Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,082 Real Customer Reviews

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling

DebtWave specializes in consolidating credit card debt, offers a free consultation and charges relatively low monthly fees in comparison with other companies.

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.7

Talk to a Debt Counselor   1-(888) 526-9597

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
16 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
352

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: April 12, 2017

DebtWave Credit Counseling has helped over 13,000 people become debt free since 2001 and enjoys strong loyalty from current and prior clients. The company specializes in consolidating credit card debt at lower interest rates with the help of certified debt counselors for a reasonable monthly fee.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $69
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10-$40
AFCC & IAPDA

#3

$10 - $49
ISO

The Good

  • Low interest rates
  • Low monthly fee
  • Positive customer reviews

Low Interest Rates

DebtWave offers a streamlined debt consolidation process with certified debt counselors available to guide clients every step of the way. Their monthly fees, $10 to $49, are reasonable. Their interest rates on their consolidation loans are also good at 7.63 percent. Between the low monthly price and the good interest rates, customers will be able to save on their debt.

Great Reviews

One of the most impressive things about DebtWave is the loyalty of their clients in praising the company for its transparency, amazing customer service, honesty, and results. Many customers indicate that, unlike other companies they dealt with, the staff at DebtWave actually cared about them and wanted them to succeed.

Get started with DebtWave Credit Counseling

The Bad

  • Not licensed in CO, KS, MD, or NY
  • Limited customer service hours

Availability

DebtWave has limited customer service hours, this can be an issue for customers. Currently they are only open on Monday-Thursday from 7am to 5pm (PST), and Fridays 7am to 4pm (PST). This might present difficulties for some in getting a hold of them by phone.

Service Area

DebtWave is not licensed to operate in CO, KS, MD, or NY at this time. This limits the potential customers DebtWave could have in those states. Some competitors offer services in all 50 states.

The Bottom Line

DebtWave has an incredibly well-established track record for providing top-tier customer service and very favorable results for their clientele. Between their affordable rates, professionalism, and track record, we absolutely recommend DebtWave to anyone living in their 46-state service area.

Visit Site


About DebtWave Credit Counseling

Debtwave Credit Counseling is a non-profit organization that specializes in consolidation by using certified credit counselors to consolidate customers debt into one monthly payment. In the process of consolidating the debt, DebtWave also helps to decrease the interest rate on that debt. DebtWave Credit Counseling also offers services in controlling debt by educating customers about credit reports, budgets, financial goals, and financial education.

Price

The monthly service fee is tied to the number of credit cards enrolled into the program. Typically it ranges from $10 – $49 (less in some states, it depends on where you live).  Payment preferred is automatic debit. Personal checks or cash are not accepted. Once creditors are paid, these fees are typically not refundable. Some very simple plans may potentially be as low as $10 per month. The savings generated typically are much higher than the total amount of fees paid.

Enrollment Fee

A minimum enrollment fee is charged depending on the state you live in. The fee will not exceed $75.  You can obtain a no-obligation quote by requesting a free consultation.

Free Consultation

Yes. An estimated pay off time is provided during the initial consultation. They will also provide information on the best path to debt relief and other topics surrounding your specific debt situation.

Time In Business

16 years. DebtWave was founded in June 2001.

Debt Education

Financial literacy seminars are offered free of charge in the San Diego area. Other tools include on-line debt calculators, “Smart With Your Money” Workbook, Budget Template Worksheet, Debt to Income Calculator, FICO Estimator – calculators you might wish “why didn’t I think of that?” such as the “Hours of Work Required to Make Minimum Payments” Calculator.

Money Back Guarantee

DebtWave does offer a money back guarantee for it’s services. If for any reason you are not satisfied with our services within 90 days of enrollment, we will refund back to you your enrollment fee.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

Unsecured credit card debt only.

Mobile Friendly

Their website is not mobile friendly. There is no specific app for their services either, although they do have links and info for obtaining mobile coupon apps for groceries and merchandise.

Cancellation Policy

The program is voluntary as stated in their contract and puts no obligation upon clients; they may cancel any time. There is no fee for cancellation.

Contact Information

Telephone:

1 (877) 934-3003

E-Mail:

[email protected]

Address:

9325 Sky Park Ct. #260

San Diego, CA 92123

Business Hours: (all times are Pacific)

Customer Service: 7:00am – 5:00pm Monday – Thursday; 7:00am – 4:00pm PST Friday

Counseling: 7:00am – 6:00pm Monday – Thursday; 7:00am – 5:00pm PST Friday

Types of Services Available

Debt management, debt consolidation, credit counseling, credit report reviews, budget evaluation and more.

Minimum Debt Accepted

Must have at least $5k in debt to sign up.

Online Dashboard

An online account is available for those with a DebtWave account. The online account allows customers to see the progress of their DMP in real time.

