Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Reviews of Freedom Debt Relief from real customers
(955 verified)

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: November 10, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    10
    LaVonne Washington
    October 10th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    Freedom Debt Relief has not only been amazingly helpful in resolving most of our debt, but has also been helpful in relieving the enormous anxiety that goes along with trying to deal with debt collectors while restoring your credit. They have been a blessing in disguise, and an enormous help during a difficult period. They are so professional, and have provide us with nothing but excellent customer care throughout the entire process. We would highly recommend to those looking for debt resolution or trying to avoid bankruptcy to talk to FDR first -- we're extremely glad we did, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Thanks Freedom Debt Relief for all that you have done, and are doing! :))Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Christine Zangari
    October 4th, 2018 Oyster Bay, NY
    I have had nothing but "POSITIVE" help, advice, understanding of my finantial stresses, frequent communication, and instruction from Freedom Debt Relief's staff. Customer Service is wonderful & very understanding to my financial needs. Only 4 months into my program and FDR already has settled with one of my crediters. Such a great feeling to know that a complany as great as FDR guarentees what they say they will do for me. I am extrememly happy & trust FDR 1000% with my financial situation. Everyone is so helpful & really knows their business. They have made it very affordable for me to successfully put an amount of money into my account each month without leaving me with nothing for loving expenses. Paying my bills made it impossible to even buy food or get my prescription meds. Freedom Debt Relief has made life a lot less stressful for me. I no longer have the constant stresses of penny pinching to survive. Love that my money builds with each monthly deposit & that I have the option to either add deposits or increase my monthly payments into my designated account. One the BEST features of having online access with FDR is, I have full access and up to date information not only on my program progress, but I also have 24/7 access to my banking through the client dashboard which is so helpful to see in front of me on a daily basis. All of my progress is right in front of me and I know exactly what's going on with my accounts. Freedom Debt Relief if true their word and I am so happy to have them in my corner working for me. THANK YOU FDR for delivering on your word. So happy to have found you on the internet. I have been telling friends & family about my experiences with FDR so far, and a few are looking to keep FDR as an open option should they also need financial help. Very friendly and so supportive, I feel like I have espablished a whole new set of friends who really care obout my well being. I am truly grateful to the FDR family.Read More

The Good

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights
  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • The company has been In business since 2002
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service
Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

As we mentioned in our the introduction, Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry. The average debt reduction is 50% which can potentially save customers significantly. While the reduction is compelling, potential customers have to remember that they will also be paying the 15-25% debt enrolled fee. Most customers are averaging at about 30% of total savings on their debts after paying total debts and fees.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

The Bad

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 33 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, KS, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Negative Customer Reviews

Some consumers have expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time it takes to forgive the debt, but this is often an indication of a client’s inability to pay more quickly and a large amount of money owed to the original creditor.

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief.

Contact Information

Website: freedomdebtrelief.com
Email: Contact Form
Address:1875 South Grant Street, Suite 400 San Mateo, CA 94402
Freedom Debt Relief Hours: Monday-Friday 5 AM – 8:30 PM PST; Saturday 9 AM – 1 PM
*You can also call and leave a message with Freedom Debt Relief at any time

