Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,947 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

Reviews of DebtWave Credit Counseling from real customers
(306 verified)

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 26, 2019

  • Low-interest ratesBetween the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.
  • Reasonable fees: DebtWave’s monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable for the industry. 
  • Great reviews: One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services. 
  • Limited daily availabilityTDebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. 
  • Somewhat limited service area: DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.
  • Our recommendation: DebtWave has a well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and favorable results. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, DebtWave is a great option to anyone living in their 46-state service area. If you are looking for other options, we recommend also considering Consolidated Credit

Most Helpful Reviews From DebtWave Credit Counseling Customers

  1. User Score
    2
    ADH
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Debra Edmondson
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.Read More

306 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
60
225
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2016 Roseland, NJ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I want to personally thank the company for having Jo-Jo as an employee. She made this hard time in our lives so easy to resolve and put us on the right track. She was personable, pleasant and professional. Thank you.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    August 31st, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo-Jo was awesome with helping me get debt free. Customer service was excellent!!!
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    August 24th, 2016 IL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I had the pleasure of talking to JoJo and she was amazing. She had no judgements and did her best to explain things to me. It was a great experience considering the situation.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    August 23rd, 2016 Bozeman, MT
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is a very great company, easy to go through the whole process and very helpful tools. I spoke with Jo-Jo and she was very down to earth, easy to talk too, and very knowledgeable. The process is easy and the payment options are great. I would highly recommend going with Debt Wave. I waited awhile to call because i was entirely sure about this route, but it was a great choice. Its a huge relief to get everything taking care of, and every question i had was answered. Thanks again!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    August 10th, 2016 Canonsburg, PA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I was pleasantly surprised to find the people I spoke with to be friendly, helpful, patient and easy to understand. They didn’t mind when I asked them to repeat some of the information and to clarify anything I didn’t understand. I appreciated their comprehensive approach that included education, budgeting and an easy enrollment process. I can highly recommend them and want to thank Rebeca for all of her help.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    9
    July 14th, 2015 Windsor, PA
    12 people found this review helpful!
    Very polite and helpful. Made the process very easy.couldn’t have ask for better service!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2015 TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo Sanchez was wonderful to work with. I could understand every request/question from her. She explained the process in a way that was understandable. She spoke clearly and never once indicated she was not interested in helping us with our personal issues. Customer service was the best.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2015 Gardendale, AL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    We had a very good experience. She was helpful. She was patient with us when things went wrong. We were pleased with the help we received.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    June 18th, 2015 Pine Bluff, AR
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo was awesome & made this process much easier than I expected! Looking forward to a much needed life change for the better!!!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    June 15th, 2015 Alachua, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great and helpful and also patient, I enjoyed my counselor and experience!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    June 15th, 2015 New York, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo was extremely helpful. The budget worksheet is great. Thank you
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    June 3rd, 2015 Delaware, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with JoJo. She provided thorough information, answered my questions, and treated me with great respect during a non-so-fun life adjustment.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    May 29th, 2015 South Bend, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very clear understanding of how to settle debt. Monica very knowledgeable and provided great customer service.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    May 28th, 2015 Mcdonough, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    very pleasant experience with competent people
    Read More
  15. User Score
    9
    May 27th, 2015 Williamston, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My Experience wit Jo Jo,was just great,she was very patience and very professional in every way,i am very pleased with the service she gave to me. she is a winner keep her forever.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    May 27th, 2015 West Monroe, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Israel was so nice and professional to help me with the options that I need to take
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    May 26th, 2015 Alhambra, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo-Jo Sanchez was outstanding, giving me all my options to choose that best suited my situation she did great the whole time got back to me in a timely manner and was very knowledgeable about the company and the information she provided me
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    May 26th, 2015
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was awesome with her support.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    May 19th, 2015 Massillon, OH
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany Gregg, the representative who assisted me was very professional, knowledgeable and pleasant to speak with. I was never made to feel embarrassed because of the amount of debt I had. She answered any questions I had and explained everything in detail. She certainly decreased my stress level a bit. I truly thank her for her assistance.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    May 18th, 2015 Morrow, GA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It was wonderful!!
    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    May 15th, 2015 Tipton, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    my experience with your company was better than I hoped for I thank you very much and will recommend you to any one in need

