Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,082 Real Customer Reviews

donaldson_williams
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#14
donaldson_williams

Donaldson Williams

$15,000 Minimum Debt

Our Score
4.9
User Score
9.4

Visit Site

Our Score
4.9
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of debt saved
17%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
None

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
9 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$15,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
22

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: December 21, 2016

Donaldson Williams is a family-owned debt settlement business focused on helping consumers and clients establish a financial plan to get them out of the financial dust bowl. This Michigan based credit card debt negotiation company has been around since 2006, providing services in 42 states with the financial freedom of their clients being their number one goal.
Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$7,500

#3

15-25%
$7,500

#14
donaldson_williams

17%
$15,000

The Good

This company takes their small, family-owned approach and brings those benefits to each client they service for debt settlement. While they have a higher than average minimum enrollment rate, they keep their fees lower than most at around 17 percent of the total amount of debt enrolled and settled. They never charge clients up-front fees, as the law prohibits this since 2010. In fact, since they opened their doors in 2006, they never charged up-front enrollment fees.

Taking a deeper look into their fee structure, we were surprised to find out there are no extra hidden fees at all. Many companies sell their products behind a “no-up-front-fee” approach and then tack on a monthly “maintenance” or “administrative” fee. Donaldson Williams feels clients who enroll into the program are under enough financial stress as it is and the last thing their clients need is another bill on top of what they are clearly having a hard time paying in the first place. Their fee model is 30 to 50 percent lower than the industry standard.

Consumers are offered a form to fill out on the company page in order to request a free consultation where they will honestly assess the financial hardship of the prospect. If for some reason, they are not a company able to meet the prospects needs, they will point them down the right path.

Aside from their up-front approach, another aspect making them stand above the rest is their clients’ ability to create their own personal banking accounts. They do not require clients to set up escrow accounts, which ultimately charge an additional “maintenance” fee. This method allows for the client to have complete access and total control over their accounts.

They outline how their company model will never allow them to amount to anything more than a small firm, although it does allow for the some of the absolute best customer care in the industry.

Donald Williams’ highlights include:

  • No hidden fees
  • 30%-50% lower than industry standard
  • Services 42 states
  • Small, family-owned and operated business

The Bad

One of the biggest disadvantages to this company is they only handle credit card debt. All other types of debt, unsecured or secured, are not eligible for their program enrollment.

Another potential downfall is the minimum amount of debt accepted into the program, which is higher than many of their competitors standing at $15,000 in unsecured credit card debt.

We understand this is a small, family-owned and operated business, however having a phone number for consumers to call for a consultation would be appreciated. There is a lengthy online form to fill out with many of the fields required in order to proceed.

Cons to consider:

  • Only deals with unsecured credit card debt
  • High $15,000 debt enrollment
  • Tough to contact a representative
  • No accreditation with the AFCC or IAPDA

Compare to the top rated debt settlement companies

The Bottom Line

Donaldson Williams is a highly rated debt relief company and one of the few that did not charge their clients a fee before the FTC banned up-front costs in 2010. Although they have a high debt enrollment rate, they are always forth coming about what to expect from their small, family-owned and operated establishment.

Click Here for Our Top Recommended Debt Settlement Providers.

Contact Information

Website: donaldsonwilliams.com
Email: [email protected]; [email protected]
Phone: (586) 263-4590
Hours:
Monday-Friday 9:00am to 5:00pm EST
Saturday 9:00am to 1:00pm EST
Closed Sundays
Address:
42211 Garfield Road, #194 Clinton Township, Michigan 48038

How Much Does Donaldson Williams cost?

They have competitive pricing compared to other debt relief pricing. They charge 17% of the amount of money you save per settlement. They will not charge any kind of fee until you have reached at least one successful settlement. Their pricing is better than most in the industry.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

Donaldson Williams does not charge up-front fees when you sign up. All service fees are charged after you reach a successful settlement. One highlight about this company is that they let you use your personal bank account to accumulate funds. This saves on signup and monthly fees that are typically associated with using a trust account or other third-party banking service.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Visit the company website to submit a request for a free financial consultation. Or if you prefer, you can call directly to have a consultation with a company representative. You will be transferred directly to a live operator when calling in, which means that you may be asked to leave a voicemail with your contact information.

Does Donaldson Williams Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

There is no penalty for canceling service early. Since they allow you to use your personal bank account to accumulate funds, you don’t have to worry about getting your money back. Keep in mind that you will be held responsible for paying any service fees the company earned if any debts are settled before you leave the program.

What Types of Debt Does Donaldson Williams Work With?

They specialize in unsecured credit card debt, but will take on other forms of unsecured debt. They will take on student loan debt as long as it is not government-sponsored debt.

About Donaldson Williams

Donaldson Williams is a family-owned business with a staff that has several years of experience in assisting individuals in resolving their debt concerns. The company strives to focus on providing reliable customer service, with financial freedom of its clients being the number one goal.

Time in Business

9 years. Donaldson Williams was established on July 1, 2006.

