Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,947 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

Reviews of DebtWave Credit Counseling from real customers
(306 verified)

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 26, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Most Helpful Reviews From DebtWave Credit Counseling Customers

  1. User Score
    2
    ADH
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Debra Edmondson
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.Read More

306 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
225
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    April 17th, 2015 Lawndale, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Had a great expierence, told me what to expect and had good rates for me. Very good customer service.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    9
    April 16th, 2015 Hollywood, FL
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Monica is easy to talk with.
    She has patient.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    April 15th, 2015 Holly Springs, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane Guerrero is an awesome financial analysis. Her presentation was on target with the graphs and charts. Her questions were precise and straight forward. Giliane is very thorough with her work. She performed the whole chart in a timely manner. I was really impressed with the proficiency of a financial analysis. Great job. Thank you.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    9
    April 14th, 2015 Tulare, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo was the most personalized customer service person I have ever dealt with she was patient non judgmental and very informative. Thank you for your help.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    8
    April 14th, 2015 Independence, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was a great help to me. And u thank you all for helping me become debt free.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    April 14th, 2015 Greenville, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    So helpful. Wonderful experience all around. Would recommend this program to everyone!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    April 14th, 2015 Lewisburg, WV
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great. She was very helpful and forthcoming about helping me with my situation. I believe we have made the right choice with choosing your company.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    April 13th, 2015 Saint Louis, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was super nice and efficient. Awesome experience!
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    April 13th, 2015 New York, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica Ameng is a person who helped me over the phone. I am very satisfied
    Thank you very much
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    April 13th, 2015 San Antonio, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was really nervous but Jo-Jo was awesome. Very knowledgeable and comforting. I hate to have met her under these circumstances but she has been a blessing to me!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    April 10th, 2015 Englewood, CO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Damon Ayers was great. He was very helpful and did not pressure me in any way.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2015 Mountain View, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Jojo was amazing! I felt she truly cared and wanted to help me. She actually stayed past her work hours to complete all the information needed. She was very calming to speak with especially in such an overwhelming time in my life. I would recommend Jojo to anyone who needs financial helpguidance. Thank you!!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    9
    April 9th, 2015 Willard, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very friendly and knowledgeable, highly recommend
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2015 Willard, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rocio, was very friendly and able to answer all my questions and concerns in a timely manner. Would definitely recommend this company to friends and family.
    Read More
  15. User Score
    8
    April 9th, 2015 Lincoln Park, MI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Damon was extremely professional and explained things thoroughly. The process of getting everything set up for my debt consolidation was incredibly simple and fast. I am very happy.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2015 Franklin, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The process was easy & quick! And now I am optimistic about becoming debt-free in the near future!
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2015 Springfield, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The representatives were extremely knowledgeable and professional. The process was easy and fast. It feels wonderful to be taking strong steps to eliminate my debt.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    April 9th, 2015 Des Moines, IA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany was really really helpful and nice !! I am so excited to begin getting out of debt !! Thanks Debt Wave !!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    April 8th, 2015 Tampa, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo was awesome!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    April 8th, 2015 Mifflinburg, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo-Jo was a joy to work with. She was extremely patient with this senior citizen. I never felt rushed to complete anything on the application and she took the time to explain the various parts of the program. Even if I did not understand something fully and asked her to return to any specific item and explain it again, she was always patient and did so without any hesitation. I was not sure I wanted to start this program but Jo-Jo put my mind somewhat at ease convincing me that this was the right step toward relieving my debt. It’s going to be a long 4+ years but I’m grateful to Jo-Jo for helping me get through all of this.
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    April 8th, 2015 Bakersfield, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My counselor was amazing! Very sweet and easy to talk to. She answered all of my questions in an easy to understand verbiage. She was able to get my payments to the exact amount I was looking for. I am so relieved and happy to be on my way to being debt free. I would recommend your company to anyone! Thank you so much!
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    April 7th, 2015 Bell, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Fast and easy help.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    April 7th, 2015 Danbury, CT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I found Monica very helpful walking me through the process. I am looking forward to getting out of debt.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    April 2nd, 2015 Anaheim, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    my review was great Monica was very helpful and very nice.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    April 2nd, 2015 South Portland, ME
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great. She spent a lot of time walking through each step of my debt consolidation. We looked at a couple of different approaches and options. She was very patient as we found what would be best for me.
    Read More
  26. User Score
    9
    April 1st, 2015 Bethlehem, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Having the interest rates lowered significantly is a blessing to be able to reduce and pay off the debt.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    April 1st, 2015 Compton, IL
    6 people found this review helpful!
    This was easy and pain free. What would have taken over 20 years on my own, will be paid off in less than 5 years. I would recommend this company and this program to anyone trying (and not succeeding) to get out of debt.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Honolulu, HI
