Best Debt Companys

159 Companies 3,679 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

Reviews of DebtWave Credit Counseling from real customers
(296 verified)

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
296

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: November 15, 2018

Most Helpful Reviews

  1. User Score
    2
    ADH
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    Debra Edmondson
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.Read More

The Good

  • Low-interest rates
  • Low monthly fee
  • Positive customer reviews

Low-Interest Rates

DebtWave offers its consumer a streamlined debt consolidation of unsecured debt process with certified debt counseling available to guide clients every step of the way. Their monthly fees for counseling service, $10 to $49, are reasonable. Their interest rates on their consolidation loans are also good at 7.63 percent. Between the low minimum payments and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt, whether it be credit card debt or other.

Great Reviews

One of the most impressive things about the DebtWave program is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company not only for its debt consolidation services and debt counseling services, but for its transparency, amazing customer service, honesty, and results. This is not something that a lot of people say about debt consolidation companies. Many customers indicate that, unlike other consolidation companies they dealt with, the staff at DebtWave actually cared about them and their financial literacy and wanted them to succeed.

The Bad

  • Not licensed in CO, KS, MD, or NY
  • Limited customer service hours

Availability

DebtWave non-profit credit counseling has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. Currently, they are only open on Monday-Thursday from 7 am to 5 pm (PST), and Fridays 7 am to 4 pm (PST). This might present difficulties for some in getting a hold of them by phone.

Service Area

DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. This limits the potential customers DebtWave could have in those states. Some competitors offer debt management services in all 50 states.

The Bottom Line

DebtWave has an incredibly well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and very favorable results for their clientele. Between their affordable rates for credit and debt counseling, professionalism, and track record, we absolutely recommend DebtWave to anyone living in their 46-state service area.


About DebtWave Credit Counseling

Debtwave Credit Counseling is a non-profit organization that specializes in consolidation by using certified credit counselors to consolidate customers debt into one monthly payment. In the process of consolidating the debt, DebtWave also helps to decrease the interest rate on that debt. DebtWave Credit Counseling also offers services in controlling debt by educating customers about credit reports, budgets, financial goals, and financial education.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