CPFC Certified

All employees at DebtWave are certified personal finance counselors.

ISO Certified

DebtWave is ISO certified.

Dear Potential Client,

We understand that debt and finances are difficult subjects to talk about and deal with. That is why at DebtWave Credit Counseling, Inc. we offer services to help make your life simple.

We provide many services, which include: debt consolidation, free credit counseling sessions, student loan consolidation, a financial education program, and we also participate in community outreach. If you join our debt management program, we can consolidate your credit card debt into one monthly payment, lower your interest rates to single digits, and help you become debt-free in 3-5 years. Before joining this program, a certified credit counselor will even take you through a free credit counseling session, where he or she will pull your credit, review all of your accounts, create a detailed budget, and give you a financial analysis report at the end.

Similar to a credit counseling session, our certified credit counselors can walk you through a student loan consolidation session, where he or she will consolidate all of your loans, create a budget, and look at the many repayment plans offered by the Department of Education. On our website, we also offer a financial education program, where you can read our financial workbook and take a short test afterwards to educate yourself on the basics of personal finance. We also have a few different credit card debt calculators online to help you understand your current situation a little better. Lastly, we provide free seminars, workshops, programs, and services to all members of the community, including the military, high school and college students, and employees and their organizations.

Sincerely,

Antony Murigu, President

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

We'll Introduce you!

Call our recommended rep over at DebtWave Credit Counseling below.

1-(888) 526-9597
Or you can visit their site by clicking here.

352 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
3
16
60
272
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    July 7th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I just want to thank everyone at your company for being so nice, especially Rebecca and Cari . This is a 10 in my review for this company , so promp in calling and e-mailing etc. Sincerely Mary Ellen Bates
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    July 6th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Customer representative was very knowledgeable on products and services.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    June 9th, 2017 Bradenton, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience could not have been better. Very personable while still showing professionalism throughout the conversation.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    9
    June 4th, 2017 Seattle, WA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Sabrina H has been great! But we’ll see what happens further on down the road!
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    May 30th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca was wonderful. She was compassionate and explained everything clearly.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    May 18th, 2017 Irving, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Outstanding service, explanations and detailing of the legal messages..
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    May 12th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Had very good knowledge . I felt like I really had a chance to get out of debt. Thank you for your help.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    8
    May 8th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I had a great experience with Rebecca. She was nice and very helpful. She knows what to say and helps me all the way through the process. Im very thankful for all the help.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    May 6th, 2017 Kalispell, MT
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rebecca made this stressful situation very straightforward and easy. Great customer service!
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2017 Opelika, AL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Experience was very easy and thorough.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    April 28th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca answered all my concerns about their services. She gave me the confidence to move forward in near future.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    April 14th, 2017 San Antonio, TX
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Israel did an amazing job explaining everything for the Debt management program. He listed out both pros and cons of being on the program. Calculated all numbers quickly and gave me an idea of what I would be saving and how long it would take to pay off my debt.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    March 15th, 2017 Cherryville, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca was very pleasant and informative. She was very patient with my many questions.

    Regards,
    Dana Brown

    Read More
  14. User Score
    8
    March 14th, 2017 Charlotte, NC
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Very courteous and helpful!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    March 12th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was very hesitant to call, but I did and Rebecca P explained in detail the program and relieved all my stress about reaching out for help with my debt. She explained the program very throughly and my stress was relieved to know that there is help available.
    I appreciate her knowledge in explaining the program and to know I will be debt free in 3years is amazing!
    I appreciated her knowledge of all the program and feel confident in this company.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    10
    March 6th, 2017 Tampa, FL
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Miss P was very customer friendly and engaging. She really made me feel at ease about everything.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    February 20th, 2017 Washington, MO
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca Perez was so nice in helping me with my transactions. It’s nice when someone so nice is there to help and I thank her so much!!!
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    February 8th, 2017 Lincoln, NE
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Rebeca was great!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    February 8th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I transferred credit card debt to Debtwave a few years ago and it has been great. It is scary picking a company when it comes to finances, however, they had great reviews a few years ago and still do so that made me feel better. My personal experience has been great too. Customer service is great and helpful. They make sure that things are going okay with your plan and ask for statements to ensure their records are accurate. I ended up paying less than I was paying on my own WITH Debtwave’s fee AND the capital is actually going down vs being spent all on interest. Their fee is very reasonable too. I have less than a year now and I am so excited about the improvement of my finances! If you are considering consolidating debt I highly recommend Debtwave, without it I would be paying credit card debt forever!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    February 1st, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Absolutely a great person to deal with, made a difficult situation easy to get thru. I wish there more people like her in the world.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price
$10 - $49

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
$25 - $75

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
16 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
352
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
24 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
557