Best Debt Companys

162 Companies 4,082 Real Customer Reviews

Advantage Credit Counseling Services logo
Current

What Others Are
Researching Right Now:

#8
Advantage Credit Counseling Services logo

Advantage Credit Counseling Services

With over 45 years of experience, Advantage Credit Counseling Services offers world-class customer service and great pricing.

Our Score
5.5
User Score
9.7

Visit Site

Our Score
5.5
User Score
9.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Based per creditor/state
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
49 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
22

This Review is maintained by Chase Sagum

Review Last Updated: January 2, 2017

Advantage Credit Counseling Services is a non-profit credit counseling organization. Incorporated in 1968, Advantage CCS has more than 45 years of experience in credit counseling and debt management. They also offer additional services, including: bankruptcy counseling, bankruptcy education classes, and home ownership counseling for both pre-purchase and foreclosure.

Rank Chart
Monthly Price
Accreditations
Review

#1

Up to $69
FCAA & ISO

#2

$10-$40
AFCC & IAPDA

#3

$10 - $49
ISO

#8
Advantage Credit Counseling Services logo

Undisclosed
ISO

The Good

  • Reduced interest rates
  • Eliminate late and over-draft fees
  • Reduce harassing creditor calls

Reduced Interest Rates

Advantage Credit Counseling Services has 45 years of experience dealing with debt management and counseling. Advantage CCS offers what is called a debt management program. They work with the creditors to reduce monthly payments, interest rates, and repayment time. Clients can expect to see interest rates drop down to 15 percent and as low as zero percent when enrolled in their debt management program.

Free Consultation

The company provides free credit counseling sessions where counselors educate each client about their financial situation, methods to repaying debts, and how to create an overall better budget to manage their finances. Each session is customized to meet a particular set of unique client situations. Each session runs about one hour in length and clients are encouraged to be fully open and honest about their situation to receive the best program solution for them.

We appreciate Advantage CCS in taking a personalized approach by providing only one client counselor for each counseling session. Once the counseling session is complete, consumers have the option to take part in their debt management program, housing counseling, bankruptcy counseling, and many others.

Educational Resources

Advantage has gone to great lengths to provide consumers and clients with educational resources to help them attain the financial literacy to get and stay out of debt. They offer updated blog posts on various topics, including finances and the holidays, which is always a hot topic for consumers. Also among their educational offerings is an abundance of tools such as financial calculators, online budget advisors, newsletters, an online library, and video guides to help consumers navigate on the path to financial freedom.

View Top Rated Companies

The Bad

  • Money-back guarantee
  • Lack of accreditation

Money-back Guarantee

We like several aspects of Advantage CCS but one aspect we would liked to see outlined on their company webpage is an offering of a money back guarantee. This may help clients rest assured that they will be getting the best service this company has to offer.

Lack of Accreditation

An additional concern is their lack of FCAA accreditation. This accreditation guarantee a certain level of quality for the services rendered. Consumers do not enter into any contract and may cancel at any point in the process. If a customer does opt out of the service, by law, debt management companies must inform the creditor which will likely restore interest rates and payment expectations to their previous levels.

The Bottom Line

Advantage CCS offers free credit counseling to their customers and an array of program options to help the financially struggling individuals get back on their feet. While their lack of accreditations concerns us, they offer consolidation services that are worth considering. We recommend taking advantage of their free consultation and credit counseling services to determine if their product offerings would be suitable for you.

Want to see the top rated Debt Consolidation Companies? Click Here


About Advantage Credit Counseling Services

Advantage Credit Counseling Services has been in the industry for 49 years. They are a non-profit organization that assists customers in consolidating their debt into one monthly payment while also decreasing the interest rate on the debt. In the process of consolidating debt, Advantage Credit Counseling Services will provide certified counselors to analyze a customer’s current financial situation to provide the most practical solutions. In addition to debt consolidation, Advantage Credit Counseling Services provides assistance in bankruptcy, credit counseling, housing counseling, credit report review, and an online budget advisor. They also offer a few free tools like a calculator for credit card debt, mortgage loan, auto loan, emergency savings, college, and retirement.

Price

Prices are undisclosed at this time.

Up-Front Fees

Prices are undisclosed at this time.

Free Consultation

Yes.  Online Credit Counseling is accessible 24/7, counselors are available over the phone or in person during business hours.

Time In Business

49 years. They incorporated in 1968.

Debt Education

In addition to free counseling, they provide a useful blog, loads of information regarding financial topics related to debt and credit management, FAQ, an active social media presence across multiple channels including Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, YouTube and Google+,  and free online goal tracking tools.

Money Back Guarantee / Cancellation Policy

Advantage CCS has no contracts, so customers may cancel at any time. No money back guarantee is provided.

Unsecured vs. Secured Loans

They assist customers with Unsecured debt, however, they provide useful education materials with information regarding secured debts.