296 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

2
1
3
15
57
218
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    9
    November 3rd, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    overall very pleased with how my debt is steadily being resolved every month. there is a clear time table of my debts being absolved. the customer service has been great. I am satisfied overall.
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    November 1st, 2018 Irving, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWAve has been a great company to work with. They negotiated a particular debt for me and significantly reduced the interest rate on the debt which is allowing me to pay it off much quicker than I would have been able to do on my own. I would absolutely recommend DebtWave as an option if someone has gotten in over their head on a particular bill or suffered a financial setback but wants to do the responsible thing and pay off the debt.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 16th, 2018 New York, NY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been very pleased from the beginning with my consultant Dawn, she’s helped me quite a bit answered all the questions, issues problems etc. I thanked her every time she help me she encouraged me and I want to say thank you
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    October 3rd, 2018 Lincoln, NE
    3 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave was incredible to work with. I was skeptical at first, but they were so easy to work with. Started with over $60,000 in debt in 2014 and even added some later on and just paid the entire thing off this past month. Without them, I would never have had the discipline to get it done myself. The consolidation also saved us several 100 dollars a month while in the program. The website is a great resource, you can see where each account is, when the payoff is, and when something is paid off it brings you such great relief and you can see the light at the end of the debt tunnel. I am so happy I used this company, they were financial life savers. Alex was our adviser and she was absolutely awesome. I thought maybe we wouldn’t have her the entire time and that worried me, but she was with us the entire time. That shows the company values its’ employees. Thank you DebtWave!!!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    October 1st, 2018 Castleton On Hudson, NY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    4 years ago when my husband of nearly 20 years surprisingly walked out of my life I was left devastated. Wondering how I was going to “make it”. Then came along the added stress of trying to figure things out financially. I did some research about credit counseling and reached out to a few and decided to have DebtWave help me with my credit. Everything that they told me was exactly true! I was able to pay off my debt in about 3 years which would have taken me nearly 20 without their help. I built my credit back up and because of them I was actually able to bring up my credit score so much that I was able to get a MORTGAGE! I still can’t believe it sometimes but it happened! I HIGHLY recommend DebtWave’s services to anyone struggling with debt!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    October 1st, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    My rep Dawn is wonderful to work with and in 12 months I will have paid off 100k in debt and save tens of thousands of dollars in interest. Amazing as they only charge $25 a month
    Read More
  7. User Score
    8
    September 26th, 2018 Saint Paul, MN
    2 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with Debtwave has been pretty decent. Once you’ve decided to work with the company, they do a great job at keeping you in the loop with every step of the process. One of the most important things I can advise anyone who’s looking to utilize this service: MAKE SURE you call your creditors as instructed by the credit counselor to change your due dates. If you do not change your dates to align with the creditor posting of payment, you will incur late fees and it will take more time to pay off your debt than anticipated. Debtwave is very clear about this when they are going through the process. I’m saving about $200 per month consolidating my debt with them, and they’ve been a huge life saver for me. Please note: My credit score TANKED after using this service, HOWEVER – Once my debt is paid off, my score will go back up. I’m saving almost 43 years in paying off my debt, and to me that’s more important than my credit score. Thank you, Debtwave, for giving me the financial relief I needed. I would recommend this service to any family member or friend looking for alternate options to resolving their debt issues.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    9
    September 8th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    this service has allowed me to consolidate some debt and lower interest rates on this credit cards so that now I can concentrate on other expenses
    Read More
  9. User Score
    8
    September 8th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Chris M has always been helpful. I am glad that the debt burden was taken off my back. Thanks
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    September 7th, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debt Wave has been very helpful for me and my credit problems.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    9
    September 6th, 2018 Bedford, OH
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I am grateful for the staff, plan, and results of working with Debtwave. No doubt I was in financial trouble totaling 19k with no hope or plan. I appreciated them contacting my credit cards, negotiating a better %, and setting up the agreement to paying back. I stuck to the Debtwave plan and in 5 more months I will have 6 credit cards paid off. I just wish I did it earlier. BEfore this I was running out of credit options, now my credit score is near 800 and I am getting offers every day. The education piece of Debtwave has taught me what to look for helping me be better borrower in the future.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    August 31st, 2018
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Dawn S has been a pleasure to work with!
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    August 17th, 2018 Westport, CT
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Debt wave and my representative Dawn S have been wonderful. I will be completely out of debt in a few months and couldn’t be happier.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    August 13th, 2018 Hannibal, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Dawn was extremely helpful and courteous to my concerns, and helped me resolve my issues due to unforeseen medical conditions. She was very personable and I truly appreciate her demeanor toward me, always am happy to speak to her if I have a problem!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    July 22nd, 2018
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Best experience I ever had
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    July 14th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Best customer service I have experienced
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2018 Millington, NJ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Great job
    Read More
  18. User Score
    9
    July 2nd, 2018 Youngstown, OH
    2 people found this review helpful!
    We needed some extra help and DebtWave was there to help us. It has been great these past 3 years getting $30,000. worth of debt being taken care of by somebody else and all we had to do was make one easy payment per month. The only downside of the whole thing is that your credit doesn’t really get the boost because you have to close all your accounts in order to get the better interest rate and lower monthly payment but on the upside, your debts are being paid off in 4 years! Awesome! Could have never done this without Debtwave!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2018 Athens, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave helped us to get on the right track to getting out of debt. They did what they promised by helping to lower my interest rates and get all my payments into one monthly payment. From there, they continued to fulfill promises by making each monthly payment and helping us to reduce our debt over $18000!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    June 27th, 2018 Berlin, NJ
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Dawn S. has been wonderful through our whole experience with DebtWave.
    Thank you Dawn!

    John & Tara B.

