Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,068 Real Customer Reviews

ClearOne_advantage
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#12
ClearOne_advantage

ClearOne Advantage

ClearOne Advantage has nearly 10 years of experience and national accreditations; available in 22 U.S. states.

Our Score
5.3
User Score
8.2

Visit Site

Our Score
5.3
User Score
8.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

20%-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$10,000

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

71

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: May 16, 2019

ClearOne Advantage offers each client a personalized debt relief or debt settlement plan and does not force clients to pay for its relief services up front. Additionally, ClearOne Advantage provides a team of certified debt specialists to help customers resolve various types of debt.

Rank Chart
Price (% of debt)
Smallest Debt Accepted
Review

#1

15-25%
$7,500

#2

15-25%
$7,500

#3

15-25%
$7,500

#12
ClearOne_advantage

20%-25%
$10,000

The Good

  • Industry Size and Experience
  • Satisfaction Guarantee
  • No Upfront Fees
  • Debt Education
  • Services
  • Online Dashboard
  • Accreditations

Industry Size and Experience

ClearOne Advantage is a large company of nearly 200 people (bigger in comparison to others) and is certified with all major national debt relief organizations. Company executives have years of entrepreneurial and financial experience.

Satisfaction Guarantee

ClearOne Advantage’s debt settlement plan includes a 90-day, 100% money-back guarantee if you are not happy with their services. If you do not save any money with your first settlement, you can get a refund of all the settlement fees you paid.

Because they use a 3rd party trust account, not all fees may be reimbursed. Typically, Global Client Solutions charges around $9.75 a month to use their services. In short, all money paid to ClearOne Advantage will be reimbursed, less the GCS fees.

No Upfront Fees

This company does not charge up-front fees at the point of signup.

Debt Education

The company website has an education page dedicated to providing useful information regarding home refinancing, working with lenders, consumer credit counseling, bankruptcy, debt consolidation, how debt settlement can affect your credit, and the downfalls of paying monthly, minimum payments. In addition, there are tools such as articles, settlement letters, and an FAQ page for potential customers. Customers can also utilize the Knowledge Base which displays answers to several types of debt questions asked by customers. This feature also allows you to ask a specific debt management question if desired.

There is also an informational blog that explains the benefits of hiring a debt settlement company ( aka what debt settlement offers). It also covers certain characteristics to look for when determining which company is right for you. There are also tips for establishing good financial habits which allow customers to remain debt-free after the debt settlement plan is complete.

Services

ClearOne Advantage’s goal is to assist in developing a debt resolution plan that is both cost and time-efficient. Qualifiers for the Debt Settlement Program are usually people who are struggling to keep up with monthly payments due to a financial hardship such as unemployment or injury. Once you have been accepted into the debt settlement program, a global trust fund is set up in your name. You will be able to determine an affordable monthly payment which is sent to this trust fund for safe keeping while you accumulate adequate funds to settle your debt.

Upon enrollment, ClearOne Advantage will begin debt negotiation with creditors to obtain debt settlements for less than the full balance originally owed. If the company manages to negotiate a more favorable settlement or if you have accumulated enough funds to pay off a certain debt, money will be taken from the trust fund with your approval. This process is repeated until the program is complete. According to the website, the average program length is typically 2-3 years before the customer is able to pay off all debt obligations.

Online Dashboard

ClearOne Advantage does have a clear member login area on their homepage. Those who sign up for the company’s settlement plan can log in with a protected password to view documents for the program, review debt resolution progress, and keep up to date on what the company is doing in terms of its settlement services.

Accreditations

ClearOne Advantage does have accreditations with the AFCC , IAPDA, and the Better Business Bureau.

View Best Debt Relief Companies

The Bad

  • Potentially High Prices
  • Limited Availability
  • High Minimum Debt Requirement
  • Customer Complaints

Potentially High Prices

While ClearOne Advantage may only charge 20% of the total debt you owe, charges can reach 25%, slightly higher than other debt relief services.

