Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,224 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief

Ideal Customer: over $15,000 in debt

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 403-4319

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,170

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: July 1, 2019

Pros

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights

  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service

Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

Cons

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 34 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Our Recommendation

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief. Find out if they can help with your debt in a free consultation: 1-(855) 403-4319

 

Skip to Freedom Debt Relief customer reviews


Freedom Debt Relief FAQs

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief Cost?

Price varies depending on various features. The main features taken into account are the creditor you’re working with, the state you live in and the amount of debt you have. After all is said and done, you can expect to pay 15-25% of your total enrolled debt. Their website states the following:

“If you choose to enroll in a Freedom Debt Relief Program, Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including the state you’re in, the amount of debt you’re enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36 month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year. And the most important thing to remember is that there is absolutely NO FEE RISK to you – we guarantee that you will pay NO FEES for your debt relief services until we successfully resolve a debt for you.”

The review of program details will include:

  • Average time for settlements.
  • How some creditors can be more aggressive
  • How delinquent each debt is
  • How drafting monthly can impact the success of completing the program
  • What options we have for when creditors call our clients too much
  • What options we have for if a client gets sued

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No. Any debt settlement company charging up-front fees is not acting in accordance with the law. Under the Federal Trade Commission Act, no company is to practice up-front fees as of 2010.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Yes, they offer a free debt consultation. Calling in and speaking with a debt help specialist will give you the ability to determine the best path to success in your specific situation. While they can give you very helpful information without you divulging too many specific, they can give you the most effective help when you give them more specific information. The consultation in no risk and you won’t be locked into anything by calling.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes. Any money deposited into the trust account will go directly back to the client, minus the monthly fees charged. These fees will be determined once the applicant qualifies for the program and total debt is assessed.

What Types of Debt Does Freedom Debt Relief Work With?

Freedom Debt Relief only deals with unsecured debt.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Have a Mobile App?

Freedom Debt Relief does not have a mobile app. Their desktop site is helpful and easy to navigate, but you won’t be able to navigate as easily on your phone.

Freedom Debt offers clients online access where you cannot only check on your debt settlement account at any time, but you can contact them through it as well. The representative we spoke with indicated that they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

 

What is the Minimum Debt They Accept?

$15,000

Are They Accredited?

Yes, this business is AFCC  and IAPDA accredited.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Freedom Debt Relief below.

1-(855) 403-4319

1,170 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

12
7
12
9
13
24
21
24
137
121
790
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Vista, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was in over my head. I couldn’t do house and credit card payments at the same time. Their ad just happened to show up at that time so I gave them a call and started with them. I’m glad I did. They started taking care of me right away. When I had questions I could just call and they would give me an answer. If they didn’t know right then, they would check and give me a call back. I’m very happy with them. Now we’re over halfway done and I’m on the road to not owing any money.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Mission, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Dealing with them is just stress free and everything has been low cost. They were really good at working with me. They were always there when I called them and I always got me the answers to my questions. I got updates by email and phone calls. Going with them was the best decision I could have made.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Carmel Hamlet, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    When I called them they were very nice about my situation so I decided to go with them. Customer service is really good. They call me up and text me whenever something happens. They’ve gotten me very good deals.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Menifee, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had too many credit cards to deal with, so I went to them. At first I wasn’t sure about it but once they started settling debts I knew it was a good decision. They did a good job of calling me and letting me know when anything happened. I would get messages whenever they settled an account. They were actually able to get me out of debt. In the end there was a big difference between the amount that I paid and the amount that I owed.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Davenport, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Going with them was better than filing for bankruptcy. Every time they paid something off, if there was something that I needed to sign, or something I needed to do, they would let me know. I’m happy I went with them.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Irving, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed help getting back on my feet and I figured they would get me into a program that could take care of my debt. So far they have helped me out a lot, they took care of everything. Every time I have a question they will figure out an answer for me. I was never left in the dark with anything. I’m satisfied with it.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Little Rock, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My debt and bills were more than what I could pay so they seemed like a way out of that. I was kind of skeptical at first. After they explained everything to me I decided to give it a try since they assured me that I could always back out whenever. They’ve always taken the time to explain everything to me and the do their best to be upfront. They would send me updates to my email or call me about that.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Franklin, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed to pay off my credit cards and get rid of them and they have helped me out a lot with that. I can always go online and check on the status of my account any time I want. Going to them was a good decision, they helped me pay my debt off in a couple of years.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Warren, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I needed help when I saw an ad for them. I was really nervous then. I never dreamed I would be able to get my debt off but they really helped me with everything. Every time I called them, they helped me through with anything I needed. They would contact me immediately when something happened. If I got desperate I could also get into the online dashboard and check it any time I wanted. I’m really happy about the whole process. They really took a lot of pressure off my shoulders. Now I feel like everything is going to be ok.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Seabrook, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I wanted to be able to manage my account in one spot without having to worry about having accounts all over the place. That’s why I went to Freedom Debt Relief. I can always look at the dashboard to know what’s going on and sometimes they call me about that too. I feel good about going with them.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Sebastian, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    A friend of ours was using them and said they were a good company, so we decided to give it a try. They’re always available when we call them and have done a pretty good job. They have been very reliable so far.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 St. Petersburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They are very good at keeping you updated of the progress they make. They are just very efficient.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Humboldt, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I really needed help to try and get my bills paid off and they were the best option. They have always been willing to talk with me whenever I call to get information. I also got emails with updates and things like that. I’m satisfied with it, I have no complaints about anything.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Kissimmee, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I read the reviews and liked what I saw, so I went with them. In the numerous years that I’ve used them, they have never dropped the ball. They basically take the it and just run with it, they don’t drop it until they’re done. I get updates from them constantly while they take care of things.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Woodland Hills, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They did what they said they would do. My credit card debt was negotiated and resolved. Any questions I had, they responded in a satisfactory way. I also got a monthly updating kind of thing online that I could check. It worked pretty well.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2018 Stockton, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was getting nowhere with my payments so I signed up with them. They have been on top of everything and always make sure things are going well. I get emails constantly with updates. If I don’t respond for a certain amount of time, they call me and talk with me about how things are going.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    4
    April 20th, 2018 Seymour, TN
    4 people found this review helpful!
    After my husband got sick and we fell behind on our bills, we went to them to deal with things. I would not do it again though. I just don’t feel like they did everything they could have done for me.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    2
    April 20th, 2018 Henderson, NV
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I’m disabled and no longer working. Over the phone they don’t know what they are talking about. I get a lot of mismatched information from the emails, dashboard, and phone calls. The only way I can get real answers from them is by talking to the guy that signed me up. They didn’t update me on things at all either, I was just told to look at my dashboard and that’s it. They’re just constantly doing things differently from what’s written in the contract. I mean, they don’t negotiate well with my creditors at all and charge too much for their personal fees.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2018 Ridgeway, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They informed me of something two other companies missed.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2018 Greenville, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I rate them this way because they explain everything clearly.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,170
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,170