Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,947 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

Reviews of DebtWave Credit Counseling from real customers
(306 verified)

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 26, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Most Helpful Reviews From DebtWave Credit Counseling Customers

  1. User Score
    2
    ADH
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Debra Edmondson
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.Read More

306 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
225
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    March 11th, 2015 Hazlet, NJ
    4 people found this review helpful!
    From start to finish, Monica was energetic, knowledgeable, and delivered exactly the level of customer service I expect. Working in customer service myself I can recognize great service and Monica delivered just that. I left our conversation with a smile on my face and a feeling that a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. Thank you!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    March 10th, 2015 Fremont, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I really appreciate the service that was given Very helpful. Looking forward to working with you on a regular basis to get my life back. Thank you very much.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    March 10th, 2015 Detroit, MI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was a great person, she sure helped me out, I feel relief coming my way. I sure will tell people about Debt Wave. I’ve been a basket case WORRYING AND CRYING MYSELF TOO SLEEP EVERY NIGHT. THANKS FOR BEING HERE DEBT WAVE. THANK YOU, SHERYL
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    March 9th, 2015
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent Jo Jo Sanchez helped me she was amazing very helpful and she really made sure I understood everything that I was doing I feel so much better about my choice and this company my rating is 10
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    March 9th, 2015 Marysville, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful and understanding. JoJo took the time to help me find and set up a plan to help me with my finances, and I really appreciate the time spent to help get me there.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    9
    March 9th, 2015 Willingboro, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany Gregg did an great job!!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    9
    March 7th, 2015 Whittier, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Every person I spoke with was polite. Added in their own spark to the conversation. Never did I feel beneath them or rushed for information. Highly recommend if someone needs to get out of debt and would like information, just call. It’s not a scam. They can help you.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    March 7th, 2015 Woonsocket, RI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It was difficult to reach a rep being on the east coast, but otherwise my experience was positive.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    March 6th, 2015 Burbank, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo was excellent. She was patient, friendly, kind and I enjoyed her immensely. I really believe this plan will help me and will take away a lot of the stress that being in debt brings. Thanks for an excellent experience
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    March 6th, 2015 Fitzgerald, GA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    It was very easy to consolidate. Great experience.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    March 6th, 2015 Salt Lake City, UT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you JOJO a lot for your help today,five stars today from happy customer,
    Jasminka Mikanovic
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    March 6th, 2015 Taunton, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I received great customer service, very helpful and pleasant
    Read More
  13. User Score
    9
    March 6th, 2015 Belleville, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Gillian was such a great help explained things to me very well she is a credit to th Debt Wave it was a pleasure working with her
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    March 6th, 2015 Baton Rouge, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany is a true professional.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    March 6th, 2015 West Monroe, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has “come through” with flying colors for me and my wife! We have six months left in our program as outlined by Debtwave and it has worked just as they promised it would. I would recommend this program to anyone who may need a debt elimination plan. It has saved us thousands of dollars that would have been virtually impossible for us to do on our own! Thank you DebtWave!!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    9
    March 5th, 2015 Riverton, WY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Every one was very nice & professional.. Thank you all very much
    Read More
  17. User Score
    9
    March 5th, 2015 Hurricane, WV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were honest and up front. good to do business.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    March 4th, 2015 Rock Island, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was very nice and very helpful. Dealing with her was a very positive experience.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    March 4th, 2015 Archbold, OH
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent relationship with Debt Wave. They were very easy to work with and explained everything in detail. I would recommend them to others and I have done so. Looking forward to the conclusion of my loan. I have another credit card that I am thinking of adding to my account.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    March 4th, 2015 Tempe, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I really enjoyed and appreciated the time I spent with Jo-Jo. Not only did she help me out financially but I will not HESITATE to a friend or family member in the future if they would need help. Once again I couldn’t have found a better agent to work with. Thanks again for all the help and professionalism.

    Shane Blazek

    Read More
  21. User Score
    9
    March 4th, 2015 Albion, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Gillane was terrific. She was patient and understanding and what I appreciated the most that there was no pressure put on me to do this. She gave me the time to think the decison through and discuss this with my husband. She was very considerate and professional at all times. I would highly recommend her to any friends and family.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    March 4th, 2015 Bronx, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Rocio is very professional and made me feel at ease with the most nerve wrecking moment. She was very professional and thorough. Thank you.

