Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,068 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling

DebtWave specializes in consolidating credit card debt, offers a free consultation and charges relatively low monthly fees in comparison with other companies.

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

$10 - $49

Setup & Activation Fee

$25 - $75

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

310

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: April 15, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Price

The monthly service fee is tied to the number of credit cards enrolled into the program. Typically it ranges from $10 – $49 (less in some states, it depends on where you live).  Payment preferred is automatic debit. Personal checks or cash are not accepted. Once creditors are paid, these fees are typically not refundable. Some very simple plans may potentially be as low as $10 per month. The savings generated typically are much higher than the total amount of fees paid.

Enrollment Fee

A minimum enrollment fee is charged depending on the state you live in. The fee will not exceed $75.  You can obtain a no-obligation quote by requesting a free consultation.

Free Consultation

Yes. An estimated pay off time is provided during the initial consultation. They will also provide information on the best path to debt relief and other topics surrounding your specific debt situation.

Time In Business

16 years. DebtWave was founded in June 2001.

Debt Education

Financial literacy seminars are offered free of charge in the San Diego area. Other tools include on-line debt calculators, “Smart With Your Money” Workbook, Budget Template Worksheet, Debt to Income Calculator, FICO Estimator – calculators you might wish “why didn’t I think of that?” such as the “Hours of Work Required to Make Minimum Payments” Calculator.

Money Back Guarantee

DebtWave does offer a money back guarantee for it’s services. If for any reason you are not satisfied with our services within 90 days of enrollment, we will refund back to you your enrollment fee.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

Unsecured credit card debt only.

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not mobile friendly. There is no specific app for their services either, although they do have links and info for obtaining mobile coupon apps for groceries and merchandise.

Cancellation Policy

The program is voluntary as stated in their contract and puts no obligation upon clients; they may cancel any time. There is no fee for cancellation.

Contact Information

Telephone:

1 (877) 934-3003

E-Mail:

[email protected]

Address:

9325 Sky Park Ct. #260

San Diego, CA 92123

Business Hours: (all times are Pacific)

Customer Service: 7:00am – 5:00pm Monday – Thursday; 7:00am – 4:00pm PST Friday

Counseling: 7:00am – 6:00pm Monday – Thursday; 7:00am – 5:00pm PST Friday

Types of Services Available

Debt management, debt consolidation, credit counseling, credit report reviews, budget evaluation and more.

Minimum Debt Accepted

Must have at least $5k in debt to sign up.

Online Dashboard

An online account is available for those with a DebtWave account. The online account allows customers to see the progress of their DMP in real time.

CPFC Certified

All employees at DebtWave are certified personal finance counselors.

ISO Certified

DebtWave is ISO certified.

Dear Potential Client,

We understand that debt and finances are difficult subjects to talk about and deal with. That is why at DebtWave Credit Counseling, Inc. we offer services to help make your life simple.

We provide many services, which include: debt consolidation, free credit counseling sessions, student loan consolidation, a financial education program, and we also participate in community outreach. If you join our debt management program, we can consolidate your credit card debt into one monthly payment, lower your interest rates to single digits, and help you become debt-free in 3-5 years. Before joining this program, a certified credit counselor will even take you through a free credit counseling session, where he or she will pull your credit, review all of your accounts, create a detailed budget, and give you a financial analysis report at the end.

Similar to a credit counseling session, our certified credit counselors can walk you through a student loan consolidation session, where he or she will consolidate all of your loans, create a budget, and look at the many repayment plans offered by the Department of Education. On our website, we also offer a financial education program, where you can read our financial workbook and take a short test afterwards to educate yourself on the basics of personal finance. We also have a few different credit card debt calculators online to help you understand your current situation a little better. Lastly, we provide free seminars, workshops, programs, and services to all members of the community, including the military, high school and college students, and employees and their organizations.

