Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,767 Real Customer Reviews

#13
ClearOne_advantage

ClearOne Advantage Reviews

Reviews of ClearOne Advantage from real customers
(67 verified)

Our Score
5.2
User Score
8.9

See Top Rated

Our Score
5.2
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
20%-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
8 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$10,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
67

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
5.2 /10

Freedom Debt Relief

Compared to industry leader
9.1 /10

This Review is maintained by

Review Last Updated: January 4, 2019

  • Potentially high prices: While ClearOne Advantage may only charge 20% of the total debt you owe, charges can reach 25%, slightly higher than other relief companies.
  • Industry size and experience: ClearOne Advantage is a large company of nearly 200 people (bigger in comparison to others) and is certified with all major national debt relief organizations. Company executives have years of entrepreneurial and financial experience.
  • Not available in most states: The biggest downside to ClearOne Advantage is that their service is only available in 22/50 U.S. states: AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, FL, IA, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, MI, MO, NE, NC, NM, NY, OK, PA, TX, VA.
  • Satisfaction guarantee: ClearOne Advantage offers a 90-day, 100% money-back guarantee if you are not happy with their services. If you do not save any money with your first settlement, you can get a refund of all the settlement fees you paid.
  • High minimum debt requirement: To work with ClearOne Advantage, you must be in debt at least $10,000. This is slightly higher than other debt settlement companies.
  • Customer complaints: Negative reviews of ClearOne Advantage are difficult to find, but some former clients say the company uses uncomfortable negotiation tactics and has high fees.
  • Our recommendation: We recommend looking at better debt relief options including Freedom Debt Relief and Pacific Debt Inc.

 

Most Helpful Reviews From ClearOne Advantage Customers

  1. User Score
    0
    David
    December 20th, 2016 
    I thought I was getting good expensive service until I found out that it was not keeping me from bankruptcy . They had just made a settlement with one of my creditors when I called to cancel . They had just made 1ST payment to creditor for $980 , which I understand . That left me with approx. $950 in my account fund . I asked them for a refund of MY money . They said there would be some charges . They kept $168 a month all taken at once . Which left a balance of $1.45 . IF THERE IS A CHANCE THAT YOU MAY STILL HAVE TO FILE FOR BANKRUPTCY---DO NOT JOIN --THEY WILL SCREW YOU I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SORRY I JOINED .Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    James Rayburn
    August 25th, 2016 Gastonia, NC
    DO NOT... I REPEAT... DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!! They charge to much, you'll end up paying more if you do, and they can't settle anything with Discover. There are also real tax ramifications if you use their settlement strategies... you won't find out about that until you receive your very owe copy of the IRS 1099-C. GO TEAM!Read More

67 ClearOne Advantage Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

4
2
1
1
4
11
44
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    November 27th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Trying to get a hold of someone to talk to us IMPOSSIBLE. Have called several times and have sent numerous emails and NO response. Terrible company. Wish I’d never joined.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    October 15th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I cannot say enough about how wonderful the representatives were at ClearOne. I must have spoken to at least seven people over the last two days and out of all of those, there were only two who were lacking empathy but one of those corrected her tone as soon as I mentioned it.
    I want to thank everyone involved in preparing my case, for their patience, understanding, nonjudgmental attitude, and for turning what could have been a terrible experience for me into a pleasant stress-free one.
    Carol Aiken
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 3rd, 2018
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Lester was a big help and I was very thankful for him today. I was on the phone for 20 to 25 minutes waiting to talk to someone. I understand they were busy. I decided to email and I got a response immediately from Lester. Lester even waited until after I got off of work to call me back and resolved my issue.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    1
    August 20th, 2018 Weaverville, NC
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I had 70000 in debt and was given at 60 month program for 891 per month. This promise did not come close to the reality of the my situation. You are able to make the same deals with creditors and avoid the 25 percent service fee on the ORIGINAL balance.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    July 9th, 2018 Carbondale, CO
    13 people found this review helpful!
    My account balance changed overtime and ClearOne added two payments from the original agreement. The agent amended my balance slightly from what showed online because I caught it! But the outcome was still wrong and not in my favor. Agent said it was a limitation of the computer and my fault because I interpreted the information wrong. That was a lie. My last payment was to be in August and for less than the normal payment. Your records showed that my payments for $460 would be thru October! Totally wrong.

    ClearOne added fees onto the original agreement! The agent refused to send a spreadsheet of my charges and the profit of ClearOne. I was told that I would receive information once I graduated. I want the information today, when I asked for it!

