Best Debt Companys

164 Companies 2,932 Real Customer Reviews

Solid Ground Financial
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#10
Solid Ground Financial

Solid Ground Financial

Solid Ground Financial offers a debt referral service. However, the company does not disclose its enrollment or monthly fees.

Our Score
4.5
User Score
9.9

Visit Site

Our Score
4.5
User Score
9.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly fee
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
10 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
No

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
19

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 2, 2017

Solid Ground Financial has ten years of company experience and over 70 years of combined industry experience. Solid Ground Financial specializes in helping people onto the path to financial wellness, especially those who are wrestling with payday loans. Unfortunately there are many unanswered questions surrounding their fees, rates, and legal history.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $69
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10 - $49
ISO

#3

Up to $39
FCAA & ISO

#10
Solid Ground Financial

Undisclosed
N/A

The Good

  • Certified credit counselors
  • Refunds under special circumstances
  • Customer service

Free Consultation

Solid Ground, like many companies in this industry, offers a free consultation with a certified credit counselor to allow consumers to see if the services will be a good fit for their circumstances. Additionally, this company reportedly offers refunds to customers in certain circumstances which is a good sign.

Great Customer Service

Customers have reported being very pleased with the customer service they received from SGF, with numerous reviews thanking individual Solid Ground credit counselors by name. Past clients appreciated the patience, clarity, and support of the debt counselors and overall indicate that they far exceeded customer expectations.

Availability

Solid Ground Financial’s services are available in 49 states. Because of their high availability, it makes using Solid Ground’s services very convenient for customers. Sold Ground’s services are available in all states except Michigan. Potential customers in Michigan should seek services else where.

View Top Rated Companies

The Bad

  • Legal issues
  • Lack of educational resources
  • Lack of transparency

Class Action Lawsuit

In 2011, Solid Ground Financial was hit by a class action lawsuit brought by the state of Washington. The suit alleges that Solid Ground Financial “engaged in a … predatory scheme to enrich themselves at the expense of financially strapped Washington families by violating Washington statutes designed to protect consumers from wrongful debt adjuster business practices.” This suit is a huge concern, and should be considered when making your choice to work with Solid Ground.

Lack of Transparency

We are troubled by Solid Ground Financial’s failure to disclose their startup fees, monthly fees, or average interest rates on their debt management plans. This lack of transparency makes it completely impossible to compare the cost of their service to others in the industry without going through the application process.

No Educational Resources

Solid Ground Financial also does not provide any sort of educational resources or tools for consumers to become financially literate. We would appreciate more material to help confused consumers navigate the financial world allowing them to take the reigns over their personal finances.

Want to see the top rated Debt Consolidation Companies? Click Here

The Bottom Line

Based on customer reviews, Solid Ground Financial appears to be a reputable company. Unfortunately, their failure to disclose monthly fees, interest rates, and the lack of company experience holds Solid Ground Financial back. Considering their lack of transparency, and the class action lawsuit filed in Washington, we cannot recommend working with Solid Ground Financial at this time.

We recommend you click Here for our Top Recommended Debt Consolidation Providers.


About Solid Ground Financial

Solid Ground Financial is a simple financial counseling company that provides customers with payday loan relief, debt consolidation, and credit repair. Solid Ground Financial services provides each customer with a credit counselor to help negotiate with the customer’s creditors. These negotiations help to reduce, or possibly eliminate the unsecured debt’s interest rates, as well as creating one monthly payment. Solid Ground Financial also helps its customers by providing a reasonable budget for the customer to follow.

Price

Price depends on each individual situation.

Up-Front Fees

No. All fees are calculated into the monthly payment, and are based on the state where you live in.

Free Consultation

Yes. The agent was easy to consult with and gave us lots of information about their programs.

Time in Business

We noticed that their website says they bring over 70 years of experience; when asked, the agent said that although they have been in business for 8 years, the owners and officers of the company have 70 years of experience between them to provide wonderful debt relief assistance to their clients.

Debt Education

The website has some detailed answers regarding credit and debt situations, but more information would be beneficial to consumers.

Money-Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Unknown.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

They work with unsecured debts only.

Mobile-Friendly Site

The website is user friendly overall, but not mobile friendly.

Services Provided

  • Debt Consolidation
  • Payday Loan Relief
  • Credit Repair Education

Minimum Debt Accepted

$1,500

Online Dashboard

Customers are given a login to monitor the status of their debt and view monthly statements. The online dashboard is not available to monitor the status of student loans.

CPFC Certified

Solid Ground Financial’s employees are not CPFC certified, but they are certified through the National Investment Fund for Credit Unions (NIFCU).

ISO Certified

No, Solid Ground Financial is not ISO certified.

