Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,947 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

Reviews of DebtWave Credit Counseling from real customers
(306 verified)

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 26, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Most Helpful Reviews From DebtWave Credit Counseling Customers

  1. User Score
    2
    ADH
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Debra Edmondson
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.Read More

306 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
225
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    February 5th, 2015 Mount Vernon, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a fantastic experience with DebtWave and the credit couselor that I had was amazing…Thank you!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    February 4th, 2015 Modesto, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was very sceptical of this company at first, but Brittany was amazing and helped me understand everything completely. She made it very easy for me. Thank you.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    February 4th, 2015 Alpharetta, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great Working with Giliane
    Read More
  4. User Score
    9
    January 30th, 2015 Dayton, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My counselor was very good. She helped me through and explained everything!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    January 30th, 2015 Elizabeth, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jojo is the best. After explaining all the procedure, she emailed me the agreement but i refused to sign. I went online to check the reviews and researched more about the program. She gave me time to think it over and i’m glad i signed up for the program. Jojo please keep the good work going. You are a very talented professional. overall is five star for jojo.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    January 29th, 2015 San Diego, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo was very personal and informative. She made it very easy to understand Debt Waves services and made it a no brainer to enroll. Thank you very much for your help.

    Taylor

    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    January 28th, 2015 Eureka, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My gosh, how easy and stress free this process was! Thank you ;)
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    January 27th, 2015 Glendale, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jojo Sanchez was THE BEST! New life and new beginnings from here!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    January 27th, 2015 Irving, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Gillian was very friendly and always returned phone calls in a timely matter.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    January 27th, 2015 San Antonio, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    A very smooth handling of a my situation
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    January 23rd, 2015 CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo was responsive, informative, easy to work with, answered all my questions, and her personality was fabulous!

    You are lucky to have her as part of your team.

    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    January 22nd, 2015 Nashville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful, understanding and patient. Explained everything all the way thru and were very nice.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    January 21st, 2015 Sacramento, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone has been great!
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    January 20th, 2015 Pascagoula, MS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This is my second time going through this company and both my experiences have been great. Th staff is very helpful and infomative.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    January 19th, 2015 Peterborough, NH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent and fast service!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    January 19th, 2015 Woodbury, NJ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent program and looking forward to getting debt free and not worrying about navigating through all the statements and figuring out how much to pay and stressing about the interest rates!!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    7
    January 16th, 2015 Sacramento, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JO JO Sanchez was truly professional and patient. She explained my options and worked with me extensively to assist in arriving at the best program suitable to my situation.

    I look forward to a great working relationship with Debtwave and its their representative.

