Best Debt Companys

163 Companies 4,603 Real Customer Reviews

Reviews for CreditGuard of America | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#24
Reviews for CreditGuard of America | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

CreditGuard of America

CreditGuard of America offers services in unsecured debt help, and has been in business for 24 years.

Our Score
3.1
User Score
1.7
Our Score
3.1
User Score
1.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Undisclosed

Setup & Activation Fee

Undisclosed

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

19

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: September 20, 2019

CreditGuard of America has been in business since 1991 and is a non-profit debt consolidation consulting company. They can help with a debt management program tailored to your needs for unsecured debts. They also offer debt consolidation loans, which will effectively take your debts from multiple lenders and combine them into a single loan and one affordable payment. This is useful for lowering interest rates and reducing monthly payments, especially if your debt is coming from high-interest rate credit card debt. The company also offers debt management and non-profit debt consolidation.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $79
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10-$40
AFCC & IAPDA

#3

Up to $49
ISO

#24
Reviews for CreditGuard of America | 2019 Debt Relief Reviews

Undisclosed
ISO

CreditGuard of America also has partnered with many community services such as Adopt-A-Family, which sponsors families facing financial crisis during Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Pros

Free Consultation

You can receive a consultation from a certified credit counselor free of charge. Counselors can assess your financial needs and give you an estimated monthly payment amount before you commit to any plan or service. If you decide to proceed, a written debt consolidation and debt management plan will be created that is affordable for the consumer.

ISO 9001 Certification

This certification indicates that it is regularly audited to ensure legitimacy.

Low Minimum Debt Requirements

You must have at least $2,000 of unsecured debt to qualify for a debt management program. Many debt service companies require higher minimum debt requirements. For CreditGuard of America, you must be between 30-90 days behind on your monthly payments. You may still qualify if you are in danger of falling behind on payments due to circumstances such as loss of income. Even if you are making monthly payments on time, you might still qualify if you feel you are not getting ahead and would like financial assistance.

CPFC & ISO Certified

Their employees are not CPFC certified, but they are Accredited Credit Counselors (ACC). CreditGuard of America is also ISO certified.

Cons

Lack of Transparency

CreditGuard’s monthly and upfront fees are undisclosed, and they do not disclose an average interest rate of what customers should expect. This makes it difficult for consumers looking to quickly and easily compare rates of various debt solutions.

There have been CreditGuard reviews of hidden recurring fees. Customers were unaware of these fees at the time of signing. Although, it seems that the company does make a good faith effort to resolve problems brought to their attention.

Lack of Accreditations

Despite having been in business for as long as it has, CreditGuard lacks a few industry accreditations. Some of which include the AICCA and NFCC accreditations, which are standard in the industry. Consumer debt solutions without proper accreditation may not be as trustworthy as other ones that do.

Administration Fee

Although there are no cancellation fees and they offer a money-back guarantee, clients will not be reimbursed the monthly administration fee if they decide to cancel. Under some circumstances, clients won’t pay anything for the services, so this guarantee policy won’t affect everyone equally.

Unsecured Debt Only

CreditGuard of America handles unsecured consumer debt only. This may be limiting to consumers with secured debt. With unsecured debt, this company is able to compile all debts into one monthly payment. One service listed in particular is student loan consolidation. CreditGuard is experienced in helping students reduce the burden of student loans by reducing monthly payments to match the customer’s budget.

CreditGuard of America Reviews

CreditGuard of America has a low rating from consumers, many highlighting poor customer service, hidden fees, and misleading information.

Our Recommendation

With the lack of transparency and some of the reported issues, we cannot recommend working with CreditGuard of America at this time. We recommend another company for debt consolidation and counseling services such as Consolidated Credit.


About CreditGuard of America

Time in Business

CreditGuard of America has been in business since 1991. With nearly three decades of experience, CreditGuard of America is an experienced debt service.

Debt Education

CreditGuard of America offers multiple tools and resources to help customers enhance their financial education. Specific areas include credit and money management, personal budgeting, debt collection and fair collection practices. There is also a variety of financial calculators such as a household budget calculator and a Rent vs. Buy calculator. These are useful tools which can be utilized by anyone for free online, even if you’re a consumer not currently struggling with debt.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

19 CreditGuard of America Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

9
6
1
1
1
1
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    1
    August 16th, 2019 Wichita, KS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Not honest
    Read More
  2. User Score
    1
    July 1st, 2019 Mariposa, CA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I cannot reach a representative with this company. I am getting mail from creditors that are supposed in this consolidation and it seems like they haven’t heard from Credit Guard or were overlooked. I can’t even reach a rep to verify without waiting on hold for over an hour!