    Read More
  21. User Score
    10
    June 27th, 2018 Milwaukee, WI
    2 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has met and exceeded my expectations! They were easy to contact and set up my repayment plan with my creditors. They keep me informed on my progress, email me periodically to check in, and occasionally call. Their communication is always with purpose and informative. I appreciate their service and working through my indebtedness with my creditors.I was able to set up the repayment plan and keep my “pay on time” status with them.
    Read More
  22. User Score
    10
    June 27th, 2018 Charleston, WV
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I have been on the Debt Management Program (DMP) with DebtWave since December 2014. My wife and I faced financial hardships, medical bills, credit card debt, etc… I am happy to say that in a few more months that we will be credit card free! This program has allowed us to pay off all of our credit cards (most of which were high interest) with a total balance of over $30,000 in less than four years. Dawn S. and Christopher M. have been wonderful counselors and very helpful. DebtWave’s customer service has been excellent, as they are always timely in responding and understand your needs. Looking back upon this experience to help our family achieve financial goals, I wouldn’t say that a DMP is the best route for every consumer in debt; however, if a DMP is the best possible solution for your financial scenario, I would highly recommend DebtWave over any other company out there providing these services. To figure out whether or not a DMP is the correct solution for you or your family, DebtWave offers great assistance in evaluating your scenario. If you have multiple credit cards with high interest and don’t think there is any light at the end of the tunnel, I would call DebtWave today. Thank you, DebtWave, for providing great assistance in helping my wife and I become credit card free!
    Read More
  23. User Score
    10
    June 27th, 2018
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I LOVE DebtWave! The fees are much cheaper than the competition and the representatives are always friendly and understanding of my situation.
    Read More
  24. User Score
    10
    June 21st, 2018 Oak Lawn, IL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Dawn was great with adviceand information that was appreciated – she truly seems to care about her customers.
    Read More
  25. User Score
    10
    June 19th, 2018 Jackson, MI
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Nothing but good things to say about Debt Wave. Thanks to the Debt Wave team my wife and I are debt free and it only took about 1 1/2 years. Credit score went from very low 400’s to 726. Thanks again Debt Wave!!!!!!!
    Read More
  26. User Score
    10
    June 14th, 2018 Miami, FL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I have to say, prior to signing up with DebtWave I did my research and they came up as one of the top three on my list to choose from as far as who I wanted to use to consolidate my debt. Originally I was helped by Monica A. who was very attentive and patient with me and answered any doubts I had about signing up. I then came in contact with the person who was to be handling my account, Chris M., who was also provided great customer service. He explained everything in detail, made suggestions and gave me great advice. I never felt pressured about making any decisions throughout this whole process and both Chris and Monica made me feel like I could trust this company with handling my debt. After the first month, I checked my credit score and to my surprise, my credit had already gone up 50+ points; I was in disbelief. I didn’t think this would start helping my credit so quickly. Overall I am satisfied above and beyond my expectations with the customer service I received and also confident that I chose the right company for my credit needs. Thank you Debt Wave!
    Read More
  27. User Score
    10
    June 11th, 2018 Van Nuys, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I cannot thank Miss W. enough.
    She has helped me get through a billing dispute with Paypal Credit from the beginning of trying to resolve the issue.
    After spending a lot of time with this company the problem was resolved. Could not have done this without her.
    You have a great employee that has helped me tremendously throughout this ordeal.
    Thank You Again Miss W.
    Robert F.
    Read More
  28. User Score
    2
    May 1st, 2018 Strasburg, OH
    1 people found this review helpful!
    They never contacted me or got back to me after I gave them my information.
    Read More
  29. User Score
    2
    April 24th, 2018 Willard, MO
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Their system automatically messaged me but the number they left for me to call always hung up on me after about 20 seconds. I messaged them about the issue & they never got back to me.
    Read More
  30. User Score
    10
    January 25th, 2018 Mentor, OH
    5 people found this review helpful!
    Life happens, and sometimes you need some advice and some help. I contacted DebtWave, and Charles called me back promptly. Unfortunately I had to reschedule due to work. Then he called back at our rescheduled time, and again I had to reschedule due to work. He was patient and courteous, and on our third try we managed to connect. He spent the better part of 90 minutes discussing my situation with me and how we could improve it together. He was knowledgeable, non-judgmental, and empathetic. This service is not for everyone, but for my particular situation this was ideal, and Charles made it all the better. So thank you again to both Charles A. and the DebtWave team that are helping my navigate the challenges that brought me to them in the first place. I am better off for having worked with them.
    Read More
  31. User Score
    10
    January 11th, 2018
