Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,224 Real Customer Reviews

#1
Freedom_Debt_Relief

Freedom Debt Relief

Ideal Customer: over $15,000 in debt

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1

Call For Free Consultation:   1-(855) 403-4319

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,170

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: July 1, 2019

Pros

Freedom Debt Relief Highlights

  • Only pay once you receive a debt settlement
  • Settlement service only requires you to settle a minimum of $15k
  • The company offers a credit counseling service

Great Industry Experience and Accreditations

With senior executives sitting on the American Fair Credit Council, it should come as no surprise that the company holds major industry accreditations, including being a founding member of the AFCC as well as accreditation by IAPDA, which means the debt settlement company abides by industry best practices and ethics. Freedom Debt Relief has been helping people with debt settlement since 2002 and is one of the more experienced companies in the debt settlement industry.

Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people. There are only about a dozen debt settlement companies that employ anywhere close to this many people. The fact that Freedom Debt Relief employs over 2,000 people speaks to their resources and effectiveness.

Excellent Services

Freedom Debt Relief ensures their services with a money-back guarantee to ease any concerns clients might have about the quality of its services. Also available is a free consultation, no upfront fees, and one debt consultant throughout the debt settlement program.

The goal of Freedom Debt Relief as stated on their website is to, “Ensure people have all the information they need to make informed choices about solving their debt problems — even if the choice they make isn’t Freedom Debt Relief.” This promise from the company should give consumers confidence as they approach Freedom Debt Relief to either to eliminate credit card debt or to improve their financial situation.

Each person who works with Freedom Debt Relief will get a customized debt management plan that fits their budget. The company’s goal is to relieve all debt in 24-48 months. This timeframe is standard in the debt settlement industry.

Potentially Low Prices

Unlike other debt settlement companies that charge fees before settling any debts, Freedom Debt Relief doesn’t charge any fees until the debt negotiation is over and they obtain a settlement offer.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of the total debt enrolled as a fee for their services, which is reasonably priced when compared to the fees of other companies. Clients are provided with a 24/7 online debt management dashboard to help them towards the goal of resolving their debt in between 24-48 months, which is fairly average within the industry.

Positive Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Overall, clients of Freedom Debt Relief seem to report satisfaction with the courteous, encouraging, and professional customer service they’ve received from the debt settlement firm and express appreciation that there is no upfront fee charged for the debt settlement service.

Get started with Freedom Debt Relief

Cons

Limited Availability

The company isn’t able to provide a truly national debt relief solution, as it is only available in 34 states and Washington D.C. The states the company does not service include CT, GA, HI, IL, ME, MS, NH, NJ, ND, OR, RI, SC, VT, WA, WV, OH, and WY. Those in debt cannot sign up for freedom debt unless they plan to settle at least $15,000 in unsecured debt.

Potentially High Prices

Hiring Freedom Debt Relief as your debt settlement solution may end up costing about 25% of the total debt that you enroll. While it could be as low as 15% (an excellent price), it is somewhat concerning that the fees could be higher. While working with Freedom Debt Relief can help customers out of debt, it also can potentially hurt consumers’ credit ratings. We recommend getting a quote from the company before you begin.

Our Recommendation

Freedom Debt Relief has a reputation for professional conduct and high levels of customer satisfaction. The company holds all major industry accreditations and has over a decade of experience settling unsecured debts. Our only concern with Freedom Debt Relief is that consumers may be able to find a company with a debt settlement service that has lower fees. If you owe over $15,000 in debt and live within their service area, we recommend Freedom Debt Relief. Find out if they can help with your debt in a free consultation: 1-(855) 403-4319

 

Skip to Freedom Debt Relief customer reviews


Freedom Debt Relief FAQs

How Much Does Freedom Debt Relief Cost?

Price varies depending on various features. The main features taken into account are the creditor you’re working with, the state you live in and the amount of debt you have. After all is said and done, you can expect to pay 15-25% of your total enrolled debt. Their website states the following:

“If you choose to enroll in a Freedom Debt Relief Program, Freedom charges a fee that depends on a number of things, including the state you’re in, the amount of debt you’re enrolling, and other factors. But, in general, if you enroll in a standard 36 month program, in most cases your fee works out to approximately 6-8% of your total enrolled debt per year. And the most important thing to remember is that there is absolutely NO FEE RISK to you – we guarantee that you will pay NO FEES for your debt relief services until we successfully resolve a debt for you.”