Mobile Friendly

Their site is mobile friendly.

Contact Information

E-Mail:

[email protected]

Address:

2403 Sidney Street
Suite 400
Pittsburgh, PA, 15203

Business Hours:

Business hours include 8 am – 8 pm Monday through Friday and 8 am – 2 pm Saturday. Online credit counseling is available 24/7.

Types of Services Available

Advantage CCS offers a range of services including free credit counseling that’s available online, in-person and over the phone, debt management services, bankruptcy counseling, bankruptcy education classes, and home ownership counseling for both pre-purchase and foreclosures. In Pennsylvania they offer help with reverse mortgages and credit report review services in person.

Minimum Debt Accepted

$5k

Online Dashboard

Once customers are on a debt management program, they are given access to the online dashboard. The online portal allows customers to monitor their account and access card balances and information.

CPFC Certified

All of ACCS’ credit counselors are certified through the National Foundation for Credit Counseling (NFCC). To become certified, their credit counselors are required to pass six NFCC certification exams that measure experience and tests counselors’ knowledge of credit and financial counseling.

ISO Certified

ACCS is ISO certified. They are accredited by the Council on Accreditation (COA).

Are there any inaccuracies in this review? We take our accuracy very seriously and would love your feedback. Give feedback here.

Request Reconsideration

22 Advantage Credit Counseling Services Reviews

1. Select Your Rating:

1
2
19
0=WORST 10=BEST

2. Subject For This Review*(Select all that apply)

3. Review Validation*

or

    Sort By:

  1. User Score
    10
    September 10th, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    We never had a problem in the 5 years that we had our consolidation. Our only reqret is that we didn’t contact you sooner. We would definitely recommend you to others ,
    Read More
  2. User Score
    10
    September 10th, 2015 Shreveport, LA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Thanks for your service. I woulf highly recommend you to anyone in need of debt services.
    Read More
  3. User Score
    10
    July 10th, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    Everyone was very helpful and explained processes completely so that I understood.
    Read More
  4. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2015 Monroeville, PA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    When I initially signed up with ACCS, I had 10 credit cards, downsized and unemployed. Without question, I did not feel as if I would ever be able to pay off my credit cards. ACCS presented me with a manageable plan, reduced interest rates that would allow me to achieve that goal in 3 years and 10 months. On June 26, 2015 I made my FINAL PAYMENT. What a wonderful feeling to be Credit Card Debt Free!!! ACCS was wonderful throughout the process and the new skills I learned about budgeting, and living within my means were priceless lessons. Thank you so much, I constantly recommend the service to my friends who find themselves in similar situations, in addition to visiting the website for financial life lessons. I cannot Thank You enough, plus I am confident in my ability to be fiscally responsible in my future endeavors.
    Read More
  5. User Score
    9
    July 9th, 2015 Baltimore, MD
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Exceptional service from beginning to end. Non judgemental attitude of staff a real plus. Able to pay off debt early without penalty. Would highly recommend to individuals who need this service.
    Read More
  6. User Score
    10
    July 9th, 2015 Butler, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you ACCS for helping me clear my debts! I am so grateful and relieved!!
    Read More
  7. User Score
    10
    June 23rd, 2015 Mckeesport, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    It was a very easy process. One visit to an office and the rest was direct debited from my account. I also appreciate that I didn’t feel like I was hiding out from my creditors. Its a very respectable process. It was a pleasure to deal with such qualified, knowledgable people.
    Read More
  8. User Score
    10
    June 15th, 2015 Harrisburg, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    Thank you
    Read More
  9. User Score
    10
    June 14th, 2015 Cresson, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I was very satisfied with the company. They kept me on track on the road to debt freedom
    Read More
  10. User Score
    10
    June 12th, 2015 Wexford, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    My wife and I got into the program and couldn`t be happier that we did! It was a struggle at times to get through it.But with the discipline that is required to finish the program,it was worth every bit of the sacrifices we had to endure at times. We would recommend ACCS to anyone who asks. Thanks again!
    Read More
  11. User Score
    10
    June 11th, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Advantage Credit Counseling Services was honest, fair, and non-judgemental. They helped me work out a realistic plan to get out of debt. I think I’m a smart guy but I’m still amazed that I was so easily sucked into the debt trap. I’ve finally learned the benefits of being debt-free. I appreciate their help with this.
    Read More
  12. User Score
    9
    June 11th, 2015 Quakertown, PA
    0 people found this review helpful!
    This experience was flawless! I had perfect service every time I called with questions. Great customer service.
    Read More
  13. User Score
    10
    June 10th, 2015 Mckeesport, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    ACCS was an awesome company to work with! I would definitely recommend you to others. Of course, you have to be willing to do your part too.
    Every time I called with questions, they were answered promptly and all the agents I dealt with were very nice. I probably drove those girls crazy when I was getting ready to pay off because I wanted things done right, but I was walked through the process and there were no problems. Thanks, I am now debt free!
    Read More
  14. User Score
    10
    June 10th, 2015 Big Spring, TX
    1 people found this review helpful!
    I am truly blessed to have accs for three years. They have been wonderful with me because i am deaf. They did a great job!
    Read More
  15. User Score
    10
    June 10th, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    ACCS was great. They worked with our creditors to lower our interest rates, setup payment plans, and provided guidance and advice throughout the process.