    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    June 8th, 2018
    11 people found this review helpful!
    This company is very good and very kind and listen to the problem that you trying to solve
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 18th, 2018
    13 people found this review helpful!
    Both Crystal B. & Nikita S., were very patient, understanding & awesome Customer Service Reps. You don’t find that often these days within any company & for their excellent assistance, I am truly grateful.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    February 24th, 2018 Chesapeake, VA
    20 people found this review helpful!
    Clearone did a fabulous job with the entire process. Their initial consultation and explanation was very professional and not a sales tactics. One has to understand that the service is not free. One also has to be ready commit to the entire process and aggressively pursue the end result. Nothing was hidden as to how the problem/debt would be resolved. The interface with global client solutions was seamless as well and had a telltale view and breakdown of your progress and upcoming events. I can only wish that I had done it sooner. Thank you to the entire team that was involved with my process.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    1
    February 23rd, 2018 Terre Haute, IN
    13 people found this review helpful!
    This company was not completely honest from the beginning. I initially setup 4 accounts. They setup my monthly payment and did not tell me they would be paying one account off at a time. So I removed 2 accounts and took care of those on my own. They did pay the first account off in 5 months but by 6 months, which was the length for me to pay their additional fee, the 2nd creditor began legal action. They were only able to talk the account down to 80% but I would have to pay it off in 12 months so my payment would have been roughly $1000/month with their fee. Or I could pay the full debt in 24 months, which was over $600/month with their fee. I decided to look into bankruptcy because of this one account. I got rid of ClearOne and got an attorney. Before I committed to filing I contacted the creditor to see if they would accept a 50% payment to close they account. They said they could accept the 50% payment and then do payments of $281 for 10 months. Meaning I settled with the creditor at 70%. Do not ever use a settlement company because they cannot promise anything. It will ruin your credit. You are better off taking care of the debt on your own and attempting a settlement.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    3
    December 14th, 2017
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Woefully understaffed. in my 5 month association with them I’ll know my emails were often not opened for several days and sometimes weeks after they were sent. Un that timeframe they only managed to negotiate one settlement out of 10 accounts placed in the program. A timely request to reschedule an automatic withdrawal was never completed as it was opened up the day before the actual withdrawal and yhen it was too late to stop. The result was it $800 overdraft in my checking account to which I was told I should send a copy of the overdraft fee into the company and they credit me the 34 bucks.My request tto cancel the account took more than 2 weeks to complete. The poor employee in the client retention group who sent the final email just wrote ‘ best of luck – Robert.” Now thats professionalism .
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    December 12th, 2017
    23 people found this review helpful!
    I have NEVER dealt with this company before so I am sharing my experience as a first-timer.

    Thanks ClearOne/Katie for taking the burden off my shoulders and help me refocus on my new business. You have my referral for life…that’s how happy Katie and ClearOne have made me. I’m saving thousands in fees and paying off sooner.

    Read More
  12. User Score
    8
    February 16th, 2017 Petoskey, MI
    59 people found this review helpful!
    I have a family of 6 and was nearly $110,000 in debt. I enrolled in 2015 and in 2019 will be debt free (except the house of course). There is SO much to love about this company. If it were not for them we would be in ever worse shape. Their CSR folks are always friendly, their sales people were willing to listen to my sob stories and even let me cry a couple of times. All but one account they were able to settle for less than the amount owed (and the one they couldn’t was American Express – who actually ended up taking me to court; never doing business with AmEx again). The company was very encouraging. Overall, bankruptcy was just not an option for me, and after a LOT of research I chose Clear One Advantage. They allowed me to enroll a couple of accounts that others would not tackle (and settled them very nicely). You will see a few reviews talking about some shady negotiating tactics – this is actually a testimony to the willingness of the COA folks to do what’s necessary to get a good settlement. It’s unnerving at times, but this is indicative of the nature of the creditors.

    On the negative side (and there are always two sides to every review), there are a few things I would like to see them do differently in the future. First, the nature of how the program would go was not exactly what had been presented in the initial conversations. I was led to believe that for the monthly fee for the agreed upon number of months, COA would be able to settle my accounts. EVERY SINGLE SETTLEMENT ended up requiring them to call me and ask for additional funds. To the point where there was a time where I would not answer their calls because I knew they were asking for more money (If I had the kind of money you are asking me for, I wouldn’t have called you all in the first place). Last summer I paid in nearly $8,000 in EXTRA payments and am on track to do the same this year. It’s been TOUGH. However, on the other hand, knowing that this extra money was directly contributing and speeding up the process of being out of debt provided motivation to find the extra funds. I got two extra side jobs (challenging when you have 4 kids). Secondly, it did not appear to me as if I was being handled as a single account, but as 10 separate accounts (I had 10 different creditors I enrolled). Even though I repeatedly communicated with COA that AmEx was very clearly going to sue me right out of the gate, they called me with settlements for 3 other accounts first, and I did end up being sued. Several CSR people “off the record” told me that AmEx should have been and could have been settled earlier to avoid the lawsuit. Fortunately I was able to settle with them before it went to trial, but it was a VERY stressful process. Each client should be assigned a person to oversee the entire settlement process, not just have a list of random accounts to settle in random order. FINALLY (in the negative side) – a LOT of the “extra funds” that I was asked for was not for creditor settlements, but for COA FEES. I do not mind paying COA for the amazing work that they do, but they should not be asking me for extra money to pay their fees, that should come later as possible and I don’t mind if the last year of the program is to pay for the settlement work that COA did.