Contact Information

Email Address:

[email protected]

Address: 

6600 Taft Street #307
Hollywood, FL 33024

Business Hours: 

Monday – Friday 9am to 7pm EST
Ability to apply online on Saturdays and Sundays

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

19 Solid Ground Financial Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
18
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    September 8th, 2016 West, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Service was prompt and the customer service was great. Will use them again if needed.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    September 2nd, 2016 Minneapolis, MN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Incredible experience with this company, they saved me thousands of dollars, I am so grateful for their work! And they are super nice people.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    March 18th, 2016 Springfield, MO
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I found this company while desperately searching for help with loan consolidation. I was paying about $1200 a month to two loan sharks, aka payday loan companies. They brought my payments down to $250 a month and I am now debt free!! I even got to skip my last payment, as they negotiated my debt down AND I got a refund from them as well. The people I spoke with by phone and email were always great every time, with any question or concern. Great Company and Awesome Employees!
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    January 26th, 2016 Stockton, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I just wanted to say thank you to Britney and the company she works for . Solid grounds helped me get out of debt they set my payments to fit my paydays. So I just wanted to say thank you and God bless
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    December 7th, 2015 Houston, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Solid Ground Financial truly helped me during an extremely rough time. I had taken out several payday loans to help travel and deal with the costs of my fathers funeral. The debt quickly became overwhelming and once I contacted Solid Ground Financial they immediately began helping me and took a great weight off my shoulders. I would strongly recommend this company to anyone seeking debt relief from a supportive company who is sincerely concerned with your financial well being.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    November 12th, 2015 Bridge City, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Solid Ground Financial really surprised me and I will definitely use them again if need be.. I have always been able to reach someone when I call about my account and that person helps me immediately, I do not have to wait for someone else. They negotiated wonderfully for me and I am very please with their service. Awesome company!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    November 10th, 2015 Spokane, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been extremely impressed and satisfied with the service they provide. They helped me when no one else would. I highly recommend Solid Ground Financial, and would definitely use them again if needed.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    September 21st, 2015 Washington, DC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This is a very good company to work with.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    September 18th, 2015 Loveland, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I can’t say enough about my experience with Solid Ground Financial. I knew that I had to get my finances in order so went online and the 1st company that caught my attention was SGF because after reading about them it ended in God Bless You. That was enough for me, so gave them a call. Spoke with Nathan and he was so patient and understanding and walked me clearly through the process. I’m thankful and thrilled to say that as of this month I’m free from my debt. Thanks Solid Ground and all of your awesome financial counselors. Thx Daniela.

    God Bless,

    Geraldine (Gerri) Robinson

    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    September 10th, 2015 El Cajon, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They helped me every step of the way. Every time I called they answered all questions even if it didn’t pertain to an account in the program.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    August 27th, 2015 Saint Louis, MO
    1 people found this review helpful!
    SGF was so helpful to me in my situation. I have used them twice now and in both instances helped me get back on track. The staff I cannot say enough about-just outstanding. The staff is upfront about fees and the service they can provide and above all willing to work with you in any situation. Truly a great company and highly recommend SGF. If I need this type of service again SGF is my go to company.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    8
    August 22nd, 2015 IL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Solid ground was very helpful to me and helped me keep on track with payments. Willing to work with my circumstances.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    May 26th, 2015 Detroit, MI
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Great company. Great customer service. Awesome support.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    January 8th, 2015 Fairfield, OH
    8 people found this review helpful!
    Solid Ground…IS A FANTASTIC Company!!! This is an on the target company. SCOTT H> was my rep at Solid Ground. He always answered my e-mails or phone calls in a very timely manner. If I had a question that he couldn’t answer he would get the answer and call me back with the answer. If you have financial issues this is the people to call. I cannot say enough positive facts about Solid Ground!!! Very knowledgeable and on the spot!!!

    Diane E.

    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    September 7th, 2014 Columbus, OH
    7 people found this review helpful!
    The service I received from this company far exceeded my expectations. The professionalism and individual attention I received was stellar, and every question I asked, no matter how many times, was answered with honesty and clarity. My financial issues are resolved and I would not have reached this milestone without the personalized service I received from Scott Haick and Solid Ground Financial.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    September 3rd, 2014 Winnetka, IL
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Great customer service, they don’t sugar coat anything (if they can help you then they will but if they can’t do anything then they will tell you and not just take your money). I have had very good results and gave myself the opportunity to be helped with my student loans. I would highly recommend this company for all of your financial needs. I must say that Consuelo Mella has been clear on every detail, she is very prompt in returning my calls, she has my up most respect. I have NEVER received such excellent customer service big or small! I have seen MAJOR improvements in my student loan process including great payment and negotiation arrangements.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    August 27th, 2014 Buffalo, NY
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I have had only great experiences working with this company. They help me and my family through some tough times. Saved us so much time and money. Thank you again.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    July 19th, 2014 San Diego, CA
    5 people found this review helpful!
    totally helped me resolve my issues. excellent customer service.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    July 8th, 2014 Vernon Hills, IL
    10 people found this review helpful!
    this comapny is great.they handled my payday loans for me in a great manner.i will refere them to anyone.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
4.5
User Score
9.9
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly fee
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
10 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
No

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
19
Our Score
9.3
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
24 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
387