    Sincerely,
    Amy Limon

    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    January 16th, 2015
    0 people found this review helpful!
    She was very helpful and informative. My wife and I are very confident we can get out of debt with the plan she presented us.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    6
    January 16th, 2015 Las Vegas, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The service and response times were good. Capability in obtaining reduced monthly payments was, however, quite limited.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    January 16th, 2015
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Fast easy , Thank you great customer service
    Read More
  21. User Score
    9
    January 14th, 2015 Detroit, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Debt Wave Credit counseling was wonderful, I like the professional way they handle my debts and explained everything they were doing
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    January 14th, 2015
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Just Wonderful. Pleasant people to talk with.Thank You Jo Jo. Your Company will have saved me thousands of dollars in interest.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    January 13th, 2015 Milwaukee, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    jo jo was helpful and very professional and very easy to talk to considering dealing with messed up finances isn’t always the cheeriest subject matter to deal with I would personally recommend her services to anyone ho needed help.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    January 13th, 2015 Westerville, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I felt comfortable, not pressured, and the customer service was great. I am looking forward to working with DebtWave to get myself out of debt .
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    January 13th, 2015 Long Beach, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    What an awesome program Debt Wave has. I spoke to one lady(JoJo) for a long time, she took her time and explained everything to me and let me ask questions. Even the silly ones??? After the paper work was finished and had reached the end and the money they saved me and time for repayment was shorter. I talked to another and she asked if I had and questions about the process. I am so happy I signed up with them. and will be out of debt in less thean 2 years. YA!!!
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    January 13th, 2015 Saint Petersburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Julian was very pleasant and answer all my questions and concerns. Thank you for your services.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    January 12th, 2015 Hartford, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane helped me through the sign up process. She was very polite and efficient. She answered all of my questions and made everything easy to understand.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    7
    January 12th, 2015 Plainfield, IN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    We were previous clients of Debtwave. We felt like we were new clients and not previous clients. We understand the plan and look forward to getting out of debt, both medical bills and credit cards. The vast majority of our debt is medical bills. The student loans will be another set of bills that we will likely be turning over to Debtwave in 2017 or 2018.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    January 12th, 2015 Lynchburg, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was very careful in making my decision to go with your company. My questions were answered in not only a professional manner but I felt Giliane really cared about my situation. Thank you for having such a wonderful employee. She was very knowledgeable and helped me so much.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    January 9th, 2015
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane, was friendly and actual saved was able to reduce my monthly payment.. I am very excited and hope to be able to retire someday. Thanks !!!!
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    January 8th, 2015 Monroeville, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I would reccomend DebtWave to everyone. I felt very secure working with them.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    January 7th, 2015 Sulphur Springs, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The lady I was helped with from this company was very personable and a huge help. I am relieved already about what will now be a much shorter and less costly route to becoming debt free. Thank you so much!
    Read More
  33. User Score
    9
    January 7th, 2015 Knoxville, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company has done what they said they would do. Satisfied with the customer service received. I would recommend them.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    7
    January 6th, 2015 Westfield, IA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I tried to talk to the Credit Card company directly. Very frustrating. DebtWave talked to them on my behalf. It worked for me.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    January 3rd, 2015 Aiken, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Took a little longer than expected, but Jo Jo was very patient.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    December 29th, 2014 Orlando, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I feel that this company fulfilled so far all my expectations.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    December 29th, 2014 Oakland Gardens, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I would have never ever been debt free if it wasnt for Debtwave….they saved my life in just a couple of months I will be debt free…after owing more than 10,000 dollars……..I was truly blessed the day that Tony (forgot his last name)contacted me and I signed up with them……Thank you for everything!!!!
    Read More
  38. User Score
    9
    December 19th, 2014
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave is a great company! I cant even put words to how gratefully my husband and i are for everything that they have been able to assist us with. They were able to combine our debt and make it into one monthly payment that will pay down the other accounts. Thank you very much for everything that you have done! :)
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2014
    0 people found this review helpful!
    What I appreciated most in my start with DebtWave was the sensitivity in which they handled my situation. From start to finish, the attitude and delicate way in which the process was handled was not only impressive, but helped me to feel better about my move to becoming debt-free.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2014 Denver, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Good communication and advice. I especially liked the gal’s advice about my Rewards Points that I redeemed and got a really nice Chrismas gift for my nephew and his wife.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    December 9th, 2014 Chula Vista, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I joined Debtwave in January 2013 and in 20 months I was debt free. Although going over my budget and seeing the debt I had amassed on my credit report was an eye opening experience, I was grateful for the professionalism and how comfortable they made me feel with the whole process. They were able to get me low interest rates and a payment plan that made sense for me in my financial situation. I would recommend Debtwave to anyone who had credit card debt and was looking to have it paid off without destroying your credit. This was definitely one of the best decisions I have ever made.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2014 Redding, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It was a great experience everything was explained clearly and they all took time to answer all my questions. The help im going to get is going to be a relief and im very thankful to hector, denise, and jason for there time and effort, Thank you all very much!!
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    December 2nd, 2014 Schaumburg, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane walked me through their program and answered all my questions. The financial analysis report they provide to compare your current credit situation and their program is easy to read was very helpful. She walked me through the entire agreement process. It was very quick and easy. Looking forward to the light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks!
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    November 3rd, 2014 San Diego, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Making the decision to consolidate your credit is scary but Debtwave answered all of my questions and has been with me every step of the way. I chose them based on other customers reviews and I myself would recommend them to anyone else who was looking.
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    November 3rd, 2014 Bow, NH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The best program that we could have been the best with us. Destiny is totally awesome she takes her time to let us know what we owe and we update her on the balances. When I am done with school I will be adding my student loans in the program as well it is the best program we are in the reps take their times and really help out. Destiny rocks and is the lady to. Work with keep up the good job
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    November 3rd, 2014 Pasadena, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Hector is the man! Everyone is so friendly and understanding, which made the whole process easy and pleasant. Such a relief to know I’ll be debt completely free in 5 years! Would definitely recommend to friends and family!
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    November 1st, 2014 Scottsdale, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    From the beginning to the end, their staff is always available and had gotten me through everything I needed and alleviated a lot of my stress. The initial diagnosis of my issues and deriving what was the best way to go about things went very easy. The first month and conversion of payments was the most stressful and when I contacted them, they reassured that things would go well after that. It did. Whenever I have an issue or question, they are able to rectify the problem fast. I am very impressed with their services. They do all the work for you!
    Read More
  48. User Score
    9
    November 1st, 2014 Durham, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has been paramount in helping me achieve my credit goals with excellent customer service and constant information about my account.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    9
    October 31st, 2014 Cleveland, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has been a great company to work with. They are very courteous, up front and patient. All of the customer service individuals that I have spoken to have been very knowledgeable. The company made it easy to get started on the program, were clear about fees and how long the debt would take to be paid off. I am looking forward to the day of my last payment and have been grateful for Debtwave’s assistance and knowledge in this difficult process.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    9
    October 30th, 2014 Portland, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great company that really does help you pay off your debt. Instead of 8 years I’m paying it off over a few years!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.2 /10