Sincerely,

Antony Murigu, President

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

310 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
229
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    June 11th, 2018 Van Nuys, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I cannot thank Miss W. enough.
    She has helped me get through a billing dispute with Paypal Credit from the beginning of trying to resolve the issue.
    After spending a lot of time with this company the problem was resolved. Could not have done this without her.
    You have a great employee that has helped me tremendously throughout this ordeal.
    Thank You Again Miss W.
    Robert F.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    2
    May 1st, 2018 Strasburg, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They never contacted me or got back to me after I gave them my information.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    2
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2018 Mentor, OH
    6 people found this review helpful!
    Life happens, and sometimes you need some advice and some help. I contacted DebtWave, and Charles called me back promptly. Unfortunately I had to reschedule due to work. Then he called back at our rescheduled time, and again I had to reschedule due to work. He was patient and courteous, and on our third try we managed to connect. He spent the better part of 90 minutes discussing my situation with me and how we could improve it together. He was knowledgeable, non-judgmental, and empathetic. This service is not for everyone, but for my particular situation this was ideal, and Charles made it all the better. So thank you again to both Charles A. and the DebtWave team that are helping my navigate the challenges that brought me to them in the first place. I am better off for having worked with them.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    January 11th, 2018
    8 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with Crystal W. and ended up signing up for debt management program. I was not aware of the program. So she guided me through the process and answered all my questions clearly and patiently. I would strongly recommend them. I just signed up today. I hope they keep up this during the time I am enrolled in the program as well.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    January 5th, 2018
    5 people found this review helpful!
    The gal I talked to was very pleasant and very helpful!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    8
    January 2nd, 2018 Jamestown, ND
    7 people found this review helpful!
    was very good, told me all I needed to hear. thanks
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    July 6th, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Customer representative was very knowledgeable on products and services.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    February 8th, 2017 Lincoln, NE
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca was great!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    9
    January 10th, 2017
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Helped me get my credit card debt where I could pay it off
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2016 Newark, NJ
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Ms Rebecca P was a very lovely lady easy to go through this process with always spoke with respect and kindness explained everything so easily all the way through hire more like her she’s really good at what she does
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2016 Chaplin, KY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    A wonderful experience
    Read More
  13. User Score
    8
    November 16th, 2016 Harlingen, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    It was great. She was patient and explained a lot to me. I appreciated that a lot.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    October 19th, 2016 Garden Grove, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I felt very comfortable with Jo-Jo. She displayed care, sensitivity, and displayed much human emotion you don’t always receive these days with customer service calls. She has great character and show much attentiveness. I appreciate her patience she had with me over the phone, and the time she took to explain the process, and answer my questions with details.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2016 Roseland, NJ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I want to personally thank the company for having Jo-Jo as an employee. She made this hard time in our lives so easy to resolve and put us on the right track. She was personable, pleasant and professional. Thank you.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    August 31st, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo-Jo was awesome with helping me get debt free. Customer service was excellent!!!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    August 24th, 2016 IL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I had the pleasure of talking to JoJo and she was amazing. She had no judgements and did her best to explain things to me. It was a great experience considering the situation.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    August 23rd, 2016 Bozeman, MT
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is a very great company, easy to go through the whole process and very helpful tools. I spoke with Jo-Jo and she was very down to earth, easy to talk too, and very knowledgeable. The process is easy and the payment options are great. I would highly recommend going with Debt Wave. I waited awhile to call because i was entirely sure about this route, but it was a great choice. Its a huge relief to get everything taking care of, and every question i had was answered. Thanks again!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    August 10th, 2016 Canonsburg, PA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was pleasantly surprised to find the people I spoke with to be friendly, helpful, patient and easy to understand. They didn’t mind when I asked them to repeat some of the information and to clarify anything I didn’t understand. I appreciated their comprehensive approach that included education, budgeting and an easy enrollment process. I can highly recommend them and want to thank Rebeca for all of her help.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    9
    July 14th, 2015 Windsor, PA
    12 people found this review helpful!
    Very polite and helpful. Made the process very easy.couldn’t have ask for better service!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

$10 - $49

Setup & Activation Fee

$25 - $75

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

310
Our Score
9.0
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

425