Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,182 Real Customer Reviews

curadebt
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#5
curadebt

CuraDebt

CuraDebt has been in business for 15 years and has competitive pricing but lacks transparency.

Our Score
7.9
User Score
9.4
Our Score
7.9
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

20%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$5,000

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

95

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: July 10, 2019

Wondering if CuraDebt is the right debt settlement company for you? Here’s a glance at their debt relief program:

What do they do? CuraDebt’s primary focus is debt relief. They also offer debt consolidation and tax relief services.
Who is this program for? Debt settlement is for people who are falling delinquent on their accounts or can’t make their minimum payments on unsecured debts. Your overall debt must be $5k to enroll.
Are they in my state? Not available in CT, DE, GA, KS, MT, ND, OR, PA, SC, VT, WA, WV, WY.
How long will it take? 2-4 years.
How much will it cost? 20% of the debt you enroll (ex: you enroll $40k, CuraDebt charges $8k). Average savings are not disclosed.
Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$10,000

#3

18-25%
$7,500

#5
curadebt

20%
$5,000

Pros

Low Fees

CuraDebt offers competitive pricing, charging only 20% of a client’s debt for their debt settlement services. This price is slightly lower than most industry prices we have seen. Like many other debt settlement companies, CuraDebt also offers a free debt relief consultation. The 20% fee is paid as your debts are settled.

Easy to Qualify

Of note is the fact that they take on smaller dollar cases as low as $5,000 in unsecured debt, allowing more people to use their debt services than many competing debt settlement companies would. Most debt relief companies require a minimum debt of $10,000 to enroll in their program.

CuraDebt Consumer Reviews

The CuraDebt reviews on Best Debt Companys are overwhelmingly positive, with customer’s rating them at an average of 9 out of 10. Some common themes of these positive reviews include:

  • Attentive customer service
  • Easy, well explained process

Positive review of CuraDebt on Bestdebtcomapnys.com

Cons

Transparency Issues

One of our concerns with CuraDebt relates to transparency. The debt settlement company is filed in Nevada but has no offices in the state. Instead, they list an address on their website in Hollywood, Florida in a building owned by Regus. According to Regus, a company that rents virtual and physical office spaces. While the company does have some ties to the U.S., it appears that most of their operation is located in Columbia.

Small Company

According to the company’s website and LinkedIn, CuraDebt has less than 10 employees. This is a very small company compared to some of the top debt relief companies (with 200+ employees). The more employees a company has, the more time and resources they have to dedicate to your account.

Not Available in All States

CuraDebt is only available in 37 U.S. states. They do not work with debt settlement cases in the following states:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Kansas
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Negative CuraDebt Reviews

While most of the reviews for CuraDebt are positive, there have been a handful of negative reviews left about the company in 2019 on Best Debt Companys. These reviewers are upset about the fees and cost of CuraDebt. There are also a few mentions that the program took longer than the company originally promised. Below is a review from Julio Iglesias, left on March 2019:

Negative review of CuraDebt on Bestdebtcompanys.com

Our Recommendation

On paper, CuraDebt appears to have all of the right things: competitive pricing, accreditations, a money back guarantee, and 15 years in the debt settlement business. However, the debt company’s low number of employees and confusing physical location make us concerned about its legitimacy. At this time, we do not recommend CuraDebt at this time. 

View top-rated debt settlement companies


CuraDebt FAQs

Are they accredited?

This is one of the longest-running debt settlement companies in the industry. CuraDebt has been helping people get out of tough financial situations since 2000. The debt settlement company holds certificates with major industry accreditations, including the AFCC and the IAPDA.

What types of debts do CuraDebt work with?

CuraDebt works with unsecured debts. The most common unsecured debts include credit cards, medical bills, business loans, personal loans / lines of credit, and repossessions. CuraDebt says they work with certain secured debts – they are one of the only debt relief companies who claim this. The company also works with tax debt, lawsuits, and student loans in some cases.

How Much Does CuraDebt cost?

No fees are charged upfront. On average, clients are charged 20% of the total debt enrolled for CuraDebt’s debt settlement services. No payments are made until the client accepts the settlement. There are no installment or administrative fees.

Are There Any Up-Front Fees?

They currently have no up-front fees.

Can I Get A Free Consultation?

Curadebt offers a free debt consultation over the phone or they can give you basic advice by just filling out the form on their site. If you fill out the form, you’re not committing to anything binding, you’re simply giving them permission to counsel with you about your debt.

Does CuraDebt Offer A Money-Back Guarantee?

The company will refund you if the debt settlement amount plus fees paid are in excess of the original debt. You can cancel debt services at any time since you aren’t charged until a settlement is reached.

How much debt do I need to enroll in this program?

The minimum amount of debt they service is $5,000

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

95 CuraDebt Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

4
3
9
79
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    March 10th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Where to start? I racked up five figures in credit-card debt paying for a wedding and honeymoon and then lost my job. A month later we learned my wife was pregnant.

    I was starting to lose sleep and get what I thought might have been panic attacks. How to pay for everything with nothing coming in?

    So I called Cura Debt and talked to Zac, who I must say made me feel 100% better. I ultimately signed up for a plan that made it all manageable, and I must say that five years later my growing family is financially healthy. Thanks Zac!

    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    March 8th, 2018 Tampa, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was very impressed with Lorine. She is very knowledgeable, seems to care about your debt and how your company can help, a real people person who seems to care about about her customers. When I contacted her she always got right back to me and could answer any questions I had. Very impressive after the thousands of people I’ve talked to in positions like hers or similar. Great personality and accommodating.