    One suggestion I would make would be to have occasional check ups to go over the progress. They were always there for us when we had questions, I’m thinking more about them proactively setting something up for review.

    Read More
  16. User Score
    5
    June 10th, 2015 Wilmington, DE
    0 people found this review helpful!
    The program did as expected in paying off my debt.
    Read More
  17. User Score
    10
    May 28th, 2015 PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    This group is easy to work with and communicate with, and they got me back on track effectively. I highly recommend them for this type of thing.
    Read More
  18. User Score
    10
    May 26th, 2015 New Castle, PA
    2 people found this review helpful!
    Advantage Credit Counseling Services are top of the line Awesome!!! If it was not for their debt management program I would still be swamped in credit card debt, if not on the verge of filing bankrupt. They are always there to answer questions with polite, courtesy, and knowledgeable employees. Never once did they make me feel bad for the debt I had. They were more than willing to help me figure out what was best and where to go from there since day one!
    Read More
  19. User Score
    10
    May 26th, 2015 New Kensington, PA
    3 people found this review helpful!
    ACCCS helped my family and I so much! We were in dire straits with debt up to our eyeballs. I was paying out more than I was bringing in. After 5 years, we learned how to manage without using credit cards and how to stabilize our finances. And, at the end, it was like getting an additional paycheck every month with the money we saved from paying CCCS for the debt.
    Read More
  20. User Score
    10
    May 22nd, 2015 Pittsburgh, PA
    1 people found this review helpful!
    Every step of the way was effortless. Process went well and I was fortunate for your help! Thank you.
    Read More

Poll

  • When looking for a debt settlement company, which of these two aspects is most important to you?
  • Takes your existing debt and try to settle with your creditors for a lower amount. If you pay off the settled amount, your debt will be considered paid in full.
  • Negotiates with your creditors on your behalf.
  • Fee based on a percentage of your total starting debt or a percentage of the debt they save you.
  • Most settlement companies have you create a separate "escrow" account where you will make monthly contributions over a certain amount of time to contribute to your settlement. Once there is a substantial amount of funds to show your creditors, the settlement company will try to negotiate a lower amount of debt.
  • Combines all your debts and creditors into one monthly payment.
  • Allows you to pay one monthly payment to the consolidation company, instead of multiple payments to different creditors.
  • You no longer owe your original creditors; instead you pay one monthly payment to your consolidation company.
  • Consolidation companies can help negotiate lower interest rates on your debts and help lower your total debt payment in the long run. A lower interest rate will lower the amount you owe in the end.
  • Allows you to consolidate all your different debts into one personal loan that can be paid off over time.
  • Can offer borrowers a lower interest rate with a longer payback term (compared to high-interest credit cards or medical bills). This will lower the amount of money required to pay off the loan over time.
  • Personal loan debt consolidation can be an effective way to raise your credit score quickly (within 3-6 months).
  • Borrowers can receive funds from their loan within only a few days.

Recent News:

Want us to review a company?

If there is a debt company that you don't see on our site, and would like us to review, please contact us.

Real Reviews (yes they’re real)

With so many debt relief companies out there, and a lack of sites willing to bring you the HONEST breakdowns of each company, what source can you turn to for the real information you can trust?

We are dedicated to bringing the truth out, and rank debt relief companies as they should be. Through our investigation, and experience with each company, we rank each company, and bring you our honest, unbiased opinion. We also include authentic user reviews by past customers of each company that are moderated and verified.

Like many sites, we are compensated through affiliate relationships with each company we review, however all of our rankings are based on our 11-Point Ranking Criteria.

All reviews are subject to moderation and approval. Any reviews that may resemble false information, or competitors of another company will need to be verified by our staff before being approved and published. We reserve the right to approve or deny any reviews left on this site.
Our Score
5.5
User Score
9.7
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

Based per creditor/state
Undisclosed

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Undisclosed

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
49 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
22
Our Score
9.4
User Score
9.6
Rank this Company

Ratings Breakdown

Price

monthly price range
Up to $69

Up-Front Fees

setup & activation fees
Up to $49

Free Consultation

is one included?
Yes

Time in Business

total # of years
24 years

Credit Counseling

do they offer credit counseling services?
Yes

Certified Credit Counselors

are there certified counselors on staff?
Yes

ISO Certified

is this business ISO certified?
Yes

Number of Reviews

User reviews here on BDC
557