Limited Availability

The biggest downside to ClearOne Advantage is that their debt settlement service is only available in 22/50 U.S. states: AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, FL, IA, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, MI, MO, NE, NC, NM, NY, OK, PA, TX, VA.

High Minimum Debt Requirement

To work with ClearOne Advantage, you must be in debt at least $10,000. This is slightly higher than other debt settlement companies.

Customer Complaints

Negative ClearOne Advantage reviews are difficult to find, but some former clients say the debt management company uses uncomfortable debt negotiation tactics and charges high fees for its settlement services.

Freedom Debt Relief charges 15-25% of total debt enrolled.

The Bottom Line

ClearOne Advantage does not charge any upfront fees and provides debt settlement services, credit counseling services, debt consolidation loan services, and bankruptcy services. The company also offers various educational resources on its website and does provide help with unsecured debts including medical bills and certain loans. Additionally, ClearOne Advantage has accreditations with the AFCC, IAPDA, and the Better Business Bureau. However, the company does have a high minimum debt requirement, limited state availability, and some customers have complained about the company’s debt negotiation tactics and high fees.

If you are interested in ClearOne Advantage services, we recommend that you conduct your own personal debt management plan research and read several ClearOne Advantage reviews in order to see if ClearOne Advantage is the right debt settlement program for you.

View Best Debt Relief Companies

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

71 ClearOne Advantage Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

8
2
1
1
4
11
44
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    April 22nd, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I started with them last Sept 2018, paid in $2,065.00 and they paid only a portion of ONE debt and pocketed the rest of my money. I did get my bank money back but what good are they? I’m worse off now then ever!!!!!!!!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    April 22nd, 2019
    1 people found this review helpful!
    My experiences with ClearOne Advantage were far from a business with a+rating . Clear One advantage represented themselves as a helping hand in time where people are struggling with debt, offering to settle with creditors for lower amounts and consolidate payments to make it easier to
    plan and budget. Despite these promises, Clear One only paid one of my creditors even when they claimed they would work with each of them. They charged me hundreds of dollars a month of their service, yet only small fraction of that went to paying my creditors, The rest went to their fee even though I was told that Clear One would work to resolve and settle these debts with my creditors before taking any fees. Even when they did pay one of my creditors , I was never shown any evidence that Clear One had actually lowed my debts by setting them or working with creditors at all.

    This is not acceptable way to work with people who just want to help their credit and pay their debts.
    Until ClearOne changes their business practices, I do not recommend anyone use this service. They will make sure to their fees first above serving their customers

    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    April 15th, 2019
    3 people found this review helpful!
    This place just wants to take your money even though they can’t settle your debt. So if I was you get some place else to do it for you. Since they couldn’t settle with my creditors now I got to go to court because of them but they took all of my money that I gave them and put it in there pockets. When they just gave me headache with it all. I feel sorry for other that are with them.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    February 7th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This company is horrible I ask people do not sign up with clearone advantage.I am out 3500 dollars that this company charge and did nothing with my creditor. I cancelled clearone advantage and called. My creditor and they work with me with lower payment.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    November 27th, 2018
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Trying to get a hold of someone to talk to us IMPOSSIBLE. Have called several times and have sent numerous emails and NO response. Terrible company. Wish I’d never joined.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 15th, 2018
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I cannot say enough about how wonderful the representatives were at ClearOne. I must have spoken to at least seven people over the last two days and out of all of those, there were only two who were lacking empathy but one of those corrected her tone as soon as I mentioned it.
    I want to thank everyone involved in preparing my case, for their patience, understanding, nonjudgmental attitude, and for turning what could have been a terrible experience for me into a pleasant stress-free one.
    Carol Aiken
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    October 3rd, 2018
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Lester was a big help and I was very thankful for him today. I was on the phone for 20 to 25 minutes waiting to talk to someone. I understand they were busy. I decided to email and I got a response immediately from Lester. Lester even waited until after I got off of work to call me back and resolved my issue.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    1
    August 20th, 2018 Weaverville, NC
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I had 70000 in debt and was given at 60 month program for 891 per month. This promise did not come close to the reality of the my situation. You are able to make the same deals with creditors and avoid the 25 percent service fee on the ORIGINAL balance.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    0
    July 9th, 2018 Carbondale, CO
    15 people found this review helpful!
    My account balance changed overtime and ClearOne added two payments from the original agreement. The agent amended my balance slightly from what showed online because I caught it! But the outcome was still wrong and not in my favor. Agent said it was a limitation of the computer and my fault because I interpreted the information wrong. That was a lie. My last payment was to be in August and for less than the normal payment. Your records showed that my payments for $460 would be thru October! Totally wrong.