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany was an amazing help for me today. The sense of relief I have is overwhelming. I can’t thank you all enough. From the bottom of my heart and my two boys, Thank You So Much!!!
    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Kansas City, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I spoke with Giliane and Mica (not sure if spelling is right) and they were both extremely helpful and friendly. They didn’t make me feel embarrassed about an embarrassing situation. I have just signed up for the consolidation program so can’t comment on how well it works but I am very hopeful and am certainly impressed with the professionalism and quick responses of the employees I’ve spoken with so far.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Bonham, TX
    3 people found this review helpful!
    The customer service representative was in a word- stellar. She took a most stressful and frankly embarrassing situation and handled it as a true professional. She was extremely kind, very sweet and disarming about the complete process. Any fear or shame of my monitory situation she quickly dissapated. She is not a diamond in the rough but a real jewel as a customer service representative for Debtwave. She truly took charge and my stress is gone with the assistance she gave me. Thank you do very much
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    March 31st, 2015 Los Angeles, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great! Made it very easy!
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    March 30th, 2015 Cumming, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica Ameng has been a wonderful help today! She was very thorough in her explanations of each step and my options. Such a kind lady! I feel much better about moving on toward being debt free. I’m also going to pass along her information to my mom and a couple of friends. Thank you for being available for those of us who are in need of getting back on track financially!
    Read More
  33. User Score
    9
    March 30th, 2015 Jensen Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Julian was a big help And very personable.
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    March 27th, 2015 Portland, OR
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Both Sean and Brittany were very helpful. Sean explained things to me in a way that I could understand, more than once. He was also very clear on the direction of my situation if it did not change. Bethany was very nice and also clear about what was going on. They both gave me a positive feeling about my negative finances and made me feel pro- active.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    March 26th, 2015 Atlantic City, NJ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was so depressed having all this debt hanging over my head, then I went online searching for a solution. I came across debt wave the care and compassion that was given to me I felt like I was already debt free. Damion and Mika broke everything down even though my bills were in collections they did not waive the white flag in. I am not fully there but I know I be soon with debt wave by my side. THANK YOU DEBT WAVE.
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    March 24th, 2015 Irmo, SC
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with Giliane Guerrero, she was awesome. Explained everything very well and made the experience very satisfying. She is awesome!
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    March 24th, 2015 Huntingdon Valley, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I felt like their was no hope for us to get out of Debt, but came across Debt wave and now i can see the light at the end of the tunnel, I feel hopeful again thank you Jo Jo for all your time with us and just how nice and patient everyone seems I would highly recommend to seek out Debt wave for console if you feel like your drowning, their is hope for tomorrow. thank you Tammy..
    Read More
  38. User Score
    9
    March 23rd, 2015 Boynton Beach, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Gillian was wonderful
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    March 23rd, 2015 Birmingham, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Damon thank you very much for your help this is going to help greatly.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    9
    March 21st, 2015 Papillion, NE
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was very happy with the service that Giliane provided me with setting up my mom’s DMP. She was extremely patient with me given the time it took me to get things started and she was always willing to answer my questions. I would give her a 10 but I’m one of the people who never gives anything a 10. However, I am reserving my final assessment of DebtWave until I see how things work out over the next few months, but Giliane was very good!
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    March 21st, 2015 Fond Du Lac, WI
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Gilianne was great to work with! Thank you
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    March 20th, 2015 San Francisco, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent costumer service Jo Jo she help me she is grate thank you Jo Jo. She go over we me abut me credit and ahi. We help you to have better way to pay off all your credit card. Thank you
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    March 20th, 2015 Springfield, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Had a great experience with a very helpful individual whom consolidated my debt. Would definitely recommend it to anyone in need.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    March 19th, 2015 San Diego, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    I was delighted both personally with Jo Jo as well as with the process. I was self-conscious and nervous about being in the position I am in right now with my debt. She handled all of my questions honestly and professionally but without sugar coating fluff which I don’t do well with. I have already mentioned the service to one colleague and will be referring others I am sure!
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    March 18th, 2015 Leesburg, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Gilliane is extremely professional and deserves a raise.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    March 18th, 2015 Stockbridge, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jillian explained everything so that I understood what to expect each month. That it would come out of my checking account and on a specific date that I chose.
    Thanks Jillian for being nice.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    March 17th, 2015 New York, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Finally decided to do something about my credit card balances. Read good things about American Debit Lenders online. I initially spoke with Richard Garcia who gave me a run down of some options that may be available for me. He then put me in contact with Gillian Guerrero who was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Just one smart phone call and I am all ready feeling 100 times better about my debit situation.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    March 16th, 2015 Seattle, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo was excellent on helping me get everything figured out.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    March 13th, 2015 Lancaster, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My agent was very patient and encouraging throughout the whole process. I hope I don’t ever have to go through this again, but, if I do, I’ll choose DebtWave and recommend them, too.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    March 13th, 2015 Flint, MI
    4 people found this review helpful!
    it was very informative, and some very kind and Patience people. they where very helpful.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.2 /10