    Will no one help??

    Read More
  3. User Score
    1
    June 18th, 2019
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Complete frustration trying to make a payment after I changed banks. Will only accept correspondence through snail mail. No resolution to my continued frustration. Absolutely ridiculous….
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    February 25th, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Do not use this company. I did not receive any of the benefits that they offer and they never followed with the creditors to get the discounts. Then when I tried to cancel it took them a week to send the documents.

    Carol Odonovan

    Read More
  5. User Score
    0
    February 21st, 2019
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This company is Awful. The payments were always late to the creditors and I never received any discounts NOR did they stop the interests from accruing. I called 5 times and never received a return call. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY..
    Read More
  6. User Score
    8
    January 19th, 2019 Columbiana, OH
    6 people found this review helpful!
    I’m paying them 239 monthly instead of the down from 340 monthly, they pay about 180 out and take 50 for fees. YOU have to change your due date to coincide with their payment dates. They do what they say and are always very helpful on the phone. My only complaint is how rushed I felt to join. I like this company.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    April 16th, 2018 Moscow, ID
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Two of my debt companies do not participate so I contact Credit Guard this morning to cancel my account. I spoke with a Supervisor who was terrible. She was demeaning, sarcastic and extremely rude. I asked her three times to cancel my account and she continued to tell me what a mistake it was to cancel.

    I asked the Supervisor to email me regarding the cancellation and I have not received any correspondence.

    I’m in awe of the way I was treated by a ‘Supervisor’. I will communicate this event to all friends and family.