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

955 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

11
7
12
8
12
21
15
24
108
121
616
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Pearland, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re great at getting back to you and explaining everything. They’ll email, text, or post on the client dashboard.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Memphis, TN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    When things occur, they send me an email or call me to explain it. They have a dashboard that you can go on every day to look at. It tells you when things are getting paid and it’s all comprehensive.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Knoxville, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are very knowledgeable and thorough on explaining everything. They are wonderful to speak with. I’m happy with the outcome, I have no complaints.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Orange City, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I have an issue, I call them right away and they help me. I wanted to add another debt and they said it would be no problem. I get emails from them all the time letting me know what’s going on. They notify me right away when anything is going to settle and if I want to agree or not with the settlement. It’s working out great.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Effort, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re very professional and quick to answer the phone. They’re forthcoming about what they’re about to do and they delivered. They also provide a lawyer program so when a creditor starts to harass you they will take care of it for you and you don’t have to go to court. It’s all included, it’s well worth the price.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They’re on point and do what they say they’re going to do. They email me monthly and post on my dashboard.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Elmira, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are excellent at getting you what you need to get out.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Guadalupe, AZ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I have a question I call in and they always answer it. I feel like they are there to help us get through the situation. I’ve been very pleased with their service.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    September 17th, 2018 Greenwood, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I would contact them by email it took about 3 days to get back to me.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    September 1st, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    it sound good but taxable income on the saving settlement is the worry part..if u sigh up get the 12 dollar NIIG protected against any legal action or lawsuit from the creditors..other than those two ..all u gotta deal with those calls and letters from creditors..credit score going down the tube..on the long term u be debts free instead of paying interests til you died..if you are in serious debt the program is good
    Read More
  11. User Score
    1
    August 16th, 2018 Marysville, OH
    6 people found this review helpful!
    It appears as if this is a great idea if you have a large amount of debt, and yes, they will negotiate a settlement. But although the settlement looks great (in my case I saved about $6500, but fees to reach this “amazing savings” was probably $5000!!! So I ruined my credit score to save $1500?? No thank you..
    Read More
  12. User Score
    3
    August 2nd, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    They send all your debts into AT LEAST 60 days delinquent before they start helping (building your account for negotiations) which sends your credit score even lower. Out of the 4 debts they helped me with they typically negotiate less then 30% of the debt off and still charge you 25% your better off biting the bullet yourself and calling your creditors yourself. Complete waste of time and money. Low balances it seems great. Your high balances will cost you more. Don’t use !!!!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    6
    August 1st, 2018 Sacramento, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    TO PUSHY – DID NOT FULLY EXPLAIN RATES ETC.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    0
    July 17th, 2018 Orlando, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Tried to call to find out a question on my fathers account, I was only calling to stay stop calling my number since they want to call after we cancelled it, And the lady was rude saying we cant discuss the account. I said I want my number removed im not asking about anything on account. She became very rude and nasty. So I went off on her.
    Then I was chatting online and the lady said I asked you multiple times what they was calling about it. That is a rude nasty way of asking something. I would not recommend them at all. I don’t believe anyone should be rude, nasty whether in chat or phone. I have worked in customer service for 15+ years . And I have never had anyone talk to customers they way they did. I think they need retraining on how to handle situations. I finally had enough of how I was talked to so I went off. The person who was rude in chat saying I asked you multiple times her/his name is Keghan S. watch out.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    July 14th, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service. Just started and seems they honest and in helping people in debt trouble. Hope to be in good shape debt wise in the future.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    6
    June 28th, 2018 Indianapolis, IN
    10 people found this review helpful!
    The people at FDR are really really nice. I got signed up really easy and fast and I felt really good after I did it. I felt a relief. As time went on though, I expected things to happen faster than they did. Four months after I got signed up, I was still getting mass phone calls from creditors. It was so bad, that I turned off my ringer and literally never answered my phone. I missed calls from family and friends and doctors and my daughter’s school, everything because I didn’t even know they were calling. It wasn’t until 6 months after I signed up, that FDR contacted me with an offer on one of my cards. It was too late though. I had already talked to a bankruptcy attorney and decided to go a different route with my debt. I decided to cancel FDR and file chapter 13 instead. The attorney told me my credit score would not be any worse with bankruptcy than it would’ve been with debt relief. Plus, (and FDR never told me this).. I would have to pay taxes on any amount left over after they settled a debt. For example if you owe $4000 on a credit card and FDR gets a settlement of $2000, you’ll have to pay taxes on $2000. With chapter 13, you do not pay taxes on debts that are discharged. I guess for some people, debt relief is good. For me, it didn’t work out.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    June 17th, 2018 Durham, NC
    7 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief returned all my money to me when I decided not to go forward. You can trust this company! I was worried but no worries here now. They are honest…not an easy thing to find these days.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    1
    June 11th, 2018
    11 people found this review helpful!