Debt Education

The website features a Debt Settlement FAQ page which contains useful information for people considering hiring a debt settlement company for the first time. There is also a blog that provides useful information for people in all walks of life. The blog is especially helpful because each post contains information on subjects such as student loans and credit card debt. They also offer plenty of more personal training and education while you’re working with them.

Mobile-Friendly Site

They do offer a mobile friendly website that allows consumers to connect with them more effectively on a mobile device. This is an excellent offering for a company in this industry considering many companies do not offer mobile friendly tools or a website.

Services Provided

Debt settlement is the main service provided. They help you establish a financial plan that allows you to make one monthly payment towards all your debts. This payment is accumulated in a designated account until you have reached an amount anticipated by collectors or until the company is able to negotiate a better settlement. Your approval will be requested before funds are withdrawn and sent to creditors. This process is repeated until all enrolled debts are paid off. One thing that separates Donaldson Williams from the majority of its competitors is that the program allows you to accumulate funds in your personal bank account rather than depositing it in an account specified by the company. This is because they feel that customers are more comfortable when they are able to control their own money. This also ensures that your money is safe and secure because you are able to monitor the accumulated balance alongside your personal funds.

Minimum Debt Accepted

This company prefers to take clients that have at least $15,000 in unsecured debt. Eligibility is assessed not only on the amount of debt, but also factors such as income and availability of funds which influence your ability to complete the program. They are happy to guide you towards other debt relief options even if you do not qualify.

Online Dashboard

You always have access to your own trust bank account where all transactions can be viewed.

Accreditations

No, they do not currently have AFCC or IAPDA accreditations.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

22 Donaldson Williams Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
3
18
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    May 20th, 2017 Cape Coral, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Top notch company that does what it says it will do. I had over 80k in credit card debt that is now behind me just over 2 years after I started the process. Thank you!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    December 7th, 2016 Orlando, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    If you are looking to resolve a credit card debt that seems all consuming and endless Donaldson Williams Inc. is the company to put your faith in. I had accumulated what I consider a significant debt of around 58K and had had enough of paying and paying and getting nowhere. After I researched a bit, I realized all the comments sections kept recommending consistently Donaldson Williams Inc. Eventually, I reached out to Marie, and boy am I glad I did. In just 16 months I am debt free and no longer concerned about minimum payments and overwhelming debt. To drive home one final point, in the planning stage I was told to expect to be responsible for 50-60 % on the dollar. My total costs ended up being in the neighborhood of $28,413.57. To Erin and all the staff I say a job well done! Retired Police Officer in Florida
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2015 Elk Grove, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Simply awesome. The best out there, great customer service, settled heavy credit cards.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    July 30th, 2015 Duluth, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My name is Dmitry.
    I simply can’t say enough good things about Donaldson and Williams.
    I was in a tremendously tough financial situation and was researching different companies who specialize in debt settlement. None of them appealed to me.
    Luckily I ran into some someone’s good feedback about Donaldson and Williams.
    I called them up and from the get-go got great vibe about them. They were very diplomatic, professional and understanding.
    I had over 80K in credit card debt, and it was totally suffocating me and my family.

    This COMPANY was able to save my family from the total financial disaster and I am truly thankful to them for everything !!!!!!!!!

    I’ll be more than happy to share my experience with anyone who wants to hear it !!!!!

    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    July 16th, 2015 Seattle, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Donaldson and Williams were very professional and attentive to helping me become debt-free. Thank you so much for your help Linda, Erin and Marie. I will highly recommend your company to anyone.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    9
    July 13th, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone I worked with was polite and professional. They took care of everything fast and efficiently. Would absolutely recommend them.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    April 25th, 2015 Warsaw, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Donaldson Williams did exactly what they said they would do for me. They kept me informed of everything they was doing. I’m very pleased with their performance and their professionalism. I would highly recommend them.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    April 9th, 2015 Fresno, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Donald Williams need to work on their professional association , also the way he handles clients. Some improvements can be used towards his staff, such as lack of communication. Mr. Williams wants to be in this profession he needs a little more training in communication being honest with clients
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    February 9th, 2015 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    All the people in Donaldson Williams are very attentive and were able to settle my debt for 40% less than what I owed. They were very understanding of the hardships that brought me to having to use their services.

    I was skeptic at the beginning but I am happy I contacted them. I fully recommend this company.