    Maria

    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    March 3rd, 2015 Yankton, SD
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Everything was explained clearly, very polite, and was willing to help in a crisis.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    March 3rd, 2015 Reno, NV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you so much you have the service was the best.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    March 2nd, 2015 New Egypt, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Extremely satisfied with how my situation was handled. JoJo was a tremendous help, patient and answered all my questions. While I am just starting this journey, I have no hesitancy in recommending their services to anyone in need.and if you are lucky you’ll have JoJo as your counselor.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    March 2nd, 2015 Haymarket, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Super easy to get started and a great overall experience
    Read More
  27. User Score
    8
    March 2nd, 2015 Bell, CA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great and so helpful . Thank you so much ..
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    March 2nd, 2015 Spring, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane made the process smooth and was very helpful. She explained everything thoroughly and I am very pleased with my choice in Debtwave.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    February 27th, 2015 Springfield, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful and spent a lot of time getting all of my info.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    February 25th, 2015 Decatur, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thinking about being in debt for over two decades was very frightening to me. With the help of this company I immediately received the help that I needed and look forward to enjoying my life knowing that my life of debt will be a short lived one. Their employees are so helpful and are determined to find the right solution in your situation. I’m extremely happy with their service.
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    February 25th, 2015 Shawnee, KS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jillian was very helpful, patient, and took the time explain information to me. The process was easy and quick.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    February 25th, 2015 White Hall, AR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very easy to understand and talk to and very professional.
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    February 25th, 2015 Des Moines, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I really enjoyed the help that I was given by Brittany!!! She made me feel comfortable and explained, in great detail, all of the options and everything that they were helping me with!!!
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    February 24th, 2015 Warrenville, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane Guerrero was terrific. She made the process seamless…She is one of the nicest people I have every dealt with…I have been skeptical about trying this but now I am so glad I did. She is a asset to your organization.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    February 22nd, 2015 Somerset, KY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Over the years I have dealt with all kinds of customer service rep. And without question the most courteous and professional in performing their job, was unequivocally Brittany! Her patience and understanding was truly remarkable! You should feel lucky to have her working for you!!!!
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    February 19th, 2015 Palm Coast, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo Sanchez was very professional and friendly which made my encounter with her stress free and wonderful. She answered all my questions and explained the process fully. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    February 19th, 2015 Valley Village, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very helpful so far…just started the process
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    February 18th, 2015 Pompano Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Just wanted to thank Jo-Jo Sanchez for the wonderful experience! I was very scared to enter this program, but she made everything so clear and detailed that I ended up having no doubts about it. She made sure i understood every detail of the program as with the payments. Thank You for being so helpful :-)
    Read More
  39. User Score
    9
    February 18th, 2015 MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jojo did a very good job helping me. Thanks
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    February 18th, 2015 Austin, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The set-up process was fast and easy with Giliane! Still haven’t started the program, but the initial process has been fun and a breeze!
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    February 17th, 2015 Avon, CT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane Guerrero is an outstanding representative of Debt Wave. Not only was she thorough in explaining every aspect of the program, she took the time to answer any and all questions I had throughout our conversation. Her kindness and compassion with me made a big difference and helped put my mind at ease, with the knowledge that by moving forward with this program, I am taking positive steps to becoming debt free. It is with the sincerest appreciation and gratitude to her for her outstanding service and help. Thank you!
    Read More
  42. User Score
    9
    February 17th, 2015 Minneapolis, MN
    3 people found this review helpful!
    So easy and non-shaming. They understand!
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    February 16th, 2015 Valrico, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    jojo is great very easy to talk to and very willing and able to help me with my credit problems
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    February 16th, 2015 Hood River, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane made this process quick and painless. She was very friendly and efficient, easy to understand and totally knowledgeable.
    She was a complete pleasure to work with.
    Thank you, Giliane!
    Read More
  45. User Score
    9
    February 13th, 2015 Ashville, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They were the nicest people you can talk to.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    February 10th, 2015 Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    There was no pressure and I was made to feel at ease every step of the way.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    February 9th, 2015 Irvington, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo was great to work with. Look forward to paying off my debt faster.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    February 9th, 2015 Fremont, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo Sanchez was very nice and helpful. Thanks for treating me like a person and not just an account.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    February 6th, 2015 Harrisburg, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane Guerrero, was great to work with, very friendly and answered any questions I had about the process. Great Experience!
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    February 5th, 2015
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Working with JoJo was a pleasure. She was friendly yet very. professional. She was very knowledgeable and explained clearly how the program worked. She bolstered my confidence that I had chosen the correct path and the correct people to help us get out of debt.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.2 /10