Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 3,181 Real Customer Reviews

CreditGuard of America Reviews
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#21
CreditGuard of America Reviews

CreditGuard of America

CreditGuard of America offers services in unsecured debt help, and has been in business for 24 years.

Our Score
3.1
User Score
1.6

Visit Site

Our Score
3.1
User Score
1.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
26 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
10

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 4, 2017

Since 1991, CreditGuard of America has been helping clients consolidate and eliminate credit card debt with the goal of reducing monthly payments by 30 to 50 percent. The company has a solid track record and good rates to back its certified credit counselors. They also offer a limited money-back guarantee, which is uncommon in the industry. However, they lack some key accreditations and have some issues with transparency.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $69
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10-$40
AFCC & IAPDA

#3

$10 - $49
ISO

#21
CreditGuard of America Reviews

Undisclosed
ISO

The Good

  • Free consultation with a certified counselor
  • Over 26 years in the industry
  • ISO-certified business

Free Consultation

CreditGuard offers a hassle-free, no-cost consultation over the phone with a certified counselor. This gives the counselor an opportunity to go over your situation and decide what program, if any, are a good fit for your circumstances. Should a client choose to enroll in the company’s services, they should expect their interest rates to be dropped and to pay one monthly payment to cover all their unsecured debts.

Accredited and Solid Reputation

CreditGuard has a fairly solid reputation considering it’s been in operation since the early 90s. Some customer reviews citing that the customer service representatives have been kind and helpful. The company does at least work to resolve any concerns or misunderstandings that might arise and the ISO 9001 certification indicates that it is regularly audited to ensure legitimacy. We like to see companies who maintain their accreditations, it shows dedication to best business practices and a certain level of quality in their services.

View Top Rated Companies

The Bad

  • Reports of hidden fees
  • Lack of transparency
  • No AICCA or NFCC accreditations

Lack of Transparency

The biggest concern we have with CreditGuard is that the monthly and up-front fees are undisclosed. Not only are their fees undisclosed, but they do not list an average interest rate of what customer’s should expect. Without this information it is difficult for potential customers to determine if CreditGuard is the right fit for their needs. It also makes it difficult for our team to rank their services without this information.

Lacking Accreditations

It is also unusual that CreditGuard, having been in business for as long as it has, lacks a few industry accreditations. Some of which include the AICCA and NFCC accreditations. This might suggest the company doesn’t always follow industry best practices. While this may not be a deal breaker, it should be considered when making the decision to work with a company.

Hidden Fees

In addition, there have been CreditGuard reviews of hidden recurring fees. Customers were unaware of these fees at the time of signing. That said, it seems that the company does make a good faith effort to resolve problems brought to their attention.

Cancellation

Although there are no cancellation fees and they offer a money-back guarantee, clients will not be reimbursed the monthly administrator fee if they decide to cancel. Under some circumstances clients won’t pay anything for the services, so this guarantee policy won’t affect everyone equally.

Want to see the top rated Debt Consolidation Companies? Click Here

The Bottom Line

CreditGuard of America is a reputable company with a consistent, and lengthy track record. They are also ISO certified and offer a free consultation with certified counselors. With that being said, the company’s monthly and up-front fees are undisclosed as is their average interest rate. There have also been reports of billing issues which are troubling. With the lack of transparency and some of the reported issues, we cannot recommend working with CreditGuard of America at this time.

Click Here for our Top Recommended Debt Consolidation Providers.


About CreditGuard of America

CreditGuard of America is an independent, non-profit credit counseling agency that provides a variety of different debt solutions and financial educational resources. CreditGuard offers debt consolidation programs to customers by gathering unsecured debt into one monthly payment and a lower interest rate without having to apply for a new loan. CreditGuard was able to assist one customer pay off over $25,000 of credit card debt in about six years. They also have free financial education resources about about credit, home ownership, marriage, student loans, bankruptcy, and much more.


Contact Information

Website: www.creditguard.org
Email Address: Contact Form
Phone: 1-800-853-0065
Hours: Monday-Thursday 8AM to 10PM EST; Friday 8AM to 9PM EST; Saturday 10AM to 6PM EST
Address: Unknown

Monthly Fees

Prices are undisclosed at this time.