    ClearOne added fees onto the original agreement! The agent refused to send a spreadsheet of my charges and the profit of ClearOne. I was told that I would receive information once I graduated. I want the information today, when I asked for it!

    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018
    11 people found this review helpful!
    This company is very good and very kind and listen to the problem that you trying to solve
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    May 18th, 2018
    14 people found this review helpful!
    Both Crystal B. & Nikita S., were very patient, understanding & awesome Customer Service Reps. You don’t find that often these days within any company & for their excellent assistance, I am truly grateful.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    February 24th, 2018 Chesapeake, VA
    20 people found this review helpful!
    Clearone did a fabulous job with the entire process. Their initial consultation and explanation was very professional and not a sales tactics. One has to understand that the service is not free. One also has to be ready commit to the entire process and aggressively pursue the end result. Nothing was hidden as to how the problem/debt would be resolved. The interface with global client solutions was seamless as well and had a telltale view and breakdown of your progress and upcoming events. I can only wish that I had done it sooner. Thank you to the entire team that was involved with my process.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    1
    February 23rd, 2018 Terre Haute, IN
    13 people found this review helpful!
    This company was not completely honest from the beginning. I initially setup 4 accounts. They setup my monthly payment and did not tell me they would be paying one account off at a time. So I removed 2 accounts and took care of those on my own. They did pay the first account off in 5 months but by 6 months, which was the length for me to pay their additional fee, the 2nd creditor began legal action. They were only able to talk the account down to 80% but I would have to pay it off in 12 months so my payment would have been roughly $1000/month with their fee. Or I could pay the full debt in 24 months, which was over $600/month with their fee. I decided to look into bankruptcy because of this one account. I got rid of ClearOne and got an attorney. Before I committed to filing I contacted the creditor to see if they would accept a 50% payment to close they account. They said they could accept the 50% payment and then do payments of $281 for 10 months. Meaning I settled with the creditor at 70%. Do not ever use a settlement company because they cannot promise anything. It will ruin your credit. You are better off taking care of the debt on your own and attempting a settlement.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    3
    December 14th, 2017
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Woefully understaffed. in my 5 month association with them I’ll know my emails were often not opened for several days and sometimes weeks after they were sent. Un that timeframe they only managed to negotiate one settlement out of 10 accounts placed in the program. A timely request to reschedule an automatic withdrawal was never completed as it was opened up the day before the actual withdrawal and yhen it was too late to stop. The result was it $800 overdraft in my checking account to which I was told I should send a copy of the overdraft fee into the company and they credit me the 34 bucks.My request tto cancel the account took more than 2 weeks to complete. The poor employee in the client retention group who sent the final email just wrote ‘ best of luck – Robert.” Now thats professionalism .
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2017
    23 people found this review helpful!
    I have NEVER dealt with this company before so I am sharing my experience as a first-timer.

    Thanks ClearOne/Katie for taking the burden off my shoulders and help me refocus on my new business. You have my referral for life…that’s how happy Katie and ClearOne have made me. I’m saving thousands in fees and paying off sooner.