    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    December 5th, 2014 Tallmadge, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Donaldson Williams worked wonders for us. After facing huge debt that resulted from paying two mortgages, having to make major repairs on one of the homes, and eventually selling it at a tremendous loss, they helped us to settle our debts without having to go through bankruptcy. They’re knowledge of the debt collection agencies and the credit companies helped us to remain stress-free while they got us better deals than we could have if attempting this alone. I have no problem recommending this company to anyone facing a similar situation.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    December 3rd, 2014 Columbus, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    There are many debt solution companies out there and it is difficult to know if you are making the right decision on who to work with. And, quite frankly, some of these firms seem a little shady. No so with Donaldson Williams. Very professional, very helpful, great advice, very attentive to details, good follow-up, and they do what they promise. We had a large debt load that needed to get resolved. Within a year we had every credit card negotiated and we were debt free. The folks at Donaldson Williams are wonderful to work with and are very professional. I recommend them highly to anyone who is suffering from credit card issues and not sure where to turn. You are in good hands with Donaldson Williams!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 15th, 2014 Dayton, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Donaldson Williams is an excellent company that stands by their word. We had maxed out 5 credit cards and were getting deeper in debt; we were feeling overwhelmed, and rundown. Erin and Linda could not have been more accommodating and dependable through this challenging time. They kept us informed and settled out debt within a year!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2014 Fraser, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I found this company to be outstanding in their service in every way possible. They are down-to-earth and understanding, and they know everything about the credit business and all the account workers at pretty much every major credit card company. All 5 of my accounts were resolved within 23 months of signing with Donaldson Williams. In fact, the first 4 were resolved within one year. That’s a testament how well these ladies know the credit industry–the companies were quick to come to an agreement on nearly every account as soon as DW contacted them. And three of them settled at 27% of what was owed, the other two at 49%. The amount of relief I felt as these started being resolved was immeasurable.
    As for the concerns about someone immediately answering the phone, I’ll take the personal interest (which with DW is without the hardcore sales tactics of some other companies) over an immediate answer any day. Also, I NEVER had to wait more than 24 hours for a call back. Donaldson Williams really stands out above the rest if you are looking to resolve your credit issues and get on the right track.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    9
    November 9th, 2014 Baltimore, MD
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was very impressed with the professionalism and quick immediate activity to help me settle and resolve my credit card debt.
    I was very pleased that I was able to settle my debt for an average of less than 40% of my total due.
    You all have truly helped me to get my finances back in check.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    October 23rd, 2014 Marietta, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Donaldson Williams were very kind, they were helpful and prompt. Donaldson Williams are the real deal! If you have high interest rates on your credit cards which makes it impossible to pay them off, I highly recommend Donaldson Williams.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    October 17th, 2014 Bolingbrook, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have received a tremendous support and help from Donaldson and WIlliams company. They have been supportive, dedicated and willing to help me with my personal financials. I am more than happy with the results and outcome after months working directly with the DW’s team.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    October 16th, 2014 Rochester, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    D.W. is a fair and honest company to deal with. I had found myself in bankruptcy and living on under $50.00 a week and could not continue this way, I had heard about DW and gave them a call to my surprise within two and a half years and about $80,000.00 of debt they settled all of my debts. avg of about 36% of what i owed. I never had a problem with getting a hold of them when i needed to. so happy to be out of that kind of pressure and debt.

    I am very happy with there service!!

    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    October 16th, 2014 Brook Park, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My wife and I had a large credit card debt of $150,000+ when the recession/depression of 2008-2009 hit. We first went with another debt settlement company, but after paying this company our monthly amount, we found they did not pay our creditors with our money.
    Then we found Donaldson Williams and are so glad we did. They were very honest people, and very responsive EVERY time. Under their system, you pay the bank directly with no middle man. And Donaldson Williams only gets paid when they settle your debt. They charge a fee of only 17% of the amount they save you. So they are very motivated to negotiate the lowest amount possible.

    Within 18 months, we settled over $150,000 in credit card debt. We only have the HIGHEST regard for Donaldson Williams. You can trust them to do what they say they will do. Marie Megge and everyone we dealt with on her staff went out of their way to help us walk through this very difficult time.
    We’re very glad we found Donaldson Williams and Marie Megge.

    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    October 16th, 2014 Geneseo, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We used DW to work our way out of crushing debt. We had looked at a number of other options but due to the great response and wonderful truthfulness of DW we went with them. They won’t sugarcoat the truth, they will tell you how difficult this will be, but that they will be with you through the process. And they were. They worked with us every step of the way and anytime we had questions or concerns I was always able to reach them. I disagree with the review at the top that they are difficult to reach. I never had a problem getting ahold of them. They were easy to reach each time I needed to. I can’t stress enough how good it was to have someone who wasn’t just trying to make a quick buck off our bad situation, but was really trying to help. I can attest that even with their fees they explained them, gave us some trust (used our own bank accounts), and worked individually with us through each piece of our debt puzzle. In the middle of a lousy process they were great to work with.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    October 14th, 2014 Prescott, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a very large credit cad debt w/Citibank and they were unwilling to work w/me.
    I hd look at other options in terms of settlement but none of thm were really wiiling to work w/me.
    Somhow I found Donaldson Wlliams –gave them a call and almost rom teh get go I was vry happy w/the way they operate. They were very fair professional and easy to work with. I have no settled my account w/both Citibank and DW and would use them again if I need that type of representation.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with Donaldson Williams

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from Donaldson Williams at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
4.9
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of debt saved
17%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
None

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
9 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$15,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
22
Our Score
9.1
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
863