Up-Front Fees

Prices are undisclosed at this time.

Money-Back Guarantee

Customers will be reimbursed the state fee charged at signup if they cancel within 90 days of starting a plan or service. If you cancel after 90 days, you will not be reimbursed any money.

Free Consultation

You can receive a consultation from a certified credit counselor free of charge. The counselor can assess your financial needs and give you an estimated monthly payment amount before you commit to any plan or service. If you decide to proceed, a written debt consolidation plan will be created that is affordable for the customer.

Time in Business

27 Years. This company has been in business since 1991.

Debt Education

CreditGuard of America offers multiple tools and resources to help customers enhance their financial understanding. Specific areas include credit and money management, debt collection and fair collection practices. There is also a variety of financial calculators such as a household budget calculator and a Rent vs. Buy calculator. These are useful tools which can be utilized by anyone for free online, even if you’re not currently struggling with debt.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

CreditGuard of America handles unsecured debt. This company is able to compile all your debts into only monthly payment. One service listed in particular is student loan consolidation. CreditGuard is experienced in helping students reduce the burden of student loans by reducing monthly payments to match the customer’s budget.

Mobile-Friendly Site

This site is not mobile responsive. The company website functions alright on mobile devices.

Cancellation Policy

There are no fees or penalties associated with cancellation.

Contact Information

Phone hours:

Monday-Thursday 8:00 am – 10:00 pm EST

Friday – 8:00 am – 9:00 pm EST

Saturday 10:00 – 5:30 pm EST

Address: 

5300 Broken Sound Blvd NW

Suite 100

Boca Raton, FL 33487

Services Provided

They can help with a debt management program tailored to your needs for unsecured debts. They also offer debt consolidation loans, which will effectively take your debts from multiple lenders and combine them into a single loan. This is useful for lowering interest rates and reducing monthly payments. CreditGuard of America also has partnered with many community services such as Adopt-A-Family, which sponsors families facing financial crisis during Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Minimum Debt Accepted

You must have at least $2,000 of unsecured debt to qualify for a debt management program. In addition, you must be between 30-90 days behind on your monthly payments. You may still qualify if you are in danger of falling behind on payments due to circumstances such as loss of income. Even if you are making monthly payments on time, you might still qualify if you feel you are not getting ahead and would like financial assistance.

Online Dashboard

CreditGuard of America customers are able to login through the CGA website to monitor the status of their debt payments.

CPFC Certified

Their employees are not CPFC certified, but they are Accredited Credit Counselors (ACC).

ISO Certified

CreditGuard of America is ISO certified.

