Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 5,416 Real Customer Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#3
DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

DebtWave Credit Counseling

DebtWave Credit Counseling specializes in consolidating credit card debt and offers a free consultation. Consumers could potentially pay lower fees working with larger companies.

Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $49

Setup & Activation Fee

Up to $75

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

348

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: June 25, 2019

DebtWave Credit Counseling offers credit counseling, financial education, and a debt management program for individuals looking to lower their debt by lowering their interest rates.

Pros

Positive Customer Reviews

The DebtWave Credit Counseling reviews on Best Debt Companys are almost exclusively positive – the company is rated 9.6 out of 10 by customers. In fact, in the last year, there has not been a single negative review about DebtWave, which is common in the debt relief industry. Here is a summary of our positive DebtWave reviews…

  • Interest Rates: Several reviewers report that DebtWave was able to lower the interest rates on their credit cards. Reduced interest rates are what allows these debt consolidation customers to pay off their debts quicker. A lower interest rate also typically results in a lower monthly payment.
  • Increased Credit Score. Naturally, as you pay down your credit card debt, you should see a positive impact on your credit score, which is exactly what DebtWave customers mention in their reviews. A specific review mentions that they were able to get a mortgage after debt consolidation, and several customers say their credit score went to “very good” or even “excellent” after they completed the program.
  • Customer Service. A smaller, but still significant number of reviews, address the excellent customer service they received from DebtWave. DebtWave reviews in 2019 specifically mention that mention credit counseling with Dawn was wonderful to work with.

Potentially Low-Interest Rates on Your Credit Card

DebtWave Credit Counseling claims that they are able to reduce the interest rates on your credit cards to 6-9% with their debt management program. The average credit card interest rate is currently about 19.2% This is a significant decrease in the interest rate consumers are paying, which means a small DebtWave payment plan. While these interest rates are low, other debt consolidation companies may be able to get similar, or even lower rates.

Cons

Small Company

DebtWave Credit Counseling employees about 30 people. By comparison, Consolidated Credit and Accredited Debt Relief both have over 200 employees working to eliminate consumer debt. In some cases, working with a small company can mean a more personalized customer service experience. However, the large a debt consolidation company is, the better and more relationships they typically have with big credit card companies. Larger companies have extensive debt management resources and work with over 1,000 banks and retailers. DebtWave does not disclose the number of creditors they work with or the names of companies they work closely with. Fewer employees may also correlate to a larger individual caseload for credit counseling.

Limited Availability

DebtWave Credit Counseling does not service the following four states: Colorado, Kansas, Maryland, or New York. If you live in one of these states, we recommend reaching out to a nationwide debt management company, like Consolidated Credit.

DebtWave may also be difficult to get ahold of if you work normal business hours. The company operates on PST, and is only available by phone from 7am to 4pm Monday through Thursday, and from 7am to 3pm on Fridays.

Potentially Low Savings on Debt

Large debt consolidation companies are able to estimate the percent you’ll actually pay with them, compared to what you would pay off in total with interest and fees. These percents have a large range from about 50-80% – disclosed on company websites.

DebtWave Credit Counseling does not give an estimation of what you will pay. However, using the “How much can I save with DebtWave?” calculator provided on its website, we found that the debt management plan they provide only saves someone a few thousand dollars over the course of 3-5 years, and that the individual would pay back over 90% of the amount owed plus fees from interest rates. (This is based on $25k in debt, a monthly payment of $1,500, and the average APR – 19.2%).

Our Recommendation

Customers of DebtWave Credit Counseling clearly have a positive view of the company. This is evident in the hundreds of consumer reviews they have below. However, the amount of money you save with their debt consolidation program seems to be lower than the industry leaders. We recommend getting a monthly fee and potential interest rates quote from one of our top debt consolidation companies. These companies have more resources to help more people lower their interest rates and consolidate their credit.


DebtWave Program Information

  • Cancellation Policy: The program is voluntary as stated in their contract and puts no obligation upon clients; they may cancel any time. There is no fee for cancellation.
  • Minimum Debt to Enroll: Must have at least $5k in debt to sign up.
  • Monthly Fee: Maximum of $49.
  • Set-Up Fee: Maximum of $75 to enroll your debt.
  • Free Consultation: An estimated time to payoff your debt is provided during the initial consultation. They will also provide information on the best path to debt relief and other topics surrounding your specific debt situation. If you choose to sign up with DebtWave, you will be provided credit counseling throughout your time in the program.
  • Industry Accreditations: DebtWave Credit Counseling is ISO (International Organization for Standardization) Certified and has Certified Credit Counselors. They do not hold accreditations with the AFCC (American Fair Credit Counsel) or the NFCC (National Foundation for Credit Counseling) – two of the most widely known accreditors.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