    I was charged up front and they charge their fees first 25% per account which I was not told by anyone. They only informed me of monthly fee of $22. A month. They never called me instead I got calls from my creditors everyday. They are not trust worthy in my book.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    May 25th, 2018 Northampton, MA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Due to personal circumstances, I had to withdraw from this program. My experience with them has been superb to say the least. Their CUstomer Service people are very understanding, and compassionate. Their contacts are also above what I could ever expect. Once my situation is taken care of, … I’ll come back to “Freedom Debt Relief”, as they have earned my trust in a very short period of time. I just wish they could handle the “IRS” !
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    May 23rd, 2018 Lakeland, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Everything was explained and executed in a timely manner.
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    May 23rd, 2018 Onalaska, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very personable, perfessional and explain all the detail of process.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    2
    May 23rd, 2018 Brunswick, OH
    2 people found this review helpful!
    No one bothered to contact me at all regarding my requests
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    May 23rd, 2018 Woodburn, IN
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Great service, friendly and patient staff who answer all my questions
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    May 23rd, 2018 San Antonio, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Because of the highest level of customer service provided
    Read More
  25. User Score
    2
    May 16th, 2018 Pompano Beach, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    People are looking for a lender, not another company BS’ing with 050PMyour information.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2018 Detroit, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They are a very Professional Company, and everything about the way they conduct business with you shows this. They know exactly what it will take to help you get free of your debt. I like how they consult with you first. Then how they walk you thru the whole process upfront. I like that they explain exactly what you will need to know, what you need to do, and how to go about getting it done. They explain the possible interactions with your creditors, and what to do if any problems arise…I can go on and on! Even though you may be a little uneasy or skeptical at first (like me!), they help put you at ease. I have really just begun my journey with Freedom Debt, but, I do believe ive made the right decision.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2018 Auburn, NY
    4 people found this review helpful!
    They are very dedicated in their mission to help
    Read More
  28. User Score
    2
    May 16th, 2018 Visalia, CA
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I was lied to and found out after. 3 days I could no longer exit the program . I dont like dealing with liars
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2018 Decatur, IN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    There customer service is second to none. There the best!
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    May 16th, 2018 Phoenix, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have found the FDR team to be ethical, helpful and fully engaged
    Read More
  31. User Score
    8
    May 16th, 2018 San Diego, CA 
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Its been an easy transition. So far everyone has been extremely helpful and thorough in explaining all of my options. My representative is very quick to get me answers and make sure that I feel comfortable.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    1
    May 14th, 2018 Deerfield Beach, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Don trust this company. They are not it to help you with your debt. They are making it worse for you. Inasmuch, you could deal with the creditors directly. they are no good. Scam!
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 Mt Gilead, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Been great. Patient and understanding. Always there for you if you have a questiom
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 Bronx, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have given me the freedom to pay my bills without constant worry every monht it’s a reasonable monhtly amount
    Read More
  35. User Score
    8
    May 11th, 2018 St Martinville, LA 
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Process is going good. Only problem was our name in the paper
    Read More
  36. User Score
    8
    May 11th, 2018 Theodore, AL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Still learning the process! Still not quite sure why some negotiations are taking so long, even though it seems to be working!
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 Placentia, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They explained everything to me clearly and they work with me very professionally.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 Arlington, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have provided step over step to help understand and get debt free.
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 Florissant, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Freedom Debt Relief is very responsive and accommodating.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2018 San Jose, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a few high credit card debts and FDR was there to guide me in the right direction after signing up they immidately got on the job and helped settle my acounts now i am making a low monthly payment without having to strees over bills.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2018 Salinas, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They seem to be honest and reliable. It gives good,clear feedback, updates to its customers.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    May 9th, 2018 Athens, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Because they are working in my best interest and better that I can.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Spokane, WA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Professionalism – Helping people manage life
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Milpitas, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great service & for acheiving good settlements.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Livermore, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    has decreased my debt burden considerably along with the srtress that goes with it …
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 San Francisco, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    FDR is responsive when I have questions; they’re helping me pay off my credit cards and also keeping me on track to be debt free. LOVE that!!
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Madera, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Amazing results and outstanding customer service
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2018 Lancaster, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Whenever I call, the individual who answers the phone is always friendly, informative, and professional.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    6
    May 2nd, 2018 Palmdale, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Too expensive if ‘m already in debt your fees could be less
    Read More
  50. User Score
    8
    May 2nd, 2018 Porterville, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Deligent on making the best deal with the creditors
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
955

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.1 /10