    Read More
  8. User Score
    3
    April 11th, 2018
    4 people found this review helpful!
    I use credit guard services a few years back and the only problem I had with them is they continue to collect the monthly fee long after my debt has been paid off and they did not advise me that they had continue to collect it and then I was unable to get a refund of those fees that were collected so that’s why I would give them a low rating but I did like the fact that they continue to pay my debt on a monthly basis I continue to receive my statements so I was very satisfied with that portion of it as opposed to them collecting my money and not making payments until settlement was offered.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    1
    January 26th, 2018 Chandler, AZ
    5 people found this review helpful!
    I was not in dire straits when I decided to use this service. I was only interested in consolidating my consumer debt- which was under 5k as quickly as possible. Normally I would have researched this company in depth, but I was ignorant in my quest to finalize my consumer debt. Lesson Learned. In December, my payment was taken out prior to the date agreed upon. I called and was sent to Jourdain M., a manager who informed me that there were not any notes related to my change in date. Not true- I had the phone records showing otherwise. The conversation was heated and he disconnected the call. A few minutes later I received an email stating my account was cancelled. This of course happened after they deducted $125 from my account- for which 2 months later I have not received and my credit score went from 680 to 520. They never made the payment even after I sent in some form they sent me. This is a terrible company with deceptive practices. I emailed the CEO and never received a response. I had 100% payment history prior to using this service and now that has been tainted. DO NOT USE Credit Guard. You are better off paying more than what you owe monthly prior to the due date to avoid interest charges. I know better now and will continue making my payments as agreed with the cardholders.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    1
    January 24th, 2018 Charlotte, NC
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Closed all accounts without notifying that would be done. Paid accounts late , causing several late fees to accrue . Refuses to refund payments being held.
    Read More
  11. User Score
    0
    July 28th, 2017 Las Cruces, NM
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Fraud Pushy sales pitch. Than charged my account 329.10 up front under another company name American Educational services. What does Ed services have to do with credit guard services .RUN from these people
    Read More
  12. User Score
    0
    January 29th, 2017
    6 people found this review helpful!
    POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
    Read More
  13. User Score
    0
    October 25th, 2016 Laurens, IA
    12 people found this review helpful!
    I HAD DISCUSSED THE POSSIBILITY OF USING THEIR SERVICE, BUT TOLD THEM THAT THERE WAS NO WAY I COULD DO IT UNTIL NOVEMBER, IN OCTOBER BEFORE I HAD A CHANCE TO SIGN ANYTHING I HAD SETTLED ON ANOTHER COMPANY, THEY STILL TOOK THE INITIAL 50 DOLLARS AND THEN THE FIRST MONTHS PAYMENT, CLAIMING I HAD SIGNED ELECTRONICALLY 2 WEEKS BEFORE I HAD TALKED TO THEM. THEY ARE THIEVES THAT I DO NOT TRUST.
    Read More
  14. User Score
    1
    July 14th, 2016 Elberta, AL
    8 people found this review helpful!
    Charged upfront fee of $200. Monthly fee $25. Only had 2 cards total about $5700. Did get lower interest rates but even though collected my money 10 th of every month, it took 10 days each month for them to pay the cards. Each payment was due 16th or 17th. Payments were always late. So my credit was still getting hit from credit companies each month. Talking to them got me nowhere. I cancelled. Biggest mistake ever!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    0
    May 12th, 2016 North Royalton, OH
    14 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service was absolutely disgusting, people were rude (I was hung up on “while being transferred ” at least five times, when the original call came in, the csr was inept, made too many mistakes during the reading of her “script” her word, not mine. After a 2 1/2 hour conversation with her,I was asked to be put on hold, and after another 10 minutes, was finally connect to (at this point, I honestly can’t remember her title, she asked me if I had any questions, and I asked about the total amount of the program. She said she’d have to transfer me to an underwriter so I could get an explanation. The rep couldn’t address my concerns about the high amount I would owe on 5400.00. Monthly payment 179.99, over the course of 7 1/2 years. Do the math-(as I should have) a little over 15,000.00???? What a scam!!!!!
    This morning I called and requested that the account be cancelled…after talking to 5 different people, none offering me any help, one person I spoke with said since the accent was already being processed, he couldn’t do anything. I attempted to ask additional questions, but kept talking over me, and then said he had another call and needed to end ours. I told him not to take it, as I was speaking to him, and our conversation wasn’t over–he told me I was rude, I had no business talking to him like that (I was not yelling, I was being polite) he then said I’m going to file a report on me! After hours of frustration, I spoke to Eric from the cancellation department, who was able to handle my request in a matter of minutes-he emailed me a request for cancellation within 15 minutes, and now I may not be debt free, but I’m free of this despicable company.
    Read More
  16. User Score
    0
    April 20th, 2016 Ashland, KY
    14 people found this review helpful!
    Worst attitude of any company ever, after I cancelled due to the company not informing me that there is a fee of any kind, but would have gladly paid and kept the service if I had been told up front. Just makes me wonder what other things this company is hiding.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    0
    June 15th, 2015 Houston, TX
    18 people found this review helpful!
    They have been calling me persistently to offer their services, i really do not need financial counseling, or education, and the interest reduction on a couple of credit card is mild incentive, however i asked them to tell how it worked, to do my own research, and call them back. In 3 separate occasion I have spoken to different representatives none of them has ever mentioned a monthly fee, and only one of them has mentioned an up front fee of $199. Never a recurrent fee, out of 3 different attempts. So i think I’m going to pass and not recommend to any friend either. To hide recurrent fees is a very dishonest business practice, in my views. Thanks everybody for sharing your experiences.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    5
    March 17th, 2015
    21 people found this review helpful!
    The good– they do what they say in getting you a lower interest rate to pay it off. The bad– they did not tell me when I signed up that we pay a fee of $23 per month plus a guardian package they put on there for $7 that you have to call and remove. It’s in the fine print contract we are supposed to read when they send an email. I didn’t see it and therefore got sucked in thinking because they’re a non profit program that there wasn’t one. It pays to read those things. Not happy that they didn’t tell me up front.
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    October 11th, 2014 Chesapeake, VA
    23 people found this review helpful!
    they are real I have been with them about 3 years. My bills are getting paid. They are nice and kind to me and they helped me.
    Read More
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
3.1
User Score
1.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Undisclosed

Setup & Activation Fee

Undisclosed

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

19
Our Score
9.1
User Score
9.4
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Monthly Enrollment Fee

Up to $79

Setup & Activation Fee

$0-$49

Free Consultation

Yes

Credit Counseling

Yes

ISO Certified

Yes

Number of Reviews

430