348 DebtWave Credit Counseling Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
2
1
3
17
63
261
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    October 6th, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWaze was the only program that worked for us. We tried to do what DebtWaze did for us on our own, but there was no way for us to control our payments at such high interest rates. They helped us get the interest to almost nothing, and then put us on a payment plan that was realistic. They have made it easy for us to make additional payments when we could and everyone we have ever talked to is super friendly and always helpful. We never missed a payment, which was what made working with them perfect!
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    October 1st, 2020 Hixson, TN
    0 people found this review helpful!
    My experience with DebtWave was excellent. My dedicated counselor was always available for questions and assisted me with professionalism and kindness throughout the course of my payment schedule. I’m a month away from completing my paydown and am very proud of my progress. Thank you DebtWave.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    October 1st, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I am so thankful that I found DebtWave. Their services helped my family over the last 3 years. As we finish our program, we leave with DEBTS PAID! I’m so grateful for their service.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    August 4th, 2020 Tucson, AZ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Fantastic service! I lost my wife in 2015 and without her income I was beside myself with $ 40,000 in credit card dept. After a constant struggle trying to pay all the debts. In 2017 I found DEBTWAVE on line, and they became a God send to me. I had 20 credit card accounts which they quickly helped me get a handle on my mess. They were able to reduce interest rates on some, even eliminated some interest on several accounts. Their customer service was outstanding thru the whole ordeal. I am scheduled to be debt free in March of 2021, but it now appears that it could be 3 months sooner. Thanks again DEBTWAVE, thank God I found your service, you saved me from bankruptcy.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    10
    August 4th, 2020 Bayonne, NJ
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great experience in a time in my life when I needed support and guidance.Customer service A+i
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    August 4th, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debt wave helped me consolidate my bills and set up payments for me that I could afford. My bills were paid off and it only took a small fraction of the time it would have normally taken if I continued to pay the creditors.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    August 3rd, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This Debt Consolidation Company is THE BEST!! Not only are they great with explaining how the plan works, it is such a great program and it really works!!
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    August 3rd, 2020 Sandy, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I was totally impressed by the communication with this company. They absolutely kept me in the loop and for that I am thankful. Every step of the Debtwave kept me up to date on what was happening and prioritized my needs. They were extremely helpful and honest.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    August 3rd, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debt wave helped me out of horrible situation 4 years ago I was able to breathe and survive all my sleepless nights were erased The counselors have been very understanding, encouraging and compassionate. They gave me the hope and assurance that I will pay off my debts and be able to start afresh. I would not hesitate to recommend Debt Wave to anyone that is in need of help with debts. Debt Wave you can rest knowing that your debts will be taken care of and you will be given an affordable payment plan that suits your budget.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    August 3rd, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I’ve used Debtwave a couple of times throughout the years and I’ve never had a problem of any kind. Christopher Munoz did a crazy good job for me. The lower interest rates were great and in some cases were reduced to 0% I would highly recommend Debtwave to anyone.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    July 2nd, 2020 Springfield, OR
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have been able to reduce my credit card debt much quicker with t
    DebtWave’s help. I am on track to finish early!
    Read More
  12. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2020 Lake Charles, LA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debt Consolidation I was able to pay off my bills so much faster with debt.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This company has been invaluable in helping us get out of credit card debt. No hassles, no issues, straight forward, easy to work with. Their customer service helped us work out the payment plan and did all the negotiating with the credit card companies relative to reduced interest rates and length of repayment term. No complaints – highly recommend!!
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    July 1st, 2020
    1 people found this review helpful!
    DebtWave has been amazing with helping me pay off my debt. I started with $11,173.87 in debt and they helped me pay it off in about 3 years. Without DebtWave I’d still be paying mainly interest and would take me forever to pay off my debt. They have always been fast and friendly. They have been helpful if I needed to push back a payment or if I wanted to make an extra payment. They also have an easy website to navigate and to see your progress. They are also really good with emailing updates and calling their customers. I’d recommend them to anyone!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    June 2nd, 2020 Freeland, WA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    You guys are amazing and I could not have done it without you!
    Read More
  16. User Score
    9
    May 3rd, 2020 Hebron, KY
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Working with Debtwave has helped me to raise my credit score up 70 points. Debtwave’s customer service was responsive to my needs in a timely manner and worked with me on my ability to make payments that I could manage. My service rep ( Dawn and Barby) were courteous, understanding and polite.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    May 3rd, 2020
    1 people found this review helpful!
    This truly is an awesome company. They go above and beyond to actually help. They are not a company that tries to take advantage of your situation, but rather they are actually an amazing resource for bettering your life! You always talk to a real person, you learn more about how credit works and how to have a healthy credit score, and they also follow up with you with real phone calls. I am so blessed that I ran into this company.
    Real people are there to help!

    I was at the point where I was spending so much to make minimum payments, that I couldn’t afford groceries, and I had to keep lending more. Debtwave reduces my monthly payments and my lending rates, allowing me to pay off my debt faster, and I was able to keep more money for myself!

    I have an excellent credit score now, which could not have been possible without their help!

    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    May 1st, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    They have helped us so much.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    April 4th, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Debtwave has been the best way for us to get out of debt. We made the debt and wanted to pay our debts in full. They pay our creditors and worked with them to get cheaper interest rates. Our advisor Brandon B. has been very helpful and has always answered our questions. We HIGHLY recommend Debtwave!
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    March 10th, 2020
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Great service at a great price. Three of my family members have used Debtwave as well with great results in paying off their debt quickly. :)
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
8.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $49

Setup & Activation Fee

Up to $75

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

348
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.3
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

436