    7 people found this review helpful!
    I worked with Crystal W. and ended up signing up for debt management program. I was not aware of the program. So she guided me through the process and answered all my questions clearly and patiently. I would strongly recommend them. I just signed up today. I hope they keep up this during the time I am enrolled in the program as well.
    Read More
  32. User Score
    10
    January 5th, 2018
    2 people found this review helpful!
    The gal I talked to was very pleasant and very helpful!
    Read More
  33. User Score
    8
    January 2nd, 2018 Jamestown, ND
    2 people found this review helpful!
    was very good, told me all I needed to hear. thanks
    Read More
  34. User Score
    10
    July 6th, 2017
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Customer representative was very knowledgeable on products and services.
    Read More
  35. User Score
    10
    February 8th, 2017 Lincoln, NE
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca was great!
    Read More
  36. User Score
    9
    January 10th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Helped me get my credit card debt where I could pay it off
    Read More
  37. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2016 Newark, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Ms Rebecca P was a very lovely lady easy to go through this process with always spoke with respect and kindness explained everything so easily all the way through hire more like her she’s really good at what she does
    Read More
  38. User Score
    10
    November 29th, 2016 Chaplin, KY
    1 people found this review helpful!
    A wonderful experience
    Read More
  39. User Score
    8
    November 16th, 2016 Harlingen, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    It was great. She was patient and explained a lot to me. I appreciated that a lot.
    Read More
  40. User Score
    10
    October 19th, 2016 Garden Grove, CA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I felt very comfortable with Jo-Jo. She displayed care, sensitivity, and displayed much human emotion you don’t always receive these days with customer service calls. She has great character and show much attentiveness. I appreciate her patience she had with me over the phone, and the time she took to explain the process, and answer my questions with details.
    Read More
  41. User Score
    10
    October 14th, 2016 Roseland, NJ
    3 people found this review helpful!
    I want to personally thank the company for having Jo-Jo as an employee. She made this hard time in our lives so easy to resolve and put us on the right track. She was personable, pleasant and professional. Thank you.
    Read More
  42. User Score
    10
    August 31st, 2016
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Jo-Jo was awesome with helping me get debt free. Customer service was excellent!!!
    Read More
  43. User Score
    10
    August 24th, 2016 IL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I had the pleasure of talking to JoJo and she was amazing. She had no judgements and did her best to explain things to me. It was a great experience considering the situation.
    Read More
  44. User Score
    10
    August 23rd, 2016 Bozeman, MT
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This is a very great company, easy to go through the whole process and very helpful tools. I spoke with Jo-Jo and she was very down to earth, easy to talk too, and very knowledgeable. The process is easy and the payment options are great. I would highly recommend going with Debt Wave. I waited awhile to call because i was entirely sure about this route, but it was a great choice. Its a huge relief to get everything taking care of, and every question i had was answered. Thanks again!
    Read More
  45. User Score
    10
    August 10th, 2016 Canonsburg, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was pleasantly surprised to find the people I spoke with to be friendly, helpful, patient and easy to understand. They didn’t mind when I asked them to repeat some of the information and to clarify anything I didn’t understand. I appreciated their comprehensive approach that included education, budgeting and an easy enrollment process. I can highly recommend them and want to thank Rebeca for all of her help.
    Read More
  46. User Score
    9
    July 14th, 2015 Windsor, PA
    12 people found this review helpful!
    Very polite and helpful. Made the process very easy.couldn’t have ask for better service!
    Read More
  47. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2015 TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    JoJo Sanchez was wonderful to work with. I could understand every request/question from her. She explained the process in a way that was understandable. She spoke clearly and never once indicated she was not interested in helping us with our personal issues. Customer service was the best.
    Read More
  48. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2015 Gardendale, AL
    1 people found this review helpful!
    We had a very good experience. She was helpful. She was patient with us when things went wrong. We were pleased with the help we received.
    Read More
  49. User Score
    10
    June 18th, 2015 Pine Bluff, AR
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Jo Jo was awesome & made this process much easier than I expected! Looking forward to a much needed life change for the better!!!
    Read More
  50. User Score
    10
    June 15th, 2015 Alachua, FL
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Monica was great and helpful and also patient, I enjoyed my counselor and experience!
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
296

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
8.4 /10

Consolidated Credit

Compared to industry leader
9.3 /10
Our Score
9.3
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
424

Overall Score

Based on ranking criteria
9.3 /10