    thanks Jo Jo

    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    May 15th, 2015 Waterford, CT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The people that phoned me and had to leave a message, Megan, Ava, & Madison we’re very friendly and willing to help. As well as the people I spoke to David & Ryan were just as friendly & helpful. Gillian, the one who did all the work was so friendly competent, and explained every detail. For me, it was a big step, and nerve racking, but I owe my gratitude to Gillian.
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    May 14th, 2015 Cleveland, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great people easy to talk to.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    May 14th, 2015 Chicago, IL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you for your service. it was very helpful
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    May 14th, 2015 Bakersfield, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was amazing provided me with different information answered all my questions she definitely likes her job an knows what she is doing had a great experience thank you
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    May 13th, 2015 Goose Creek, SC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was very help and patient with me and took the time to help me through this process.
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2015 Spring, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Brittany Greg was a HUGE help for me! I appreciate her caring about my situation!
    Read More
  28. User Score
    10
    May 11th, 2015 Freedom, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was very helpful and answered all my questions, and then some! I am grateful for her help and professionalism. I’m excited to begin getting my debt paid off.

    Thank you Giliane!

    Read More
  29. User Score
    10
    May 5th, 2015 Saratoga, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I found our experience with Jo Jo We found it to be simplified and extremely beneficial to both of us. This was a very enlightening and positive experience. Thank you.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    9
    May 5th, 2015 Valley, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great people and very kind
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    May 4th, 2015 Rio Rancho, NM
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a very good experience with Monica. She answered all my questions and gave the help we needed.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    May 4th, 2015 Indianapolis, IN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    monica was very helpful and professional with helping me thank you very much
    Read More
  33. User Score
    10
    May 4th, 2015 Shelby, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    excellent customer care and concern
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    May 4th, 2015 Saint Louis, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was very nice and able to answer all my questions. She explained all the options and I believe helped me pick the best one for my financial situation.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    May 2nd, 2015 Ozark, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    thank you for your help
    Read More
  36. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2015 Orange, MA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was so helpful!!! She was very kind and easy going. She explained everything very well! I feel a great amount of relief already!
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2015 Bangor, ME
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Excellent customer service with trouble-free set up. Would highly recommend to others
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    April 30th, 2015 Bowling Green, KY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    About the time I had lost all hope about someone helping me to get my financial situation on the right track, DebtWave came through for me. The staff were very nice and helpful. The monthly rates were exceptional compared to what I was trying to pay before. I am so grateful and highly recommend DebtWave to anyone seeking help to get back on track with their financial situation. Thank you DebtWave for helping me.
    Read More
  39. User Score
    10
    April 30th, 2015 Fremont, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave is wonderful. I would recommend them highly. They have worked with me over the last 3 1/2 years and I am so much better off for it. Thank you very much, I couldn’t have done it so easily without your help.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    April 28th, 2015 Iowa City, IA
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Very comfortable and smooth process. My questions were always quickly addressed.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    April 28th, 2015 New York, NY
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was great. So informative. I was feeling helpless and scared but now I feel confident. Thank you!
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    April 27th, 2015 Selbyville, DE
    2 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo was so patient and helpful. She made me feel important and that she was interested in what was best for me. I truly appreciate all of her help. I also like the fact that I don’t feel alone. I know I can call with questions or for help anytime. Thank you!
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    April 27th, 2015 San Diego, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was easy to talk to and knows a lot about her job. Thanks for your support! I would recommend her to anyone that have a problem financially and wanted to be debt free.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    April 23rd, 2015 Lawndale, CA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Ms. Jojo Shanchez just made my life much easier!!!! Thank you for your help and understanding of my situation… You are definitely a life saver and I will be sure to pass your name on to anyone in my situation!!! Mahalo Nui Loa!!! I truly appreciate you for all you do!!!!
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    April 22nd, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Giliane was very helpful and took her time explaining the process to me.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    10
    April 22nd, 2015 Fort Dodge, IA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave was very helpful and Damon was very polite. I would highy recommend Debtwave.
    Read More
  47. User Score
    8
    April 21st, 2015 Ashburn, VA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    People professional, clear, and on top of their game.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    9
    April 21st, 2015 Conneaut, OH
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I really enjoyed talking and experiencing the help Giliane provided me in this step in lowering my debt. Thanks again for all the help..
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2015 West Nyack, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was helped by Monica today and she was extremely knowledgable, helpful and understanding. She has set me up with a program that will definitely help me out and I would recommend Debtwave’s services to anyone who needs help.
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    April 20th, 2015 Turlock, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great service. Thorough explanations on a sensitive topic. Thanks!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
306

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10
Our Score
9.2
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
425

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.2 /10