The review of program details will include:

  • Average time for settlements.
  • How some creditors can be more aggressive
  • How delinquent each debt is
  • How drafting monthly can impact the success of completing the program
  • What options we have for when creditors call our clients too much
  • What options we have for if a client gets sued

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

No. Any debt settlement company charging up-front fees is not acting in accordance with the law. Under the Federal Trade Commission Act, no company is to practice up-front fees as of 2010.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Yes, they offer a free debt consultation. Calling in and speaking with a debt help specialist will give you the ability to determine the best path to success in your specific situation. While they can give you very helpful information without you divulging too many specific, they can give you the most effective help when you give them more specific information. The consultation in no risk and you won’t be locked into anything by calling.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

Yes. Any money deposited into the trust account will go directly back to the client, minus the monthly fees charged. These fees will be determined once the applicant qualifies for the program and total debt is assessed.

What Types of Debt Does Freedom Debt Relief Work With?

Freedom Debt Relief only deals with unsecured debt.

Does Freedom Debt Relief Have a Mobile App?

Freedom Debt Relief does not have a mobile app. Their desktop site is helpful and easy to navigate, but you won’t be able to navigate as easily on your phone.

Freedom Debt offers clients online access where you cannot only check on your debt settlement account at any time, but you can contact them through it as well. The representative we spoke with indicated that they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

 

What is the Minimum Debt They Accept?

$15,000

Are They Accredited?

Yes, this business is AFCC  and IAPDA accredited.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at Freedom Debt Relief below.

1-(855) 403-4319

1,170 Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

12
7
12
9
13
24
21
24
137
121
790
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Fullerton, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very Positive. no complaints..exept each time i call..each agent gives me a different story about what they can & Can’t do.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Tulsa, OK
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service is great, I’m just anxious to get more debt paid. It puts m
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Littleton, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve had nothing but great experience with freedom debt. always had great customer service and professionally handled
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Virginia Beach, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were very helpful and very quick with customer service and getting one of my loan settle fir a lower rate.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Pittsburg, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    FDR guided me in the right direction. My debt was a nightmare when I signed up and I would recommend them to my friends.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Centerville, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    FDR has provided me a solution to our debt problem that we thought we could never solve. They’ve been helping us every step with no question ever making you feel silly you asked. We have never felt alone on what can be a very scary journey when dealing with your debt and your future
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Warroad, MN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Honest and reliable with all aspects of our experience from the questionable beginning(do we choose them?) To our graduation date. They have been wonderful through it all.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2019 Wooton, KY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Good experience. Answers our questions when we need help. Always friendly and nice when you talk to them.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 River Hills, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful and reliable, my cases are still in progress; but definitely heading towards success and I am grateful to Freedom Debt Relief for that.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Memphis, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Resolving my debts, customer service in questions and explaining a concern.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Ocala, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The staff have been very helpful. Making us feel relief that there is light at the end of the tunnel
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Sidney, MT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great so far, very helpful in settling one of my 3 debts with them.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Johnson City, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Amazing and talking to them makes me know good is happening.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 Kunkletown, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    It’s been a very good 1st year 5 of 11 accounts either have been settled or are in an agreed settlement
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2019 San Francisco, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Great Service, easy payment, very informative
    Read More
  16. User Score
    8
    July 2nd, 2019 Corpus Christi, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Small account are easy to remove but bigger account take forever
    Read More
  17. User Score
    8
    July 2nd, 2019 Milton Center, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    very good company to deal with. only issue was a debt that took me to court during the consolidation and they got full amount of debt.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    8
    July 2nd, 2019 Vacaville, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I really liked how my first credit card was paid off with only two payments (2 months); I have two more that are being taken care of: one started late last year and will end in a couple months and the other one will end in two years because of the size of the payment. I’m not happy with that, but I suppose once that one credit card gets paid off, maybe the second credit card payment will increase a bit more and then they will tackle the last two. It really helps if you set aside money to make extra payments. I am scheduled to be debt free by 2023 (I forgot the month). Also, your credit score will take a beating, they CLOSE the credit cards that you put in their program. All in all I chose this organization because I was just plain stupid with my credit cards. When I am finished, I will only get two credit cards; a mileage and a money back and I will ALWAYS PAY THE BALANCE IN FULL!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    8
    July 2nd, 2019 Somerville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Pretty positive but not much interaction with anyone after the sales guy, who was great. 4 of my 6 accounts are settled in 6 months.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    8
    June 25th, 2019 Tiffin, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every time I called them, they were very helpful and knowledgeable. I think they are very trustworthy and willing to help but I think I was looking for more understanding of what they program was about. I think they could have been more helpful solving legal problems, they have a legal service and I think they should have taken over some of the problems.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Freedom Debt Relief

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Freedom Debt Relief at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,170
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,170