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

10 CreditGuard of America Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

7
1
1
1
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    0
    March 26th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The price of my monthly payment kept going up and up with no reason, they were never accurate and could not grt infor like professional companies do, they lack all the professional customer service
    Read More
  2. User Score
    0
    February 24th, 2017 Overland Park, KS
    0 people found this review helpful!
    I have used this company for 3 years to help pay off some high interest bills. I have never had a problem or needed anything from them, until now. I am refinancing my house and in order to do that, I need a letter from credit guard saying they allow me to do this. (for whatever reason I need their permission) I have called 3 times in 24 hours and its STILL NOT DONE. The first time I called he said I would have the letter in an hour. After 4 hours, I called back and that person said she would send it. My mortgage company got it, but half of the document is blurred from the faxing, the date I “started” with them was marked as June of 2017! (future date), and the letter doesn’t say anything about allowing me to refinance my house. They said they have a “standard form” for customers in this situation. The letter states they do not advise customers to get in any more debt, THATS IT! This is not acceptable to my mortgage company and credit guard says they cannot change it for me. This was after the 3rd call I made to correct the wrong info on the letter. I asked for them to send it again and they never sent it. I am calling back today and asking for a manager. I will do everything in my power to fire this company. I wish I would have never gotten involved in the first place. Now I know it was a bad referral.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    0
    January 29th, 2017
    0 people found this review helpful!
    POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
    Read More
  4. User Score
    0
    October 25th, 2016 Laurens, IA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I HAD DISCUSSED THE POSSIBILITY OF USING THEIR SERVICE, BUT TOLD THEM THAT THERE WAS NO WAY I COULD DO IT UNTIL NOVEMBER, IN OCTOBER BEFORE I HAD A CHANCE TO SIGN ANYTHING I HAD SETTLED ON ANOTHER COMPANY, THEY STILL TOOK THE INITIAL 50 DOLLARS AND THEN THE FIRST MONTHS PAYMENT, CLAIMING I HAD SIGNED ELECTRONICALLY 2 WEEKS BEFORE I HAD TALKED TO THEM. THEY ARE THIEVES THAT I DO NOT TRUST.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    1
    July 14th, 2016 Elberta, AL
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Charged upfront fee of $200. Monthly fee $25. Only had 2 cards total about $5700. Did get lower interest rates but even though collected my money 10 th of every month, it took 10 days each month for them to pay the cards. Each payment was due 16th or 17th. Payments were always late. So my credit was still getting hit from credit companies each month. Talking to them got me nowhere. I cancelled. Biggest mistake ever!
    Read More
  6. User Score
    0
    May 12th, 2016 North Royalton, OH
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Customer service was absolutely disgusting, people were rude (I was hung up on “while being transferred ” at least five times, when the original call came in, the csr was inept, made too many mistakes during the reading of her “script” her word, not mine. After a 2 1/2 hour conversation with her,I was asked to be put on hold, and after another 10 minutes, was finally connect to (at this point, I honestly can’t remember her title, she asked me if I had any questions, and I asked about the total amount of the program. She said she’d have to transfer me to an underwriter so I could get an explanation. The rep couldn’t address my concerns about the high amount I would owe on 5400.00. Monthly payment 179.99, over the course of 7 1/2 years. Do the math-(as I should have) a little over 15,000.00???? What a scam!!!!!
    This morning I called and requested that the account be cancelled…after talking to 5 different people, none offering me any help, one person I spoke with said since the accent was already being processed, he couldn’t do anything. I attempted to ask additional questions, but kept talking over me, and then said he had another call and needed to end ours. I told him not to take it, as I was speaking to him, and our conversation wasn’t over–he told me I was rude, I had no business talking to him like that (I was not yelling, I was being polite) he then said I’m going to file a report on me! After hours of frustration, I spoke to Eric from the cancellation department, who was able to handle my request in a matter of minutes-he emailed me a request for cancellation within 15 minutes, and now I may not be debt free, but I’m free of this despicable company.
    Read More
  7. User Score
    0
    April 20th, 2016 Ashland, KY
    4 people found this review helpful!
    Worst attitude of any company ever, after I cancelled due to the company not informing me that there is a fee of any kind, but would have gladly paid and kept the service if I had been told up front. Just makes me wonder what other things this company is hiding.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    0
    June 15th, 2015 Houston, TX
    8 people found this review helpful!
    They have been calling me persistently to offer their services, i really do not need financial counseling, or education, and the interest reduction on a couple of credit card is mild incentive, however i asked them to tell how it worked, to do my own research, and call them back. In 3 separate occasion I have spoken to different representatives none of them has ever mentioned a monthly fee, and only one of them has mentioned an up front fee of $199. Never a recurrent fee, out of 3 different attempts. So i think I’m going to pass and not recommend to any friend either. To hide recurrent fees is a very dishonest business practice, in my views. Thanks everybody for sharing your experiences.
    Read More
  9. User Score
    5
    March 17th, 2015
    12 people found this review helpful!
    The good– they do what they say in getting you a lower interest rate to pay it off. The bad– they did not tell me when I signed up that we pay a fee of $23 per month plus a guardian package they put on there for $7 that you have to call and remove. It’s in the fine print contract we are supposed to read when they send an email. I didn’t see it and therefore got sucked in thinking because they’re a non profit program that there wasn’t one. It pays to read those things. Not happy that they didn’t tell me up front.
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    October 11th, 2014 Chesapeake, VA
    11 people found this review helpful!
    they are real I have been with them about 3 years. My bills are getting paid. They are nice and kind to me and they helped me.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
3.1
User Score
1.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
26 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
10
Our Score
9.3
User Score
9.5
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
24 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
443