happy with them. Now we’re over halfway done and I’m on the road to not owing any money.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Mission, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Dealing with them is just stress free and everything has been low cost. They were really good at working with me. They were always there when I called them and I always got me the answers to my questions. I got updates by email and phone calls. Going with them was the best decision I could have made.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Carmel Hamlet, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When I called them they were very nice about my situation so I decided to go with them. Customer service is really good. They call me up and text me whenever something happens. They’ve gotten me very good deals.
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Menifee, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had too many credit cards to deal with, so I went to them. At first I wasn’t sure about it but once they started settling debts I knew it was a good decision. They did a good job of calling me and letting me know when anything happened. I would get messages whenever they settled an account. They were actually able to get me out of debt. In the end there was a big difference between the amount that I paid and the amount that I owed.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Davenport, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Going with them was better than filing for bankruptcy. Every time they paid something off, if there was something that I needed to sign, or something I needed to do, they would let me know. I’m happy I went with them.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Irving, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed help getting back on my feet and I figured they would get me into a program that could take care of my debt. So far they have helped me out a lot, they took care of everything. Every time I have a question they will figure out an answer for me. I was never left in the dark with anything. I’m satisfied with it.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Little Rock, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My debt and bills were more than what I could pay so they seemed like a way out of that. I was kind of skeptical at first. After they explained everything to me I decided to give it a try since they assured me that I could always back out whenever. They’ve always taken the time to explain everything to me and the do their best to be upfront. They would send me updates to my email or call me about that.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Franklin, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed to pay off my credit cards and get rid of them and they have helped me out a lot with that. I can always go online and check on the status of my account any time I want. Going to them was a good decision, they helped me pay my debt off in a couple of years.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Warren, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed help when I saw an ad for them. I was really nervous then. I never dreamed I would be able to get my debt off but they really helped me with everything. Every time I called them, they helped me through with anything I needed. They would contact me immediately when something happened. If I got desperate I could also get into the online dashboard and check it any time I wanted. I’m really happy about the whole process. They really took a lot of pressure off my shoulders. Now I feel like everything is going to be ok.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Seabrook, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I wanted to be able to manage my account in one spot without having to worry about having accounts all over the place. That’s why I went to Freedom Debt Relief. I can always look at the dashboard to know what’s going on and sometimes they call me about that too. I feel good about going with them.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Sebastian, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    A friend of ours was using them and said they were a good company, so we decided to give it a try. They’re always available when we call them and have done a pretty good job. They have been very reliable so far.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 St. Petersburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are very good at keeping you updated of the progress they make. They are just very efficient.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Humboldt, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I really needed help to try and get my bills paid off and they were the best option. They have always been willing to talk with me whenever I call to get information. I also got emails with updates and things like that. I’m satisfied with it, I have no complaints about anything.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Kissimmee, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I read the reviews and liked what I saw, so I went with them. In the numerous years that I’ve used them, they have never dropped the ball. They basically take the it and just run with it, they don’t drop it until they’re done. I get updates from them constantly while they take care of things.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Woodland Hills, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They did what they said they would do. My credit card debt was negotiated and resolved. Any questions I had, they responded in a satisfactory way. I also got a monthly updating kind of thing online that I could check. It worked pretty well.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10