    Ultimately, I would do this again (and hopefully I NEVER WILL) but I would definitely go in a little more knowledgeable about the process.

    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    December 20th, 2016
    12 people found this review helpful!
    I thought I was getting good expensive service until I found out that it was not keeping me from bankruptcy . They had just made a settlement with one of my creditors when I called to cancel . They had just made 1ST payment to creditor for $980 , which I understand . That left me with approx. $950 in my account fund . I asked them for a refund of MY money . They said there would be some charges . They kept $168 a month all taken at once . Which left a balance of $1.45 . IF THERE IS A CHANCE THAT YOU MAY STILL HAVE TO FILE FOR BANKRUPTCY—DO NOT JOIN –THEY WILL SCREW YOU I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SORRY I JOINED .
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    December 4th, 2016
    37 people found this review helpful!
    Extremely satisfied with their customer service. Always very helpful! Thanks!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    November 17th, 2016 Dallas, TX
    31 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service. Was skeptical at first but these guys did me justice. Thanks ClearOne!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    October 24th, 2016
    36 people found this review helpful!
    Out of debt in less then 3 years with thousands saved. Couldn’t ask for much more than that! Will certainly be recommending you all in the future!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    October 20th, 2016 Crownsville, MD
    36 people found this review helpful!
    The agents help me out so much ,everything was so easy, they explained everything to me. I had no problem understanding and asking questions. All my questions was answered. I would recommend Clear one to all my friends and family. Thank you again Clear one.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    October 10th, 2016
    45 people found this review helpful!
    Honestly, I have no idea what I’d do if it weren’t for Clear One… I was stuck paying just the minimums on my cards for about 4 years and I was getting nowhere fast. I enrolled with ClearOne in January 2013 and just graduated last month having saved over $13,000 on what I owed prior to the program. More importantly, I am now out of debt altogether and can finally move on with my life instead of just living month-to-month. Thank you so much ClearOne, I will definitely be recommending you all in the future!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    0
    August 25th, 2016 Gastonia, NC
    21 people found this review helpful!
    DO NOT… I REPEAT… DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!! They charge to much, you’ll end up paying more if you do, and they can’t settle anything with Discover. There are also real tax ramifications if you use their settlement strategies… you won’t find out about that until you receive your very owe copy of the IRS 1099-C. GO TEAM!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    February 18th, 2015 Virginia Beach, VA
    28 people found this review helpful!
    Lester is a pleasant person to deal with. Awesome in customer service and always prompt in responding to my emails and phone calls. A great asset to the ClearOne Advantage company
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    February 18th, 2015 Far Rockaway, NY
    37 people found this review helpful!
    I contacted ClearOne Advantage because I needed help in trying to reduce my debt. I was in panic mode, however when I spoke to Kim McClure, a ClearOne counselor, she made me feel at eased. She knows her product and was able to answer all my questions. She was also accessible to me when I called her. I would recommend ClearOne in the future. If you need help, I hope you get Kim on the other end of the telephone.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    February 17th, 2015 Chester, NY
    24 people found this review helpful!
    So Far I have spoken to very professional people Handling my Case. Very informative and knowledgable regards my circumstances. Thus far I have No complaint. I hope all goes as smooth as it started.
    Thank you Clear One.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    9
    February 17th, 2015 Walkersville, MD
    21 people found this review helpful!
    Nia provided outstanding customer service and she explained how the program works, what the process would be and how we could get out of debt in a more timely manner. Great working with her.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    8
    February 17th, 2015 Dunedin, FL
    22 people found this review helpful!
    I found that customer service was very helpful and answered questions in detail.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    February 14th, 2015 Silver Spring, MD
    18 people found this review helpful!
    they have been a blessing in disguise for me especially in the last couple of months helping me to fulfill my debt thru to the end. And I am grateful.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    February 13th, 2015 Panama City, FL
    14 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you -an answer to prayer
    Read More
  27. User Score
    9
    February 13th, 2015 TX
    16 people found this review helpful!
    Answered most of the questions I had before I could ask them. Very short and to the point. Thank you for valuing my time. Great experience so far!
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    February 13th, 2015 Beaumont, TX
    12 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful! Worked with me and my financial situation. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to be debt free!
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    February 12th, 2015 Bangor, PA
    9 people found this review helpful!
    Very nice and knowledgable!
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    February 12th, 2015 Longwood, FL
    8 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone I spoke with was awesome, but its hard to contact someone when you need to on the phone.
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    February 11th, 2015 Newark, DE
    7 people found this review helpful!
    Just signed up and so far I couldn’t ask for a better experience. I’m thankful that these folks are in my corner. There is light at the end of the tunnel.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    7