    Tara G.
    Definitely a 10

    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    March 5th, 2018 Alexandria, VA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Curadebt has been extremely helpful during this financially challenging time for me. I have nothing but good things to say about all of the people who have helped me along the way. From the first point of contact to my current counselor, they have compassionate and understanding and answered all of my questions. They really work hard to get the best settlement possible. I like how accessible my debt counselor is. He is always a phone call or email away if I need to reach out to him. Thanks to Curadebt, I can rest assured that I am on the path to being debt free.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    January 24th, 2018 Pomona, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I enrolled with debt settlement program with Curadebt in Jan 2016. Curadebt assigned me to 23rd Party “Peak Legal Advocates”/Sentry Servicing. I put 7 Creditors and they said my program will be 60 month for ~$442.11 which include their monthly fees of $50. After 2 years in the program and never late on my payment. I ended up getting sued by one of my crediotrs since my CREDITORS NEVER RECEVIED a singel peeny from them. I cancel the program today and hope they don’t take any more $ from my bank. Be aware!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    December 16th, 2017
    1 people found this review helpful!
    When I called CuraDebt to see what I should do I talked to Lorine V. She took the time to answer all my questions so I would know what was the best thing for me to do.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    July 10th, 2017 Louisville, KY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve received great one on one Customer Service!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Fremont, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very happy with curadebt. I was lost in debt and didn’t know what to do. Curadebt helped me so much. Through them, and with the huge help of Katerine T, I have paid off a lot of it and my stress levels have gone way down. Thank you again for all your help.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Miami, FL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I give CuraDebt a 10 rating because Mr Freeman was kind and understanding. He explained everything to me step by step.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    9
    November 9th, 2015 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great experience and very knowledgeable. ..Jim helped me get on the right track to becoming dept free…the process was quick and easy to follow and Jim provided me with a way to fix my credit and start a new life ….thanx again Jim. …i will definitely be telling my friends and family about this program
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Miami, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    We have been partners with Curadebt for years and they never disappoint. They are always on top of the details, very responsive and they always communicate clearly and often. Everyone we have dealt with has been extremely professional, caring and helpful. They have the highest recommendations from us!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Las Vegas, NV
    1 people found this review helpful!
    We are proud to partner with CuraDebt as a resource for our users to solve their issues with tax relief. Their team has been extremely responsive in building a platform to easily help online users looking for assistance and information.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 9th, 2015 Waco, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    By my own poor judgement, I had gotten myself into this situation. Curadebt has helped me to climb out slowly but surely. Katerine T. has been very helpful and understanding. Thank you! I see a light at the end of the tunnel.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    September 24th, 2015 Braintree, MA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Julio is absolutely amazing at what he does. Very patient, professional, and kind. Choosing a company to work with is a very difficult decision but curadebt made it 100x better! Looking forward to working with this comany and successfully completing the program.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    9
    September 16th, 2015 Trenton, NJ
    2 people found this review helpful!
    The process was simple and concise. All of my questions were answered clearly. Open lines of communication makes it easy for any further questions or concerns I may have to be satiated.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    September 10th, 2015 Emmett, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I recently had been forced into retirement, & still had several credit cards to pay off. With now limited income, I was at a loss as to what to do. My husband had also been forced into retirement 5 yrs ago. So with limited income, we were at a loss. I contacted Curadebt, and got ahold of Gloria. She was fantastic!!!! She went thru everything with me, & explained how this worked. Answered all my questions over the course of about a week. My husband, was still skeptical, but finally agreed to go with me on this. We’ve just begun our journey with this, but all support staff & especially Gloria (my savior) have been of tremendous help. The reassurance has been great. Every so often I will doubt myself about my choice, but a rep will e-mail me and reassure me things are going as planned. And, yes, they are… Just as was explained to me. In the beginning there was so much info to absorb, but things are smoothing out. We are hoping in a few yrs all this credit card debt will be resolved. Thank you Gloria for getting me started!!!!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    September 10th, 2015 Idaho Falls, ID
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Everything was fully explained and my personal financial situation was managed well to what would be best for my specific situation. I felt comfortable asking questions and I’m glad we are in the program. We look forward to becoming debt free and changing how we live financially.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    September 9th, 2015 Rochester, MN
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Zac was helpful and kind during my first phone call with me. Never did i feel judge on my financial situation. Very top notch!!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    9
    September 7th, 2015 Yonkers, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Assistance was swift, professional and friendly. Maurice was very helpful and totally dedicated to delivering excellent service and was very responsive to requests. He responded to all my questions and made me feel like he truly understood my concerns and that he cared. I am very satisfied with my experience so far and I hope that my case will be resolved successfully.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    August 27th, 2015 Natchez, MS
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had a wonderful experience with Mario. I had no idea that it would be so easy. He did not hassle me after the initial consultation. He guided me throughout the whole process and made me feel confident about my decision to join the program. Being backed by an attorney really sealed the deal for me. I would highly recommend CuraDebt to others who are having financial difficulties. Thanks CuraDebt!!!!!!!!!!!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    August 25th, 2015 Long Beach, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    When I called CuraDebt I didn’t know what to expect and didn’t know if they could help me with my financial struggle. I was connected with one of their senior counselors and the information I was given was phenomenal. Julio explained my options step by step and made sure as he went along I was following him. He was there to help me and he truly did. I am know on my way to improving my finances by making one phone call. It may sound to good to be true and I thought it was but its not. Thank you Julio for all your help!!!!!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with CuraDebt

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from CuraDebt at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
7.9
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

20%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$5,000

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

95
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.1
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,314