    Read More
  16. User Score
    8
    February 16th, 2017 Petoskey, MI
    61 people found this review helpful!
    I have a family of 6 and was nearly $110,000 in debt. I enrolled in 2015 and in 2019 will be debt free (except the house of course). There is SO much to love about this company. If it were not for them we would be in ever worse shape. Their CSR folks are always friendly, their sales people were willing to listen to my sob stories and even let me cry a couple of times. All but one account they were able to settle for less than the amount owed (and the one they couldn’t was American Express – who actually ended up taking me to court; never doing business with AmEx again). The company was very encouraging. Overall, bankruptcy was just not an option for me, and after a LOT of research I chose Clear One Advantage. They allowed me to enroll a couple of accounts that others would not tackle (and settled them very nicely). You will see a few reviews talking about some shady negotiating tactics – this is actually a testimony to the willingness of the COA folks to do what’s necessary to get a good settlement. It’s unnerving at times, but this is indicative of the nature of the creditors.

    On the negative side (and there are always two sides to every review), there are a few things I would like to see them do differently in the future. First, the nature of how the program would go was not exactly what had been presented in the initial conversations. I was led to believe that for the monthly fee for the agreed upon number of months, COA would be able to settle my accounts. EVERY SINGLE SETTLEMENT ended up requiring them to call me and ask for additional funds. To the point where there was a time where I would not answer their calls because I knew they were asking for more money (If I had the kind of money you are asking me for, I wouldn’t have called you all in the first place). Last summer I paid in nearly $8,000 in EXTRA payments and am on track to do the same this year. It’s been TOUGH. However, on the other hand, knowing that this extra money was directly contributing and speeding up the process of being out of debt provided motivation to find the extra funds. I got two extra side jobs (challenging when you have 4 kids). Secondly, it did not appear to me as if I was being handled as a single account, but as 10 separate accounts (I had 10 different creditors I enrolled). Even though I repeatedly communicated with COA that AmEx was very clearly going to sue me right out of the gate, they called me with settlements for 3 other accounts first, and I did end up being sued. Several CSR people “off the record” told me that AmEx should have been and could have been settled earlier to avoid the lawsuit. Fortunately I was able to settle with them before it went to trial, but it was a VERY stressful process. Each client should be assigned a person to oversee the entire settlement process, not just have a list of random accounts to settle in random order. FINALLY (in the negative side) – a LOT of the “extra funds” that I was asked for was not for creditor settlements, but for COA FEES. I do not mind paying COA for the amazing work that they do, but they should not be asking me for extra money to pay their fees, that should come later as possible and I don’t mind if the last year of the program is to pay for the settlement work that COA did.

    Ultimately, I would do this again (and hopefully I NEVER WILL) but I would definitely go in a little more knowledgeable about the process.

    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    December 20th, 2016
    12 people found this review helpful!
    I thought I was getting good expensive service until I found out that it was not keeping me from bankruptcy . They had just made a settlement with one of my creditors when I called to cancel . They had just made 1ST payment to creditor for $980 , which I understand . That left me with approx. $950 in my account fund . I asked them for a refund of MY money . They said there would be some charges . They kept $168 a month all taken at once . Which left a balance of $1.45 . IF THERE IS A CHANCE THAT YOU MAY STILL HAVE TO FILE FOR BANKRUPTCY—DO NOT JOIN –THEY WILL SCREW YOU I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SORRY I JOINED .
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    December 4th, 2016
    38 people found this review helpful!
    Extremely satisfied with their customer service. Always very helpful! Thanks!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    November 17th, 2016 Dallas, TX
    31 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service. Was skeptical at first but these guys did me justice. Thanks ClearOne!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2016
    36 people found this review helpful!
    Out of debt in less then 3 years with thousands saved. Couldn’t ask for much more than that! Will certainly be recommending you all in the future!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with ClearOne Advantage

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from ClearOne Advantage at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
5.3
User Score
8.2
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

20%-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$10,000

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

71
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price - % of Debt

15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

Yes

Min. Debt Accepted

$7,500

Money-Back Guarantee

Yes

Number of Reviews

1,091