    February 11th, 2015 Orlando, FL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    In dealing with Customer Service the phone call I received gave me the correct contact information. Upon returning of the call I was able to speak with a representative quickly with little wait time. Representative was able to answer all my questions and provided me with requested documentation regarding debt collection harassment within minutes.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    9
    February 11th, 2015 Phoenix, AZ
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Sarah Patterson was an A+ customer service person to work with. Very knowledgable, friendly an willing to go the distance to find all information out for me.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    February 11th, 2015 Warren, MI
    11 people found this review helpful!
    Great,up front, no hidden surprises, honest gave fast follow-up with customer service feel confident they can deliver on what they promised
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    February 10th, 2015 Chandler, AZ
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent service and feed back. Timely communications and helpful staff.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    February 10th, 2015 Detroit, MI
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I want to thank Derek for encouraging me to join the program so I can become financially stable and out of debt.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    February 9th, 2015 Washington, DC
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Outstanding support services, Outstanding presentation, informative, addressed my needs.
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    February 6th, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    3 people found this review helpful!
    working with Lester was great
    Read More
  39. User Score
    9
    February 6th, 2015 Plattsburgh, NY
    3 people found this review helpful!
    At this point in time, I have had an excellent experience with your company and would not hesitate to recommend you to other people.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    February 5th, 2015 Houston, TX
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Both of my reps were Awesome. I loved Justin and his customer service, I would not have traded that moment for a different person. Hopefully i can talk my fiance into doing this.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    February 5th, 2015 Detroit, MI
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Chris was am amazing rep to deal with! He was super helpful and knowledgeable. It’s because of him that I was 100% ready to sign up.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    February 5th, 2015 Pearland, TX
    6 people found this review helpful!
    I was contacted by Robert Potochar wtih Clear One. He was very thorough in his presentation, spoke clearly to my questions and gave me hope for a debt free future. He said I would work with other consultants at Clear One, however he would be available to me for questions at any time. Bob had a lot of information to disseminate and did so professionally, thoroughly and quickly. Hope this will continue to be a great success story for me.
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    February 4th, 2015 Parrish, FL
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I am so happy i decided to ask you guys for help all the people i have spoken with have been wonderful. The last young man i spoke to his name is Justin he was really something else i have to say he made me feel good and kind to help me with all the paper work/phone call/and helping me understand everything i hope i get to get more help with him in the future. please tell him mrs. diane thompson says thank youuuu soooooooo much. Thank you, Diane Thompson.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    9
    February 4th, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    5 people found this review helpful!
    So far – so good. This is new to me so I’m concern it goes as well as I was told.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    February 4th, 2015 Alexandria, VA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Thoughtful customer service from Ben Lilly and also the gentleman who gave me the welcome call. Walked me through each step and made sure I fully understood the program.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    9
    February 4th, 2015 Phoenix, AZ
    4 people found this review helpful!
    To even be at this point finance wise is disheartening, but Justin made the plan we’re looking at to get out of debt easy and straightforward. He had great patience and was very professional and made me feel relieved. No judging was appreciated too!
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    February 4th, 2015 El Paso, TX
    4 people found this review helpful!
    very good customer service. Walked me thru the process and continually asked if I had any questions and understood everything.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    February 4th, 2015 El Paso, TX
    4 people found this review helpful!
    My experience was awesome. Everyone I’ve spoken to has been very kind and caring.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    February 3rd, 2015 Denton, TX
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Darin Nelson was so easy to talk with and was very through how this process will work. I feel that I am prepared to deal with my debtors and know that I can call customer service if I get extremely harassed.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    February 3rd, 2015 Gwynn Oak, MD
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone that I have had the pleasure to speak with has been totally awesome! While this is very scary, we are willing to try, thanks for having our backs clear one!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.

Step 1: Introduction

We'll get you set up with ClearOne Advantage

By submitting this form, I consent to receive calls using automated technology from ClearOne Advantage at the number provided and understand this is not a condition of purchase.

Our Score
5.2
User Score
8.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
20%-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
8 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$10,000

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
67

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
5.2 /10

Freedom Debt Relief

Compared to industry leader
9.1 /10
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.0
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

% of total debt
15-25%

Accreditations

AFCC or IAPDA
AFCC & IAPDA

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
15 Years

Min. Debt

Min. debt accepted
$7,500

Guarantee

money back guarantee?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
992

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
5.2 /10